Alphonse's Corner

roberta williams

Apr 19, 2005
Mokbel
Thought I would start a thread for the great man to have his say on all things VAFA. Perhaps he could post his though for the day answer some questions, etc. So anything you want to know fel free to ask Alphonse.

I'll get the ball rolling by asking, "Alphonse what is your opinion of guys bringing their partners to footy club functions?"

IMO the guys who do would seem to fall into two catergories, the pu$$y whipped ones who's ladies won't let them leave the house without them and the blokes who have the hot new missus and bring her along to showboat. Should either of these type of ladies be allowed to enter the function?

Sorry to butt into Alphonse's corner before he gets a chance to have a swing, but my view has been, and always will be, if you can - leave them to their own devices and kick on with your mates.

I fortunately have a missus who freely admits she can't relate to the majority of the fellas at my club, but doesn't have a problem with it. She'll make herself available for the key functions (dinner auction, B&F, etc.) but otherwise is happy for me to fly solo, which often permits a far more enjoyable evening for all concerned.

Quite often, it permits scope for meeting a team-mates' hot new missus without the inevitable green dragon looking over your shoulder too!! As for the one's who insist on coming along, scowling, sulking, looking bored and dragging their bloke away before midnight - that's worth a black card under the new VAFA send-off system!!!

Fraser Scribe

In my playing days, my girlfriend held football functions, amateur footballers and indeed the game of football in such contempt that she actually NEVER came to a club function. She would bump into the odd mate of mine from the football club every now and then and I think that put her off for life.

A shame because your standard night at the footy club (which at my club basically involved a whole heap of illegal gambling) females are a rare commodity.

The Slitherin' Snake said:
Aren't all NOBS functions sausage sizzles anyway?

Can't understand why this would be when you have some major drawcards like Big John et al.

Maybe Alphonse could enlighten us on some of the NOBS functions that have attracted a better class of skirt?

Alphonse I currently find myself in bit of a pickle. There is a girl I like but I am not sure if she is keen. I think she might be, however she has recently just split with her bloke and I am worried she might be using me as her rebound guy.

What should I do? If it was footy season it would be so much easier. I'd take her down for a night at the club with the boys. That seems to always impress the ladies. Should I join a cricket club and try to get her on the arvo tea roster or maybe regal her with tales of my football career thus far? Please Alphonse I need your help!

Alphonse Lite said:
Alphonse I currently find myself in bit of a pickle. There is a girl I like but I am not sure if she is keen. I think she might be, however she has recently just split with her bloke and I am worried she might be using me as her rebound guy.

What should I do? If it was footy season it would be so much easier. I'd take her down for a night at the club with the boys. That seems to always impress the ladies. Should I join a cricket club and try to get her on the arvo tea roster or maybe regal her with tales of my football career thus far? Please Alphonse I need your help!

Well it seems Ben.carbonaro has a new user name.

Alphonse, when at training is it ok to cheat in the beep test? Will a higher figure impress the coach enough to have you starting in the guts for the ones?

Alphonse on what occasions is it ok for a player to sleep with another players' girlfriend?

I have a friend who wants to know....

Alphonse at the end of the season I committed to my club to be back in 2006. Now however, I have decided to turn my back on this club and go OS. I am not leaving until well into next year. My question is in two parts. 1. When (if at all) should I tell the club I will not be playing and 2. Since deciding to leave I have not managed to get down to training (not even to support my mates) once, is this ok?

Alphonse, another question for you. Why do never respond to the questions asked of you here? Do feel you are too good to respond? Perhaps you should spend less time chasing un-gettable skirt and pander more to your fans. At least they'll give you some lovin.

sammyg said:
Alphonse, another question for you. Why do never respond to the questions asked of you here? Do feel you are too good to respond? Perhaps you should spend less time chasing un-gettable skirt and pander more to your fans. At least they'll give you some lovin.

Thank you for your continued interest sammyg, i have not responded earlier because I think the concept of Alphonse’s corner was a devised by a sad little man (most likely a public servant) posting under various aliases and it is wasting the time of people who are here to discuss VAFA football with like minded souls.

People like myself, Benny MOF, Slay Master G, Knight Rider, the Big Pineapple, the Slithering Snake, the Scribes etc take this forum seriously.

Now please, it would seem Scotch have some problems to attend to, perhaps you should look into those and leave Alphonse alone for 5 minutes.

sammyg said:

Sammyg

You and all your stupid aliases such as Robert Williams, Healy & Alphonse Lite have slandered the name, reputation and more importantly, the mystique around our good friend Alphonse.

I suggest you have a good hard look at yourself as you are an absolute clown and have in many ways ruined the fun on these boards.

Just a quick note re VAFA NOBS/STPAT'S merger. Believe there was a presentation at Gillon Oval today, Sunday 11th Dec. My mail was that a "missing" Premiership Cup was being returned after turning up mysteriously.
Finder/returner did not want to be linked with return. Can anyone shed any light on the day and was it a success.

Alphonse's Corner