Accomodation in Adelaide

The Passenger

The passenger, I am...
Veteran 10k Posts 30k Posts Sensible Type WCE Wings Guernsey
g'day all,

will be making my first trip to adelaide this week and am looking for a quick bit of advise on accomodation. i am actually going for the week for uni game and by pure coincidence the eagles are playing which means i'll also get to go the game... hopefully it's a cracker.

basically just wanna get some local advise on a place to stay. i'll be staying with a mate of mine and we pretty much want to stay in the cheapest place possible where we'll have our own room. neither of us are too keen to stay in a hostel... we'd rather a motel. we don't neccesarilly need to have two beds as we won't be coming home every night and are more than happy to sleep on the floor if we have too.

we'd also like to be closish to kidman park and the CBD as that's where we'll be spending most of our time. fortunately kidman park also happens to be close to AAMI Stadium.

the best place i've found on the net is this one:
http://www.totaltravel.com.au/travel/sa/adelaidearea/inneradelaide/accommodation/motels/princes-lodge-motel

at $49 per night, which is only $25 per night for the two of us...

Does anybody know a motel cheaper in that sort of area, or if you could help me in any way that'd be great..

cheers
bt

You will probably struggle to find much cheaper than that. CBD itself would probably be better if you can find something especially if you are planning to use public transport. Not much in the way of accomodation out Kidman Park way but Glenelg is not far away and has a few budget places (sorry don't know names of them - can anyone else help?). Glenelg is easy to get to with the tram, near AAMI and very close to airport.

Ring Sandy on 1800669511.

They have standby accommodation rates that kill any rates you will find off the internet.

Hotels etc know their vacancy rates and it is better they get some return on a room than none. At short notice they are prepared to provide significant discounts.

The service is mainly used by business travellers, so I'm not sure how many places they will have in your price range, but I use them heaps and they get you into some really good places at exceptional prices. I have stayed in Melbourne in a place just off the mall for $55 a night and that price included breakfast. The place was quite good, but mostly I'm happy to pay around $100 a night. That will get you into some places that are normally up to around $270 a night.

If you give them a call and tell them what you are after they will look after you, and you won't have to stay in a dive.

I have recommended them to heaps of people who can't believe how good they are.

If you stay in the city it is heaps better for getting a feed and looking around(especially if you don't have transport), and from memory they run express buses from the railway station to AAMI stadium FOC. Someone in Adelaide may be able to confirm this.

Cheers,
Tinman

tinman said:
Ring Sandy on 1800669511.

If you stay in the city it is heaps better for getting a feed and looking around(especially if you don't have transport), and from memory they run express buses from the railway station to AAMI stadium FOC. Someone in Adelaide may be able to confirm this.

Cheers,
Tinman

City is best place as not much transport from North Adelaide and is too far to walk to the city.

Footy Express runs from North Terrace in the City out the front of Stamford Hotel near railway station. Strait to the gates of AAMI.

Good luck.

JM

AdelaideCrow9 said:
City is best place as not much transport from North Adelaide and is too far to walk to the city.

Footy Express runs from North Terrace in the City out the front of Stamford Hotel near railway station. Strait to the gates of AAMI.

Good luck.

JM

Oh yeah and if you want transport info you can call 0882101000. They will look after you.

Or access the internet for maps and times http://www.adelaidemetro.com.au/

and http://www.adelaidemetro.com.au/routes/footy/footy_express.html

Cheers
JM

AdelaideCrow9 said:

Good luck.

JM

Thanks Adelaide Crow9.

It is a funny thing that people from other places always ask natives of that city where to stay.......:)

If you live in Adelaide, chances are you don't stay in a hotel there too often. You are actually much better asking people from Adelaide, for example, where to stay in Melbourne.

Anyway, good luck to Black Thunder. Hope that standby accommodation looks after you OK. That phone number is deadset GOLD.

And no, I don't get a commission!!!!:thumbsu:

AdelaideCrow9 said:

Good luck.

JM

Sorry had to comment on the too far to walk bit. North Adelaide to the City is an easy walk 5-10 minutes max straight up king william. Even on the original site listed the hotel was only 2km from the CBD. There are buses running down king william to north adelaide as well. And plenty of food in NA + some reasonable pubs.

the CBD, Glenelg and North Adelaide would be the most vibrant areas (food and drink) to stay in.

another site is lastminute (I use that or wotif)

http://www.au.lastminute.com/lmn/pso/catalog/Category.jhtml?CATID=93814&SORTBY=minprice+&searchType=

If I still lived in adelaide I would have offered my couch but unfortunately it has been a few years.

Capitalist said:
why not just get a room across from AAMI stadium ?

there is a couple of hotels and motels right next to it

just look for hotels/motels in westlakes

There is one - the lakes hotel. And it's not cheap from what I've heard.

neddy36 said:
Lakes Resort Hotel

Yeah, but it's not cheap. And other than having AAMI across the road, it's not a great location. I would recommend somewhere in the city, as there are 'footy express' buses that leave from the city, and take you directly to the ground for about $7-8 return.

PAFC2004 said:
Yeah, but it's not cheap. And other than having AAMI across the road, it's not a great location. I would recommend somewhere in the city, as there are 'footy express' buses that leave from the city, and take you directly to the ground for about $7-8 return.

No it is definitely not cheap my mate had his wedding there late last year and it was going to cost me roughly 120-130 I think for one night! Hence I stayed at a mates place that lived just around the corner

AdelaideCrow9 said:

:eek:

Too far to walk to the city?

Only for those that think a 5-10 minute walk is too much. And even you are lame there are plenty of buses straight to the CBD (don't bother looking for a seat though because you'll be at your destination before you have time to sit down).

That Nth Adelaide Accomodation sounds pretty good to me. You won't get cheaper, location is fantastic. Go for that.