kp junior

freo
Anyone else noticed Hase playing a bit angrier this year, throwing a few jumper punches , looking angry all the time. Is good.

Hopefully it rubs off on his big croat mate.

Back to his best. A ball magent, clean and fast hands. Him and Sandi are developing a collusion we have dreamed of for years. I just laugh at Sheehan saying Hase was out of form on the couch after the derby. He is a first rate ass clown.

I should have had a couple of dollars on Hase for the Brownlow (as mentioned on tv). Probably won't win it but he is certainly a chance now.

Hase has had a good dose of angry pills and looks like he won't give an inch. DeBoer is following in his footsteps too..... I reckon you could put a bet on every game that Matt plays he will get into some sorta scrap. He is a fiesty little bugger.

I think he is loving the responsibility and support he is getting from the young gun midfielders in our team.

His career he went from being the young gun, to the lone hand (Admittedly Bell and Carr were around)..Suddenly now he is in a exciting midfield with kids that have an abundance of raw ability and it's his role to take the heat and deliver to them.

Right now he is in AA form.

I traded him into my Dreamteam two weeks ago - best decision I've made. I think we were all unsure if Hase could recapture his best playing days, but his form of late is as good as anytime in our career. Right now, with so many midfielders out, we are completely reliant on him to win clearances for us. We CANNOT lose Hase, Sandi or Pav to injury - absolutely no one to replace them with. But go Hase - and this serves as a great example to Palmer that you can come back from a knee reco and be as good as before. :thumbsu:

Showing paternal intsincts - looking after all his kids!

But in seriousness, he's really showing PASSION and leadership which is what we've been sadly lacking.

I am so seriously loving the new rejuvenated Hase..... If I were 10 years younger I'd be lining up to have his babies!!!!!!!!! :D :thumbsu: :D

Hey IP, one thing at a time. Your job is to keep the big Croat in tip top condition, that includes organising your girlfriends to aid our future father / son contributions.

Good on ya Hase, we all knew how good he was, he has lifted the bar.

Here's a little stat to underline just how well Hase is going this year:

Hase racked up his 32 possessions (7 clearances) from just 88 minutes of time on the ground. Judd collected 28 (5 clearances) from 101 minutes, Murphy 31 (4 clearances) from 100 minutes and Gibbs 31 (1 clearance) from 105 minutes.

Hase is just so efficient when he's out there.

Love his aggression the last few weeks.

He`s really becoming a barometer for the rest of the team.

He even sang the song with attitude.

This guy when injury free is as good as anyone.

Loved it in the last quarter when the ball was kicked to a pack of players on the wing. The pack all but one jumped acrobatically and all missed the ball, there standing as though he was plucking apples off the tree was Hase. The commentators were amazed, but that was just Hase at his laconic best.

Still think if he was based in Victoria, Hase would be thought of higher than Sam Mitchell.

Walls on the telecast last night showed his ignorance again by saying Hase was at a crossroads and he needed to step up and become a good player. Short f***ng memory. I think he forgot that he has been injured for over a season.

Maybe he should check Hase's record against one of his love children - Kerr. Hase has averaged more possies, clearances etc over his whole career than Kerr.

He is slow and fat but such an incredible footballer, he has such good footy smarts and knows where to run to and win the ball at ease, his clearance work this year has been phenomenal and he rarely misses a target.

We really, really missed him last year.

I'd prefer to say he has become deadly serious. He is saying don't fk with me anymore because once I cross the line its no more Mr Nice Guy.

We missed him in '08 but watching him this year reminds me how important he has been over the years.

What is worrying is we are seeing less and less of players like him.
What i do like is we might have a new breed in our team. I'm talking about Suban all the skills and decision making with a little more speed.

I think hase(fingers crossed) is injury free. this hasn't happened for at least 4 yrs. if you all remember the club basically told his manager to hawk him around during traded time at end of 2007. There were not takers and he basically had to accept a severely reduced contract.

he had gotten over his injuries and was about to prove the club wrong during
the 2007/8 pre-season but did his knee. worked hard to get back and by spending time in the box and also assisting german with the midfield in 2008 has given him a different perspective of the game.

Just to mention that solly playing down back in the last few weeks has given the backline more grunt.

Great article in today's Australian

Hasleby hungry for the hunt

Jenny McAsey | May 11, 2009

Article from: The Australian
FREMANTLE coach Mark Harvey believes his midfielders are developing a marauding mentality around the stoppages. And the hungriest hunter of all has been Paul Hasleby, who was starved of football last year and has returned to feast on the ruck work of Aaron Sandilands.

Sandilands, the 211cm giant who makes even other ruckmen look vertically challenged, fed his midfielders like royalty in Saturday night's surprise win over Carlton on the Gold Coast.

And no one relished it more than 27-year-old Hasleby, who missed last season after undergoing a knee reconstruction.

Hasleby had 20 possessions to half-time, and finished with 32 disposals, including 13 contested possessions and seven clearances, as Fremantle upset the Blues by seven points.

Hasleby has been best on the ground the past two weeks - he won the Ross Glendinning Medal in the derby against West Coast the week before.

And in that fortnight, his partnership with Sandilands, who, like Hasleby, hails from East Fremantle, has been pivotal to the Dockers' form reversal.

Sandilands, an All-Australian last year, had one of the most dominant games of his career against Carlton, helping to set up the club's upset win, their third victory in a row.

While Carlton's young ruckman Matthew Kreuzer is undoubtedly a rising star, he found the going tough against Sandilands - no surprise, given he was conceding 11cm and 24kg.

But the difference the past two weeks for Sandilands is that he has not only been dominating opponents at the ball-ups, but has picked up valuable possessions around the ground, including telling marks in the forward line.

His disposal count, contested possessions and clearances are the highest he has averaged in his career. Sandilands had 25 disposals on Saturday - 15 of them contested - and a staggering 42 hitouts. And he drifted forward to kick a goal: a Samson in attack who rendered defenders helpless.

If he and Hasleby can continue to shine in tandem, Fremantle's woeful start to this season will become just a bad memory.

Harvey has been moved by the form of Hasleby, in particular. The 27-year-old was the No2 draft pick in 1999 and came into the game with a bang, propelling himself into the ranks of elite midfielders from his debut in 2000.

But in 2006 and 2007, he was troubled by osteitis pubis and could not produce the sort of football that made him All-Australian in 2003. Then, in last year's pre-season, he went down with a serious knee injury.

Harvey said after the game on the Gold Coast that Hasleby had been transformed by his year on the sidelines, and wanted to make an impact every time he played.

"He is actually playing for his life every time he goes out there, and it's really fascinating to sit back and watch," Harvey said.

"His demeanour has changed, and his outlook on football and perhaps life, for that matter, has changed."

Harvey said other young midfield players, such as Garrick Ibbotson, who played on Chris Judd on Saturday, were also rising in support.

"They're enjoying the thrill of the chase playing in the midfield and taking on the challenge of winning stoppages and centre squares," Harvey said.

"They really love and enjoy going to contests now. I'm seeing a real hunt mentality around the stoppages."

Fremantle plays Hawthorn at Subiaco on Friday night, while Carlton meets Collingwood at the MCG on Sunday.