brucetiki

Guest of Her Majesty
Nov 7, 2002
Wentworth Detention Ctr
Adelaide, Centrals
Gerry Harvey: 'I've given up on WA'Article from: PerthNowFont size: Decrease Increase Email article: Email Print article: Print Submit comment: Submit comment Joe Spagnolo, political reporter

September 27, 2008 05:00pm
RETAIL King Gerry Harvey admits he's a beaten man and has given up trying to get WA to embrace Sunday trading.

The executive chairman of Harvey Norman said that after years of beating his head against a brick wall, he simply did not have the strength -- or the will -- to lead the charge for seven-day trading in WA.

``Any fight that was in me has been extinguished,'' Mr Harvey told The Sunday Times.

``I am exhausted fighting for change in WA. As far as I am concerned, I have done my bit.

``I pushed the boundaries, opening my stores against the law because I thought it would bring attention to this issue.

``I went to court on the issue and lost.

`We have opened all around Australia, in New Zealand, Singapore, Malaysia, Slovenia and Ireland.
``And yet, here in WA we have this strange situation where (apart from central Perth) we can't open.
``It's all quite bizarre really.

``I rang Colin Barnett up during the election campaign to see what his views were and couldn't get him.

``I've got no reason to try him again. I am sure he won't listen to what I have to say.''

WA may have a strong economy, but in terms of retail shopping hours it is relatively Third World.

Even backwards film character Borat's fellow-citizens in Kazakhstan have more liberal trading hours than WA.

Whereas shops close at 6pm in Perth during weeknights and 5.30pm on Saturdays, shops in Kazakhstan open till 8pm, Monday to Saturday.

People in the Indian capital of Delhi get to do their shopping until 11pm, Monday to Saturday.

Communist China has seven-day shopping, as does our ``mother country'', England.

New WA Premier Colin Barnett confirmed this week that WA would not get Sunday shopping under his government.

Mr Barnett dismissed calls from the WA Chamber of Commerce and Industries and Woolworths chief executive Michael Luscombe for a re-think.

Mr Barnett repeated his position during the election campaign to possibly tinker with weeknight trading hours.

``I think there is general support for increases in weeknight trading,'' Mr Barnett said.

``But Sunday trading is not on the agenda.

``But I recognise that there are various anomalies with electrical appliance stores and we will try to sort out those.

``The main thing will be weeknight trading.

``I have no doubt the Harvey Norman's of this world will make an approach to me.

``Gerry Harvey tried to ring me during the campaign. So I called him back on the weekend and I couldn't get him.

``People voted against it and my assessment -- anecdotal as it may be -- is that there is not widespread support in WA for Sunday trading.

``We can be different. Just because other states have done it doesn't mean we have to do it.
``And indeed, a country like France doesn't have Sunday trading.

``West Australians are different. They like to have more of a relaxing day.''

Do you have a message for retail giant and Sunday trading crusader Gerry Harvey?

Gerry Harvey: 'I've given up on WA'Article from: PerthNowFont size: Decrease Increase Email article: Email Print article: Print Submit comment: Submit comment Joe Spagnolo, political reporter

September 27, 2008 05:00pm
RETAIL King Gerry Harvey admits he's a beaten man and has given up trying to get WA to embrace Sunday trading.

The executive chairman of Harvey Norman said that after years of beating his head against a brick wall, he simply did not have the strength -- or the will -- to lead the charge for seven-day trading in WA.

``Any fight that was in me has been extinguished,'' Mr Harvey told The Sunday Times.

``I am exhausted fighting for change in WA. As far as I am concerned, I have done my bit.

``I pushed the boundaries, opening my stores against the law because I thought it would bring attention to this issue.

``I went to court on the issue and lost.

`We have opened all around Australia, in New Zealand, Singapore, Malaysia, Slovenia and Ireland.
``And yet, here in WA we have this strange situation where (apart from central Perth) we can't open.
``It's all quite bizarre really.

``I rang Colin Barnett up during the election campaign to see what his views were and couldn't get him.

``I've got no reason to try him again. I am sure he won't listen to what I have to say.''

WA may have a strong economy, but in terms of retail shopping hours it is relatively Third World.

Even backwards film character Borat's fellow-citizens in Kazakhstan have more liberal trading hours than WA.

Whereas shops close at 6pm in Perth during weeknights and 5.30pm on Saturdays, shops in Kazakhstan open till 8pm, Monday to Saturday.

People in the Indian capital of Delhi get to do their shopping until 11pm, Monday to Saturday.

Communist China has seven-day shopping, as does our ``mother country'', England.

New WA Premier Colin Barnett confirmed this week that WA would not get Sunday shopping under his government.

Mr Barnett dismissed calls from the WA Chamber of Commerce and Industries and Woolworths chief executive Michael Luscombe for a re-think.

Mr Barnett repeated his position during the election campaign to possibly tinker with weeknight trading hours.

``I think there is general support for increases in weeknight trading,'' Mr Barnett said.

``But Sunday trading is not on the agenda.

``But I recognise that there are various anomalies with electrical appliance stores and we will try to sort out those.

``The main thing will be weeknight trading.

``I have no doubt the Harvey Norman's of this world will make an approach to me.

``Gerry Harvey tried to ring me during the campaign. So I called him back on the weekend and I couldn't get him.

``People voted against it and my assessment -- anecdotal as it may be -- is that there is not widespread support in WA for Sunday trading.

``We can be different. Just because other states have done it doesn't mean we have to do it.
``And indeed, a country like France doesn't have Sunday trading.

``West Australians are different. They like to have more of a relaxing day.''

Do you have a message for retail giant and Sunday trading crusader Gerry Harvey?

And I thought Adelaide was regarded as a backwater :D

Perhaps the Adelaide City Council have some influence out West hehe

mate I reckon we are the stupid ones - Some European countries don't have it and I wouldn't call them backwaters.

Sunday trading has **** all benefits, except forcing people to work on a day they could actually have to spend with family and friends.

That's a strange point of view from someone with your username.

mate I reckon we are the stupid ones - Some European countries don't have it and I wouldn't call them backwaters.

Sunday trading has **** all benefits, except forcing people to work on a day they could actually have to spend with family and friends.

It's about convenience. Sunday trading is far better and gives people an opportunity especially those that work on saturdays.

Yes! Love Sunday trading! Or at least could there be a couple shops that were actually open past 5pm in Adelaide? I rarely get to the shops at any other time. The most common complaints I heard when working with international students was regarding our shopping hours and its frankly a bit embarrassing.

That's a strange point of view from someone with your username.

you can be a capitalist and a realist - why do business only have skeleton staff on during sundays and they only trade reduced hours???

Its silly thats why. We should have shops open when they want them and closed when they don't

Opening Hours should simply be 10 - 1 and 2-9 or 10pm everday and maybe half day saturday.

You would make the same if not more money and you would allow your staff days off, you wmake a much happier country IMO.

It's about convenience. Sunday trading is far better and gives people an opportunity especially those that work on saturdays.

I agree regarding convience - I really do, but as I just posted it should all be contained as much as possible within the 5 days and maybe 5 and a half.

There is a finite amount of money in an economy. Opening an extra day does not increase it, yet for many small businesses it costs them to be open on the Sunday.

Yes it does, because it encourages competition, which in turn increases productivity and reduces prices. As it stands at the moment, we have a supermarket chain (IGA) with a monopoly on weeknight and sunday trading, and more often than not they're also the most expensive place to do your shopping. Our finite dollars buy less. Free the market and IGA will either drop their prices or die. I'm betting the former will happen.

It's simply up to the business owner as to whether their shop should open - a few shops in the city choose not to open on Sundays. Invariably any given shop will open the hours which their customers demand.

The original poster is right, we are a ****ing backwater.

Yes it does, because it encourages competition, which in turn increases productivity and reduces prices. As it stands at the moment, we have a supermarket chain (IGA) with a monopoly on weeknight and sunday trading, and more often than not they're also the most expensive place to do your shopping. Our finite dollars buy less. Free the market and IGA will either drop their prices or die. I'm betting the former will happen.

It's simply up to the business owner as to whether their shop should open - a few shops in the city choose not to open on Sundays. Invariably any given shop will open the hours which their customers demand.

yeah in an ideal world it does.

But in the real world - Woolworths and Coles can afford to open on a sunday and still drive up prices for both food and petrol just have they have done in the eastern states and SA. For a small business owner - extra days means exra costs means higher prices.

In an unregulated free market your right they would open when they want for how long they want but we don;t live in that world.

And then Coles and Woolworths run out all the 7day Delis and any other business owned by families. With Supermarkets open these shops cant compete.

Eventually Coles/Woolies will control pricing in Australia. Like Walmart in some parts of the US. Then we will pay top dollar for year old snap frozen/defreosted produce.

I do have to admit to going to Foodland (non IGA/Drake) to shop on Sundays.:eek:

There is no such thing as finite money in an economy. Inflation? Import/export?

WalMart's hold on the US market is due to the complete lack of serious regulation in the States. Very different to Australia.

If you don't want to work Sunday, don't work in retail.

I have to shop on Sunday's cos I work Monday to Friday and then most of my regular social stuff happens Saturday.

There is no such thing as finite money in an economy. Inflation? Import/export?

WalMart's hold on the US market is due to the complete lack of serious regulation in the States. Very different to Australia.

If you don't want to work Sunday, don't work in retail.

I have to shop on Sunday's cos I work Monday to Friday and then most of my regular social stuff happens Saturday.

thats why we should have extended shopping hours every night and no shopping on sunday and saturday arvo

Works out for anyone with a car, sure. And surely most people in retail would prefer to be working Saturday than snacking their dinners on long shifts. And what about when I need something vital from the shop on a Saturday afternoon, ie Panadol for my Sunday hangover?

The original poster is right, we are a ****ing backwater.

Not true at all. We have 7 day shopping here in Canberra and the IGAs are all alive, well and just as expensive as they are in Adelaide. IGAs are more expensive because they're considerably smaller than the likes of Coles, Woolies & Aldi, thus they can't take advantage of the economies of scale. However, they do have the advantage of being local - my nearest IGA is only 200m from home, my nearest Coles/Woolies is 5km away.

Oh, and Adelaide definitely ARE a backwater. I've lived in Adelaide, Canberra, Sydney & Perth - and Sunday trading is definitely worth the convenience.

Works out for anyone with a car, sure. And surely most people in retail would prefer to be working Saturday than snacking their dinners on long shifts. And what about when I need something vital from the shop on a Saturday afternoon, ie Panadol for my Sunday hangover?

A little planning would help, $2 during the week for a packet of 12 isn't too hard to remember surely :D

Grocery stores shouldnt be retailing on sundays - if you cant access them between 6am and 9pm on weekdays and then 6am-5pm saturdays then clearly your a twat and can afford to pay whatever the IGA's and such want to charge.

Department stores and Bunnings and the like are different - its a family outing (scouting for new furniture, something for the garden etc) and i think its the values like those that need to be upheld.

Only problem is stopping grocery stores form opening sunday would hit teenage incomes - and hard.

I have never really understood why car yards are not open on a Sunday.

I guess since banks are not open for "quick finance" but Sunday is an ideal day to go car shopping?? Esepcially if people are spending less than $10k, you would think banks not being open for finance wouldn't be a problem

When I was looking for a new car I could only go Saturday, and although I knew what I wanted I was thinking that if I didnt I would be pressed for time to find it. Surely Mondays or Tuesdays are slow days???

I agree regarding convience - I really do, but as I just posted it should all be contained as much as possible within the 5 days and maybe 5 and a half.

Do you work and have a family ???

We used to have 12pm close on Saturday's it was archaic and that was back in times when in most families only the men worked. We are now in a culture where both partners need to work to ensure that families can survive.

My partner and I both work full time and have a child at school, we dont get to the school to pick him up until 6pm, by the time we get home it's 6:30 and by the time we have unwound and organised dinner it is 7-7:30pm can you please explain how most families would organise their shopping if the stores operated till 9pm and only half a day on saturday ???

Saturday mornings would be bedlam and the amount of dual working families there is no way you could cater for the demand opening for only three hours on a Saturday. This is why it was changed in the first place you compare the amount of people in supermarkets during the week from 6pm-9pm to the amount on saturdays and you will find that saturdays are exponentially higher even the sunday trade through supermarkets is far higher than during the evenings of weekdays (excluding Thursday).

To be honest it would most probably be more beneficial for stores to close on say a Monday or Tuesday than it wouid be for them to consider closing on a Sunday.

Not true at all. We have 7 day shopping here in Canberra and the IGAs are all alive, well and just as expensive as they are in Adelaide. IGAs are more expensive because they're considerably smaller than the likes of Coles, Woolies & Aldi, thus they can't take advantage of the economies of scale. However, they do have the advantage of being local - my nearest IGA is only 200m from home, my nearest Coles/Woolies is 5km away.

Oh, and Adelaide definitely ARE a backwater. I've lived in Adelaide, Canberra, Sydney & Perth - and Sunday trading is definitely worth the convenience.

I agree 100%

IGA's have smartly placed themselves in areas were they arent next to supermarkets. They arent designed for people to do grocery shopping, more for the person that needs one item and cant be bothered going to a supermarket to get it.

Most people would call it convenience shopping as in you are buying a $1 for $2 but not having to travel all the way to supermarket to get it. I live in Wynn Vale and we have an IGN (at Sunnybrook) more or less across the road from where we live and have the village about 5 minutes by car. I will go to the IGA for an item rather than having to go to Village and the business through that IGA is always very healthy, I have often gone to the IGA for something during the week when the supermarkets at the village are still open and found that I have had to line up for a while to get served so I think many people are like myself who go there for an item rather than go to the supermarket.

Those IGA stores are surviving well under the current climate and by being isolated will always have the local trade that will convenience shop for one item rather than going all the way to a supermarket to get the same item for a slightly cheaper price.

Our business makes money on a sunday, so I say leave it as it is :D

Its funny to read on some of the WA developement sites. It sounds exactly like Adelaide. Backward thinking, old people whingeing about change, small town syndrome.

Didnt know where to post this.

But SA's only themepark (if you even call it that?)The Beachhouse is in millions of debt. Its taken over 2 years for them to put up a 20m ferris wheel

only in SA.

Didnt know where to post this.

But SA's only themepark (if you even call it that?)The Beachhouse is in millions of debt. Its taken over 2 years for them to put up a 20m ferris wheel

only in SA.

It's worse - Administrators have been called in and I believe it's about to be liquidated.

Major issue with The Beachhouse is that 85% of what's there you can get in any arcade. Why would I travel 40 minutes (and spend another 30 minutes finding a park) to play something at The Beachhouse when I can go 10 minutes up the road to Tunza Fun at Elizabeth and play the same games there (not that I'd proactively go somewhere just to play arcade games).

ummm... the ones that don't are backwaters.

rejecting sunday trading is like arguing against the changing of the seasons. it might give you something to do, while you wait to be wrong.

And people call Adelaide a backwater