nicko016

Sammy will probably come back within a few weeks. But how much can he do for us? I'm not saying that he shouldn't be in the team, but will he be able to be as good as he has been as he is becoming a battled wearied soldier. I still see a spot for him in the 22, I still think he is in our top 10 but I'm not sure whether he will be able to play the same role as he has played before over a sustained period of time. Even if he manages to play out the rest of the year will he be able to play 20 or 18 games out of the 22 next year? I hope he comes back and performs well this year and has a great year next year, but he is getting older and battered.

He can give us about 1 quarter of football before he injures his frail little body again and is sidenlined for the rest of the season.

Same with kosi.

Both are useless players and should be traded for players who can actually play week to week football.

frednirk said:
He can give us about 1 quarter of football before he injures his frail little body again and is sidenlined for the rest of the season.

Same with kosi.

Both are useless players and should be traded for players who can actually play week to week football.

I think it's quite obvious they're not useless players.

frednirk said:

Same with kosi.

:confused: *shakes head in disbelief*

Nico, Aaron Hamill is a MAJOR plus for us when he returns.
His presence on the field is enormous. I am confident he will go about his game with the same intensity as he always has. He is almost obsessive about getting the ball and keeping it in the forward line, without him, it is often cleared. He protects our other forwards with his physicality and menace. He adds a huge measure of confidence to the others, knowing that Sammy's got their back. He is a great contested mark of the ball. A great contested possession getter. He demands a solid defender (hence giving another of our players a better match up) and he is a natural leader.

I don't think Aaron can play a different game, his intensity at the ball or the man with the ball is how he plays. Take that off him and he will not be the footballer he is. It would be like giving Einstein a labotomy. Aaron still has a lot of good footy left in him. He will wear a premiership medallion.

frednirk said:
He can give us about 1 quarter of football before he injures his frail little body again and is sidenlined for the rest of the season. Same with kosi. Both are useless players and should be traded for players who can actually play week to week football.
While I am pretty hungry, I wont take your bait :p

I tell you what though, I'd be deliriously happy if Kosi & Hamill DID play every week!

StKildonan said:
He is almost obsessive about getting the ball and keeping it in the forward line, without him, it is often cleared. He protects our other forwards with his physicality and menace. He adds a huge measure of confidence to the others, knowing that Sammy's got their back. He is a great contested mark of the ball. A great contested possession getter. He demands a solid defender (hence giving another of our players a better match up) and he is a natural leader.
All very good points StKildonan. I also reckon that with crap teams dragging down the spectacle of footy by flooding our forward line, I think Sammy would test the effectiveness of the opposition's zoning, by creating space, moving/running taking defenders away from their zone, bumping, distracting, blocking the 2nd, 3rd or 4th tags on some players, etc.

StKildonan, I've got no doubt he'll come back and play the same way when he comes back. You have just proven to me how much Sammy's worth. My major question is not of his endeavour or anything like that. It is whether he will be able to play 18 or 20 matches out of the 22 in that same way? If not would you rather him try and change his style to play 18 or 20 games or just play the same style and be happy with playing 12 or 14 games?

If I had to choose, I'd take the real Aaron Hamill for 12 - 14 matches over a watered down version.
Mind you, I think he will become a much more reliable contributor after this season. He has had bad luck rather than age-related injuries.

StKildonan said:
If I had to choose, I'd take the real Aaron Hamill for 12 - 14 matches over a watered down version.
Mind you, I think he will become a much more reliable contributor after this season. He has had bad luck rather than age-related injuries.

Yeh, that's interesting. But If I had to choose I'd do the same but just hope that it's at the right time of year.

frednirk said:

Same with kosi.

Troll.:thumbsd: :rolleyes:

Hamill the softest 'hardman' around, what a joke of a player, should have stayed at carlton :D

dirty_dizz said:
Hamill the softest 'hardman' around, what a joke of a player, should have stayed at carlton :D

This is the Saints board and you're not contributing anything so go away please. That goes for you too Fred Nirk.

A fit and firing Aaron Hamill is close to the most important player on our list. Hopefully we can have him up and running before the finals to get some match fitness.

sainter said:
This is the Saints board and you're not contributing anything so go away please. That goes for you too Fred Nirk.

A fit and firing Aaron Hamill is close to the most important player on our list. Hopefully we can have him up and running before the finals to get some match fitness.

Well said Sainter.

i get bagged by mates constantly for sticking up for this bloke! but i luv him.. not a hack or sniper as people call him just attacks the ball with everything he has got.. something a few of our boyz should watch carefully hopefully he times his run beautifully and is back in the thick of it in the late weeeks ov september

A lot of journo's have said that we struggle against the flood and so forth. Sammy's return could help us in this area signifcantly. Suddenly there will be three players for the opposition to zone onto rather than just Roey and Fraser. Not to mention, his groundwork will be important when we are outnumbered on the deck becasue of them flooding back.

nicko016 said:
A lot of journo's have said that we struggle against the flood ...
:) Hey Nicko, this is why I stopped reading mate!