7-4

PAFC2004 said:
See, that isn't funny.
I think it's funny that you are all getting carried away with one win.

Its not the point of getting carried away by one win, but seriously after getting flogged again today do you honestly think Carlton will win next week ??? Essendon the week after could be dangerous, but I think most would tip adelaide.

Seriously if you are telling me that you would tip against Adelaide in the next two home matches then you would have a case but if you tip Adelaide in both of their next two game then this is just flame bait. People are speculating that we will win the next two games, both are against sides that will not finish in the eight this year and especially Carlton should be a win as they are in pitiful form at the moment.

As I said before you can say what you want about Crows supporters, but I would rather have some supporters that get a bit carried away over a win than your mob consisting of a large group of neanderthals that give standing ovations for players after they deliberately attempt to seriously injure an opposition player or the group of supporters that dont have the intellect to understand that wearing black and white and stuff that refers to magpies to AFL games is actually relecting that you barrack for Collingwood and not Port Adelaide Power or is it that they are too pov to fork out $10 for a new scarf or beanie????

GoSarge said:
Well instead of writing stupid one line posts - why dont you come up with some rationale as to why it is funny and explain?

He's a Power supporter, what do you expect????? Anymore than one word at a time is to much for their feble brains the handle.

SpringChoke said:
You don't want to get too carried away but if we go into the break at 7-4, top 4 anyone????
Richmond is already two wins ahead of us in third position.

If the top four is our aim, we'd better get our act together soon.

Realistically I don't think we're good enough.

We should win the next two to be 7-4 and then we have a couple of tough road games then the rest of the season well who knows but if after the Geelong and Richmond games we are 8-5 then top 4 is a distinct possibility (if its 7-6 its a bit difficult as 14 wins probably is required however are only away games will be Hawks in Tassie, Roos at Telstra and the real downer Eagles at Suby in round 22).

One thing that is standing up is our defence - currently the best in the league but you don't really know the full story until round 15 when everyone has played everyone.

PS : Disregard PAFC2004 - they have problems which will probably be underlined by two more probable losses in the next 2 weeks. They can't handle the truth at the moment - they don't have a midfield and what they do have is ageing. So they beat Essendon who have an even worse midfield and is one of the AFLs worst travelling sides.

kirky said:
PS : Disregard PAFC2004 - they have problems which will probably be underlined by two more probable losses in the next 2 weeks. They can't handle the truth at the moment - they don't have a midfield and what they do have is ageing. So they beat Essendon who have an even worse midfield and is one of the AFLs worst travelling sides.

Yeah after this week when West Coast whoop their butts it will be all over for the 'power' :D

I would be happy with 6-5 after 11 rounds.

While we would go into the next 2 games as favourites, I think we could very easily drop one. I think Carlton is a real danger game for us. They finished off strongly against the Dees and are due for a win.

Stiffy_18 said:
I would be happy with 6-5 after 11 rounds.

While we would go into the next 2 games as favourites, I think we could very easily drop one. I think Carlton is a real danger game for us. They finished off strongly against the Dees and are due for a win.

This time last week I would have been happy with 6-5 but I'd be a tad disappointed if that happened now. Here we have a chance to capitalise in a huge way. These are realistic wins.

But I expect we will drop on of them. It's always the way.

**** said:
This time last week I would have been happy with 6-5 but I'd be a tad disappointed if that happened now. Here we have a chance to capitalise in a huge way. These are realistic wins.

But I expect we will drop on of them. It's always the way.

I too would be happy with a 6-5 but to be honest if we are fair dinkum it should be 7-4 in 2 weeks time & only a lapse in the brain waves stakes among our players would prove otherwise.

Don't know about a top 4 finish though as it would only take a couple of injuries to key players to really test our back-up list, i still think a 6-8 finish is more realistic at this stage.

One game at a time people & remember to keep the faith. :)

Jars458 said:
One quarter at a time.

The comp is as even as its ever been.

We are going well but a long way to go.

I want 7-4!! I want 7-4!! I want 7-4!!

I DEMAND 7-4.

Seriously, the team should go all out to get to 7-4 at the mid-way point. It would bring great interest to what was supposed to be a building year.

If it happened then this would not be the first time that a building year {edit: with a new coach} the Crows went better than expected ... :cool:

ok.crows said:
If it happened then this would not be the first time that a building year for the Crows went better than expected ... :cool:

Yes, this season is starting to smell a bit like 2002, when we won 15 games & made the prelim when everyone predicted us to finish bottom 6-or so.

I've been looking at the draw endlessly and whether we are 6-5 or 7-4 at the half-way mark, I think we WILL make the top 8. And, by the way, with the evenness of the comp, don't discard 13 wins and a good percentage to get you into 4th spot (remember 13 wins got us into 4th spot in 1997).

At the minute, I think the Cats and the Eagles are the only 2 teams that look capable of winning more than 14 games. Richmond, well, surely their bubble is gonna' burst?!

We're exceeding all expectations at the moment, but let's not get carried away. We can't win the flag this year (with our current best-22), so our agenda should still primarily be about player development.

Go Crows!!!!

p.s. There'd be hell of alot of disillusioned Victorians at the moment. Their 3 most supported clubs are sitting 14th, 15th and 16th. Rather humorous, don't you think? :p :D

mymansyd said:
We can't win the flag this year (with our current best-22), so our agenda should still primarily be about player development.

Completely agree here.

If we get excellent development out of Mattner, Skipworth, Reilly, Rutten, Hudson, Watts, Hentschell and possibly Van Berlo and Knights this year then I'd be happy.

With good SANFL form and another big pre season, Meesen, Maric, Gibson and Nye should be the next installment to look forward to in 2006.

mymansyd said:
Yes, this season is starting to smell a bit like 2002, when we won 15 games & made the prelim when everyone predicted us to finish bottom 6-or so.

I've been looking at the draw endlessly and whether we are 6-5 or 7-4 at the half-way mark, I think we WILL make the top 8. And, by the way, with the evenness of the comp, don't discard 13 wins and a good percentage to get you into 4th spot (remember 13 wins got us into 4th spot in 1997).

At the minute, I think the Cats and the Eagles are the only 2 teams that look capable of winning more than 14 games. Richmond, well, surely their bubble is gonna' burst?!

We're exceeding all expectations at the moment, but let's not get carried away. We can't win the flag this year (with our current best-22), so our agenda should still primarily be about player development.

Go Crows!!!!

p.s. There'd be hell of alot of disillusioned Victorians at the moment. Their 3 most supported clubs are sitting 14th, 15th and 16th. Rather humorous, don't you think? :p :D

This year holds so much Deja Vu for me, it is incredible.

But as for comparing this year to other years when the Crows had a new coach ... I was kind of hoping for more of a 1997 than a 2000.

I don't believe that the Crows CANNOT win a flag ... it is just IMO extremely unlikely. To win a flag this year the Crows would have to string four "hot" games together in a row in September.

Highly unlikely, but looking at Deja Vu precedent ... not impossible.

We are sitting nicely and there is no reason why we won't win the next two. But I agree, let us not get carried away, wherever we finish this season, it was always meant to be a learning and growth season. So we musn't get ahead of ourselves.....having said that, any chance of us finishing minor premiers!!!! :D

maccas_no1 said:
Yeah after this week when West Coast whoop their butts it will be all over for the 'power' :D

I have really been surprised with how badly Port Power are playing. I still think both Port and Brsibane are in the premiership race, however, if they don't win their next 2, the race is over IMHO.

BTW As I am currently enjoying a ban from the Port board I thought I would post this here. I'm now as confused as they are when it comes to their history. A few weeks ago Chocco commented "in our short history.....". Then on Saturday night the camera was on Tredrea and a caption appeared saying that with 300 odd goals he has kicked the most goals in Ports history. I would have thought Tim Evans, Scott Hodges and others would have kicked more goals than 300 odd. Can anyone point me in the right direction.

The history seems to change from week to week.

SpringChoke said:
I have really been surprised with how badly Port Power are playing. I still think both Port and Brsibane are in the premiership race, however, if they don't win their next 2, the race is over IMHO.

BTW As I am currently enjoying a ban from the Port board I thought I would post this here. I'm now as confused as they are when it comes to their history. A few weeks ago Chocco commented "in our short history.....". Then on Saturday night the camera was on Tredrea and a caption appeared saying that with 300 odd goals he has kicked the most goals in Ports history. I would have thought Tim Evans, Scott Hodges and others would have kicked more goals than 300 odd. Can anyone point me in the right direction.

Yeah, I've been confused about the issue (as have a number of BF posters) as it seems to change on a semi-regular basis. But now it's been made perfectly clear to me ... via Choco's comments in the media.

In the event of a big Port win, or if Port's W-L ratio is more wins than losses: they have eons of history and 30-whatever premierships.

In the event of an embarrassing loss or if Port's W-L ratio is weighted more to the losses: they have a brief history and are a new club.

Simple really.

SpringChoke said:
BTW As I am currently enjoying a ban from the Port board I thought I would post this here. I'm now as confused as they are when it comes to their history. A few weeks ago Chocco commented "in our short history.....". Then on Saturday night the camera was on Tredrea and a caption appeared saying that with 300 odd goals he has kicked the most goals in Ports history.
Cameras and caption editors are Victorian and have no concept of Ports ''history'' ..and good on em I say :p

SpringChoke said:

It's simple matey.

When things are going well, they have a long successfull history.

When things go pear shaped, they have only been around for 10 minutes.