Mar 8, 2007
With My Mate Jack - Jack Daniel's
Port Adelaide
MUFC, PAFC, QBN TIGERS & JD
Excuse me Bomberatheart....

I know your not a fan of my "terrible" rumours but I have one that you might/should be able to assist me with.

One of my many sources mentioned a rumour/fact (call it what you will) as to the reason why a certain Brad McBain left the club a couple of seasons back.

Now I was told that you might/should be able to provide the back up to the story that I heard.

Any comment?

Re: Afl canberra part 3

Eastlake to lose up to 9 players from last seasons 1st apparently...no names revealed but we do know some of them already.

I saw this on another forum and it sparked some good debate / conversation

COACHING APPTS 2010

Belco - Bubba reappointed - 1 year
Ainslie - Rourke - 1 year remain on contract
Eastlake - Clarke goneski - Is it Archer from SFL replacing him?
Qybn - Armstrong reappointed - how long??
Swans - ????? who replaced Allison
Tugg - Horne goneski - ??? who takes this on ??

any news on 2nd grade appts ?? I notice Belco are advertising so Meredith gone??

Pavesi - continuing??

Eastlake to lose up to 9 players from last seasons 1st apparently...no names revealed but we do know some of them already.

Clarke x 2, Copper, Rogers, Stiller - so who are the others ?

Lot of changers around other clubs as well.

Ainslie will lose Hughes, Lewis, Platt, Peterson, Harris and the younger Tutte
Qnbo to lose Ioppi, Jacques, Dickenson and Stephens
Belco to lose Maher, Bennett, Weston and Quee
Tuggres are the winners with no losses to date with new playing coach Row
Where are all the delisted Swans players going ?

talk that delisted swans player daniel o'keefe is getting a gig at geelong possibly

As I mentioned I wasn't told of names at Eastlake so not sure FIM, but source is close to the action.

Still hearing that Inkster and Glenelg in talks (just a rumour I was told)

You know more about Belco than most.

Tuggers could not afford to lose anyone, is Kickett continueing?

U would think some of the delisted Swans would put themselves in the draft first, if not taken then VFL or SANFL would be the logical option.

Jaques should be fine as he is already running, Ioppi will be around mid season, Dickinson unlikely and Stevens to persue his AFL career at West Sydney:thumbsu:

How true Tigers signed VFL player (on ball) ?

From the Queanbeyan website:

Conroy Joins Tigers

Monday 16th November 2009

The Tigers may have had a few forced departures for Season 2010 but their player stocks have been strengthened with that of the recruitment of Toby Conroy from VFL Club Frankston.

N Clarke and Horne have been appointed as coaches of ACT junior teams in 2010. I wonder if this means Clarke will play for another club?

any truth to rumours that Rowe appointment at Tuggers has fallen over ??:confused:

Gday guys. Just out of interest what is the standard rate of pay that your average 1st grader recieves up there? Im from around the albury area and am purely asking just to compare with the leagues down here.

Mate I think the answers that you get will be varied, and the truth will be somewhere in the middle!!!

Historically AFLC has been known to be a cashed up league, and needs to be to attract good players to a "remote" (in terms of AFL) place that lacks a real footy environment like Albury does. But I guess in recent seasons teams like the Joss (sorry Albury) Tigers would have a payroll that would challenge the bigger clubs in AFLC, but then there are clubs like Tuggeranong that dont have such a large financial backing (but good on them for being competitive given this) that might even have less to spend than Myrtelford.

Good luck on getting an accurate answer though!

Excuse me Bomberatheart....

I know your not a fan of my "terrible" rumours but I have one that you might/should be able to assist me with.

One of my many sources mentioned a rumour/fact (call it what you will) as to the reason why a certain Brad McBain left the club a couple of seasons back.

Now I was told that you might/should be able to provide the back up to the story that I heard.

Any comment?

Well ABH - there has been no comment from Bomberatheart so how about you release your little rumour to get this site going again !!

How true a former Coach of another club is joining the Maggies - just another sensational signing by Belco. Back to Back in 2010 I reckin. Another Knowles by the sounds of it !!

Replying to a post in previous thread, I watched Albury dismantle the Raiders at Biralee Park at Easter, the movement of the ball from the backs was sublime. Sure, they used the traditional 'big man' up forward, but it paid dividends. I'd say Albury by 5 or so over Belco, and any other club in Oz under VFL/SANFL/WAFL.
Their twos were just as good. You don't win the double undefeated in possibly the strongest country league in Oz by being slow, old and lazy.
Would be a cracker game though, Albury v Belconnen, I'd travel down to see that.

I hope AFL never takes off in Canberra its a hole of a place to live let alone to play AFL.

No one there wants to know about it apart from a small club called Ainslie.

And you should see the potential fights that can start when a AFL game is shown there ahead of a Rugby game on the big screen.

I hope AFL never takes off in Canberra its a hole of a place to live let alone to play AFL.

No one there wants to know about it apart from a small club called Ainslie.

And you should see the potential fights that can start when a AFL game is shown there ahead of a Rugby game on the big screen.
You are more than welcome to go back to where ever it was that you came from if you don't like the place. I moved here 16 years ago and its the best thing I ever did, brilliant place to live. Best of everything.
AFL Canberra is much more than Ainslie and has been for years.
Come over to the Tigers club and the AFL is shown first and foremost, then again we don't want you over here.

One 4 - don't worry about feeding the trolls.

As for the money question asked previously, are players recruited from interstate still lined up with jobs as cellarmen/barmen/groundskeepers etc, or did that die out 20 years ago?

How can I be a troll when I lived there for 5 years and know exactly the way the AFL is treated and respected there.

The AFL (VFL) should have had a club there back in the 80's but then again thats easy in hindsight.

Canberra people (majority) do not want or respect the AFL. Sure so does QLD and NSW however, Canberra cannot sustain a club given its population and playing games there is just plain sad.

Manuka is a hole of place to live let alone play a game there.

The ground is as cold as the people that inhabit the place.

Im not telling people not to visit there for the experience of viewing Australia's history but as a place to live. I would rather not! I couldnt imagine any AFL player wanting to go and live there! Thats where the biggest problem will be if they ever establish a club there!

How can I be a troll when I lived there for 5 years and know exactly the way the AFL is treated and respected there.

The AFL (VFL) should have had a club there back in the 80's but then again thats easy in hindsight.

Canberra people (majority) do not want or respect the AFL. Sure so does QLD and NSW however, Canberra cannot sustain a club given its population and playing games there is just plain sad.

Manuka is a hole of place to live let alone play a game there.

The ground is as cold as the people that inhabit the place.

Im not telling people not to visit there for the experience of viewing Australia's history but as a place to live. I would rather not! I couldnt imagine any AFL player wanting to go and live there! Thats where the biggest problem will be if they ever establish a club there!

Been to Canberra stadium lately.:p

what your saying is true in part but thats Canberra as a whole.
when there side is doing well the band wagon is loaded ie: raiders in the late 80's into the 90's would easily get 20,000 out at that freezing cold shit hole. when that era of success declined so did the crowds.
Brumbies are similar but have the advantage of only playing in Canberra 7 times a year as appose to 12.

the old days of late 80's early 90's before a cashed up AFC practically took over the comp, the comp was flying. Rep sides were beating AFL sides etc.....large crowds most clubs were stock full of locals with a spluttering of recruits, which bought mothers nanna's cousins sisters brothers to the footy.

Unfortunately the landscaped changed but it happens everywhere. Was interesting to see the size of the last 3 Footy Park Grand Final Crowds compared to Manuka. (i can vouch for 2 ABH you can vouch for all 3 but they were rippers)

I'm not sure what the AFL Canberra GF crowd was, but close to 3000 supposedly went through the gates for the 3rds/4th and Womens GF Day.

AFL in Canberra is far more loved than it is in Western Sydney :eek:

As for drawing crowds to AFL games, Swans games generally draw good crowds to Manuka considering its the ONLY venue in the country that also has the games shown live against the gate on free to air TV...