AFL Live 3 game wishlist

Godadees

Rookie
Jul 11, 2011
As most of us are wanting a new afl game to come out, this thread is what we would like to see in a new afl game and hopefully a company who wants to make one will read this thread and see what to add in there game.
So what i want to hear is how would you improve an afl game to come out?

Make a game like AFL live 2003 instead of the crap that gets served up today

Don't make the player chasing faster than the player with the ball. I't doesn't make sense seeing Lewis Jetta getting easily runned down when he has a full paddock ahead of him.

Franchise mode.

Assistant coach hiring and interactive training drills

Free agency

More information on draftees.
Wasted pick 1 on a 191cm ruck man....

Rookie lists

International prospects

Reserve player performances and stats to see who deserves a call up

Opposition interest in listed players

Less aboriginal draftees that have blonde/white hair (no racist just looks really wierd)
Also why so many grey haired 17 yr olds

Franchise mode.

Assistant coach hiring and interactive training drills

Free agency

More information on draftees.
Wasted pick 1 on a 191cm ruck man....

Rookie lists

International prospects

Reserve player performances and stats to see who deserves a call up

Opposition interest in listed players

Less aboriginal draftees that have blonde/white hair (no racist just looks really wierd)
Also why so many grey haired 17 yr olds

All of this. Especially draftees, they have to fix that up.

Made by BigAnt. (I'm basing all my suggestions on AFL Live 1. "AFL Live 2" has been stricken from AFL video game canon in my mind).

Built on AFL Live 1's engine. I thought that was really good, and I've played the game so much that I'm used to how it works. Certain things could definitely be tweaked, but fundamentally, it's fine.

Make the higher difficulty modes more difficult (Legend in Live 1 became very easy once you had mastered the game).

Smarter AI.

More complex and in-depth strategic options, making every side tactically distinct.

As others have mentioned, overhauled, more in-depth season mode that includes new draftees, progression/regression of players' stats, retirements, trades, free agency, spanning multiple seasons etc. This could include the ability to change which team you are coaching between seasons.

More comprehensive statistic options. It always struck me as strange how, in Live 1, a lot of stats seemed to have been recorded, but with the exception of the top three goalscorers and possession winners, you couldn't see every player's stats for a game. I love stats, so that would be good to see.

Fewer restrictions on team-building. Rather than preventing people from making whatever dream teams they wanted with a hard cap, I think it would be better to have a cap, which, if exceeded, would mean you were excluded from earning achievements/trophies and playing with it online. Otherwise, you could go over the cap and still play offline just for fun.

Use AFL live 1's engine.

Stop the player from behind chasing being faster than the person with the ball running. If I have 15 metres on my opponent he should gain 10 metres on me before I take my first bounce. If the players speed and acceleration stat is higher than the player from behind chasing than I should be easily be able to bounce a couple of times and hit someone lace out or kick a goal, instead of being the player behind me catching up to me forcing me to make a wrong desicion or shank the kick. If I trade Stephen Hill or Lewis Jetta on my team ruckman shouldn't be be easily catching up to them and forcing them to miss kick.

Better evasion techniques. Instead of just 2 options where you either get tackled or you get around the tackler and he falls over, put more options like getting tackled but have hands out to give a good handpass, get past the opposition player but he doesn't fall over, spin out of tackle, not getting tackled but you didn't get past your opponent and he did fall over. If Pendlerury has the ball he should be able to look classy and not tackled most of the time. If Lummumba has the ball he should be able to take on 5 people at once and bomb it long. Also it's really hard to side-step or blind turn. If a a crafty small forward has just swooped on a crumb he should be able to look crafty and blind turn somoene or sell the dummy step somone or turn someone inside out. not just get tackled all of the time.

Better leads by players. It's so hard to play possession footy. If I want to chip it around to the obvious option it should be so easy to make a mistake. And make the switch possible. I should be able to initiate a switch and open up the play. The opposition shouldn't kick it backwards to a contest either. And when a player from a kick in kicks it long to a contest don't give him bad form.

Make tactics better. If I want an 18 man zone ore play man on man or have certain players zone and certain players man up. If i want an spare man in defence. If i want that spare man to stand in front of the opposition full forward or be a plus one at the stoppage. Have stoppage tactics. Where i want a certain player running, who I want as my sweeper, who I want at the outside receiving, if I want a defensive stoppage set up or an offensive set up. For kick ins I should be able to place ruckman where I want him to be. For some reason ruckman seem to be always at the centre, i should be able to push him wide so I can kick it long and wide to him. Better forward line structure, I should be able to decide who pushes up the field, who stays down how far the full forward and centre half-forward is should be, where the CHF leads to, if I want a three tall forward line or a 2 tall forward line, if i want a half forward to push into the midfield or not.

Players should have dual positions like they did in 2006. So players can play multiple positions without too much skill being lost.

A draft and trade period should be added and i should be able to see a detailed profile of the draftee, like what he looks like, his heigh and weight, stenth and weaknesses.

A game by Big Ant. That includes the AFL version of the "Cricket Academy"

- Career mode that doesn't ever end (Like AFL 2005,2006,2007)
- Online Competition mode
- All state competitions licensed
- More stadiums (Blacktown, Cazaly's, Blundstone, Visy Park) - Unlock old stadiums (VFL Park)
- Have all VFL grounds
- "My Player" career mode
- TV style presentation (Like EPL in FIFA 15) Have Channel 7 and Fox Footy doing coverage with different scoreboards.
- Have several different commentators. Have a boundary rider.
- Rookie lists, veteran lists.
- Detailed stats after a match. With DreamTeam points as well.
- More details on draftees.

I think that's about it.. for now.

Franchise mode.

Poaching window
17 year old access
Mini draft trades
More off field involvement
Interactive training
Draft combine results and interviews
International rookies
Hiring/firing coaches,recruiters,etc

The most annoying thing about AFL Live 2 is the list management. In AFL Live 1 you could put players on different lists without having to trade and were able to delist players to stop them from being on any list. This system made it possible to keep the lists somewhat accurate (outside of the draftees).

In AFL Live 2 all you can do is trade, so to put somebody at another team- you have to make a trade that more than likely isn't realistic because it didn't happen. And there's no way to get rid of retired players.

It'd be great if whoever makes the next game actually releases DLC to update playing lists (especially after the drafts). Playing stats for new players might be up the duff and pure guess-work but atleast the right players are on the lists.

The most annoying thing about AFL Live 2 is the list management. In AFL Live 1 you could put players on different lists without having to trade and were able to delist players to stop them from being on any list. This system made it possible to keep the lists somewhat accurate (outside of the draftees).

In AFL Live 2 all you can do is trade, so to put somebody at another team- you have to make a trade that more than likely isn't realistic because it didn't happen. And there's no way to get rid of retired players.

It'd be great if whoever makes the next game actually releases DLC to update playing lists (especially after the drafts). Playing stats for new players might be up the duff and pure guess-work but atleast the right players are on the lists.

Join the Australian Online Football HuB Facebook page mate - we are using fully updated 2014 lists in AFL LIVE 1 on there. There's a tutorial on there on how to get them

North Melbournes jumpers:
Home: White jumper with blue shorts
Away: White jumper with white shorts
Clash: Blue jumper with blue shorts

i don't see how that is so hard. just go by what they use in real life not by what you idiots think is right, Norths clash in the game with our away with white shorts, we've never even used that in a game FFS
Geelong has the same problem as North in AFL Live 2
or they could just make it so we chose the jumpers and shorts that they wear seperately

North Melbournes jumpers:
Home: White jumper with blue shorts
Away: White jumper with white shorts
Clash: Blue jumper with blue shorts

i don't see how that is so hard. just go by what they use in real life not by what you idiots think is right, Norths clash in the game with our away with white shorts, we've never even used that in a game FFS
Geelong has the same problem as North in AFL Live 2
or they could just make it so we chose the jumpers and shorts that they wear seperately
I've noticed this also it's so annoying, Richmond also has black shorts for away games and same with freo, collingwood, GWS, west coast and bulldogs. I reckon the best idea is to choose the guernsey and shorts separately!!

AFL Live 3 game wishlist