News All pokies to be sold

Am extremely happy with the club for making this move. I think bresker should well be recognised. There is no doubt in my mind that the issue was put into sharp focus by his brave stand. I think he was unfairly treated by many people, on this board and indeed by many inside the club. But this proves the heard you loud and clear and respected the call!

I think many on this board and within the club just disagreed with the method rather than the cause itself. Regardless, this is a good move by the club.

Agree 100%. Very proud of the club for taking this stand. I get the argument that the machines will just be sold to another organisation and the problem remains and nothing real is achieved but I think its baby steps now and it will gradually grow. From little things big things grow. Shout out to Bresker too.

Congrats to bresker. Fought for the cause and saw a result, outstanding.

Question is, what replaces the revenue the pokies were bringing in?

Also happy the club is out of that destructive scourge but from our club's point of view - where's the replacement income coming from?

Hoping to hear some plans. Happy as long as it doesn't jeopardise or hinder the club's future.

Anyone else a bit annoyed that we took the moral low ground for years, but because of the edgewater shitshow, we didn't reap the financial rewards we could have. I am glad we are ditching them, don't get me wrong. But it's frustrating seeing that the machines we are selling will just go to Carlton or Geelong or Hawthorn or another club who buys them. Wish the AFL would ban them, but they'd have to tell sportsbet, beteasy and all to GAGF which they won't.

Is selling the pokies just moral vanity? Is that like selling a slave because you now don’t like slavery? They will still take people’s money. Should we just keep them and their license and put them in a shed and not use them? I reckon that would be the right thing to do.

Hope bresker comes back to the board and take some kudos for his stand. I for one was very carefree towards the subject, but looking back, should have given him a bit more support. Pokies have never affected me, but I am learning more day by day the scourge they are in the community.

Not the point at all mate.

The club don’t want to be seen as fleecing their own fans. Surely that’s a step in the right direction.

Some people are never happy.
Lol at fleecing people of their money.

Ever consider that perhaps people gamble because they enjoy it?

If people gamble more then they can afford to lose, Address the root cause of adults making poor decisions. The club removing pokies is neither here nor there, in actual fact the licenses may be sold but the machines stay were they are and it will be the same 'fans' being fleeced, just by another entity.

Hopefully they sell each Pokie machine for $1million each and we have another record breaking profit next year as well. Hawthorn’s success as a club is obviously totally underpinned by pokies.

Amusing that you think on selling the machines to someone else so they can continue to take money is a positive thing.

Lol at fleecing people of their money.

Ever consider that perhaps people gamble because they enjoy it?

If people gamble more then they can afford to lose, Address the root cause of adults making poor decisions. The club removing pokies is neither here nor there, in actual fact the licenses may be sold but the machines stay were they are and it will be the same 'fans' being fleeced, just by another entity.
I’m not sure what part of that sentence actually caused you to ‘laugh out loud’.

I bet on the footy most weeks and I enjoy it. I don’t have a problem with people gambling.

I just think pokies are a pretty sad and depressing object that many people seem to get addicted to. They deter human interaction and encourage people to gamble beyond their means.

You go play them if you like the flashing lights, mate.

I’m glad the club are moving in the right direction.

Hope bresker comes back to the board and take some kudos for his stand. I for one was very carefree towards the subject, but looking back, should have given him a bit more support. Pokies have never affected me, but I am learning more day by day the scourge they are in the community.

Yeah I hope bresker is around to appreciate this

I’m neither here not there or the decision but he was very strong on them going so kudos to him

Amusing that you think on selling the machines to someone else so they can continue to take money is a positive thing.
Fair point, MD, but lets look at another angle.

When a poster reads something you have written and they don't like it, don't understand it or whatever, they simply don't respond to it, it doesn't change anything because 35 other people do respond and 50 pages later a mod needs to step in. Some might say that initial poster ignoring you was rather pointless, others might say it is still better then 36 responses and 60 pages before a mod steps in. Then an Extremists might scream NO, everyone should respond so MD cannot possibly respond to us all, while another will simply argue why can't you just control who you respond to. And then another will come in and say, hell no, i shouldn't have too... and... yeah i have a headache now.

Fair point, MD, but lets look at another angle.

When a poster reads something you have written and they don't like it, don't understand it or whatever, they simply don't respond to it, it doesn't change anything because 35 other people do respond and 50 pages later a mod needs to step in. Some might say that initial poster ignoring you was rather pointless, others might say it is still better then 36 responses and 60 pages before a mod steps in. Then an Extremists might scream NO, everyone should respond so MD cannot possibly respond to us all, while another will simply argue why can't you just control who you respond to. And then another will come in and say, hell no, i shouldn't have too... and... yeah i have a headache now.

Didn’t a mod say to stay on topic yesterday?

I’m discussing the topic as I’m allowed to.

Didn’t a mod say to stay on topic yesterday?

I’m discussing the topic as I’m allowed to.
yes you were on topic, so was I, i was just commenting regarding the intricacies of your argument selling the pokies to someone else. Your point is valid, It isn't a massive step, and it won't change much outside of our own circle/club, other then some feel good feelz i suppose. But in the long term it might be another rock in the pond the builds the dam. So to speak. More a long term victory then a short term one for those like bresker who fought for it.

Very glad the club has taken this direction.

I believe that is the majority of clubs now who are pokies free. I hope we can pressure all other clubs to get in line and eventually the AFL.

Can't wait to see how that tragic club Carlton go without there gaming $$.

Very glad the club has taken this direction.
I believe that is the majority of clubs now who are pokies free. I hope we can pressure all other clubs to get in line and eventually the AFL.
Can't wait to see how that tragic club Carlton go without there gaming $$.
True, I remember years ago that Bruce 'The Pokie King' Matheison came in and took a large number of Pokies from the Bulldogs with no explanation. This sounded great on the surface as it meant there were less of the soul destroying machines out there only Bruce was a massive Carlton fan and he just shipped the Pokies off to Carlton to swell their coffers.
The leg ups these so-called 'big' clubs get is absolutely astounding - fixturing and pokies

I hate pokies and am happy that the club will not be involved in the industry.

However, we are simply kicking the can down the street. We will sell the license's to someone who will continue to screw money from those who least afford to lose it, possible Hawthorn (tongue in cheek).

This doesn't solve the problem in any way shape or form.

I hate pokies and am happy that the club will not be involved in the industry.

However, we are simply kicking the can down the street. We will sell the license's to someone who will continue to screw money from those who least afford to lose it, possible Hawthorn (tongue in cheek).

This doesn't solve the problem in any way shape or form.
It doesn't solve it but it's a step in the right direction and that's big