Opinion AFL Round 1 - Non Pies games

Swooop

Nov 29, 2007
Kew
Well thank heavens the off season is almost over.

This Saturday night sees Round 1 kicks off with the first Sydney derby, our friends the Sydney Swans up against the fledgling GWS outfit at ANZ Stadium at 7.20

Swannies look solid as always lately and their supporters will be hoping they can shed their recent 5-8 finish status and general footy level and be a serious challenger to the top four.

GWS have impressed most judges with their enthusiasm and performance so far in the NAB Cup where they've been pretty competitive.

But lets not forget they were often near full strength and their opposition much less so.

The bookies have the line up around 90 points which seems fair.

Then Thursday night 29/3 sees Richmond host Carlton at the MCG, where the Tigers will be hoping to reverse a nasty recent trend of first up losses. Certainly the Blues have been injury hit but will be hoping Kreuzer is in for a big season along with Waite coming back after an injury hit year last year.

NAB CUP form suggests the Tiges have a very good chance - but how much can we trust NAB Cup form vs the true stuff.

Next day Pies tackle the Hawks-woohoo, but that's not for this thread.

Sat 31 sees an up and down Melbourne host the apparently improved Brisbane and GC Suns host a seemingly vastly improved Adelaide.

Can't mention the Dees without also mentioning the terrible loss of Jimmy Stynes - a true legend of a guy. RIP Jimmy.

Hope they start the year with a win.

Freo also host Geelong in what should be a cracker at Patterson's on the Saturday night and to complete the Saturday games, North host Essendon at Etihad, in what promises to be another fascinating contest.

To complete the Round1, on Sunday 1/4/12 Dogs host WCE at Etihad and the improved Port host the Saints in Adelaide.

Great first round of matches, personally can't wait.

Opposition fans are very welcome to give insights with selections, injury concerns, new kids to keep an eye on etc etc.

Thursday and friday are going to be huge... cannot wait.

Really hope freo beat geelong, and we beat hawks, should should set us up nicely for a likely top 2 finish with hawthorn (of course not a certainty)

I hope the GWS V Sydney game is a success in terms of crowds ratings interest ect, also hope its a fun game to watch. Maybe GWS slightly behind at half time (ala geelong v gc) then swans smash them 2nd half. Izz kicks 2 and theres a small brawl when he takes out jack clumsily.

I don't like the idea of having a separate game from the rest of the round, but I guess it will attract a much bigger audience than it would have.

What will be interesting is both teams having a week off compared to other teams in round 2. It might be a bit early but last year we saw sides coming off the bye struggled the following week. GWS would be tipped to lose anyway but I wonder if it'll cost Sydney a win?

For those that dont mind a punt, i reckon the bets of the round are richmond with 22.5 start and port at home also with 22.5 start. also dont mind freo with 7.5 start but probably stay off that. Gws with 90.5 seems decent also. they should be up for their 1st game and syd are not generally a high scoring side

I've been undecided about the merits of a Swans v Giants stand alone game ever since the fixture came out, but after talking to some friends in Sydney today, they say that the media are actually talking about this clash, which must be a massive annoyance for the heads of the NRL.

I'll watch it Saturday Night, only because it's a real game, that is the winner gets 4 premiership points.

If GWS can lose by a double figure margin (under 100) they will have done well compared to what the Suns did in their first match (Suns lost by 119 to Carlton).

Goodes will probably also be my supercoach, dream team and Ultimate Footy captain for round 1, expecting 4-5 goals and 30 + possessions out of him against no opposition.:thumbsu:

I've been undecided about the merits of a Swans v Giants stand alone game ever since the fixture came out, but after talking to some friends in Sydney today, they say that the media are actually talking about this clash, which must be a massive annoyance for the heads of the NRL.

I'll watch it Saturday Night, only because it's a real game, that is the winner gets 4 premiership points.

If GWS can lose by a double figure margin (under 100) they will have done well compared to what the Suns did in their first match (Suns lost by 119 to Carlton).

Goodes will probably also be my supercoach, dream team and Ultimate Footy captain for round 1, expecting 4-5 goals and 30 + possessions out of him against no opposition.:thumbsu:

Plus the Giants would have the Umps on there side.

Be Interesting what Crowd they will get there

Plus the Giants would have the Umps on there side.

Be Interesting what Crowd they will get there

Umpiring Swans vs GWS will be interesting.

Last few years I've had the impression, rightly or wrongly, it's been like a handicap system, whereby the strugglers have been allowed to hold an opponent a little bit more, take a bit longer to dispose of the pill etc etc

But the NAB Cup seemed to be umpired a whole lot better from those perspectives, so we'll see.

Crowd - wise, I think Demetriou was thinking 30-35K when he was on 'On ther Couch' the other night. Mostly Swans supporters he thought.

I just bought my tickets for Saturday night.

The website asked me if I was either a Swans or a GWS supporter.

There was no other options, and no possibility of not answering the question!

How stupid is that?

I selected GWS. :eek:

I feel dirty.

Umpiring Swans vs GWS will be interesting.

Last few years I've had the impression, rightly or wrongly, it's been like a handicap system, whereby the strugglers have been allowed to hold an opponent a little bit more, take a bit longer to dispose of the pill etc etc

But the NAB Cup seemed to be umpired a whole lot better from those perspectives, so we'll see.

Crowd - wise, I think Demetriou was thinking 30-35K when he was on 'On ther Couch' the other night. Mostly Swans supporters he thought.

AFL don't want the GWS to Suck and want them to win games

Footys back!! Footys back!! Footys back!! Footys back!! Footys back!! Footys back!!

Don't care that it's going to be a shit game because the footys back!! I can watch my boos soon. Just over a week!!!!!

Footys back!! Footys back!!

Interesting to see that Luke power has not been picked for gws Anyone know why? I thought he would be one of the first picked.

I also understand if no one care

Usually I'd say that the Swans would come out hard in the first half and go home in the second, but for the first game of the round you'd want them playing a full 4 quarters of up tempo footy. I seriously think this could be a whitewash.

I'd almost say the Swans would want to send a message to the GWS and Sheeds saying "F*ck off, this is our city."

Swans by 152

Footys back!! Footys back!! Footys back!! Footys back!! Footys back!! Footys back!!

Don't care that it's going to be a shit game because the footys back!! I can watch my boos soon. Just over a week!!!!!

Footys back!! Footys back!!

Footys been back for about a Month Mate

Swans by 3 Goals
You left a 2 out Dave, as in;

Swans by 23 goals.

No way in hell do the Giants get within 10 goals here, a good result for them would be a 70-80 point loss.

Goodes, Bolton etc will just tear their tiny little young midfield apart, and the Swans forwards will have a field day.

It's a home and away game also, and the Swans don't have to hold back because they have next weekend off, so expect them to thump them into submission

Sydney by 124 points.:)

You left a 2 out Dave, as in;

Swans by 23 goals.

No way in hell do the Giants get within 10 goals here, a good result for them would be a 70-80 point loss.

Goodes, Bolton etc will just tear their tiny little young midfield apart, and the Swans forwards will have a field day.

It's a home and away game also, and the Swans don't have to hold back because they have next weekend off, so expect them to thump them into submission

Sydney by 124 points.:)

I just don't see the Swans as a Big Scoring Side and that's why I think it could be closer then People Think

Opinion AFL Round 1 - Non Pies games