Andrew Browne #1 ruckman

I reckon he'll quickly become our 1st ruckman. Has the most height and reach, can take a strong mark and is very good on his knees under the pack with quick hands. With a slimmer Graham, a bigger Vickery and promising Derickx we'll have a solid ruck division for a while yet. Apart from the freaky Natanui and skillfull Cox, there's not much between most ruckman. As we all know you don't have to have a freak ruckman to win a premiership :cool:

Can't see it happening, unless Graham does down with a LTI he will be our #1 Ruck for quite some time, I just don't understand how so many people think he is a bad Ruckman, in fact he showed a lot of promise last year as the #1 although he did tire out towards the end.

Browne took 1 nice mark and had 1 nice passage of play in the Adelaide game where he was on his knees gathered the ball and hand passed it a teammate, that's as good as it got for him last year.

Can't see it happening, unless Graham does down with a LTI he will be our #1 Ruck for quite some time, I just don't understand how so many people think he is a bad Ruckman, in fact he showed a lot of promise last year as the #1 although he did tire out towards the end.

Browne took 1 nice mark and had 1 nice passage of play in the Adelaide game where he was on his knees gathered the ball and hand passed it a teammate, that's as good as it got for him last year.

People seem to have really short memories mate. He was in solid form up until mid way through the year when carrying the ruck all season started to take its toll.

Was taking big grabs and racking up some impressive numbers around the ground.

He had a 25 posession game if I recall?

Brown is a long way back.

Yeah I think Browne captained the under 18's. He took a nice mark against melbourne on the wing. I like Graham and hopefully his trimmer frame gives him is 2009 leap back. He'll improve fitness too, but needs to work on his marking. I reckon Browne will overtake him though. Think he'll be very good. Vickery also shows alot of promise. He's still only 20. With Derickx coming through, we'll have great competition :cool:

I'm pretty confident he'll pass Graham, but not just yet. He's a better tap ruckman and he's far more effective around the ground than Graham is - but I don't think he's up to the pace of AFL quite yet. If he can continue his current rate of improvement it shouldn't be too long until he's a regular though - the guy is an extremely dedicated worker.

Not this year, in fact, I can't really see him getting a game this year. Graham will start number 1, and if his form holds steady and he doesn't get injured he'l see out the year. With the new sub rule, we won't be playing 2 specialist ruckman, hence the reason Vickery is being trained as a forward, who can pinch hit, along with probably post.

Derickx and Browne will be fighting it out for the replacement ruck spot if Gus goes down, but I reckon, for 2010 atleast, the spot is Graham's to lose.

Won't get a game this year. He is well behind Graham and Vickery. One would also assume that Derickx has him covered due to his athleticism.
With Richmond potentially only playing one ruckman and a Post/Griffiths as a 2nd ruck, I can't see how Browne will be on our list in 2-3 years time..
Just my opinion...

Well i think he would need to entrench is spot as #2 ruckman first. He's got a fair bit of development to go. Mobility (or his lack there-of) will be a big issue for him.

Wasn't he captain of his u18's of something?

He captained the TAC Cup Championshship winners the Murray Bushrangers in his draft year, Sidebottom, Ziebell and Rockliff were in the team that year as well.

I don't think Browne will make it. Too lumbering and awkward

Agree, doesnt have any stand-out features either. Was at training last week and Derickx absolutely destroyed him. Every ruck dual was a no contest. At this point, Browne would be last in line for mine.

Great tap work...saw him out tap Jolly in a praccy game at the start of the year, however his mobility is terrible.

Would be our 4th ruckman at the moment. Modern day ruckman need to accumulate and Graham is getting better at this. Graham can go forward take a good grab and kick a goal, he tackles (14 against Port) and when he is ON he can find the ball. Exactly what we need.

Great tap work...saw him out tap Jolly in a praccy game at the start of the year, however his mobility is terrible.

Would be our 4th ruckman at the moment. Modern day ruckman need to accumulate and Graham is getting better at this. Graham can go forward take a good grab and kick a goal, he tackles (14 against Port) and when he is ON he can find the ball. Exactly what we need.

:thumbsu:

Im happy with Graham is showing some great signs and I think he will again improve this year and cement the ruck spot. If Browne can kick it the right way that'll be a big improvement aswell ;)

Browne does a few things fairly well. But is that enough? Not in my opinion.

Graham is a good solid B grade ruck. Given that I can only think of a couple of A grade rucks that's pretty good. There are very few elite rucks going around. When Snake was at his best under Wallace we were such a better side. He got injured and the wheels fell off. I think TV can be elite, but reckon that is an outside shot. So graham has proven he is AFL capable, but has run out of steam toward the end of the year. He is about the age where he should start to regularly produce, and rucks often only mature around 26-28. So he is on track to be a good long term player. Browne has to learn how to run and get involved. Given we drafted another mature ruck the powers that be must not rank browne as a likely candidate at the AFL level.

Madtiger2006.....is very good on his knees under the pack with quick hands
LMAO @ how you have come to that conclusion .. and anyway , cardinal sin in footy to go to ground

skillfull Cox

charlieinDriver+ed+car.JPG

Madtiger2006.....is very good on his knees under the pack with quick hands
LMAO @ how you have come to that conclusion .. and anyway , cardinal sin in footy to go to ground

charlieinDriver+ed+car.JPG

Man, the Tigers have been so successful in this area over the last 25 years, i thought it must have been a set play.
"Chaffey takes the ball, hanballs to Bond, Bond looks up and kicks. Tivendale picks the ball off the ground, ooops, he slips, loses control of the ball, opposition takes the ball........"