Angus monfries

Stiffy_18 said:
And you base that on what exactly??????
On Capel being likely to say the choice was obvious in hindsight?

Porthos said:
On Capel being likely to say the choice was obvious in hindsight?
But is it obvious?????????

Laurence Angwin - Kane Cornes choice was obvious to all but 2 people at that table who had it their way and cost the club a hell of a lot.

What Jurnos think is irrelevant because they wouldn't have a clue at who is better prospect. I vividly remember the flak that Port copped for drafting Josh Carr with pick 7. A few years down the track that decision was justified.

Angwin was too big a risk at the time that Ayres and Curran believed was worth taking despite the odds being stacked up against it.

Porthos said:
Considering your side's midfield was still rated then, but you desperately needed a key forward, it probably was.

The only query now is if Capel is rabbiting on in 4 years time about how "Adelaide now has the opportunity of going someway to making up for its error of judgement in selecting Angus Monfries over Ben Eckermann."

exactly - these are the vagaries of the draft that all clubs are susceptible to

so many factors that shape a 17/18 year old in the subsequent 5 years

Stiffy_18 said:

Laurence Angwin - Kane Cornes choice was obvious to all but 2 people at that table who had it their way and cost the club a hell of a lot.
You reckon it was that obvious? I don't recall Kane being particularly highly rated at the time.

What Jurnos think is irrelevant because they wouldn't have a clue at who is better prospect. I vividly remember the flak that Port copped for drafting Josh Carr with pick 7. A few years down the track that decision was justified.
Yeah, it was funny to see the flack copped for that one, as he was clearly BOG in the u18s game I saw against Metro.

Admittedly you don't get many short, slow midfielders drafted at #7.

RooDog said:
the Kane Cornes ego was huge, but Monfries is as big! went to school with Kane and umpired Angus, it is a tough choice but id say Anguses is bigger :p

Ego's start early with the players these days...

Mind you i was suprised with Skipworth..saw him at the Jet concert and he didnt appear to have his head up his you know what! ;)

Mind you, he was p!$$ed! :p

Porthos said:
You reckon it was that obvious? I don't recall Kane being particularly highly rated at the time..
He was rated VERY higly by the Crows. Final decision was left to Ayres and he chose Angwin based on some crappy link with his grandfather at Hawks. Everyone bar Ayres and Curran wanted Kane, and Reidy and Fantasia argued and argued but to no avail. For Adelaide it was a toss up between Kane and Angwin (as has been stated by the club a number of times) and despite having information of Angwin's mentally unstable state Ayres went for mate's son against advice of other.

I think thats where Capel gets the basis of his article. He know, as does anyone who follows AFC closely, that we had Kane in our sights with pick 7 but went for Angwin in the end.

Besides what makes you think that Eckermann will be better than Monfries????:p
Porthos said:
Yeah, it was funny to see the flack copped for that one, as he was clearly BOG in the u18s game I saw against Metro.

Admittedly you don't get many short, slow midfielders drafted at #7.

True BUT he was worth the pick as has been proven down the track. What is he 178 cm??????

Stiffy_18 said:

Kane Cornes slipped to 20 in that draft so he can't have been rated that highly by a lot of people. Even Port didn't take him with their first pick.

We were desperate for a quality forward and Angwin was rated highly across the board. He was universally regarded as a top 10 pick. No one was shocked that he was taken so early.

Stiffy_18 said:
Neil Craig will have the final say and if I was a betting man I would say that Craigy would pick up Monfries if he is still there.

I'd say it's a good chance we will take a midfielder with our first pick. I have heard Craig mention several times that the midfield needs urgent attention with our established midfielders all getting on in age.

But, Craig has also made it clear that he values ruckmen and thinks to be successful our forward line needs to contain a ruckman (hence Biglands and even Clarke lining up at full forward after Craig took over). So we might start to stock up on ruckman.

Stiffy_18 said:
Besides what makes you think that Eckermann will be better than Monfries????:p
Nothing, it was just a hypothetical.

True BUT he was worth the pick as has been proven down the track. What is he 178 cm??????
Yep.

You never know what players turn into. It is a complete lottery. Any back onto the subject, where has eckerman gone no one is interested in him now. anyone know why?? after reading several articles on monfries i want him real bad!!

Stiffy_18 said:

Angwin was too big a risk at the time that Ayres and Curran believed was worth taking despite the odds being stacked up against it.

so what is your point stiffy,
we were crying our for a big man, and you yourself said he looked another Shaun Rehn in training.

I think we made the right choice, under the cirucmstances.
why should we be any different, after all is there any club, that with hindsight, wouldn't want to a re-do a draft - any one of them.
it's a lottery, and we got maximum talent.
win some, lose some.

Stiffy_18 despite having information of Angwin's mentally unstable state Ayres went for mate's son against advice of other. [/QUOTE said:
stiffy, steady on.
not only is that statement likely untrue, but it is possibly libellous (sic).

Anyone see the report on 9 news about this kid tonight?
Seems like a genuinely nice young guy who would really love to play for our footy club but has a real yearning just to play footy in general.
Channel 9 also has quote of the night with the journo saying:
"THE CROWS WILL PROBABLY HAVE TO PICK ANGUS UP WITH THEIR FIRST PICK HOWEVER AS ITS UNLIKELY HE WILL MAKE IT TO THE SECOND ROUND......"

:eek: GEE YA THINK!

Rave Slave said:
Anyone see the report on 9 news about this kid tonight?
Seems like a genuinely nice young guy who would really love to play for our footy club but has a real yearning just to play footy in general.
Channel 9 also has quote of the night with the journo saying:
"THE CROWS WILL PROBABLY HAVE TO PICK ANGUS UP WITH THEIR FIRST PICK HOWEVER AS ITS UNLIKELY HE WILL MAKE IT TO THE SECOND ROUND......"

:eek: GEE YA THINK!

I did see that. He came across a first class young lad who just wants to play AFL footy, but hopefully for the Crows.

For anybody that hasn't seen him before they showed a bit of vision of him playing for the double blues. Nice 1st, 2nd and 3rd efforts in that little bit. Moves well and will have an excellent footy build in the next year or two.

I hope he's still there for us at #8.

macca23 said:
I did see that. He came across a first class young lad who just wants to play AFL footy, but hopefully for the Crows.

For anybody that hasn't seen him before they showed a bit of vision of him playing for the double blues. Nice 1st, 2nd and 3rd efforts in that little bit. Moves well and will have an excellent footy build in the next year or two.

I hope he's still there for us at #8.
How impressive was that piece of action?????? Goes in tackles a bloke, the ball spills, he recovers, goes in tackles another, the ball spills he recovers throws himself at it and dishes out a handball to a team mate :)

I love players like that :D

looked very impressive.......hopefully no Dogs/Hawks/Tigers scouts were watching the new last night !!.
Looks like he's got a fair bit of work to do on his body though.......that's easily fixed .......looks an exciting prospect.

Stiffy you were absolutely right about Angwin. Recruiters from all clubs were wary of him because of his alleged character problems.

The character of Kane Cornes is probably one of the reasons why Fanta wanted him in preference to Lawrence.

Character is an essential element of any player aspiring to make it to AFL ranks. The trick is finding people of character who can also play. This is why it is essential that our pick at 8 has both of these qualities. The people mentioned so far - Monfries, Eckermann, etc. appear to have both of these in spades.

Unfortunately we have too many people on our list at the moment who currently have only one (or in some cases some may argue none) of these attributes. 2005 will be a critical time for them - they have the opportunity under Craigy to show their credentials - if they do not, because of the contract situation, many of them will be moving on in 2006.

I am sure this situation will not be lost on the players. It may help to improve our playing stocks next season. With players like Biglands, Bode, Mattner, Massie, Shirley, Skipworth etc playing for their long term future, we will be able to see which players have the qualities the club requires for success.

Interesting times ahead!!!

Yep, Angus is a top young bloke he is captain material when he is much older, his head is screwed on the right way.

I'll be absolutely spewing if he gets picked up before our first pick.

Stiffy_18 said:
How impressive was that piece of action?????? Goes in tackles a bloke, the ball spills, he recovers, goes in tackles another, the ball spills he recovers throws himself at it and dishes out a handball to a team mate :)

I love players like that :D
Careful Stiffy, people are starting to sound like we already have him.

We could be in for a huge disappoinment.

Stiffy_18 said:
I know :(

Fair chance he is gone by pick 8 :(
Not neccessarily but it could effect our view of whoever we do pickup if Monfries or Wood is taken b4 us - we could be saying how disappointed with who we've picked up SIMPLY because we have built our expectations up for Wood/Monfries/Eckermann
;)