rocket18

Goody Saints
Tonights game went according to plan, was exactly as predicted - so I have no dramas with the game.

However I experienced something tonight I have never experienced before, a fellow crows supporter told me to shut up.

I have been a member since 1991, we have had the same seats since for 20 odd years until the move to AO, unfortunately at the AO we are behind 3 "old" ladies that after 7 games at home have yet to make a noise. They are in row A in section 132. They don't cheer, don't clap, they don't even talk amongst themselves after a goal or lull in play.

I am fairly rowdy during the game, I never swear (I have a young son) but I cheer the crows or abuse the umpire as required. Of course I gave Razor Ray a serve at 3/4 time (or when he thought it was), haven't seen the replay yet but the siren DID NOT go at the ground when he called end of quarter.

If your mum or grandma has season tickets in Row A in the eastern stand can you please tell them it is OK to cheer for your team or to boo the opposition or to jeer the umpires.

I am still flabbergasted, I always thought it was Poort supporters exaggerating our knitting needle brigade, I was quiet for the last quarter as I didn't know what to think.

I would never think ill of someone but the club will be better off when these supporter "die off" - not literally but when they can no longer attend.

Sorry for the rant but I feel so despondent, why would a crows supporter tell another crows supporter to shut up??

I was at a Port game last year against Sydney.There was a passionate Port supporter who was cheering on his team when another Port supporter told him to shut it in their members. So the point of the story, we all have non passionate people come to the games. Which sucks coz we need to be as loud as possible

Hey I had security called down to me because I was apparently being too rowdy. I behaved no different to the past 15 years and was absolutely not crossing any lines in terms of language or volume. Pathetically soft crowd. Amateur hour.

This sounds like what happened to me (but without the security called), what do you think the difference is to AAMI?

I don't feel like going next game, do I quieten up? I will feel self conscious now, not wanting to be too loud.

Guy next to me was told to sit down and shut up, no swearing, not particularly aggressive, just called the umpire out on a horrendous call.

It's not golf, tennis or the cinema FFS.

This sounds like what happened to me (but without the security called), what do you think the difference is to AAMI?

I don't feel like going next game, do I quieten up? I will feel self conscious now, not wanting to be too loud.

I've been going for years. No security called. Tonight, security everywhere.

Possible reason - there was a huge social media push pre-game about "reporting abuse". Plus, Friday night game = more security presence/awareness.

I love the oval, a lot, but heck me has it brought in some amateurs.

Don't worry about them. Go to the next home game - don't avoid it to please them. We need every loud and passionate supporter that as can get.

It's not a crime to be vocal.

Sorry to hear of your poor treatment by the knitting brigade.

Honestly- **** em. Make them shift I say. Many places in this world for silence, the footy isnt one of them.

The thing is I got no support from anyone around either, I am in my 40's, 6 foot tall, 110 kgs against a little old lady in her 60's - it does look a bit suss if you didn't know what has been said.

So now I am thinking perhaps everyone around us agrees with her - that I should shut up,

This is the negative with season tickets, you are stuck with your neighbours, the western stand seems attractive now.

calling 3/4 time before the end of the quarter was amateur too. the tv said 4 seconds left. hah.
as for those old ducks, just ignore them mate. the louder our supporters are the better.

I was in aisle 310 in the Western stand, made heaps of noise for most of the game and was pleasantly surprised I didn't get told to shut up. I even inadvertently dropped a few swear words with kids around too. Was also quite happy that not too many left before the final siren. Most of us stuck it out which was pleasing.

The thing is I got no support from anyone around either, I am in my 40's, 6 foot tall, 110 kgs against a little old lady in her 60's - it does look a bit suss if you didn't know what has been said.

So now I am thinking perhaps everyone around us agrees with her - that I should shut up,

This is the negative with season tickets, you are stuck with your neighbours, the western stand seems attractive now.

The 5AA-listening, budget-reading, flask-drinking crowd have been around since 1991.

Well actually they were in their roaring 40s in 1991, but are now in their 70s.

Best to ignore them, which I've typically done, but I must admit having security called to me was a shock and quietened me. But I'm just getting involved. I don't pay premium on my seat to sit in silence. We have a lot to learn.

The blue rinse set are the most dominant demographic. Their ****ing tartan rugs that they use to save seats piss me off no end. This is despite the clear rule in the members saying you can't, but no one will touch them because they are old ladies. Starting to think of going stealth mode one day and dress up as one, Tootsie/Mrs. Doubtfire style. Seems to me the only way you can get seats in the members. Also I am sure some of them have vodka in their thermoses (or is it thermi??)

I have heard other Crows supporters saying they have been told to be quiet, I sort of dismissed them, thinking yeh yeh you were probably swearing etc.

But when it happens to you it is a real shock, I am surprised how much it has effected me. Like you said PJ, it is a real shock.

Probably good we have a few weeks until the next home game, I need to get my mojo back!!

I have heard other Crows supporters saying they have been told to be quiet, I sort of dismissed them, thinking yeh yeh you were probably swearing etc.

But when it happens to you it is a real shock, I am surprised how much it has effected me. Like you said PJ, it is a real shock.

Probably good we have a few weeks until the next home game, I need to get my mojo back!!

Spot on mate. I was a bit deflated.

It's all about the luck of the draw..
And yes, it's out there and is real..
Some people I know love where they now are at AO, others want to go back to the crowd they had around them at AAMI..

At AAMI, we had the most awesome guys behind us but some terrible people in front in their 50's-60's who would cover their ears if someone yelled, give glares to people, run off to tell security if you said a word like idiot/crap etc as it was an excuse for them to do it because they didn't like you being loud..

So many other stories of this stuff, I couldn't handle the thought of the same people week in, week out, year after year again..
It creates a shit environment..
So we jumped over to the members.. Other than the fact you have to get there earlier to get a seat due to AO attendances being crazy (which is a problem itself with the bullshit seat saving I'm seeing occur that wasn't meant to), it is so refreshing to not know anyone near you and know you don't have to put up with them week after week..

I could never understand why anyone would be "members", having to get there early to get a seat just doesn't appeal to me. We must have been lucky at AAMI with the crowd around us, never had any problems in over 20 years.

But now the thought of been able to sit any where in the western stand is very attractive.

Old hags is the reason I never take my seat in bay 144. Stupid biddies should stick to lawn bowls comps

Hey I had security called down to me because I was apparently being too rowdy. I behaved no different to the past 15 years and was absolutely not crossing any lines in terms of language or volume. Pathetically soft crowd. Amateur hour.

What did the security guys say to you.

Lucky no one has done it to me, but if it happened, I'd simply lodge a counter complaint that they making false claims, or wait 5 minutes and put through a text on the feedback line that they're being abusive - they would never know who did it either as they'd have no clue how to use the feedback line.

So the OP was intimidated by some Grannies and instead of just carrying on supporting, he sulks for the rest of the game and then goes to an online forum to bag them.

And they have the problem......:p

So the OP was intimidated by some Grannies and instead of just carrying on supporting, he sulks for the rest of the game and then goes to an online forum to bag them.

And they have the problem......
To be fair it's harder to have a go back at someone's Nanna than some fat toothless port/coll/haw/ess tosser

Just on the theme of the crowd, I was in the Eddie betts pocket. Some absolute drongo threw a beer at a hawks supporter, an empty bottle of coke (which ended up almost hitting two little kids), and was swearing all game long telling the guy to f*** off, and at one stage shouting at the hawks supporter 'you're fu***** dead'.

Was tying to look for the bad behaviour number to report the guy but couldn't find it anywhere? Wish I knew his seat number, was pretty bad.

I was rowdy much of the time. Only got giggles from those around me particularly when had a few cracks at Nichols or good bit of play or crack at our own players when they turned it over for a goal. Not going to silence me! Guys around me happy to banter.

The Crow supporter old biddie is distinct from the Port one, which is generally 40 year plus chain smoker with a voice like Marge Simpson. Also usually foul mouthed.