AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part 17 - READ FAQ BEFORE POSTING

No worries, every piece of footage I get is as much for me as anyone else anyway.:p

I love watching them back and just marveling at how watchable the game is, it's really enjoyable watching the matches play out.There's the Holy Grail and the McKenna song written by Dennis Cometti.

Also just wanted to mention those watching the videos that I put up today.

They're all actually not the default camera angle, this one used is the 'Broadcast' angle. Basically as far as I could tell, the differences from the regular angle was that it was a bit zoomed in just naturally. Also it would zoom in on crucial plays like mark's or just congested parts of the middle of the ground.

And on todays playtest. My personal highlight of the day:
Playing as Freo against Richmond, we're down 16-20 with seconds to go before half time. Pavlich takes a mark about 60 metres out, siren goes, I figure I might as well have a ping knowing that Pav is a nice big solid kick as it stands. I decide to go for a torp since it'll gain me that extra metre-age. Line up my shot and take the kick, it goes long, it bounces about 5 metres out and just to the left of the goalsquare. Nobody goes near it and the ball takes a big off break and into the goals! The best part was that it halted all the momentum the Tiges had built up and eventually led to us really breaking away in the following quarters. Was a very realistic feeling and situation.

Should have put it up! I don't think there's been any dockers footage yet. Nah but great vids mate

Game looks great, For the next version it would be cool to have in-game stats like highest possesion winner popping up on the screen, like in 2k11. Would deffinatly add another layer of realisim, In saying that im just as much looking forward to playing the pants off this version. Bring it on 10 days...

Ross is there a camera angle similar to FIFA's "end to end" one?

There is, there are many camera angles.

off topic: why is the company called big ant is there a reason

It's a long story.... the short version is that originally I named the company Bullant Studios, people overseas didn't know what a bullant was and referred to us as "bull-ent" or "Bullit" studios. Further, a company in Sydney had a trademark for Bullant Wireless and as the games systems started having wireless controllers and internet I didn't want to be in breach so I decided to proactively change the name to something no-one could spell or pronounce incorrectly but was still with the "Ant" theme and starting with an "A" or "B" so we were alphabetically at the top of lists.... so Big Ant it was - there is a little more to it than that but those are the main points.

There is, there are many camera angles.

It's a long story.... the short version is that originally I named the company Bullant Studios, people overseas didn't know what a bullant was and referred to us as "bull-ent" or "Bullit" studios. Further, a company in Sydney had a trademark for Bullant Wireless and as the games systems started having wireless controllers and internet I didn't want to be in breach so I decided to proactively change the name to something no-one could spell or pronounce incorrectly but was still with the "Ant" theme and starting with an "A" or "B" so we were alphabetically at the top of lists.... so Big Ant it was - there is a little more to it than that but those are the main points.
cool, bring on 21st

Any camera angles which are real close up so we can see the players faces?

Has anyone tried playing against the AI yet? if so how was the difficulty settings?
I've had a couple of quarters against the AI on normal. It's tough. They're very good at picking the open option. If you try and be smart and bring your man off your opponent to try and pressure the ball handler they will almost always pick up that option down the field. They're also very good at kicking to the lead as well, which will often see you lose the marking contest for being out of position
Should have put it up! I don't think there's been any dockers footage yet. Nah but great vids mate
Was going to, it was a stunning goal. But couldn't get the camera out quick enough.

Unfortunately it's one of those things with the footage that I don't mind being any team while almost everyone else will generally go with their team allegiance that also generally means Vic only teams get face time when I'm not playing.

I've had a couple of quarters against the AI on normal. It's tough. They're very good at picking the open option. If you try and be smart and bring your man off your opponent to try and pressure the ball handler they will almost always pick up that option down the field. They're also very good at kicking to the lead as well, which will often see you lose the marking contest for being out of position.
Sounds good, hopefully no more 80 point wins on hard or very hard.

I've had a couple of quarters against the AI on normal. It's tough. They're very good at picking the open option. If you try and be smart and bring your man off your opponent to try and pressure the ball handler they will almost always pick up that option down the field. They're also very good at kicking to the lead as well, which will often see you lose the marking contest for being out of position.
HBK619 being challenged, the AI must be good

Hello, this is my first post here on big footy,

Ive been reading these threads/forums about this game for a while, and its great to see that Ross has been so nice to show us pictures and footage in the leadup to the games release, and its great to see him taking the time to read and answer questions for people here, so yeah, just wanted to say thanks ross.

Oh and I had a question. I do apologize if its already been asked, its hard to keep up with this thread, lol:

About the stats, can you view other teams player stats and not just your own?

So i hear theres this play test this friday and i know i'm a certainty not to make it but, Is there anyone there who will be able to get me any Geelong footage?? i know by then the game will only be like 5 days away but if i see a video of geelong it will send me over the moon for those 5 days :D

HBK619 being challenged, the AI must be good

I think HBK and I may team up online to achieve many many many badges

So i hear theres this play test this friday and i know i'm a certainty not to make it but, Is there anyone there who will be able to get me any Geelong footage?? i know by then the game will only be like 5 days away but if i see a video of geelong it will send me over the moon for those 5 days

I'll play as the Cats for you, although i'll be keep Scarlett off the ground as the sub

So i hear theres this play test this friday and i know i'm a certainty not to make it but, Is there anyone there who will be able to get me any Geelong footage?? i know by then the game will only be like 5 days away but if i see a video of geelong it will send me over the moon for those 5 days :D
I think HBK and I may team up online to achieve many many many badges

I'll play as the Cats for you, although i'll be keep Scarlett off the ground as the sub
If CS gives it a go and I'm not playing in the match I will definitely get a grab of a quarter for you.:thumbsu:

Ross,

You know on broadcast view sometimes you can't see the leads up ahead, was wondering if a player takes a mark can you get the tradition (previous AFL Games) camera behind the player, so you can select an option and see where the player with the ball is facing? If so what camera option is that? I know it's just one season but can you save the completed season and then start a custom season? is there a custom season?