Player Watch AFL skill level

• Thread starter Thread starter Topkent

For any fellow footy geeks out there a couple of good podcasts ive got onto;

Trends with Marc Mcgowan

By the numbers with Daniel Harford Brendon Goddard and one of the boys from Champion data

Episode 3 of the by numbers spends a bit of time on the dees, around the 17min mark to the 24 min mark.

We had a great rivalry against Oakleigh in my under 9-12 days, won 2 premierships against them and lost 1 in that time

I remember one grand final they spanked us and I was taking the kick ins whilst the Oakleigh parents smoked cigars in leather jackets and hurled abuse at me

We had a great rivalry against Oakleigh in my under 9-12 days, won 2 premierships against them and lost 1 in that time

I remember one grand final they spanked us and I was taking the kick ins whilst the Oakleigh parents smoked cigars in leather jackets and hurled abuse at me
I’m curious as to the insults they were hurling, ‘your family only owns one car, and it’s a holden’.

TK how did you pass muster at Oakleigh? I thought they would have drafted you out due to ‘cultural differences’. Or did you just go full bogan once you landed in the Valley?

I played a couple of seasons for uni blacks in the under 19s and we were an embarrassment. We used to get the shit kicked out of us on the scoreboard and on the field. This was when the Blues dominated and the Blacks were a rabble at all levels. Playing in that side confirmed to me that smart people make terrible footballers. If I was a recruiting manager I would only draft kids that had left high school early and were known to police.

TK how did you pass muster at Oakleigh? I thought they would have drafted you out due to ‘cultural differences’. Or did you just go full bogan once you landed in the Valley?

Valley? South Gippsland mate. Grew up around Oakleigh and Clayton till I was 10 then moved South