Goldust

Nashville Predators
:)HAPPENED to be in attendance at Mildura trots last night - Ouyen Cup night. The driver of the winner of the feature event - Doolan Jack - carried the Richmond colours, black with yellow sash. Happend to notice that the winning silks contained a small number 46 on the front. It was later in the night I learned that the 46 was actually a tribute to deceased former Tigers premiership player Terry Smith, the 46 being the number he proudly worse in the 1980 grand final demolition of Collingwood. Stirring stuff and hopefully a good omen for the season ahead. Here's hoping the black with yellow sash features in plenty more wins in '09. And thumbs up for the mark of respect for Tiger Terry!!!:thumbsu:

great little story Goldy ...:thumbsu:

How did you go on the Punt ?

:)Work prevented me from getting there any earlier than the fifth, probably just as well. Went winless through the remaining four races and spewing too have missed the cup winner!! Tezza Smith was one of the faves back in the day!
Gotta say, Idi, if you want a cold beer, Mildura Harness Racing Club is the place to be. Easily the coldest cans of Carlton Draught and Melbourne Bitter you'll find anywhere in this great country of ours!!!
I'll be heading back - I'm sure.:)

:)Work prevented me from getting there any earlier than the fifth, probably just as well. Went winless through the remaining four races and spewing too have missed the cup winner!! Tezza Smith was one of the faves back in the day!
Gotta say, Idi, if you want a cold beer, Mildura Harness Racing Club is the place to be. Easily the coldest cans of Carlton Draught and Melbourne Bitter you'll find anywhere in this great country of ours!!!
I'll be heading back - I'm sure.:)
Pity its such a bloody long drive ... would be very nice to catch up at the red hots one evening :thumbsu:

Gotta say , huge respect for Terry Smith , tough as nails and very under-rated ... was great the way the Flea looked after him him in his final days ... said a lot about Dale and the type of bloke he is . i am wrapped he has ended up working back at punt rd. ... long term i think his influence will very important and immeasurable

Pity its such a bloody long drive ... would be very nice to catch up at the red hots one evening :thumbsu:

Gotta say , huge respect for Terry Smith , tough as nails and very under-rated ... was great the way the Flea looked after him him in his final days ... said a lot about Dale and the type of bloke he is . i am wrapped he has ended up working back at punt rd. ... long term i think his influence will very important and immeasurable

:)WHICH leads me to (not one who normally name drops ... but .....) the Flea himself was there last evening. was fortunate to have a beer or three with him while discussing our Tigers, with one eye also on the TV, watching the reborn, rejuvenated, re-modelled, re -everything Jelena Dokic score the gutsiest of wins!!! The Flea is a legend and had great delight in telling him how a signed WEG caricature of him holds pride of place on my loungeroom wall!!! If I died tomorrow, I would die a happy man having drank with the Flea!!!

Well there you go :thumbsu: i bet he was on Doolan Jack , actually ... "Jack Doolan" was on old bushranger if my memory serves me correctly ... me and bojangles used to sing about him in primary school ... probably fitting for Terry ;):p

I think the flea was originally from up that way with the likes of the ghost Jimmy Jess and the general . In his playing days he actually lived just down the road from me in Vermont Sth .. pretty sure he still lives there .... Clinton King grew up in the same street as him , tells stories of kicking the footy in the street with the flea when he was a young fella ....

Well there you go :thumbsu: i bet he was on Doolan Jack , actually ... "Jack Doolan" was on old bushranger if my memory serves me correctly ... me and bojangles used to sing about him in primary school ... probably fitting for Terry ;):p

I think the flea was originally from up that way with the likes of the ghost Jimmy Jess and the general . In his playing days he actually lived just down the road from me in Vermont Sth .. pretty sure he still lives there .... Clinton King grew up in the same street as him , tells stories of kicking the footy in the street with the flea when he was a young fella ....

:)Jack Doolan??? Wasn't he the Wild Colonial Boy????:D Pretty sure I was singing that song too when I was in the school choir!!! Ahhh, yes ... the school choir!!! Not so fond memories of one night of having to sing the national anthem solo to open the school's big production night!!! farnham has nothing on me!!!

You'd think Clinton King might have learnt something then!!!!!

The General .. he's a copper up this way these days!!!

Hmmm dunno, my fridge is pretty cold. 6 Tooheys extra dry stubbies in the freezer for 2 hours and you're set :cool:

And i thought you were living in hollywood.......lol

great post mate

a tiger great is flea...heart the size of a lion..glad the clubs looking after him:thumbsu:

Ah the Ouyen trots, we used to try wag school I think on a Tuesday to have peek or sneek away from school sports next door on the oval....ah those were the days.

Just on the Ghost... wasn't he from St Arnard not the Sunryrasia. I know that Flea was from Imperials & the General was from Irymple which had the unfortunate nickname of the "Swallows". Enough to make you cringe

Ah the Ouyen trots, we used to try wag school I think on a Tuesday to have peek or sneek away from school sports next door on the oval....ah those were the days.

Just on the Ghost... wasn't he from St Arnard not the Sunryrasia. I know that Flea was from Imperials & the General was from Irymple which had the unfortunate nickname of the "Swallows". Enough to make you cringe

St Arnaud is correct!

Well there you go :thumbsu: i bet he was on Doolan Jack , actually ... "Jack Doolan" was on old bushranger if my memory serves me correctly ... me and bojangles used to sing about him in primary school ... ....

LMAO at remembering that, a verse behind everyone else, skillfully maintaining the same note from beginning to end ...aghh, them were the days, the class of 1977:p

:)1977 .... Barry Richardson was coach, Francis Bourke captain and Courage and Tooth were popular beers!!!!!!

Mrs TT was previously a Mildura resident. Always reminds me of Sunraysia's favourite Tiger sons, the General, Flea, Phil Egan, Knighter to name a few. I went to Mildura every 2nd weekend for 18 months before I managed to lure her to this lil paradise. Gave the pokies a few hidings but never graced the red hots though. No doubt she would say that she was the only winner I needed from Mildura..lmao

Mark Lee played for the Mildura Demons( as well as the Bower brothers).

"He's (flea) has been in more big battles than John Wayne" Was one of Dennis Cometti's in a state match in the day. Always call into the Jarklin Pub (4 Posts) on the way up Toolybuc or Robivale to go fishing and they claim to have Flea's yellow 1980 G/f boots, Don't know if they're still there or not?

Ah so he did - thanks for the correction:thumbsu:

I remember Brendon Bower coming down to take a Vic Kick session with Matthew Knights & Brian Weightman (Flea's dad) at Ouyen when I was 9...ah the memories

I recall locals touting Nathan Bower as the next big think, as per usual the tiges fell hook line sinker for a bloke that could easily have ridden the jumps at the cup day hurdle...Looked the goods in U19 were he starred, was never able to build on it apart from when we played WC where he OWNED peter matera:p

the flea is what you point to when you talk about love of the yellow and black. He has stuck with the tigers through the shitful years, watched as failed coach after failed coach, brought us to our knees and just kept at it. Doing anything to help the club out of its dillema.
What I cant understand is why is flea the only tiger to put his hand up, from that formidable late 70s early 80's group?
We hear about Kernahans and Diesels overseeing what goes on in the box, we hear about Dunstalls & Breretons overseeing the direction for the dawks, but what the **** happened to the players who were part of our successful eras? ;)

St Arnaud is correct!

Jimmy Jess was recruited from St Arnaud but he was originally from Avoca.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?c=1-6176-80669-0-0&sID=89864