Runyon

Friday morning saw the birth of my first child - Ella and my wife, who is a very keen Pies supporter, has decided to let Ella choose who she barracks for when she gets older. The In Laws and my father are all Pies "people" so you can imgaine there is a fair bit of pressure on to convert her to the Black and White Army.
This can not happen. It'd be a nightmare. So I need some advice on the best way of cricumventing this pending tragedy. Any advice would be welcome. I have taken a few pics with her draped in a Bullies jumper and sent it out to the in laws and others, sung the team song to her, told her that Murphy is a champ and we are a good chance this year.
What else can I do? Its backs to the wall stuff here and I need a come from behind win.

Thanks in advance.

Sounds like you might already have had a come from behind win :D

Anyway, congratulations. My tactic for my little girl is going to be making every bulldogs memory a positive one. Every game you watch, pretend the bulldogs win, sing the song, give her some lollies. Every nice person she meets, tell her he/she plays for the bulldogs. If she really likes her Christmas present, **** santa claus, tell her it was from Rodney Eade.

You get the picture. Can't fail.

Simple - when she gets to the age where her teeth start to fall out tell her if she barracks for Collingwood her teeth will fall out and never grow back...

start buying her memberships

write to the club asking for free stuff

go to training with her and get our psychopathic full forward to hold her and start taking happy snaps

Show her pictures of the collingwood cheer squad going feral. Should scare her. Short term you wont be doing her good but think long term.

Just don't show her ours, we can be a vicious looking mob too.

joffa-story.jpg

Simple. Just tell her shecan go with you to the footy every week. It will be a special father daughter time ;)

Anyway, congratulations. My tactic for my little girl is going to be making every bulldogs memory a positive one. Every game you watch, pretend the bulldogs win, sing the song, give her some lollies. Every nice person she meets, tell her he/she plays for the bulldogs. If she really likes her Christmas present, **** santa claus, tell her it was from Rodney Eade.

You get the picture. Can't fail.

That sounds like a winner, right there.

I sort of have a different issue. Obviously I'm a mad Doggies fan, but my sister and bro in law couldn't care less about football, so my little nephew (and the other one on the way) are growing up in a very non-AFL environment! :eek: It's just no way to live!

I've already christened him with a jumper and rain jacket, and taught him to say 'Cooooooooon' (which may or may not have been the best one to choose at such an early age, but whatever, he is a champion).

And everytime we see each other we "talk" about what's going on with the Bulldogs. I'll have to start taking him to games (when he's old enough) so he doesn't grow up to be a boring impartial AFL fan. That would be a tragedy.

I reckon just start dressing her up in doggies gear and taking pics - even when the Mrs isn't looking if she thinks it's not 'within the spirit of the game'...

Then when your daughter gets a few years old start leaving those pics where she can see them - then say 'ok, time to buy your first gearnsey - let's go chose'...she'll clearly go for the doggies one. Job done.

A couple of thoughts:

1. Introduce her to Jarvis Murphy. I'm sure Bob wouldn't mind!

2. Take her to Dimma's retaurant in Lygon St. Get photos. Nothing like meeting a (ex!)player to clinch the deal. Worked for me!

Maybe it's a bit early to act on these suggestions just yet, but in time...

Buy one of those Bulldog mascot teddy bears that play the club song when you press the tummy and sing it to her at bed time. My little girl loves to sing and this worked for me.

Even better if their favourite teddy bear is a bulldog one and they sleep with it every night! Good luck.

Friday morning saw the birth of my first child - Ella and my wife, who is a very keen Pies supporter, has decided to let Ella choose who she barracks for when she gets older. The In Laws and my father are all Pies "people" so you can imgaine there is a fair bit of pressure on to convert her to the Black and White Army.
This can not happen. It'd be a nightmare. So I need some advice on the best way of cricumventing this pending tragedy. Any advice would be welcome. I have taken a few pics with her draped in a Bullies jumper and sent it out to the in laws and others, sung the team song to her, told her that Murphy is a champ and we are a good chance this year.
What else can I do? Its backs to the wall stuff here and I need a come from behind win.

Thanks in advance.

Make sure you buy bulldogs baby gear, the inlaws will be trying to pan off Collingwood baby gear and other putrid black and white paraphernalia. Keep singing the Doggies song to her, both my Daughters could sing Sons of the West before most nursery rhymes. :thumbsu:

Buy one of those Bulldog mascot teddy bears that play the club song when you press the tummy and sing it to her at bed time. My little girl loves to sing and this worked for me.

Even better if their favourite teddy bear is a bulldog one and they sleep with it every night! Good luck.
This i got my stepdads Grandson to go for the dogs out of this! and his grandfather is a bombers man ! turns out his favourite player he says is Will Minson :eek:

Congratulations on your princess - girl's are great!

Tell her very early and very often that she was named after the daughter of one of the bulldogs greatest ever players, the captain of our 2010 premiership team Brad Johnson. :thumbsu:

Thanks for all the advice people. Some good ideas have been suggested. Will be chasing up baby memberships. have song the song to her a few times alrady, warned off the inlaws and extended family of pies supporters and looking forward to encougaing her love of all things doggies.

You get the picture. Can't fail

This ^

When my little bloke was born last year, I was on the phone to the club signing him up before I had even filled out his birth rego papers!

They sent us out a blanket and a beanie and he now travels everywhere with the blanket on his pram and the beanie on his head.

Someone got stuck into his nana the other day when he was out for a walk saying it was child abuse making him wear it - how's that for bad form?

Me and the old man are both Doggies men, so I figure he has no other choice (although Father in Law is COllingwood and bough him socks which disappeared very quickly)

Congrats on the new arrival, it is one wild ride
:)