Another Eagle in Freos' sights

• Thread starter Thread starter johnnomac

I think Pearce is simply too slow to play midfield, despite how fit he might look it's just his body shape I reckon. From what I saw of Swan Districts this year Clancee was playing a high half-foward type role. Strongly leading out, taking heaps of marks and pumping it long into the forward line; best footy I've ever seen him play.

Problem is though, I think it's an area we're covered for (Mayne/Fyfe/Mellington/Walters) so I really have no idea when it comes to Pearce. I like him as a player though and he is certainly handy depth but I'm struggling to see how he could break into our Best 22 and also where exactly he'd play.

Could he become the small defender we've been lacking? IIRC he was U-18's AA in the back pocket a few years back and has played most of his footy there. Then I think of him playing on guys like Rioli/Betts/Garlett and that notion quickly evaporates :o

a fit clancee pearce will have a very similar body shape to that of dane swan....short, powerful, penguins waddling around the ground racking up possessions. Hopefully he can get the same work rate. Brian Taylor would have an orgasm if he got to call clancee 35 times a game

Could he become the small defender we've been lacking? IIRC he was U-18's AA in the back pocket a few years back and has played most of his footy there. Then I think of him playing on guys like Rioli/Betts/Garlett and that notion quickly evaporates :o
If he can gain just a bit of pace it would make a lot of difference. He'd do pretty well going body to body with a lot of these blokes.

a fit clancee pearce will have a very similar body shape to that of dane swan....short, powerful, penguins waddling around the ground racking up possessions. Hopefully he can get the same work rate. Brian Taylor would have an orgasm if he got to call clancee 35 times a game

Similar body shape, maybe. But if you've seen Swan play you'll know how deceptively quick he is. Was genuinely shocked at how easily he burnt off our players when we versed them this year, and not plodder either but guys with a bit of zip like Mzungu and Duffield. Clancee will never be that quick.

If he can gain just a bit of pace it would make a lot of difference. He'd do pretty well going body to body with a lot of these blokes.

No doubt, but how does he achieve this and will it ever happen? I'm guessing his skin folds would have been pretty poor when he came to the club, and I'm presuming it was something the club sought to rectify. Why then after several pre-seasons is he still in the shape he's in? Where is the extra pace gonna come from?

He is in better shape than hes ever been in, hence the back page of the west.

His pace should improve somewhat, the greater improvement will be with his endurance. Will never be close to elite pace wise, granted. But could be enough to play small defender and release Suban to inside mid.

Was genuinely shocked at how easily he burnt off our players when we versed them this year, and not plodder either but guys with a bit of zip like Mzungu and Duffield.

Both Mzungu and Duffield are very one paced and neither is quick. People assume that Mzungu in particular is quick, but he's not. Whereas Swan actually has pretty decent pace over the first 5-10 metres.

Also his freakish tank which enables him to (I've heard anyway) complete long sprints over and over through a game. He looks quick because his chasing opponents are knackered.

He is in better shape than hes ever been in, hence the back page of the west.

His pace should improve somewhat, the greater improvement will be with his endurance. Will never be close to elite pace wise, granted. But could be enough to play small defender and release Suban to inside mid.

Was that next to the article about Chris Masten training houses down? :p

What is quick though? What's the benchmark of quick? Maybe I should have re-worded that to say they aren't slow?

And in response to paracleet, the instances I recall happened about 5-10 minutes into the first quarter of the Pies game, fatigue was not a factor and Swan was literally dancing circles around our guys. I guess I could go into a whole thing now about this false perception of Freo as a quick team but I won't.

Cynicism noted.

Don't misunderstand me Stronzo, Clancee is one of my favourite players and I'd be stoked to see him make it, I just think he's playing in the wrong era. Also, if he does lose a lot of weight how much does that compromise other areas in his game like his strength and the penetration of his kicking and so on?

Will be interesting to see and I sincerely hope he proves me wrong, seems a good bloke and I enjoy BT overreacting whenever he gets the ball :thumbsu:

I've completely forgotten what this thread was originally about :o

i like that we're finding a new development coach, but what's the dealio with Hansen - why do we rate him?

Development requires two things;
1. Talent
2. Hard work

I will assume that all of our players are talented to some degree, some are far more talented than others but those less talented work harder to make up the short fall.

If you take someone like Walters + DeBoer's training/professionalism you get a superstar.

I hear that Hansen can set a respectable example of hard working talent, he's a gorilla and if the only thing he shows our young players is how to lift weights, drink protein and sleep for 10 hours a night then we will get value.

I have heard he is an excellent communicator and very good leader for younger guys. Maybe this is why. He speaks exceptionally well and his old man is an excellent radio announcer.

Either that or he is a token Ranga for the club

the big concern there is the part that says walters yet again came back with inadequate skinfolds :eek::mad:.... if that is correct, then that guy will be finished at the end of this year as he just doesnt have the discipline which would truly be a shame... not to mention frustrating

Pretty sure that would have referred to earlier in the preseason. After his initial warning he picked up on maintaining his fitness levels.

What is quick though? What's the benchmark of quick? Maybe I should have re-worded that to say they aren't slow?

Yeah 'not slow' probably fits better. It's a tricky one though.

At Fremantle, I'd say if you're anywhere near Hill when the sprints are taking place, you're sitting comfortably in the 'quick' category. If you're sitting back with Walters, then you're in the 'slow' category.

Yeah 'not slow' probably fits better. It's a tricky one though.

At Fremantle, I'd say if you're anywhere near Hill when the sprints are taking place, you're sitting comfortably in the 'quick' category. If you're sitting back with Walters, then you're in the 'slow' category.

Simple test - If Sandi can catch you over the first 20m