AFL 2007 talk

Haven't changed the drafting/trading from the last version of the game have you.

I told you so, read my threads from months ago.

My money won't be spent on it.

If you've read my posts throughout the 2007 development period you'll note that we have had the offseason re-designed but due to time constraints were unable to implement the wholesale changes we felt that the offseason needed.

I appreciate that this will be an issue for yourself along with others out there - it is an issue for myself (believe it or not). I can only promise that future iterations of the game will have a more advanced and functional offseason mode that involves trading rules (derived from actual AFL behaviour trends in trading), drafting laws (that are in line with the AFL rules), veteran and rookie list management and contractual considerations for every AFL listed player. I know you guys aren't privy to our designs and plans for the future so I can only stress to you and everyone on here that there are indeed plans for the future titles that will solve the issues you currently have with the game.

I need you to keep in mind though that throughout my entire time here on the forums I have stated numerous times that the game is intended to be a pick up n' play arcade AFL game experience, not a management game. Never has and isn't likely to be in the near future. We are planning on improving management items currently in the game but the game is in no way AFL Manager 2007.

I hope it bombs pal, that fact IR Gurus still have the rights to produce these games is very disappointing to hear.

Stop blaming time constraints for all the bugs/problems etc.

You still expect people to pay $60.00 or more for a yearly tweak, what a scam.

Mate, I don't understand the hostility you have towards us at IR Gurus but I can clearly state it's misdirected in a big way.

The constraints placed upon us with regards to budget/manpower, licensing and time are caused by publishers and the owners of the license. We are the development team who do our very best to churn out something in those tight parameters so that you guys, the buying public and fans of AFL football, have a game to play and call your own.

We in no way set the price of the game - you have to understand that is the responsibility of Sony and not of any concern to IR Gurus. We just make sure the game gets out on time.

I wholeheartedly recommend you take up your concerns with Sony and the AFL and stop bad mouthing IR Gurus as the reasons you have stated above are of no responsibility to the folks developing the game.

I have noticed a few problems in the gameplay so far:

1. I was playing with my brother and when ever I had a set shot at goal he would come bump my player off line. Sometimes I would get a 50m penalty but most of the time no free was awarded. I would miss the easy goal, even if I did shoot on target.

2. In general play when you take a mark, if the opposition stands right next to you the ball will go to them when you kick, as if they were smothering the kick. The only way to get around this is to play on, and most likely get tackled by that player.

Is anyone else noticing these problems?

Otherwise a great game!

Hey HCM, glad to hear you are enjoying the game. With regards to your observations...

1. I can only suggest that you ask your brother to play within the spirit of the game. I was led to believe that the issue was addressed but obviously it hasn't been for human controlled players. It was however solved for AI controlled players.

2. There is code this year that forces all players (except the man on the mark) to remain at least 3-5m away from the player taking the kick. Are you taking a second or more before kicking the ball after a mark to give the rule some time to kick in? Very interested in your response to this one so please get back to me :thumbsu:

Just got the game today, and have spent the last 6 hours playing it. So far, my feelings vary a lot. Let me explain.

Hi Shinboner009, fantastic feedback mate. I appreciate it when folks take the time to discuss the game like this...it really gives us clear feedback. :thumbsu: I'll do my best to discuss it with you.

Detail - Much more detail than I expected. Although some of the hairstyles are glitched, they're only noticable on closer inspection. The stadiums look better than ever, and so do the guernseys. Speaking of guernseys, the number of them is amazing. I'm also loving the straps & tape certain players have, like Nathan Thompson having a strapped knee (having done his ACL earlier this year). Finally, I love the dirt & grass than accumilates on players in a rainy match. Definatly a 10/10 on the detail.

10/10? Wow, you'd be the first to award that but it's great to see someone who has noticed the little things that are making a difference this time around. The hairstyles have some minor glitches but the variety this year lends to a more authentic look to the 700 players. The guernseys are something I am personally proud of. Would love to have seen more in there and maybe a bit of a spiel about each one in the front-end menus but there's something to work on. We went through the playing list and identified players with current injuries and those with 'historical' injuries and tried to put strapping in the appropriate areas. Glad to see someone noticed.

Features - Almost everything is there. All of the modes seem top-notch. The only thing I'd liked to have seen was the return of the mini games, which were great fun aswell as good practice. The stats in the game are spot on. Pretty much every major stat is in the game, and can be checked during or after games, aswell as in between games in a season. Although, I didn't see a disposals or posessions stat in the game stats screen, I could only find disposals in between games. Nonetheless, the stats are amazing.

The career mode had so much more planned for it and as a result suffers a little but we reckon we've improved all other modes in the game. There is still very much scope for improvement in all modes and we look forward to implementing that improvement in the future.
The stats were a high priority inclusion for 2007 and we did our best to replicate as many as possible because we all know that stats are what makes AFL these days. The possessions/disposals stat has to be added by you (we ran out of room on the screen).

Gameplay - Eh, not the highlight of the game, which ironically is what games are all about, gameplay. I'm really disliking this congested theme you have going FH. I understand what you guys were trying to do with it, but it just doesn't work. In real footy, you'd be lucky to see 5-10 smothers in a game. In the 6 hours of playing AFL Premiership 2007, I've seen about 200 smothers. Along with the smothers comes an absolute shitload of tackling. As soon as you grab the ball from a hitout, you get tackled. If you pass the ball off, the reciever will get tackled. The only solution is to either pray your man is at least 10m away from an opposition player, or rapidly tap O or X to dispose of the ball into open space. This isn't anything like real footy. You don't even have time to look for someone to kick to, you're too busy trying to shake off tackles. The center square of the field looks more like a rugby field most of the time. Perhaps IR Gurus should try their hand at the next NRL game? :P

I can appreciate the complexity of ball movement when you first start playing but rest assured that with time you'll develop the skills to move the ball in congested situations with confidence and efficiency. As long as my ass points to the ground I will never work on an NRL game :D

Other than the congested play, there are a few other gameplay gripes. Is it just me, or are your players terrible at marking? Even on Easy mode, the opposition will mark each and every ball that comes to them, while my own players will have the ball slip through their fingers, no matter how perfectly I time a mark. About 75% of attempted marks fail, even if they're non contested. Infact, I've never once marked the ball from a kickout. I spot a lone player, kick towards him, and the ball just flys past him...

Another element of gameplay that requires exploration and time is marking. We deliberately made it harder this year but you will get a feel for it in no time. An understandable first off opinion however I must say.

The handballs also have a lot of issues. Sometimes I'll go to handball to a player right next to me. I'll aim the sticks at him, yet the ball will shoot 10m in another direction, only to have an opposition player pick it up. It's quite annoying.

Really? I've not really noticed that. Play it a bit more and let me know how things pan out.

And of course, the kicking. There's basically no way to get a clean kicking session going in a game. Players barely lead, you're ALWAYS kicking to a contest. About 99% of my total kicks have been to a contest...

Sometimes moving the ball on quickly (much like the AI did in 2006) will see your players shake the opposition player. There are leads occurring in the game. I hate to sound like a broken record but you will notice them the more you observe and play the game.

When you combine all these issues, you come up with one and only one gameplay tactic if you wish to win: Bomb it long everytime, and hope for a mark. Don't bother using the running game, as you'll get tackled like a lion chasing a zebra. Don't bother setting your team tactics to attacking, as your players won't have enough room to get the run going anyway. Al you have to do is have your players playing defensively, kick to contests, and you'll probably win.

haha I guess you know what I'll say to this one. Once you have fine tuned the gameplay skills in other areas you will soon change your current gameplay tactic. Trust me.

Well, that's what I have to say thus far. Although you may think I'm extremly dissapointed with the game from reading the above, I'm not. I will be keeping the game, dispite having traded in the past two AFL games. Although the gameplay doesn't change much from 06 (I absolutly hate the goal bar, it's terrible, why can't we just have the old snap button back? It takes you like 5+ seconds to actually line up for a goal, where-as in real life you can do the same in about 2 seconds. Guess what it leads to? TACKLE TACKLE TACKLE!), I'm willing to give the game a shot. I have enjoyed playing it today, despite so many issues. I think the fact that it's the only AFL game on the market that is making me keep the game. I havn't had the proper AFL game experience in over 3 years, I'll just take whatever is thrown at me now.

I know you're not disappointed but you just have to understand that there is much more to the game the more you play it. Others are noticing it and you will to. Stick with it :thumbsu:

I'm amazed at how many folks haven't realised that you can still snap the ball with the X button and ignore the goal HUD. In fact I only use the goal HUD when having a set shot for goal. It is possible to snap but yes, we have no snap button as such.

So, in conclusion, it's an improvement for the series in some aspects, but it's also a step back in many others. I think if the congested idea was taken out, this would almost be THE perfect AFL game. I'd rate it about a 7/10.

Broken record again...give it time, don't write it off yet. A fair enough first review of the game though but I'd love to see one in about a month where you go back over the issues you had early on and let me know what you think then.

Like I said before, a much appreciated slab of feedback though and we have taken it on board. :thumbsu:

Also to FH, for the next game can the training ground be a selectable ground in Single Match mode, it's a cool ground, there is no crowd noise just the players, and also I LOLed so much when I saw the attendance for one of my training matches and it was 86.:D

It was actually selectable in single match mode at one stage but we had to remove it from the menu because it wasn't actually an AFL ground.

If you'd like to see it in real life it's the home ground of the Hawthorn AFC in the VAFA competition. And yes, the attendance numbers are very accurate :)

I just beat Freo in the NAB Cub semi final by 2 goals leaving out my best 15 players.

Really enjoying the game. Speed and gameplay is so much better and its a bit easier to mark. Its hard to run and handball though but hopefully its just a matter of getting used to it.

Does anyone know how to win the ruck contests? I lose every single one and have to rely on tackling the opposition player that gets it

Wow, someone who finds the marking a bit easier...we can't win! haha That said though, I'm very happy to hear you are enjoying the game this year and that you are looking at playing it more to learning the way of the game. :thumbsu:

With regards to the ruck meter, you need to get the triangle in the middle of the green area on the circle. I recommend landing it just before the middle of the green area.

I'm sorry but...so far...this is a complete mess.

It is nearly impossible to get a kick away as they are NEARLY ALL smothered! Then, if the kick isn't smothered, you are most likely tackled and it's holding the ball. This makes it nearly impossible to have a shot at goal from a realtively tight situation as you can't bloody get your kick away, let alone wait for the goal target thing to line up. At least 06 was playable, this is far from it.

A dramatic change in opinion...give it time MM. You will develop the techniques required to move the ball more efficiently and effectively. Trust me, it is indeed possible.

Hi, i was wondering what is the best way to deal with injured players at the training menu, Because even once they're no longer have an injury and are playable they still have the crap stats and the red and yellow faces, Where the uninjured stats should be.

and they still act as if they are injured when you put them into back into your side of 22.

What am i doing wrong i train them with the rest of the players on balanced and on medium seting and sometimes on heavy.

the game is betterbut keep in mind that Ir guruis are not a big company and they do the best they can (as far as i know).

If the game sold more copys they might be able spend more money on it but the fan base for AFL videogames isn't like what fifa or grand theft auto is and it never will be.

SO, Always be Grateful for what you get

Hey Krashdown, the player injuries will definitely go away but the reason their stats are down is because they are still injured. The number will change with time and is merely there to give you an idea of what capacity they will perform at. My tip is not to play them in a semi-injured state because the likelihood of further injury is increased, not to mention the recovery period is extended. I wouldn't train them when they are still injured either.

And yes, it's true...the more we sell the more likely we are to get a bigger budget to produce a better game so the support of everyone out there is very much appreciated. Thanks folks.

I think the frustrating thing that people are complaining about is:-
The harder the difficulty, the longer it takes to complete the kick animation.
AND therefore
The harder the difficulty, the more times you get your kick smothered.

The time it takes to kick the ball probably shouldn't be changed with difficulty, and was also a problem with 2006. Now that smothering is more frequent, you notice it a lot more.

My advice is to handball more...and only try to kick when you're completely clear. I've got the top 5 out of 10 players in the league for handballs....and I've won every game so far (on Normal)....so if you're getting frustrated, try it.

It's not that the kick takes longer in Hard mode it's that the AI movement and efficiency is ramped up. That's why kicks are under the pump more but yeah we should look at speeding them up along with the other changes we already make when in hard mode.

Great advice with the handballs.

Got it this morning, definately a markable improvement on last year. Smothering hasn't hampered me too much, although I've only played on normal thus far. The blokes who wrote negative reviews must've had little to no knowledge of, and passion for football. Only niggle for me that hasn't been mentioned in here is, the kicks fly too low - if you have a shot from around fifty usually it only flies around half-3/4 post height. Great effort though, commend you blokes at IR Gurus, bring on 2008.

FH, there's alot of Channel 7 adboards around the ground, is there anything stopping you guys from getting a Channel 7 (or 10) TV overlay in the next version?

Thanks, we do our best.

You'll notice there are boards for Ch.7, Ch.10 and Foxtel at the ground. Couple that with the fact we have commentary from Dennis (Ch.7), Gerard (Foxtel) and Danny (Ch.9/Foxtel) and you will understand why we had to go for a generic looking TV overlay. My dream is to one day have the commentary teams from all networks and have the right team cover the right game with the full TV overlays...it's a dream but I hope one day it's possible. :thumbsu:

Just had a close NAB cup match on hard mode and here are some thoughts:

Positives:

-The game is quite challenging though I'm already competing very well on hard mode after only a couple of games so it may be too easy.
-Training the players is quite good though I haven't seen any affects yet.
-It is actually worth using handballs this time.
-Tactics seem to have some bearing on the game.
-Heritage jumpers are a nice addition.
-Players stamina decreases at a good rate.
-Intro video is very good. If you showed that to anyone overseas they'd immediately ditch their current sport for footy.

Negatives:

-Graphics are pretty bad but it's using dated technology so that's understandable.
-Commentary is as poor as ever. I was told that I sucked throughout the whole game even though I came from 21 points down at quarter time to only lose by 7.
-Centre clearances still have too much of an impact as 80% of opposition kicks inside 50 from the centre-clearance are marked on the lead with not much that the defender can do about it.
-The amount of smother is excessive. While it does quell the impact of centre-clearances slightly, it makes pack football highly unrealistic.
-Every tackle I've seen bar one has resulted in a holding the ball if the ball doesn't spill free. I do have the umpires on moderate so maybe I need to use lenient?
-The menu system is terrible. It isn't that hard to use but X should be okay/confirm all the time, not have a constant switch with TRIANGLE.
-Computer doesn't use the interchange bench.
-No lists of statistics in the game, only the matchup statistics.

Overall I'll now upgrade my opinion of it from unplayable to playable but cringe-worthy. It will appeal to footy fanatics who are desperate to fill in the terrible week long void between matches but the aging engine still shows no signs of fluency that'd let it compete with more prominent sports games (yes, I know about budget issues etc).

Hey MM, great to see you have played the game more...very much the way to go before forming an opinion.

Positives
- yeah I can play pretty well on Hard now too but it's no certainty every game. Every now and then I can mentally slacken off and the AI will punish me. I find the best way to keep the skills up is to try the missions on Hard. Some of them are scary (Essendon mission for example).
- Training effects will become more obvious throughout the season and at seasons end. If you train heavily all the time you'll notice stuff for sure.
- yes it is. Handballs are the saviour in congested footy: just like in real life.
- yep...have you noticed the changes between home/away versions? Take Brisbane's 89 Bears jumper. It has two versions depending on whether you are home or away. There are a number of these cases in the game that folks haven't noticed yet.
- yeah we did a lot of work on stamina. Particularly for defenders.
- unfortunately for us the guy who has done the last two intro videos has now left the company. But yeah, they do a great job pumping anyone up about football.

Negatives
- there have been notable graphical improvements this year but yeah the PS2 is looking quite dated this year.
- the commentary is a bit hit and miss at times. It's a very hard sport to get spontaneous commentary right for. Games like NFL and Soccer have set plays and strategies whereas football isn't to that degree. We are working on a better commentary system for next time though. It's being tested in a next-gen sports title we are currently working on.
- Is that AI clearances from centre bounces?
- It's the best way we could create contested football this year. There is a better plan in the works but for 2007 it at least serves the purpose it was intended for. You will learn ways to adapt to it however.
- there are some cases where triangle was necessary, in particular with the memory card saving. We, along with Sony, didn't want folks accidentally overwriting saved files unless they wanted to. It takes getting used to on some screens I know but it'll become second nature soon enough.
- the CPU uses the bench for injuries but yeah they need to use it for stamina/matchup reasons. We have thought a lot about it and you can expect it in a future version for sure.
- what do you mean? Like the season stats layout but in-game? Ok, we can look at that for the next version if everyone thinks it's a necessary inclusion.

Cringe-worthy now huh? ok, I'll give you some more time...we might actually get to OK one day :p Thanks for the feedback MM, much appreciated and duly noted.

Hey fieryhawk are there any cheats for this years game. like fights,extra long kick or anything.

Also what am i surposed to do with injured players at the training menu because my players that had an injury but arent on the injury list still have the crap stats yet are able to placed into the side like normal players but they are crap because there stats suck.

Nah no cheats this year, we didn't have time to work on them. Imagine the shitstorm we'd create if we had time to do cheats and not include a feature or fix a bug! haha

I think I answered your question about the injured players just before but if I didn't let me know ok?

I honestly think a good AFL game is impossible to make. Full credit to the guys that do try, but i've learnt from previous versions and won't be investing in this game.

It's a challenge but it's not impossible. We're confident we're on the right track. Just out of interest what was the last version you played?

I've also noticed another huge problem with the game. The tackle button is the same as the mark button. Every now and then when I go to take a contested mark I end up tackling my opponent, giving off a 50 metre penalty.

It's a feel thing. It's like in FIFA when you press the tackle button one too many times and the player wins the ball but has a shot on goal immediately. You'll learn to be efficient with your button pressing soon enough.

And how do the rest of you mark the ball? I cannot line up the marking reticules properly in conjested play, you don't have enough time to even see the reticules. I've found out that rapidly pressing X will usually mark the ball. It doesn't seem very skillful to me, so I'd like to know if there's a good way to get a mark besides the old button mash technique.

A handy hint? Go the punch in congested play. We intentionally made contested marks harder to take this year. Bring the ball the ground and work it on with handballs and the like.

You only have one chance to press the mark button. After that you are tackling players. I wouldn't recommend the button mash technique SB009.

I'd also like to know why my players don't lead. When I'm looking for players on the lead, I can never see any, they always run WITH their opponent, not in front of them. I've tried using different tactics but I've never once seen a leading player. Everytime the opposition gets the ball (even in easy mode), they seem to find team mates so easily. Everytime they kick the ball, they find an open team mate pretty much every single time. Even if they kick to a contest, their player seems to be able to run ahead of my own with ease (Note that I do have tags on). This makes their forward 50 an absolute death trap, as about 98% of times they enter their forward 50 they will find an uncontested mark. And if they're too far out to score, they always find another uncontested mark closer to goal.

Look for the green lead indicators. They are the guys you should be kicking to. Also kick into space and let your players follow the ball. I get the feeling you are not a fan of the spoil button as you should be able to contest the AI passes to team mates. I have no fear of the def50, you'll develop confidence and defensive nous with time. But yeah, please spoil the ball every now and then - it'll be your best friend.

Lastly, I've noticed a bug in the centre bounce. Sometimes my ruckman will be penalised for stepping into the circle, when I don't even touch the analogue sticks. One time it happened about 6 times in a row.

I have never experience that. I'll ask around here at work and see what's causing it. Are you sure it was for the ruckman stepping into the circle?

I still think IR Gurus do a bang up job on the AFL games. They get most things right, but just lack in others. Here's what I think would make the perfect AFL game.

Hey SB009, I really appreciate your passion and enthusiasm for the game. It needs to be commended. Thanks for the kind words too.

said:
Keep:
-The graphics, they're spot on for a PS2 game with this much detail. Although don't even slightly compare to games like PES, they're sufficient enough considering that IR Gurus is only a small company with limited abilities.
-The features, the combination of exhibition, season, career, training & missions is a good one. Although mini games could be re-added, the current set-up will suffice.
-The animations, you guys have pretty much nailed them with this game. In previous AFL games we've had some dodgy animations, like the way players mark & kick the ball, not to mention the way people tackled (they looked like girls). Everything is spot on now.

The graphics won't be an issue anymore as any future version should be a next-gen title and the PS2 constraints will be a thing of the past. Nice to know we got them to an acceptable level by the end of our PS2 period.

I think some other features might be included before the mini-games again. I'm a big fan of the lounge mode from FIFA - something like that which keeps track of games/stats etc between mates would be fun to say the least.

Animations have been fixed up since the release of AFL for our other sports titles so they are very much on track (code wise) for future titles and only require a greater variety for improvement.

said:
Get rid of:
-The goal kicking bar, though not entirely. I think we should only have the goal kicking bar when lining up for a goal from a mark or free kick. It's perfect for the situation. When running with the ball, we should just have a snap button like in AFL 2004. Although it will aim for goal automatically, it's less reliable as it's more of an express option. I know that almost every single person who plays this game has an issue with scoring on the run, so it seems logical to implement a quicker option that isn't as accurate, but actually allows people to get the kick off before being tackled. This will also free up most congested situations, allowing you to keep the mass smothering which you guys aimed for. Afterall, AFL is meant to be a fast paced game, there just isn't time to fiddle with a goal bar when trying to run away from 3 opposition players ready to tackle you.

The functionality you are after already exists. In fact, having the goal HUD popping up adds extra functionality. I think it can be confusing at first glance but essentially what you are after is already there. I think the key thing we need to improve here is the speed of the kicking motion. It's just to slow and isn't flexible for things like bumps, tackles, smothers. They are too efficient and the result is a kick or no kick, nothing in-between. That's an area I'd like to see improved.

said:
Fix:
-The player setup menues. They could be so much easier to read. God knows why you guys chose to split the screen into two, not even being able to scroll down. Having the backline to the half forward line on one screen, the forward line & ruck in the second & the player list in another is just awkward. We need to either have the selected 22 in one screen and have the rest of the list in another, or have the selected 22 in a scrollable screen and the list in another.
-The marking reticule. Taking a mark can be impossible in certain situations. You'd think a shorter kick would be easier to mark, but they're harder to mark than a longer kick. When you kick a short one, the marking reticule will close in within 1 second, barely giving you time to see the reticule, let alone actually pressing the mark button. The reticule needs to be larger, and a lot clearer to see. I could also see the speccie marker being dumped, and just having speccies taken on the same marker as a normal mark, with the use of the R1 button.
-The glitches. Every game has glitches, so they're expected. But, this game has too many. Things like players running through each other, umpires penalising players for nothing, balls going out of bounds yet staying in play & commentators calling the wrong lines are some. Some of these glitches have continued throughout the entire AFL game series, so I have no idea why they're yet to be sorted out.

Yeah fair enough with the starting 22 on the one screen. Will look at implementing that.

Good suggestions with the marking HUD. We felt that it served it's purpose for 2007 but definitely needs looking at beyond that.

Players running through each other isn't a glitch - it's a reality of the hardware and the requirements of our game. The others will be addressed but they sometimes are lower in priority to other gameplay blocking issues. Not making excuses but just putting them into perspective somewhat.

said:
Add:
Nothing. I think the overall solution is to stop trying to add new things to the game, and instead fix existing issues. AFL Live 2004 was close to perfect in gameplay, but it lacked graphics, animations, features, and realism (realism in the sense that you could kick over 500 points in a match). If AFL Premiership 2008 took more out of AFL 2004 rather than out of the producers ideas, it would be closer to the perfect AFL game.

I agree that we need to fix what we have but there will be more added to the game. We have to in order to meet the demands of the new hardware and expectations of titles on that hardware.

Thanks for the continued feedback though. This stuff is great. Always good to know what we are doing right as well as what we are doing wrong.

Why has Bazza STILL got a Coleman Ranking & Fevola doesn't?

My bad. I missed it when rating the players. Sorry about that.

Not wanting to be-little your issue with the game but on the scale of importance of things we had to work on for the 2007 version it wasn't high.

i went over to my friends and played it today, pretty good playing single matches, i won by 92 points, still pretty good, i was unstoppable i got cloke to kick straight:thumbsu:

after being impressed he showed me his career mode and that stopped me from buying the game :mad: he had all the massive guns like pavalich brown ect in his team and he told me he got most of them in the draft and he managed to trade waite and bannaster for judd which suprised me

if the post season stuff can be fixed this will be an awesome game, and also i reckon the time it takes a player to kick should be changed to a rating, if you play on hard it takes longer to kick the ball, maybe the speed the player gets the ball on to the boot can be linked to a agility thing or something like that

other than that good effort :thumbsu:

Thanks for the kind words. I must re-iterate though that the main focus of the game isn't on management but we have indeed got the plans in place to improve that area and the next game will have these improvements. :)

Just wondering if the changes that were planned for the off season will be included in the next AFL game.

Also FH I was wondering if the ideas that you want to put in the game, but don't get time to put in are automatic certanties for the next version of the game.:D

Love the player editor:thumbsu:

Great job FH and all the team at IR GURUS:D

Yes.

Yes but we must bear in mind that a future version will most likely be a next-gen title so a whole new set of considerations and a new game engine will be required.

Good to hear. Would have liked more content in there but it's a great start for now.

Thanks, I've passed it on the guys. They love hearing it.

Love the way you can try and get players out of retirement, Grant retired but i let him go in peace... after winning the flag! And the injuries this season are good. Not as many as last season which is nice.

And also, for the next game could we have a GPS system which tracks the players distances? (asking a bit too much?:p)

Believe it or not a GPS tracking display was planned back in 2005 but was considered extravagant given the amount of other things we had to get done in the game. So yeah it's possible and will probably be one of the inclusions for the future. :thumbsu:

The major negatives in this game is the trades, draft ect

AND the player ratings are ****ed up; eg. Mcleod 94 V Judd 93.

I mean c'mon the best player in the whole league is ranked lower than McLeod sure McLeod is good but Judd is in a couple of leagues above him.

Another example you based the ratings on 06 yes?

Stanton: 75 V Gilham: 78.

I mean WTF? Stanton probably has one of the biggest engines in the league and is ranked lower than Gilham who prolly only played like 20 or so games in his career opposed to the player with the biggest engine in the AFL who has played 80 games.

The ratings need to be fixed I know thats why develpment points are there blah blah but still it's not up to us to fix up ratings if they are wrong. IrGurus should have the rating more spot on then that.

As I explained previously the ratings are very subjective and a difference of 1 between such highly rated players doesn't equate to anything. Judd lost points for accuracy by foot (the guy has to have a chink in the armor somewhere haha).

Gilham would have been rated higher because the stamina levels of defenders received a boost for 2007. This was so that they could match their opponents. I actually rate Gilham too - hasn't put a foot wrong all year and is one of the reasons why the 'weak' hawks defence is holding up.

Oh and I personally do the ratings. Ever tried to rate 700+ players? Good luck trying to please everyone :D

If i didnt love AFL so much I wouldnt buy this game by the sounds of things.

The amount of bugs is ****ing ridiculous and unprofessional and unnacceptable.

Not happy But I'll wait till I get my game to judge it...

Reserve judgment and play it for yourself. I reckon you'll enjoy the game from what you have posted here over the time of this thread.

overall though it is good to get an AFL sim that is actually fun to play, every other AFL game i've played about 3 games and then you have seen it all, or are able to dominate easily, last years game i basically simmed every game to do the trading and draft, this year i want to play every game. A sensational effort FH, apart from a complete overhaul of the drafting/trading there are only a few minor things wrong with the game

Thanks (but thank the entire IR Gurus team) and as you guys now know the offseason is going to be fixed up for future versions now that we seem to have a lot of other things done right.