Royals FC, West Indies
Another round comes and goes. Let’s wrap it up folks…

Bombers v North, Thursday night: After a few thumpings, North have now endured a couple of heartbreakers. It was a pretty good fightback in the second half though to be fair. Next step is to find the poise to start winning games like this.

Saints v Dockers, Friday night: Revolting. Ross Lyon dusted off his old playbook and gave us the full 2009 experience in this one. He was fortunate to find the one team in the competition that style still seems to work against. The Dockers had no idea what to do when the Saints showed up and started boring them into submission. The poor viewers watching at home got an ugly reminder of how far footy has come in the decade and a half since games like this were the norm.

1746358096083.jpeg

Dogs v Port, Saturday arvo: Port are a seriously quirky group. Just when they start to look half decent they dish up a random 90 point loss. 90 POINTS. A flaky performance is one thing, but a 15 goal defeat?? Bunch of weirdos. The Dogs on the other hand are flying now. Surely it’s about time the footy media started mentioning them in premiership discussions?? Oh and side note - I hate watching footy games where half the stadium is a building site.

Crows v Blues, Saturday twilight: Another blowout. The Crows needed a win and they delivered in spades. Jordan Dawson strapped the team to his back and led the way all afternoon. Far too good for the battling-again Blues.

Albanese v Dutton, Saturday night: This was effectively over before a ball was even bounced at the footy. The most one sided contest of the weekend. Gee, who’d have thought running a campaign on culture wars and pie in the sky nuclear reactors would go so badly??

Eagles v Dees, Saturday night: It goes down on paper as a comfortable Demons win, but the Eagles looked to be a live chance of an upset as late as the third quarter. Beyond that I’ve really got no idea what happened in this one, there was way too much going on elsewhere.

Pies v Cats, Saturday night: How good was that?? Hope these two meet again in the finals. Collingwood led for big chunks of the night, then gave up what looked like a match winning break to the Cats, then nearly pinched it back late. Feel for Jack Crisp missing the winner after the siren. This was a killer game to watch as a neutral.

1746358401637.jpeg

Swans v Giants, Sunday arvo: Well that was spiteful! Suspect the agro covered up what was actually a battle between two fairly ordinary sides. The Swans are a hot mess at the moment and the Giants still never really looked like beating them. The orange tsunami has turned into orange quicksand and sadly doesn’t look to be changing back anytime soon.

Hawks v Tigers, Sunday twilight: Those that showed up for the Hawthorn centenary didn’t have to wait long to start celebrating, as the Hawks kicked clear early and then went gradually further in front all afternoon. The evergreen Jack Gunston, who surely celebrates 100 years playing for Hawthorn himself soon, was among the goals again.

Lions v Suns, Sunday night: What fun getting to see a near-top of the table Q clash as the last game on a Sunday night. Pity the Suns fluffed their lines on the big stage. Still a yard or two off the really gun sides it would seem.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 8!

Liked: Hawthorn doing the business against Richmond, bank those wins!
Hated: Bailey Smith needs to grow up.
Learnt: Sometimes the bad guys have to win a battle every now and then, but will ultimately lose the war.

Is this the week Zevon finally rates the Cats? ;)

To be honest I'm still not sure I fully do, but we have beaten Adelaide, Hawthorn and Collingwood on their home grounds, and average losing margin is only around 10 points. So at the very least we take it up to teams. I guess that's my LIKE. And of course Dangerfield doing Dangerfield things.

Learnt: The Bulldogs at full strength and in their best form can win the flag. Yes Port sucked, but the Dogs have been impressive with missing personnel so far.

Hated: West Coast are really bringing the vibe down most weeks.

Is this the week @Zevon finally rates the Cats?
Yeah I’m done underestimating them. They have a unique ability to look really really ordinary in certain H&A games, still do enough to make finals in a decent spot, then play a brand that holds up well in September (nearly rolled the eventual premiers last year let’s not forget). So yeah, they’re a dark horse again and I mean that as a compliment.

Liked: you can watch just 7 minutes of a game and still feel afterwards like you’ve watched a motion picture (provided your team wins)

Learned: people still don’t realise that when a mistake happens by officials or even a 50-50 call goes against their team, it doesn’t automatically mean the result would change. I absolutely agree the Pies copped some harsh calls at the end on Saturday. No argument there whatsoever and we dodged a huge bullet having tried everything to throw the game away. But take the Blicavs ‘touch’ for example. The ball goes back to the centre if that gets called a goal and maybe we lock it up, win the next clearance, wind down the clock and win by 10. Instead the ball spent most of the next minute or so from memory in the Pies’ forward half and they kicked a goal, then things change again, the pressure ramps up further, both teams get more desperate, and things change a bit more again. It doesn’t inherently mean the game would unfold the same way. Also I notice that no one ever questioned the 4 hands (I think they were Blicavs and Zach Guthrie’s) that were all over the ball for Mihocek’s third (?) mark and goal as the miracle was starting. And that’s understandable as they’re generally called marks anyway.

So yeah I get the fact that people are upset by those decisions because they are questionable or in some cases incorrect but they don’t inherently mean the result changes.

Hated: not a lot really. Maybe having a win against a good opponent and still dropping down the ladder

Liked: We had a bye this weekend as we obviously didnt turn up to play
Learnt: theres a significant gap between the top 4 and the other 14
Hated: the fact that our insipid performance on the weekend will ensure we wont get a Friday night game on FTA in Melbourne for a long time, whereas numerous Vic sides play insipidly and get repeat Fri night games

The worst round of football for the neutral since....? Don't know, but it must be in the Pantheon.

~100 points to ~40 points was the dominant result, bookended by a couple of ~60 vs ~50 trench warfare games

The Saturday night game a classic, and the BotB and WCE vs Melb just OK? The rest...

The bottom 50% scoring teams for the round averaged 7 goals each.

Very slim pickings in reasonable weather conditions for the most part...really not sure where the game is at currently.

St. Kilda kicked 94 points. It’s not Ross Lyons job to allow Fremantle to score!
Forgive me for editing out the insults in your post, we don’t do that here.

You’d kicked 27 points to half time. The only reason you got to 94 is because Fremantle fell apart at the seams. If you’d been playing a side with any sort of intestinal fortitude you’d have struggled to kick 8 goals.

Thank you for your feedback though.

Liked: Always good to beat Collingwood, absolutely incredible game by Dangerfield who appears to have a new lease of footy life. The match itself.

Learnt: Not so much learnt but what we already know, footy fans will always complain about Umpires come Monday!

Hated: Gold Coast guernsey, Mars Stadium should not have been used until works completed and short socks should be banned as part of the AFL playing kit. We have the worst looking footballers of any code in the world.

Liked: getting back into the game after another putrid first quarter.
Learnt: north are afraid of winning, we had ample opportunities to pull ahead in the last quarter and just continued to make the most brain dead decisions. Looking at you Lmac!!!
Hated: another putrid first quarter. Can these clowns just show up at the start of a game for once?

LIKED- not to much- pretty underwhelming round of footy
*the performance of freo and power was a terrible eye opener..both won't play finals.

LEARNT- the yo -yo performance of teams is real. win one week, get belted the following week...only 3 maybe 4 teams can win the flag.

HATED- the umpiring at Hawthorn v tiges, pathetic and catering towards the Hawthorn celebration day.

Hated: Bombers v North: Awful game of football. Ump getting a msg in his ear to change a decision is setting a dangerous precedent. Seeing a few of these now during games - needs to be stopped though.
Hated: Saints v Dockers, Revolting. Agree on this one...see above.

Meh: Dogs v Port, : Ballarat is a graveyard for interstate sides (as a Crows fan I can sympathise with Port even) - and agree that playing games at stadiums under major construction is a bad look.

Liked: Crows v Blues, : Thought the Crows were ordinary at times and blew countless forward entries. Should've been a 15 goal win. Blues just didn't turn up.

Hated: Albanese v Dutton, Saturday night: This was effectively over before a ball was even bounced at the footy. The most one sided contest of the weekend. Gee, who’d have thought running a campaign on culture wars and pie in the sky nuclear reactors would go so badly?? Disagree - the statement here should've read: "Who'd have thought a lying, socialist scumbag of a PM could hoodwink the majority of Australians voting for him again, despite his abysmal record'. That would be by having pig-ignorant, non critical thinkers, without a brain cell between them (and no doubt with their snouts in the welfare trough or govt jobs - effectively the same thing) voting when voting should require an IQ test.

Meh: Eagles v Dees,: Didn't bother watching this, so no comment.

Liked: Pies v Cats, Great game. Hate both teams, but a great spectacle nonetheless.

Not bad: Swans v Giants, Another pick I got wrong - Swans surprised me here.

Hated: Hawks v Tigers, : See earlier comments re Nth v Ess and Saint v Freo. Unwatchable for the most part.

Meh: Lions v Suns,: The weather ruined this game, and the Suns were found out by the seasoned Brisbane side. Those Ashcroft boys go alright - FFS...as if Brissy needed any help after their flag last year!
Edited for my likes / dislikes.

Forgive me for editing out the insults in your post, we don’t do that here.

You’d kicked 27 points to half time. The only reason you got to 94 is because Fremantle fell apart at the seams. If you’d been playing a side with any sort of intestinal fortitude you’d have struggled to kick 8 goals.

Thank you for your feedback though.

We're scoring more points per game than your team.

That match went against the grain of our season so far, to be honest. But we probably needed to go back to that style a bit, since we've been coughing up big scores. (Even after that match, our defence is still in the bottom five.)

We're also top five for scores per inside 50. That tells me we have representation ahead of the ball.

Liked
The game Saturday night was an epic, well done to both teams.
Even though we were on the receiving end, Patrick Dangerfield was awesome to witness.
Oscar Piastri, three in a row, champion.
Carlton and Port both getting smacked is always a great weekend.
Hawthorn's handling of their 100 year celebration.
Learnt
Max Gawn is still number 1 in the ruck.
You dont have to get the four points to win a game, as there were no losers Saturday night.
The amount of teams that can win the flag this year is shrinking.
Hated
Nothing really to hate. I wasn't a fan of the umpiring in the last quarter Saturday night but swings and round abouts I guess.
Fix the score review, The AFL has enough money, so upgrade the cameras.

We're scoring more points per game than your team.

That match went against the grain of our season so far, to be honest. But we probably needed to go back to that style a bit, since we've been coughing up big scores. (Even after that match, our defence is still in the bottom five.)

We're also top five for scores per inside 50. That tells me we have representation ahead of the ball.
The Swans are going horribly, so the comparison to them is both irrelevant and also one you shouldn’t really be holding yourselves up against.

Agree with some other parts of your post though, in the sense that that was the first time I’ve seen old school Ross Lyon football from the Saints in a while. Fair play if you feel they need to channel more of that to shore up the defence (even if I personally hope they don’t). You see more of them than I do so you’d know better than me on that front.

Liked
Chris Scott and Patrick Dangerfield, the best dynamic coach skipper duo in the business currently, one devising a revised plan off the cuff, the other enforcing it.

Doggies: bloody awesome footy at the mo, madman Bevo reminds me of the wonderful alchemist Isaac Newton.

Disliked
My mob being over taken by many other clubs, it's as if they focused so much on holding on to leads off season that they now have forgotten how to get the lead in the first place.

Disliked very much
David King: Is it his too close together eyes? is it his Kane Cornisms? No, it's his commentary, I think they need to be more ageist in selection of commentatoes. Ban over 45 yos.

I think on radio they said 2 years to install 5000 seats in Ballarat. Godd job they’re not doing the Olympic venues then
Mate everything takes two or three times longer than you think in 2025. We are coming up on three years to widen 1km of road near my place at Vicky Point and adding three new netball courts at the local club looks to be a 6 month affair.

It is a worry with the Olympics. Who knows if it's too late already with current approaches.

The Swans are going horribly, so the comparison to them is both irrelevant and also one you shouldn’t really be holding yourselves up against.

Agree with some other parts of your post though, in the sense that that was the first time I’ve seen old school Ross Lyon football from the Saints in a while. Fair play if you feel they need to channel more of that to shore up the defence (even if I personally hope they don’t). You see more of them than I do so you’d know better than me on that front.
Watched First Crack last night with Joey and Kingy and they said what we did was move a half forward and a half back up to the stoppages, to give us a better chance of winning clearances (after being belted there the last two weeks) and they said that unusually Freo just had their opponents follow them there, which meant that there were significantly more numbers around the stoppages than usual, resulting in an unusually high tackle game for Marvel. And presumably high stoppage numbers.

Ok fascinating. Didn’t see First Crack so that’s interesting info, cheers