bingle

Celtics, Patriots, RedSox
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/dees-could-get-ablettlike-compo-for-scully-20110616-1g61f.html

Can see this being debated more and more over the coming weeks if Scully doesnt at least verbally commit to Melbourne very shortly.
Basically says the Dees may be able to get similar compo as what the Cats did for Gaz last year.

Question is did the Cats get stitched up by the AFL with a crappy compo deal?

Obviously Gaz's credentials are way way better than that of Scully's but i do realise there are other things at play like age, draft order, contract size etc.
Either way it's a hot topic that could get a few cats fans noses out of joint.

Yeah agreed, who cares its all done and dusted.

If Scully leaves, Dees probably deserve similar compo - at least we got 2 flags and a lot of good footy from Gaz - Scully isnt anywhere near his peak yet.
I guess though it would be karma that tanking doesnt always win!! :D

i certainly hope he stays at melbourne but if he leaves i hope they get looked after by the AFL. i would just be very interest to see what the club end up receiving and see if the AFL's criteria for compo changes
hopefully the cats arent in a situation again where they have to receive compo again though

Obviously we got ripped off.

Ablett is the best player, or at least, best mid fielder in the comp. Someone of his caliber and credentials was worth a number 1 draft pick and then a later first round pick at the very least. Forget what position he was drafted from, he developed under Geelong and we deserved higher compensation.

The AFL wouldn't do that though because it would be fair and mean we would actually get some kind of equalization for having our player robbed - The Suns get the best in the league but we would have gotten the chance to rebuild much faster, with the possibility of remaining at the top whilst doing so. This is probably what scared the AFL and made them short change us so.

Now, with Melbourne they have the number one draft pick from a few years ago leaving a fledgling, rebuilding club and they have to decide whether they'll burn a bottom club in the same way or make it look like they intentionally screwed us over by giving them more.

I would expect a mid first round & mid 2nd round pick for Scully. I would view that as a step below what we got for the best player in the comp.

If any teams get higher than mid first round pick for any player I'd be a smidge unhappy.

If Demons get anything close to what Geelong got for Ablett, we will need a royal commission. 2 seasons do not make a champion.

I'm sick, too, of opposition supporters saying "but you got X great years from Ablett, and he handed you 2 premierships".

Shows the absurdity of the compo formula in use. Scully was a No 1 pick. After one and a half season of footy has done absolutely nothing to suggest he didn't deserve to be No 1 and is definitely in the Top 5 players of his draft.

Is anyone surprised? The MRP is chook lotto at best, the rules committee makes changes for the sake of making changes, so why would the determination of compensation picks be any different. Lot of money involved for what can be an amateurish organisation at times. Just bloody hand the GC and GWS a flag each and let the game get back to normal.

Wake me up around July 2014. I might care by then.

They dont deserve similar compo.
But they do. Does that make sense? :D

We got ok compo. It wasn't enough really.
If Melb received the same then it would be fair for scully.

He was #1 pick and he has backed it up.

We had developed a guy for 7 years and lost him at the height of his power.
He was the best.

They won't be hurt so much by losing a guy they've only had since breakfast.

So 3 picks in the early 30's is fair.

I do not mind if Melbourne get a good deal. Gary at this stage is a much better player but Scully is the future at Melbourne. If he left it would have a greater impact at the end of the day.

Players will soon be able to enter the free market. With the great culture of our side combined with the stable admin we should have players trying to knock the door down. We will benefit down the track

I do not mind if Melbourne get a good deal. Gary at this stage is a much better player but Scully is the future at Melbourne. If he left it would have a greater impact at the end of the day.

Players will soon be able to enter the free market. With the great culture of our side combined with the stable admin we should have players trying to knock the door down. We will benefit down the track

Yep! As Jim Boy suggested, if the Dees are able secure two first round draft picks for Scully without having to take on the AFL as we did, good luck to them.

BTW. I'm not sure Scully deferring contract negotiations is directly related to the GWS.

If you were him why would you put up with all the crap for the whole season if it isn't related to GWS.

If it was really about the CBA why wouldn't just follow Selwood's "Ablett leaving clause" example. He could commit to the demons with a clause that his contract rises by the amount of increase in the CBA that is ultimately agreed upon.

He is gone.

i thought two first rounders for ablett with the ability to use them when it suits us was fair compensation. not good, but fair

with scully, on one hand he's a classy but unproven player that's not worthy of the same compensation as ablett. on the other, he's a very recent number 1 draft pick and worth more than a mid 1st round pick.

If you were him why would you put up with all the crap for the whole season if it isn't related to GWS.

If it was really about the CBA why wouldn't just follow Selwood's "Ablett leaving clause" example. He could commit to the demons with a clause that his contract rises by the amount of increase in the CBA that is ultimately agreed upon.

He is gone.

My info is that he's driven by team success more than getting an extra few bucks in his kick. There is a view he's waiting to see whether Melbourne can get its act together and what their chances are for the ultimate success before he makes any decisions. His management knows he'll get attractive offers and therefore will get well remunerated wherever he ends up.

My info is that he's driven by team success more than getting an extra few bucks in his kick. There is a view he's waiting to see whether Melbourne can get its act together and what their chances are for the ultimate success before he makes any decisions.

If that's his perogative I would sign with Melbourne if I was him. GWS won't be premiership chances for 5+ years by which time he will be eligible for free agency so might as well just take the chances that the Dees come good and if not jump ship to a team right on the brink then. Then again if he was waiting to see if Bailey was sacked before signing on I could understand.

You see my suggestion a few posts back was that GWS isn't necessarily front and centre as his destination. What if, say, Collingwood or Carlton or Essendon et al had expressed interest?

There's no need for him to rush a decision. He'll have plenty of suitors.

Don't be surprised to see Scott Burns at the helm at the Dees in 2012 either.

Can one really say whether its fair comp till the picks and the players picked play out.

If Smedt and player X become players in our best 5 maybe a Brownlow , All Aust etc , there will then be unanimous acclamation that Geelong got too much , too often. They got Ablett FS then got these two champs when they had near ten years of Ablett at his best.

If on the other hand , Smedts and player X become non events (for what ever reason) a study of the quality of the draft will be done. Geelong will have been poor in judgement if there a better players after our picks.

If we lose a GF by a smidgen , an amount that Ablett may have made the difference will any comp be enough. What of the history of the Ablett name , what of the chance of him playing 300 for us.....

Just too many questions without answers , we will not know for years if it has worked out fairly. Yet at least we saw him do something for us in finals and on the day of the season. I pitty the Demons supporters, if he goes they may be watching this kid for the next decade play for someone else.

They dont deserve similar compo.
But they do. Does that make sense? :D

We got ok compo. It wasn't enough really.
If Melb received the same then it would be fair for scully.

He was #1 pick and he has backed it up.

We had developed a guy for 7 years and lost him at the height of his power.
He was the best.

They won't be hurt so much by losing a guy they've only had since breakfast.

So 3 picks in the early 30's is fair.

Is this meant to be a poem?

Something that I found interesting during the last trade week came with the Powers dealing Cornes and Brogan and Lions dealing Power to GWS apparently players are contracted up to the PSD and clubs could trade them like any other trade period.

With this in mind the compo we got for Gary is now looking a bit thin to think we could have traded him to the GC for any number of there first round selections more in line with the Judd type of return last year instead of the compo picks is a bit interesting

I think we wanted to actually keep Gary...

We could have had Ablett 'sign' with us on the prviso that we trade him to GC for a bundle of early picks, but then GC may have taken another Geelong player as their freebie.

Besides, there is something smelly about a player and club signing a contract that is false on the proviso of ripping off the system. I'm not sure that would have been seen as 'asute'

Turns out we didn't need any compensation at all ;)

Really looking forward to what Smedts can bring next year.

It's funny that we are written off for being old when teams like Hawthorn and Collingwood haven't been into the draft seriously for 3+ years now. Our benefit is that we have kept all our top picks so we've got first round quality like Menzel, Smedts and Guthrie to push into a premiership team.