Review Freo Do The Business in Derby 61

Very much agree on the Hardly Reid boos. He is a flog but surely we are better as a supporter group than the Wiggles folk. No need to boo him at all unless he does something specific.

I personally hope they sign him up on big dollars. I won’t say he’s a bust. Clearly talented, but in no world is he worth $1million and $2million would be hilarious.

As much as the wheel can turn, it’s very very difficult to see how and I’m all for it.

5 more years at the bottom is certainly realistic.

That was a tough kick for Dudley. There was a reasonably strong northerly blowing. On ground level it can also swirl around to another direction. Kicking straight from that pocket was very hard. A few others missed as well. Freddy nailed one and that was an exceptional set shot.

Can’t make excuses for small forwards kicking from 40m. It’s their job.

Bit worried about Chapman tbh he’s getting caught out by the speed of the game at times, holding the ball and putting his teammates under pressure.

He just tries to take on a bit much sometimes but I have absolutely zero concerns about him long term.

He's still got a bit of developing to do but he's one of those guys who once he's a 150 game veteran will just deliver a quality assured performance week in, week out imo.

Yep,
Duds is not a great kick, will get an accurate 40m shot away on a good day.

I think he’s a very decent field kick. Change of angles type kicks. Well weighted type kicks. Instinctive snaps type kicks, but 40m out at shot I’m not overly confident.

He’s missed a few this season which should just be absolute bread and butter.

It's not an excuse, it's an explanation. Which also includes him being tiny and without a huge leg on him. As soon as he marked it, I said he's going to struggle with this kick and the outcome was about as I expected.

The explanation is literally an excuse. If he can’t kick 40m when sheltered by a massive stadium on what was a relatively breezeless day, then why is he in the AFL?

Pop down to your local footy game today and watch D grade ammos kick into howling rain and breeze from 40m and make the distance.

I don’t even think it was 40m out.

I thought Bolton was fine, should've had 4 or 5 goals but really busy and involved in lots of forward chains. Think he had 25 possessions or so. Again thought Banners was ok, limited player but going ok despite the occasional brainfart. Apart from our obvious best players, thought Darcy did well and Jye's best game for ages.

As disappointing as our goal kicking was I'm very glad we dished that up today and not against the Hawks or Pies.

Jeez it was nice to enjoy that game though. Just dominated them across the board that absolutely was an 80 point win if we had our kicking boots on and didn't switch off in the middle for the last 5 minutes.

Super exciting Young has come back in flying form too.

Let’s be real, we’re not making up the % we need with the teams we have left to play. Let’s just bank wins.

I’m saying that, Loved the game apart from the inaccuracy. Also way over umpired.

Amiss found some form which is nice too
This- totally agree.
I’ve run multiple ladder scenarios. Brisbane with the 2 extra points means % just won’t matter unless we flog Carlton and Port Adelaide by 100 point each and the other teams just get over line. Highly improbable.

For some reason I subjected myself to watching the game and all those behinds again.
We really did smash them, the game never even got close, we just couldn't get that margin up where it should have been.

Driz really had a bit of a 'mare, he fumbled multiple ground balls when in the clear, plus a couple handballed to him, and got pushed off the ball way too easily. Hopefully he bounces back next week.

Having the weapons of Switta, Bolton and Reid is massive for the team, but as we already knew Young is the biggest difference maker with his size, ability to absorb tackles and that kicking.

Reid was deserved second best on ground, but Young was something else, even with being subbed off in the fourth.
On that note it is a shame Ras hasn't been able to grasp his opportunities, seems to struggle when coming on late as well.

I said to my mate as we were walking out, being able to look at an eight goal win and say "well we could have done a fair sight better there" is probably a sign we're tracking pretty solidly.

• Concur with the frustrations re the yips - at least it came on a day where we were largely dominating anyway. Confident they'll be able to look at it and address it.
  • Wild to think there was "does Young play off half back when he returns" talk from some quarters earlier in the year. Clearly going to be the difference maker heading into the back end of the year.
  • Barring the goalkicking, I actually thought the forward play was some of the best this year (obviously running around witches hats helps) - awareness, pressure and hit-up play from everyone was fantastic, just the execution sucked.
  • Some of the handwringing over booing Reid the Lesser is a bit silly - he seems to be embracing the West/Eagles cult push, so no surprises he's an easy pantomime villain

The Evils are reaching the point where it's just a bit sad though - you could see the fight had just completely left the eyes of their supporters in our block. No chirp, no banter. The West's "Brave Eagles fight their way to another eight goal loss" this morning almost reads like palliative care.

Check out his junk time goal against Richmond at the G last year.
Roves a stoppage, gives a fend off, whips onto his right foot, and nails it from 50m off two steps. There are right footers in our team that can't do that.
He's not ambidextrous in a Aker or Sam Mitchell sense, but he's much more capable on his non-preferred than most players IMO.
Yeah I was clearly reaching a bit there looking for a weakness in his game. There isn’t much. Maybe durability.

I personally hope they sign him up on big dollars. I won’t say he’s a bust. Clearly talented, but in no world is he worth $1million and $2million would be hilarious.

As much as the wheel can turn, it’s very very difficult to see how and I’m all for it.

5 more years at the bottom is certainly realistic.
The best part is how well their shitful years are aligning with our golden age.

• Some of the handwringing over booing Reid the Lesser is a bit silly - he seems to be embracing the West/Eagles cult push, so no surprises he's an easy pantomime villain
Just need to remind the West Coast supporters their carry on whenever Jeff Farmer went near the ball

The explanation is literally an excuse. If he can’t kick 40m when sheltered by a massive stadium on what was a relatively breezeless day, then why is he in the AFL?

Pop down to your local footy game today and watch D grade ammos kick into howling rain and breeze from 40m and make the distance.

I don’t even think it was 40m out.
Yeah it's not ideal that 3 of our smalls are close to hopeless from 40m and beyond with set shots. The others being Switta and Murph. Bolton is also very erratic with his set shots. I really hope that Sturt can overcome his injuries and find his way back into the team at some stage but at 25 time is running out for him. I think Treacy and Jackson are the only blokes on our team I feel comfortable with when they're lining up from distance tbh

Just watched the full reply.
Some of the takes in this thread and the game thread just way off.
We won without ever looking threatened.
Bank the 4 points and move on. % is not going to come into play. We just need to win.
Worth noting we kicked 11.4 from 13 mins to go in the 3rd 1/4.

Just need to remind the West Coast supporters their carry on whenever Jeff Farmer went near the ball
Exactly, or Ballantyne or Crowley.. the list goes on. How about them cheering everytime gaff had possession after he hit Brayshaw in the face? You can argue he didn’t mean to do it but why were eagles supporters cheering for him? Get over Harley Reid being booed. When he got injured most people were clapping him off the ground, he’s a flog he didn’t even deserve that.

Review Freo Do The Business in Derby 61