Delisted Adrian Dodoro - On leave Aug ‘24. Parted ways Nov ‘24. Lodged a dispute with FairWork. Paid out. Gone. #putoutyourjackets

Yes time will tell and lets see how it pans out.

On your last point, I can also guarantee that 3 years ago a whole heap of people would have said rotations wouldnt be where they are today, and wouldnt cause a major rule shift.

And Towno, yes rotations will drop 25% or so, but as Malthouse alluded to last night, the midfield still rotates, its the others who stop rotating to allow for this - ie it isnt just across the board 25% drop. That is a massive difference to your thinking.

I nearly wager a lot of money teams will not have 2 rucks who cant play anywhere else, i think we are seeing it now, but lets see.

Yes time will tell and lets see how it pans out.

On your last point, I can also guarantee that 3 years ago a whole heap of people would have said rotations wouldnt be where they are today, and wouldnt cause a major rule shift.

And Towno, yes rotations will drop 25% or so, but as Malthouse alluded to last night, the midfield still rotates, its the others who stop rotating to allow for this - ie it isnt just across the board 25% drop. That is a massive difference to your thinking.

I nearly wager a lot of money teams will not have 2 rucks who cant play anywhere else, i think we are seeing it now, but lets see.
1. How do you know what I'm thinking? Nowhere did I say it would just be a 25% drop across the board. In fact, I didn't even say 25% cos it will be less than that. Of course the midfield will get more rotations, still doesn't change much for rucks.

2. Who has 2 rucks that can't play anywhere else now? You're "predicting" something happening that is already the case.

1. How do you know what I'm thinking? Nowhere did I say it would just be a 25% drop across the board. In fact, I didn't even say 25% cos it will be less than that. Of course the midfield will get more rotations, still doesn't change much for rucks.

2. Who has 2 rucks that can't play anywhere else now? You're "predicting" something happening that is already the case.

St Kilda did with Gardiner/McEvoy. Will Brisbane be happy to have 2 numbers on the bench while Luenberger sits most of the game out? Crows to use Tippett as a backup ruck? Wood to spend another year in the VFL for Collingwood? Kruezer now certain not to be "protected" as a forward? Mark Blake gone? Nic Nat?

I think it will effect the developing sole rucks, who won't be given as much senior exposure...

Also, with the change to interchange rule, it looks like the death of the second ruckman. Everyone will follow the Collingwood mould of L.Brown type.

I don't think we even need another ruckman now, may be rookie list one, like Ned Daniher.

Brown was their second best ruckman on form for the year. Got nothing to do with the type of player he was, Fraser and Wood weren't good enough to take his place. Geelong's use of Hawkins as a second ruck was hardly a success.

Much Ado about nothing.

- Nearly every side plays two front line ruckman.

Lets go through the list

Collingwood - Jolly, Brown/Fraser
Stkilda - Gardner, McEvoy/Gardiner
Geelong - Ottens, Blake/ Hawkins
Bulldogs - Hudson, Minson/Roughhead
Swans - Mumford, Seaby/Pike
Fremantle - Sandilands, Johnson/Bradley
Carlton - Warnock, Jacobs/Hampson
Hawthorn - Renouf, Skipper
Kangaroos - Goldstein, McIntosh
Power - Brogan, Lobbe/Trengrove
WC - Natanui/Cox
Brisbane - Leunberger/Clark
Richmond Simmonds, Graham/Vickery
Adelaide - Maric, Sellar/
Melbourne - Jamar, Johnson/Spencer
Essendon - Hille, Ryder/Bellchambers

Players bolded are considered to be, not pure ruckman. So effective rucks are still an important part of the final 22.

Much Ado about nothing.

- Nearly every side plays two front line ruckman.

Lets go through the list

Collingwood - Jolly, Brown/Fraser
Stkilda - Gardner, McEvoy/Gardiner
Geelong - Ottens, Blake/ Hawkins
Bulldogs - Hudson, Minson/Roughhead
Swans - Mumford, Seaby/Pike
Fremantle - Sandilands, Johnson/Bradley
Carlton - Warnock, Jacobs/Hampson
Hawthorn - Renouf, Skipper
Kangaroos - Goldstein, McIntosh
Power - Brogan, Lobbe/Trengrove
WC - Natanui/Cox
Brisbane - Leunberger/Clark
Richmond Simmonds, Graham/Vickery
Adelaide - Maric, Sellar/
Melbourne - Jamar, Johnson/Spencer
Essendon - Hille, Ryder/Bellchambers

Players bolded are considered to be, not pure ruckman. So effective rucks are still an important part of the final 22.

Yes, but i thought that was the argument? Are the likes of Hampson for Carlton going to get games now? Will they be prepared to sacrifice a runner on the bench or will they bite the bullet and have Kruezer change from the forward line with Hampson missing out? Will Seaby/Pike be replaced by White? etc.

Check the last sentence of this article. Make of it what you will, I hope desperately it's not correct.

Richmond and West Coast need ruckmen, he's trying to bait them into taking Gorringe so we get the better mid at pick 8.

We're going to get a very good Midfielder at 8 as Rich and WCE both need talls and GC are likely to rush their picks as they have more than one pick to focus on.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl

Check the last sentence of this article. Make of it what you will, I hope desperately it's not correct.

He's not in the job to make friends, he's at the Essendon Football Club to do the best job he possibly can by searching for the best young talent and managing our list. Whether that means sprouting crap from time to time (haven't heard him do it yet though), good on him. I would not share specific info with the public or AFL insiders either. Still a fair bit of time 'till draft time, do not take statements from the HS, The Age or from AD himself too seriously at this stage.

Yes, but i thought that was the argument? Are the likes of Hampson for Carlton going to get games now? Will they be prepared to sacrifice a runner on the bench or will they bite the bullet and have Kruezer change from the forward line with Hampson missing out? Will Seaby/Pike be replaced by White? etc.

Still think that clubs will play two ruckman - whether it is two pure ruckman or a pure ruckman or part timer.

EFC fall into the first category so couldn't see Ryder or Hille not playing.

CFC fall into the second category - Doubt they will change things.

They've really had 3 "hits" in terms of runners in the last 3 years, and 2 rookies the year before that.
Ball can tongue mine, he doesn't run.
They used first rounders on talls, and on smalls, and traded them for spuds. Long-term strategy? Can't see one.

Smalls in 05
Talls 06
Trades & fails in 07
Smalls in 08
Traded out of 09.

It's almost like they're just appraising what the best option is every year, not sticking to some stupid mantra and chasing something that's not there.

Sorry to bring up an old arguement but had to laugh when I heard the premiers were trading another pick to get a midfielder (AK) making it the past three years. Almost like their is a mantra to bolster the most important area on the ground.

Now as we have the best young list of talls in the comp (Hurley, Hoooker, Ryder, Pears, Gumbleton), an outstanding ruckman (Hille) and developing ruckman (Bock and Bellchambers) how about we just concentrate on picking up the best available midfield runner available!!!

Sorry to bring up an old arguement but had to laugh when I heard the premiers were trading another pick to get a midfielder (AK) making it the past three years. Almost like their is a mantra to bolster the most important area on the ground.

Now as we have the best young list of talls in the comp (Hurley, Hoooker, Ryder, Pears, Gumbleton), an outstanding ruckman (Hille) and developing ruckman (Bock and Bellchambers) how about we just concentrate on picking up the best available midfield runner available!!!
They're also "linked" to Tarrant but I'm not using that to hang shit on them because it's definitely rumour at this stage. Pinch of salt etc.

i can't believe dodoro is being criticised on hypotheticals. like any recruiting manager he's hardly going to declare his hand. i'm embarassed how silly some of our supporters are at times.

Strange that Collingwood's first 3 picks in the 2006 Draft were

no 8 - Ben Reid
no 10 - Nathan Brown
no 28 - Chris Dawes

Strange that Collingwood's first 3 picks in the 2006 Draft were

no 8 - Ben Reid
no 10 - Nathan Brown
no 28 - Chris Dawes

Not strange at all, clearly their key position players were coming to the end (Rocca & Presti) or not good enough so you draft big guys.

You are missing the point of this thread. We are not in that position we have young KPP, young ruckmen so the fact that they are entertaining using the first round pick on a ruckman proves our recruiters are out of touch.

We need quick/quality mids to consistently win matches (almost every team in the comp can have a good day example bris beat colling), very very hard to trade for them hence we need to recruit and develop. The list for all its potential has not managed to win a final in 6 years and we have not recruited a teenager who has gone on to win all australia honours for 14 years, surely the person in charge of recruiting for most of that time should be under pressure.

You are missing the point of this thread. We are not in that position we have young KPP, young ruckmen so the fact that they are entertaining using the first round pick on a ruckman proves our recruiters are out of touch.
The (equally 'factual' ) "fact" that David Hille has 3 heads proves they are out of touch too.
How did they miss that? Sack Dodoro.

The (equally 'factual' ) "fact" that David Hille has 3 heads proves they are out of touch too.
How did they miss that? Sack Dodoro.

Sorry Slats you missed the mark on this one. See quote below:

Though the midfield struggled at times last season and was perceived as a weakness, Dodoro said drafting gun onballers was not necessarily the priority.

"People say our midfield (is a weakness) but we have drafted a lot of midfielders in the past couple of years," he said.

"It is just that they are slightly immature and we really expect them to start to blossom next year.

"And we think there are some blokes on the list that will actually come back into their own like (Jason) Winderlich (Mark) McVeigh. "They've got a lot of good footy left in them."

What is certain is that the Bombers will draft a tall to shore-up their ruck stocks.

He basically said we haven't ruled anything out: Sack Dodoro!!!
A journo subsequently put two sentences after each other: Sack Dodoro!!!
Myers broke his finger: Sack Dodoro!!!
Guys Sheedy picked failed: Sack Dodoro!!!
Guys Judkins picked failed: Sack Dodoro!!!
Guys Keane picked failed: Sack Dodoro!!!
Sky cloudy: Sack Dodoro!!!

Some flogs will use almost anything as a cane, whether it's true or not.

He basically said we haven't ruled anything out: Sack Dodoro!!!
A journo subsequently put two sentences after each other: Sack Dodoro!!!
Myers broke his finger: Sack Dodoro!!!
Guys Sheedy picked failed: Sack Dodoro!!!
Guys Judkins picked failed: Sack Dodoro!!!
Guys Keane picked failed: Sack Dodoro!!!
Sky cloudy: Sack Dodoro!!!

Some flogs will use almost anything as a cane, whether it's true or not.

Geez mate, calm down. So you got one wrong (EFC are drafting considering drafting a ruckman/KPP). Doesnt mean that your opinion about Dodoro is less valid. This really will be my last post of the year.

I really think that the list screams out for quality mids. They sacked Sheedy then Knights but I believe the biggest challenge at essendon is a lack of quality midfielders. We need quality mids; using a top ten pick of another KPP compromises that.

Essendon football club hasnt won a final in 6 years and doesnt have an All Australian under 30. Sack Dodoro

Geez mate, calm down. So you got one wrong (EFC are drafting considering drafting a ruckman/KPP).
I got nothing wrong, mate.
All Dodoro has done is fail to rule out the possibility we will draft a ruck. That is the total extent of the "FACTS" (your word, not mine) here.

I bet he's also failed to categorically rule out re-drafting Marcus Pickett, surely that'd be a bad move, you starting a thread for that too? I see Hird hasn't denied the possibility of putting Trav Colyer into the ruck... sack him!

Ducks and drakes is all in a day's work for a list person pre-draft, putting possibilities out there and get everyone else to 2nd guess themselves. If we declare our hand, we probably weaken our position.

Would you be upset if we used pick 30 or 47 on a ruckman, given we're losing Laycock?
Is maintaining depth & list balance a sacking offence in your world?

St Kilda did with Gardiner/McEvoy. Will Brisbane be happy to have 2 numbers on the bench while Luenberger sits most of the game out? Crows to use Tippett as a backup ruck? Wood to spend another year in the VFL for Collingwood? Kruezer now certain not to be "protected" as a forward? Mark Blake gone? Nic Nat?

I think it will effect the developing sole rucks, who won't be given as much senior exposure...
- Gardiner/McEvoy... Did they? Because I attended 2 St Kilda grand finals this year, and only saw 6 quarters between them.
- Don't see Clark/Leuenberger combo changingnext year.
- Crows... I'll give you this, they may and should. Not sure why they haven't already TBH.
- Wood to spend another year in the VFL... So you're predicting no change. Congratulations.
- Kreuzer... Would've played ruck & forward this year if he was on the park, and will next year. Warnock or Hampson to swap with. Nothing different here.
- Mark Blake gone... Was he not already behind Tommahawk?
- Nic Nat... If you think WCE won't play Nic Nat and Cox in the same side, then I don't know why I'm bothering with this rebuttal.

Delisted Adrian Dodoro - On leave Aug ‘24. Parted ways Nov ‘24. Lodged a dispute with FairWork. Paid out. Gone. #putoutyourjackets