Another Dud

• Thread starter Thread starter sante

True sante to an extent. To be honest I don't care if they draft a 25 year old fair dinkum bloke at No. 73 (?) , he's the 35th something player on the list...it's when they swap a 2nd round pick for a 32 year old on big money that I fire up a bit. Fletch will be OK.

Froars, I dont have a problem at all with the draft picks, I just question the descision to draft a 25 year old from Carlton, who are a rabble like us, who has played over 100 games. If Carlton dont see any value in him, he must be so damn good!!!
Sounds to me that Brittain has too much say in things. We dont need another chump like Fleming.

Gotta agree a little bit Diggles - would have preferred them pick another kid. But a new club, under a great coach ;) and who knows. Just gotta give him a go before we get stuck into him. Give him half a season and then let loose on him lol.

Originally posted by froars
Gotta agree a little bit Diggles - would have preferred them pick another kid.
its more of a gamble picking up a kid at the lower ebbs of the draft than it is picking up a "reject".granted we picked up archibald later on however what it boiled down to was the cost factor.
as miller has stated before under the new eba kids will autmatically be granted a 2yr contract compared to the min.1 for a reject.

cheers!

Fletch

he would fit in our side beautifully...............get heaps of posessions and turns the ball over 80% of the time another gifted
richmond player. thank you Wayne Brittain!!!
Shane Morrossion very good pick up will give another option up foward.
spewing about copeland......
happy gilmore another 68 kg player who might develop in 10 years time.
roach raines tuck sounds brilliant .....lets hope they play that way

Jeez, it scares the hell out of me when you or anyone else digs up old threads like this, sante. The first thing I tend to do is scan through to see if I'm guilty of any embarassing "Simon Fletcher should be an invaluable pick-up for us" type comments ... thankfully not on this occasion.

GhostofJimJess said:
Jeez, it scares the hell out of me when you or anyone else digs up old threads like this, sante. The first thing I tend to do is scan through to see if I'm guilty of any embarassing "Simon Fletcher should be an invaluable pick-up for us" type comments ... thankfully not on this occasion.
Had to check meself :D
My only crime was that I kept on stating we should give the kid a go - when in reality we should have got stuck into him from the beginning lol

What a dud :thumbsd:

He was one of Frawleys finest moments,along with Ckinton King,Sziller and Hudson....

oxx said:
He was one of Frawleys finest moments,along with Ckinton King,Sziller and Hudson....

Billy Nicholls
Luke Weller
Justin Blumfield
Ben Marsh
Tim Fleming
Aaron James

But then again, he was welcomed into a club that had only quite recently wasted a host of high draft picks for the likes of Craig Biddiscombe, Rory Hilton, Pat Steinfort and Aaron Fiora, so it wasn't as if he had been greeted with a selection of really high quality recruiting role models.

I'm surprised we never tried to pick up micky martyn or mick mcguane in their last year. What was Danny thinking?? We missed out on 2 beauties there... BUt on a serious note, I am glad that our list looks a lot better than it did back then... GO TIGERS!!!!

at least king and sziller gave us one good season. as for the others mentioned, some had promise but none delivered. makes me feel alot better about our current list.

Darth_Tiger said:
at least king and sziller gave us one good season. as for the others mentioned, some had promise but none delivered. makes me feel alot better about our current list.

King lost me the day at the MCG against Collingwood when he tried to square up a ball from the members wing into the centre, had the ball cut off and taken down for a Magpie goal, thus swinging the momentum and ultimately the game against us. Tragic passage of play, and whatever he did from that moment on could never quite recover the loss of what little faith I'd built up in him.

As for Sziller, and to a lesser extent Fleming, at least there was some method to the madness of recruiting them. They were hard-bodied mongrels, and even Frawley conceded that they'd been recruited purely for that reason, and not for any crazy idea that they had any real footy skill or nouse.

In the long run, the presence of Sizzler and Flemo probably enabled blokes like Coughlan, Hyde, Tivendale, Newman and Krakuoer to develop at a more manageable rate, rather than be thrown into the fray too early with younger underdeveloped bodies.

It also probably afforded some degree of protection and relief to the more aged, but far more skilled, bodies of Knighter, Cambo and Brodders at the time.

I'm prepared to let Frawley off the hook on Steven Sziller and to a lesser degree Tim Fleming, but he should hang his head in shame for inflicting the likes of Hudson, Blumfield, Nicholls etc. on Tigerland.

IDGAF said:
It`s funny when you think of the song and dance we make about Nathan B ..... but when it happens to a lesser light ?

You're right you know, mate.
FuC k him anyway,:D

GhostofJimJess
Billy Nicholls
Luke Weller
Justin Blumfield
Ben Marsh
Tim Fleming
Aaron James

But then again, he was welcomed into a club that had only quite recently wasted a host of high draft picks for the likes of Craig Biddiscombe, Rory Hilton, Pat Steinfort and Aaron Fiora, so it wasn't as if he had been greeted with a selection of really high quality recruiting role models.

We rocked !

Did Froorly get Aaron "Kiss me or I'll Pi ss on you" James to the club?

I thought he was there before.

Billy Nicholls - Working at Macdonalds.

At least we gave you Steve O'Dwyer. Big red played one or two games hurt his back and tried to sue the club.:eek:

Darth_Tiger said:

At least someone knows there footy.
Being watching games lately from 2001 and guess what. Both King and Sziller were very servicable in the year we made the prelim. King was great at the clearances and for carrying the ball. Sziller was pretty hard at it!

king actually had a couple of good years. couldnt kick to save himself but he had great hands and was a fairly decent tagger. once he lost confidence tho he had to go.