Sports AFL Memberships

Silent Alarm

sack Lyon
10k Posts
So my old man is buying me an AFL Membership for christmas.

Obviously, I'm a pretty big footy fan. As someone living in Melbourne for the first time, I'd end up going to two or three games every weekend. It's basically more economical to get an AFL membership, oui?

As a Freo fan, it'll be a bit different for me. There's no point in me nominating Fremantle as my club, because 11 home games will simply go to waste. And of the 40 games I get access to, I'll use those for the games the Dockers play over there.

Say Freo play five games in Melbourne. That leaves 35 games of my choice, plus 11 games for 'my' designated club. Yes?

My mate who's also moving over is a keen North fan. And considering my soft spot for them, I was thinking about allocating North as my club.

And there's a one off joining fee of $285? How much does the actual Silver membership cost?

I'm just curious as to how the whole thing works, your experience with it, whatever. Any help is good help. Surely only ANZAC day will render me unable to use my AFL pass?

I'm be able to use my uni card to get concession as well.

Personally, I'd go with the Freo club support because you're counted as a member of your team. You get access to 40 games regardless of who you support - and that's any 40 games you like, not 11 home games for your team and 29 others. And if you do end up going to the odd game at Patersons, you'll have less of a hard time getting a seat as a Freo member. Also, if Freo make a grand final, as a silver member, you might be a slim chance for a ticket if you elect Freo because there won't be many other Freo club support members.

I'm a full member (was upgraded this year) and have been a member since 05. I don't go to that many neutral games but when I do, it's great being able to scan in and watch a random match with mates. Love the flexibility.

I have been a Silver 18 Hawks member since 09, which is costing about $260 year.

However, I find that I am also paying to reserve a seat at our 'replacement' games as I want to be able to have a decent seat, so really I'm spending in excess of $300+ each season.

I think an AFL Membership will be better value for money.

I have a question.. Is the AFL Members area open seating? Or do you need to reserve a seat? How does that work??

Cheers :thumbsu:

I have been a Silver 18 Hawks member since 09, which is costing about $260 year.

However, I find that I am also paying to reserve a seat at our 'replacement' games as I want to be able to have a decent seat, so really I'm spending in excess of $300+ each season.

I think an AFL Membership will be better value for money.

I have a question.. Is the AFL Members area open seating? Or do you need to reserve a seat? How does that work??

Cheers :thumbsu:

For some games, you have to upgrade to a reserved seat if a big crowd is expected. You only have to pay the booking fee. Also, you can reserve a seat for home games in the AFL or Hawthorn members area by paying extra if you are a Hawthorn club support member.

Thanks for the help, sounds good. I was thinking about grabbing a Norf membership as part of my AFL deal. With some optimism, I reckon Fremantle are a chance for the Granny. So I was thinking about grabbing a Freo away membership. Apparently they're a lot better for getting GF tickets, in comparison to a regular 'home' membership.

How would I go about getting, say, two tickets to the ANZAC day match? Would I simply pay the booking fee in advance? Am I able to buy a 'second' seat?

Best. Membership. Ever.

Honestly, I love being able to just rock up to 70% of games in Melbourne. For the big games you just need to reserve a seat early, they like to charge you a booking fee for that (~$10ish which isn't too bad).

Anzac Day if you're in early (aka the day or two when they first come out) you'll be fine. In response to your question about the second seat, you can get guest passes (although I'm not sure about how many they let you get on Anzac Day) for an okay price (bit more than General Admin though). The MCG is far better for AFL members as for most matches theres a decent amount of walkup, depending on the matchup. Etihad is okay with walkup on Level 3, you can go to the box on the day and see if you can upgrade to any other seats for free though.

With the club support, being a full member with club support = guaranteed grand final access (and even if your club doesn't make it, when you're full you have the chance of going most of the time). It'll take you almost 10 years to get to full, however it's completely worth it for that.

Yeah, whenever I go to Melbourne, I check out every game that weekend. The footy culture is so much better. Over here, you have to book in advance, pay $40 for a decent seat, and good luck trying to sit with more than one or two of your mates. Without membership, you're ruined. I just like the idea of checking out a game on a boring Saturday, or going to the footy before a night out.

Looking forward to it.

It doesn't matter if you nominate an interstate club. You won't lose those 11 home games. You still get 40 games of your choice. The Nominate club gets a % from your membership fee.

But if I nominate North, I'll get 51 home games, right?

And considering I'll be going to quite a few North games, I might as well nominate them.

But if I nominate North, I'll get 51 home games, right?

And considering I'll be going to quite a few North games, I might as well nominate them.
Nope.

40 home and away games, in Melbourne, of ANY club. Club support just means money towards your club, you receive the clubs membership package, priority Prelim and Grand Final tickets. Club means nothing to do with how many games you get.

Ohhh, so if I was to go to every North Melbourne home game, I'd only have 29 games left? By 'membership,' it means...

• Getting the stupid package
• Being counted in their numbers
• Getting everything a Norf members gets, but without the 11 home games
• Not much else

Ohhh, so if I was to go to every North Melbourne home game, I'd only have 29 games left? By 'membership,' it means...

• Getting the stupid package
• Being counted in their numbers
• Getting everything a Norf members gets, but without the 11 home games
• Not much else
Correct.

I'm moving away from Melbourne for Uni next year, as I can't stand the place. The footy culture is overrated and wears off after a few months. Going to Bond Uni, I'm considering going Absentee member, and buying a Suns membership. Ha ha. But the thing is, I'll be visiting Melbourne once a month for a weekend and spend all my holidays there. With Hawthorn up and running in 2013, I might just have to get a job to pay for my AFL membership.

Decisions!

BUT IN SAYING THAT

AFL Membership is bloody awesome. I lived overseas for a year and came back to visit family twice. Still managed to go to 12 matches. Brilliant.

Shits all over MCC and Club membership imo, as you can just walk up to most games at Etihad and the G.

Good luck Silent Alarm :)

I'm moving away from Melbourne for Uni next year, as I can't stand the place. The footy culture is overrated and wears off after a few months. Going to Bond Uni, I'm considering going Absentee member, and buying a Suns membership. Ha ha. But the thing is, I'll be visiting Melbourne once a month for a weekend and spend all my holidays there. With Hawthorn up and running in 2013, I might just have to get a job to pay for my AFL membership.

Decisions!

BUT IN SAYING THAT

AFL Membership is bloody awesome. I lived overseas for a year and came back to visit family twice. Still managed to go to 12 matches. Brilliant.

Shits all over MCC and Club membership imo, as you can just walk up to most games at Etihad and the G.

Good luck Silent Alarm :)
If you're a full member don't give up the chance of that Grand Final ticket. Especially with Hawthorn contending. Buying the ticket through other means would probably cost more than the membership itself.

I will never give it up because I'll lose my full membership. That and if we make it, wherever the hell I am I'm on the plane back.

AFL Membership is bloody awesome.

Are you kidding? MCC is far better value for money.

Depends who you follow.

For you, Melbourne plays most of its games at the MCG. Therefore, you can use your MCC for the majority of footy games, plus the cricket and whatever else is on.

For me, and people who don't follow Melbourne/Collingwood/Richmond, AFL is better value. Access to Etihad and the MCG, and half price cricket tickets. I go to a lot of neutral games at both grounds too.

And I'd much prefer to reserve a seat on Sunday/Monday prior to the Grand Final than take your chances in a ballot and have to line up.

This was my second year and from what I can see club nomination only seems to matter for finals tickets, if your nominated club is playing you can buy tickets a day earlier with club members. I went to heaps of neutral games last year but the novelty factor wore off this year and only went to 5 or so games other than my clubs games. Its still good to have if your in the city and have nothing else to do, scan you card and walk in and watch a half or whatever. When winter kicks in it can become a bit of a chore but.

So if I nominate Freo, can I get our Grand Final upgrade? It costs $20.

Or, will I get priority if the Dockers make the GF? I've heard of AFL Members for clubs like Sydney and St Kilda who've managed to get tickets. Seeing as Freo have less than 40,000 members, and barely anyone would be Melbourne based (thus not having AFL Membership), would I get one no worries?

And what if I wanted a ticket for the old man as well. Could that happen, even though he's not an AFL Member?

(yes, I'm waiting for a "don't worry, it won't happen" reply!)

Not sure what that upgrade is. You will get priority if they make it but only after all Full members which is about 15000 I think. Here's what they send out each year. It all depends on who is playing, last year Carl V Ess elimination final sold out in no time, this year you could of scanned your card at the gate on gameday for some finals and got in for free.

http://www.aflmembership.com.au/match-information/weeks-1-3-finals-entitlements/

http://www.aflmembership.com.au/match-information/grand-final/

Okay, cheers. So I'll have the silver membership, correct? It looks like I'll have a higher priority than just regular Freo members.

So if I nominate Freo, can I get our Grand Final upgrade? It costs $20.

Or, will I get priority if the Dockers make the GF? I've heard of AFL Members for clubs like Sydney and St Kilda who've managed to get tickets. Seeing as Freo have less than 40,000 members, and barely anyone would be Melbourne based (thus not having AFL Membership), would I get one no worries?

And what if I wanted a ticket for the old man as well. Could that happen, even though he's not an AFL Member?

(yes, I'm waiting for a "don't worry, it won't happen" reply!)

As a silver AFL member you get 3rd priority for the Grand Final if Freo were to make it.

1st Day is AFL Full Members of competing clubs
2nd Day is AFL Full Members of all other clubs
3rd Day is AFL Silver members of competing clubs
4th Day is AFL Silver Members

If it's two Victorian teams the seating is usually exhausted by the end of the 2nd Day. This year I knew Hawthorn Silver Members who were able to get seats. If Freo were to make the Grand Final you'd get a seat no worries as a Freo Silver Member. However you'd be most likely to get seats on Q Deck (top floor), I'm unsure if your upgrade will ensure you a better seat or not.

As a Full AFL member with Richmond support I reserve seats for big games like Carlton/Dreamtime at the G and also for games at Etihad Stadium.

Hope this helps:thumbsu: