Education & Reference Alcohol Consumption

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

When is it appropriate?

My brother, as a big social drinker, sees it as accepted knowledge that alcohol should only be drunk when amongst friends. Usually before, or during an event.

He's the type of guy who won't go for knock off drinks unless they're going clubbing afterwards.

Most people I know, or the ones who I don't go to uni with, seem to agree with this.

Do you?

I personally don't see the difference between watching, to propose a relevant example, the Ashes at night on your own with a couple of brews/ciders and drinking even more than that at a party.

Obviously, getting w***ered on your own is pretty concerning, but do you see any real issue with having a couple of drinks after work, or sitting down with a beer and a book?

I'd go as far as to say that my favourite kind of drinking involves no more than a mate or two at the pub, rather than a big group getting pissed at pre's.

Obviously, getting Mooed on your own is pretty concerning, but do you see any real issue with having a couple of drinks after work, or sitting down with a beer and a book?

Getting drunk is getting drunk same effect either way. People get drunk for a variety of reasons up to each individual to determine what is appropriate.

Drinking alone has an undeserved bad stigma attached to it. It's only a problem if you're drinking alone to fill a void, or drinking because you're addicted. I drink a fair bit, especially on a weekend when watching the footy whether or not I'm watching it with someone. Alcohol is a great drug to relax you especially after a long day/week, it can be a great compliment to a meal or just something to enjoy with some football or a movie. I always find it odd that my friends are always seeking an 'excuse' to get drunk. I've heard so many times people saying things like "I haven't had anywhere to get drunk for ages" Why not just go home and have a few drinks? You're not an alcoholic and drinking alone doesn't make you one.

I drink less now than in my yoof. Work on call commitments and now kids means that opportunities for a drinking "session" are few and far between.

I simply can't put it away like I used to. When I was 18-20, a big day drinking (a B&S or something else) was 20-25 stubbies, now I'm down to something like 12-15 or so, with 20 being a massive crack

I think as you get older your drinking habits/beliefs change. When I was young I would only drink with mates in a social environment. Once I got to about 26-28ish I would start to enjoy a few drinks by myself in order to relax

I simply can't put it away like I used to. When I was 18-20, a big day drinking (a B&S or something else) was 20-25 stubbies, now I'm down to something like 12-15 or so, with 20 being a massive crack
Are you a rather large person?
Obviously, getting Mooed on your own
Will now use this irl.

Are you a rather large person?

Will now use this irl.

My English mates taught me the term, meant to be about Danny Kerr's brother Wayne but has been filtered into something greater.

I put away a slab of beer watching the Ashes the past 5 nights. When I go Barring/Clubbing/Pubbing with friends I limit myself to 3-4 drinks. At house parties it's a different story.

Nothing wrong with downing the brews at plenty at a (typical) University age. Alcohol consumption is a way of life.

Getting shitfaced on your own is a bit concerning.

depends. just doing it, and staring at the wall, thinking about what your doing with life is probably not ideal. but i'll usually have a few beers on a weekend night even if i stay in. sometimes you get a bit carried away if there is a load of footy on or something, especially if they are good games.

i've been inclined to roll molly on my own over the years. extremely therapeutic and much different buzz to when doing it out on the town.

I don't have a problem with people having a few by themselves after a long week at work, or just to wind down a little. Writing yourself off by yourself is a bit odd.

I find whenever I have a few drinks alone or just with one or two friends, I never feel it as much as I do at a pub or at a party. Not sure why, but definitely notice it.

depends. just doing it, and staring at the wall, thinking about what your doing with life is probably not ideal. but i'll usually have a few beers on a weekend night even if i stay in. sometimes you get a bit carried away if there is a load of footy on or something, especially if they are good games.

i've been inclined to roll molly on my own over the years. extremely therapeutic and much different buzz to when doing it out on the town.

Yeah I don't think there's anything wrong with having a few drinks on your own at home watching the footy or cricket on the weekend. God knows you need to drink when you follow St Kilda.

I also don't go out to pubs and nightclubs as much as I did when I was younger so tend to drink more at home or mates places, it's also a lot cheaper.

I find whenever I have a few drinks alone or just with one or two friends, I never feel it as much as I do at a pub or at a party. Not sure why, but definitely notice it.
usually the pace you're drinking is a lot slower than when you're just having chilled out beers.

get to a pub or a party and everyone is amping each other up and what not, especially if you're in a group of males.

that being said, there is no quicker drinker in the drinking eco system than the guy sitting on his own at the pub waiting for his mates to arrive for a session, especially when it moves on to about beer number 3 and you're still waiting and starting to get a bit irritated.

usually the pace you're drinking is a lot slower than when you're just having chilled out beers.

get to a pub or a party and everyone is amping each other up and what not, especially if you're in a group of males.

that being said, there is no quicker drinker in the drinking eco system than the guy sitting on his own at the pub waiting for his mates to arrive for a session, especially when it moves on to about beer number 3 and you're still waiting.

Thats probably it. I feel weird without a drink in my hand at a pub, and usually find ill be buying a new pint every 15-20 minutes. Not ideal.

Takes me a shit-load to get drunk so i can knock off 5-6 in two hours and be under the limit.

I tend not to drink by myself now due to knocking off 3-4 brews after basketball ect. i was putting weight on pretty fast

If i want to go out i usually down half a bottle of tequila before leaving. But again i don't do much of it anymore

#1 reason i drink is because i like the taste of beer.