Votes: 26 17.8%
  • Disagree

Votes: 56 38.4%
  • Dont Care

Votes: 64 43.8%

I'll repeat, I have no issue with you wearing what you wear and don't expect you to ever change it.

Our prison bar jumper represents our heritage and to be able to wear it regularly at home games against four of the AFL clubs from 2020 to mark our 150th anniversary as a club does not seem to be an unreasonable request.

To many of us old farts, that PB jumper is significant and I don't want to see it lost to the next generation.

I apologise that our history means something to us, you clearly have a monopoly on heritage and anything else you choose to have a monopoly on.

Then make an official request to wear it for a special occasion in five years time, and let the "debate" lay dormant in the meantime, as it was before this thread was started.

I'll repeat, I have no issue with you wearing what you wear and don't expect you to ever change it.

Our prison bar jumper represents our heritage and to be able to wear it regularly at home games against four of the AFL clubs from 2020 to mark our 150th anniversary as a club does not seem to be an unreasonable request.

To many of us old farts, that PB jumper is significant and I don't want to see it lost to the next generation.

I apologise that our history means something to us, you clearly have a monopoly on heritage and anything else you choose to have a monopoly on.
I repeat if the prison bars uniform is so important why dont' YOU compromise and use the same design with the addition of teal. you know like your designated colours for the privilege of being allowed to compete in the AFL. You have a choice compromise or leave.

I am of the mindset, every club should have a true home and away guernsey. Yes clubs have tradition with the guernsey's but clubs, like the AFL need to adapt to new times.

Saying that, for ports identity at AFL level, I love the current jerseys and they should use the prison bars as a heritage guernsey or if there away guernsey clashes.

Do you want it for just 2020, or from 2020 onwards?
Not mentioned in OP.
I think it'd be alright for just 2020.
Not permanent though.
Because port came in to the league and agreed to the change, they can't then get comfortable and say nah, not anymore.

I repeat if the prison bars uniform is so important why dont' YOU compromise and use the same design with the addition of teal. you know like your designated colours for the privilege of being allowed to compete in the AFL. You have a choice compromise or leave.

I would be happy with the design by Joy Division with one exception, that the back bottom half remains full black and not striped.

Also I would be happy if we just wore that every year from 2020 against Essendon, Carlton, Richmond and Melbourne for our homes games.

That would provide the connection to the past that would settle the issue from my perspective.

I would be happy with the design
rabin-arafat.jpg

a question for Port Adelaide people...

do you think that reverting to the 'hated' Port of the SANFL will not set you back in terms of support and money???

we saw how big a club you are when you couldn't get a crowd and needed bay covers...

to survive i believe that the future supporters will embrace the AFL Port...sure wear the jumper for heritage games and special occasions but beware of biting the hand of new supporters...

"We've been in the competition longer" isn't a good reason. It's a national competition now, it's not the VFL.

Collingwood changed their jumper from black on white to white on black. If they'd left it as it was, there wouldn't be an issue, aesthetically. They don't own the colours and the prison bar design is not the same as the stripes.

That said, I think Port should retain their V jumpers and only bring out the prison bars every once in a while. Embrace their AFL identity.

Actually, the current black back jumper is closer to our original jumper than the current away top (and former white back jumper).

Regardless, we had the black and white jumper colours and magpies moniker first. When another team requests to come into a new league, then they have to change there logo, colours and nickname. It happens all the time in other leagues.

Sydney FC cracked the sh&ts about melb city wanting to wear man city blue. Even the lions weren't happy when the suns revealed their colours (which the afl should never have let happen). The southport sharks used to have black and white stripes but lost a coin toss to Nerang and had to wear the white top with a black V. Does Southport have a sook every year about returning to the stripes? Nope. They forged a new identity and stuck with it.

Port fans get it in your head. We are the original black and white magpies. We own the brand at an national AFL level. We were the first in the AFL when it went national in 1990 to have black and white. You can be black and white magpies all u want in the sanfl. But you agreed not to wear it when you came into the league. Be like southport (ironically your away top is pretty much a rip off of there's anyway) and embrace your new jumper and build on that heritage.

Every year you guys bring this up. It does your club, Port Power, no favours.

I asked the same earlier in the thread, expecting it to have been bought up somewhere recently in the media. Haven't heard a word about the "debate" for years.

Nor have I. I know Port wore it against Richmond in the finals last year because of an apparent clash arising from Richmond not wearing their away jumper, but I wouldn't call that a saga.

The 'solution' provided in the OP merely solves a problem that doesn't need to be solved. There are two reasons why Port don't wear the prison bar jumper. They don't want to, and Collingwood don't want them to. There's no practical reason why they don't/can't wear it, so no practical 'solution' is required.

I love through this whole debate it's always said that Eddie won't compromise. Well what I'd like to know is where has there been the compromise on the side of Port. I still think the best compromise would be the prison bar jumper with teal stripes. If you don't like it go back to the SANFL.

As to all the other Pelicans saying identity doesn't matter, air course it bloody does. Don't for one second go pretending you wouldn't be up in arms if another club with a similar jumper tried to join the league. It's just that some of you can't get past your anti Collingwood crusade.

If another club wanted to join wearing blue and gold that had a long and proud history of wearing blue and gold i would look at their designs - and as long as they were different to ours and when they played us - we got to wear blue and gold - they had to change - id have no issue.

As someone else said - look at the premier league

A club's history isn't all tied up in their kit. They're the same Collingwood Football Club, they still have 15 VFL/AFL premierships, and they still have a rich heritage.

Besides, Collingwood have worn a variation of their current guernsey (I.e., white middle stripe) from 1908 to 1922.

Collingwood-1912.gif

courtesy of footyjumpers.com
Wow!

Given there's absolutely no clash between Port Adelaide's traditional prison bar guernsey and Collingwood's vertical stripes, this should have never been an issue. Given that statement, Port Adelaide's current outfit is excellent.

No clash? Haha did you not see the footage of the 1993 trial between the two clubs? Massive clash. And it would have been even worse when pies were at home with black shorts.

A club's history isn't all tied up in their kit. They're the same Collingwood Football Club, they still have 15 VFL/AFL premierships, and they still have a rich heritage.

Besides, Collingwood have worn a variation of their current guernsey (I.e., white middle stripe) from 1908 to 1922.

Collingwood-1912.gif

courtesy of footyjumpers.com

And...

As I said earlier, I would be happy if the compromise was: teal above the horizontal line, and the equivalent on the back at the top (where the black is).

If we wore this as our home strip (with dark shorts) vs Essendon, Melbourne, Richmond and Carlton and they wore their normal home strip (and white shorts).

Would also like to see us wear it as our away strip against the same clubs (with white shorts).

I'd actually love it if Port Adelaide started a campaign to wear the Prison Bars, because it would just go and dilute all of the great branding work they have done over the past couple of seasons, and start to muddy it up again :thumbsu:

Become that basket case again that we all know you want to be, Port Adelaide

Dude, they're a better run club than the Crows.

Have you been living under a rock the last 3 years.

Where in my statement did I say anything about the Crows? *

In actual fact, it was pretty much a (albeit, backhanded) compliment to Port - They've done a great job over the past few seasons getting their branding and identity right -

To try to bring back the PB in any permanent sense would be a step backwards. Even many Port Adelaide supporters think that

* I think, without a doubt, the biggest flaw that bigfooty posters have (in general) is to base responses on whichever team the poster has on their avatar. It's base, it's tacky, and it's unintelligent. The Crows had nothing to do with this thread but they've been mentioned (as a dig) because that's the team on my avatar... it's pointless...

I've even had some numpties give me shit for living in Adelaide, even though it clearly states I live in Melbourne (and have for 8 years).

It would be an interesting experiment if for a week everyone's team supported information wasn't visible, and to see if there is a difference in the quality of posting. (i.e, delving into the actual topic of the OP, rather than baseless attacks on the team one supports)

Nor have I. I know Port wore it against Richmond in the finals last year because of an apparent clash arising from Richmond not wearing their away jumper, but I wouldn't call that a saga.

The 'solution' provided in the OP merely solves a problem that doesn't need to be solved. There are two reasons why Port don't wear the prison bar jumper. They don't want to, and Collingwood don't want them to. There's no practical reason why they don't/can't wear it, so no practical 'solution' is required.
Lol that whole saga was a complete joke because we had already worn our clash jumper against them 3-4 times and there was no problem those times. Was just another example of the afl making shit up as they go.

As for the prison bars, I reckon they should embrace their port power brand their current home and clash jumpers are perfect. Save the bars for heritage to make it a bit more special.

Why wouldn't you want to wear your original 1870 blue and white hooped jumper for the 150 year celebration in 2020?

You guys just love to pick and choose your heritage.

Lol that whole saga was a complete joke because we had already worn our clash jumper against them 3-4 times and there was no problem those times. Was just another example of the afl making shit up as they go.

As for the prison bars, I reckon they should embrace their port power brand their current home and clash jumpers are perfect. Save the bars for heritage to make it a bit more special.

I think this is what they do now.

In saying that I meant Port with the prison bars, but it equally to the AFL making shit up as they go along.

Why wouldn't you want to wear your original 1870 blue and white hooped jumper for the 150 year celebration in 2020?

You guys just love to pick and choose your heritage.

TTRRAAVVIISS, please go and take the false teeth out, put your feet up and watch Pawn shop specials on 7mate or whatever it is you Broadmeadows lot do. Lets the adults talk now.