9 premierships in 11 years *MB Thread*

Re: 9 premierships in 11 years

Probably a Stupid Question - Sorry:

Does the SANFL Clubs have Country Zones it can draw its players from:
Just interested if Centrals currently have a Strong recruiting / Breeding Zone. Works well and many Country players end up in WAFL then onto AFL

If the SANFL Does. Can Somone describe who gets what from where ?

In WA .. IF anyone is interested ??: East Fremantle has Geraldton ( Great Northern Football League )
Swan Districts - Has part of the South West Football League- basically the Bunbury Clubs. And Esperance I think
Peel has the Peel Football League and a Few of the 'Out of Bunbury Clubs in South west.
East Perth - Has the Southern Clubs in teh South West and the Lower South West FL
Subiaco - Goldfields
West Perth - Eastern Districts and Central Wheatbelt
South Fremantle - Upper Great Southern
Perth - Avon
Claremont - Great Southern .

Can't tell you who looks after Ongerup . Central Midlands or North Midlands

Yeah they do. Centrals have the Barossa Valley region, which basically backs onto their metro zone of the outer, outer northern suburbs.

Wrap it up mate. ALL our flags count. Our league which was the VFL is what you joined. It was changed to AFL. A symbol was changed. The league is the same. You were just an expansion team. Should we change the name of the league if say for example the AFL explands to NZL and discount all premierships previously won.

Your mind is just naturally driven to say such things because you devote a lot of emotion towards a corporate entity that is hardly a club that has next to no history and just a successful present.
West Coast play there 25th season next year - how long does a club have to exist to be worthy in your mind?? All the clubs are equal, so get over yourself

Therefore it is in your best interests to remove any recognition of success that clubs have had prior to your inclusion in OUR league. Victoria is the HOME of football. You are playing in OUR game and have been INVITED to join and WE have allowed it to become the AFL. The AFL headquarters is based in MELBOURNE.... the HOME of AFL. All flags in the VFL/AFL COUNT. If you dont like it go bugger off. Same goes for all you port fools who try and count your SANFL premierships.... what a crock of s**t. You have won 1 FLAG, richmond have won 10. We have won 9 more than you. Get it through your heads you idiots.

You're replying to a West Coast supporter - that has won 3 premierships, and played in 5 grandfinals in less than 25 years. Thats success.

Stop thinking your better than everyone else. Funny enough Subiaco Oval says it's the Home of Football. Football has existed outside of Victorian for a LONG time mate. All 16 AFL clubs are equal.

West Coast and Brisbane were 'invited' into 'your' league because you were broke and it was a shambles.

You post is why the Vic's verses the rest mentality exists sadly. It's the AFL now!

Probably a Stupid Question - Sorry:

Does the SANFL Clubs have Country Zones it can draw its players from:
Just interested if Centrals currently have a Strong recruiting / Breeding Zone. Works well and many Country players end up in WAFL then onto AFL

If the SANFL Does. Can Somone describe who gets what from where ?

In WA .. IF anyone is interested ??: East Fremantle has Geraldton ( Great Northern Football League )
Swan Districts - Has part of the South West Football League- basically the Bunbury Clubs. And Esperance I think
Peel has the Peel Football League and a Few of the 'Out of Bunbury Clubs in South west.
East Perth - Has the Southern Clubs in teh South West and the Lower South West FL
Subiaco - Goldfields
West Perth - Eastern Districts and Central Wheatbelt
South Fremantle - Upper Great Southern
Perth - Avon
Claremont - Great Southern .

Can't tell you who looks after Ongerup . Central Midlands or North Midlands

yeah there are zones but Ive forgotten the other clubs. Port Adelaide's is traditionally the Eyre Peninsula

@ chardonnay

well if you want to start the competition flag count from 0 every time a new team starts then we all start from 0 again next year.

sorry to disappoint you pies fans, but this year and probably next year were all just a big waste and will go down in history as nothing.

Regional League - who cares!

Typical response from a Gold Coast Supporter on the Gold Coast with no passion for the game itself!!

Regional / Community Football is what makes the AUSTRALIAN game some great. Every one of these players playing AFL cam e from a Small Suburban or Country Football Club.

Not some Manufactured team like the Gold Coast. And guess what .. every one of your players has come from a club I am talking about.

Put your glass of Chardonney down ! I bet you will only support the GC when the Temperature is over 24 degrees and it warm and friendly , no Chill in the air.

get a clue .. IDIOT !:mad:

Wrap it up mate. ALL our flags count. Our league which was the VFL is what you joined. It was changed to AFL. A symbol was changed. The league is the same. You were just an expansion team. Should we change the name of the league if say for example the AFL explands to NZL and discount all premierships previously won.

Your mind is just naturally driven to say such things because you devote a lot of emotion towards a corporate entity that is hardly a club that has next to no history and just a successful present. Therefore it is in your best interests to remove any recognition of success that clubs have had prior to your inclusion in OUR league. Victoria is the HOME of football. You are playing in OUR game and have been INVITED to join and WE have allowed it to become the AFL. The AFL headquarters is based in MELBOURNE.... the HOME of AFL. All flags in the VFL/AFL COUNT. If you dont like it go bugger off. Same goes for all you port fools who try and count your SANFL premierships.... what a crock of s**t. You have won 1 FLAG, richmond have won 10. We have won 9 more than you. Get it through your heads you idiots.

RICHMOND AFL FLAGS = 0 :thumbsu:

Regional League - who cares!

Why would you need to care. The GC has been given $millions to build a ground, buy players & get preferential draft picks for years to come. Your ignorant & arrogant comment shows you have no respect for, nor any understanding of the game of Australian rules. Where do you think the players who will be gifted to you all made their start in our game? Out of Vlads arse?
At Least Centrals are a proper club.

It's a phenomenal effort whichever way you look at it, really. Centrals still have to play by the same rules as any other SANFL club and have obviously put a perfect plan in place in the late 90s which has reaped ridiculous benefits this season.

It might not be the AFL, it might not even be the league it was 20-30 years ago, but you can only win the league you are in and Centrals last 11 years stacks up well against any footballing dynasty, their supporters should be very proud.

Are they big enough to make the jump to AFL? They seem to have a higher proportion of fans that don't have an AFL team than any other SANFL team, and the whole northern area of Adelaide seems to rally around them. Are they capable of pushing for an AFL spot in the near future or ever?

It's a phenomenal effort whichever way you look at it, really. Centrals still have to play by the same rules as any other SANFL club and have obviously put a perfect plan in place in the late 90s which has reaped ridiculous benefits this season.

It might not be the AFL, it might not even be the league it was 20-30 years ago, but you can only win the league you are in and Centrals last 11 years stacks up well against any footballing dynasty, their supporters should be very proud.

Are they big enough to make the jump to AFL? They seem to have a higher proportion of fans that don't have an AFL team than any other SANFL team, and the whole northern area of Adelaide seems to rally around them. Are they capable of pushing for an AFL spot in the near future or ever?

I dont think the AFL would do that. adelaide is perhaps too small to sustain 3 clubs. they also would have learned from the problem that port has had, in that the jump split the supporters and has resulted in a club struggling for support. i dont think they would take a club from a state league and insert them again. another sa club would have to be another hyrbid model i think.

On face value, it's very impressive. Not commenting on the quality of the competition or otherwise, but it would seem to me that having one team dominate for so long, can't be a good thing for the competition? Surely the SANFL should work to rectify this situation. You won't get new financial members (or very few) of your local clubs if there is no chance in hell of competing for the top gong.

The tool that said they're salary caps, yes there are but noone enforces them within the league. This is how $entrals gets away with pouring all their pokie revenue into the playing list, while traditional clubs like Port struggle to stay a float. They are pretty much the Collingwood of the AFL if there weren't some rules Eddie couldn't breach :).

Wrong... Norwood were penalised from a breach in 2009, prohibited from recruiting outside of their designated zones.

mate, your history along with the St kilda's and Western Bulldogs of the comp is pathetic

you've got a few VFL flags and 0 AFL flags... deal with your history

or lack thereof. ;)

Us 10 flags
Bullies and saints one each.

Even your pathetic attempt at making a point falls flat when ytou don't get the facts right.

And despite my feelings toward Port, the reason why they are in the AFL is because of their history.

The same loosely goes for Fremantle with the region's rich footballing history.

My theory is that because the salary cap is so small in the SANFL that there isn't much incentive to change clubs. The difference an average player is getting paid at Centrals wouldn't be much more than if he played at Wests or Souths. So if you have an incredible squad like Centrals do and are able to keep most while adding guys like Callinan, Goodrem, etc. you can win all these premierships.

The SANFL used to be a great competition until the Crows joined the AFL in 1991. The Crows hijacked most of the off field talent of the stronger clubs except Port Adelaide, as well as major sponsors of most clubs. Two clubs were left relatively untouched, Port Adelaide and Central. In the 1990s, Port won 7 flags as they had little competition, not even from Central, they weren't good enough.

Port Adelaide entered the AFL leaving Central to clean up. They still have most of their administration, as well as major sponsors ... not to mention the generous donations made into their pokies courtesy of Centrelink. So whilst other clubs were hurting, and still are, Central has been making hay while the sun shines. It's a bit like comparing the standard of the VFL pre-AFL days and VFL today.

In the SANFL we have a thing laughingly refered to as a salary cap. It's not like the AFL cap which is policed stringently, in the SANFL they allow clubs to do whatever they like, and Central has been blatantly cheating the the cap for many seasons. My club for some reason owned up to a salary cap breach, something that the SANFL would never have known about had they not been informed, and we were fined $50,000 and not allowed to recruit for 12 months.

Central has won 9 flags in 11 seasons. On the surface a great effort. But when the SANFL was a strong competition, Central won zilch. Never looked like it. Pay no attention to their 9 flags, they are as insignificant to SANFL history as Port Adelaide's SANFL flags are in AFL history.

As a "competition", the SANFL is a laughing stock, it's just that Central people haven't worked it out yet.

Talking about money then the eagles made five grandfinals without money. It's not a laughting stock as its second to the AFL live it use to be Second to the vfl sounds like a baby Norwood support having a sook, try loosing four in a row to them