ALERT : anyone being offered footy memorabilia...

• Thread starter Thread starter Darky

Darky

Apropos to Bee's thread about having her house broken into and ransacked, she has asked me to post a message on her behalf.

Some of the items stolen from the house on Saturday were :

*Autographed photo of Jezza's 1970 Grand Final mark
*1987 Premiership team autographed football
*Signed Wayne Johnston jumper

Anyone being offered these items are asked to PM Bee or myself (I can pass on messages instantly via SMS) with any details.

Darky, what side of town is Bee's place on?

MIght be worth a quick check of the phone book and a ring around to any memorabilia stores in that area just to let them know about the items and to keep an eye out.

Also, the Melbourne Trading Post has been known (from experience re my old shop) to be used by some thieves to try and sell stuff.

Originally posted by Grendel
Darky, what side of town is Bee's place on?

MIght be worth a quick check of the phone book and a ring around to any memorabilia stores in that area just to let them know about the items and to keep an eye out.

Also, the Melbourne Trading Post has been known (from experience re my old shop) to be used by some thieves to try and sell stuff.

I'm not sure if I have the authority to disclose whereabouts her place is.

Thanks for the other tips - I'd say she already has people looking out on her behalf in the area's pawn and collectibles shops.

I'll check out the Trading Post online when it gets updated tomorrow (I think online it gets updated one day before the print release).

Slight crossing of the wires mate. Didnt mean to splash Bee's wherabouts on the boards. More what you and she seem to have done, ie, contact local sports shops and the like.

Yea, your right about the Trading Post, normally the Wed evening (even though i havent actually been to the site in awhile) was when new listing would come up.

Again, good luck and hopefully there might be some recovery of the items.

A kid was trying to flog the Wayne Johnston jumper at a pawn shop... but kids being stupid and all, saw the #7 and tried to flog it as a Brett Ratten despite it having the Dominator's autograph on it. Shop owner thought it was suss, did the right thing and called the cops, and the kid was apprehended.

Some other items (non-football) have also been recovered.

Originally posted by Darky
A kid was trying to flog the Wayne Johnston jumper at a pawn shop... but kids being stupid and all, saw the #7 and tried to flog it as a Brett Ratten despite it having the Dominator's autograph on it. Shop owner thought it was suss, did the right thing and called the cops, and the kid was apprehended.

Good to hear!

Hopefully the rest of Bee's belongings will be recovered.

Originally posted by Grendel
Great stuff, as said, hopefully some other things are returned and the lil bastids get whats coming to them (and not some slap on the wrist token penalty).

Off with their heads?

Originally posted by Darky

Good news that the little weasels were caught. Typical thing for morons to do, not realise what they have in their possesion, they just take anything. Wouldn't be the first time that someone got caught trying to flog off something for way less than it's value.

*Hands Bee a baseball bat*

Batter up!!

Thanks guys. Yes, I was lucky enough to get some stuff back, although most of it is now long gone. But what I did get back was stuff that could never be replaced by insurance payouts anyhow.

Thanks mainly, as Darky said to the vigilance of the pawn shop owner.
Not only did the kid trying to pawn the stuff attempt to pass "The Dominator" jumper off as Brett Rattens, but among other items of jewellery he had was an antique gold claddagh that belonged to my great grandmother, the guy who owned the shop realised that he had no idea of the value of what he was in possession of alerted the police.

The young kid is 15 years old, homeless, an addict and was not part of the break in. I actually feel sorry for him. I have agreed to attend victim/offender mediation instead of having charges laid against him.
Yes, I know, I am soft! Someone else had already told me that.

Originally posted by Bee

The young kid is 15 years old, homeless, an addict and was not part of the break in. I actually feel sorry for him. I have agreed to attend victim/offender mediation instead of having charges laid against him.
Yes, I know, I am soft! Someone else had already told me that.

Maybe you've just got a good heart:D

BEE...

sorry to hear so late about your trouble...

but I do hope that the kid appreciates what you are doing for him and that he thinks twice next time...

Go_the_young_Guys ;)