Autopsy Clutch Win at the MCG, Freo Down the Pies

Looking at the last 2 mins again - there is no question Moore is a sniper. And he knew exactly what he was going.

However - Jordan Clark has GOT to control himself a bit better in those type of scenarios. He’s one of my favs but jeez you can’t do daft shit like that.

With 30 seconds left - don’t even give the umpires a sniff of a decision to make. Especially not at the G with their fans howling for it. Can you imagine if they’d reversed it and Moore kicked the winning goal?? Unthinkable.

Jumping into Moore and starting a scrap in our own goal square was utterly reckless. I actually reckon Moore deliberately did it to try generate a scrap and a turnover too. He walked away looking like he knew exactly what he was trying to do.

Clark has got to be more composed in these moments. He’s having a great season but these moments at the end of games define players and careers even, and cool heads are essential. Thankfully Wagner and Ryan had a bit more maturity.
Clark was in best position to see what he did and I have no problem with him flying the flag given how high passions would have been at the time. He didn’t come close to crossing the line.

Looking at the last 2 mins again - there is no question Moore is a sniper. And he knew exactly what he was going.

However - Jordan Clark has GOT to control himself a bit better in those type of scenarios. He’s one of my favs but jeez you can’t do daft shit like that.

With 30 seconds left - don’t even give the umpires a sniff of a decision to make. Especially not at the G with their fans howling for it. Can you imagine if they’d reversed it and Moore kicked the winning goal?? Unthinkable.

Jumping into Moore and starting a scrap in our own goal square was utterly reckless. I actually reckon Moore deliberately did it to try generate a scrap and a turnover too. He walked away looking like he knew exactly what he was trying to do.

Clark has got to be more composed in these moments. He’s having a great season but these moments at the end of games define players and careers even, and cool heads are essential. Thankfully Wagner and Ryan had a bit more maturity.
That's a horrible take, honestly. He wasn't even close to infringing.

How could the umps miss the blatant over the head backward throw by Daicos and the following 2 or 3 blatant throws by the other collingwood players in the dying minutes .And how the hell did Darcy Moore not get reported ?Or Maynard ?If those plays were reversed im convinced we would be missing players for the next couple of weeks.

Don't start me on "handballing" over the head ..........., it's a throw.

Daicos & Pendles have perfected the two handed throw, the Melbourne Storm would be proud of them.

Clark was in best position to see what he did and I have no problem with him flying the flag given how high passions would have been at the time. He didn’t come close to crossing the line.
I disagree with this, more important to win than to remonstrate. Luke Ryan is the master of standing up for team mates and it was him who was in there trying to get Clark out if it. Imagine if the kick had been reversed!

Yeah but Worner wasn't even close to crossing the remonstrating line by the current standards either.

Who knows what the ump would have done if Moore had performed a little Hawthorn flop after Clark made contact with him. He was playing a risky game.

It would have been nice timing to get in his face and do a little point at the scoreboard though.

Yeah but Worner wasn't even close to crossing the remonstrating line by the current standards either.

Who knows what the ump would have done if Moore had performed a little Hawthorn flop after Clark made contact with him. He was playing a risky game.

It would have been nice timing to get in his face and do a little point at the scoreboard though.
I think that shows how entirely unplanned the act was: If he was actually trying to milk it he would've attempted a flop. It wasn't 4-D chess, it's was a dummy spit.

Honestly I see nothing wrong with Clark and would've been a pretty terrible sign of team culture if nothing was done. Especially in light of what pundits have been saying about the tagging efforts on Serong lately.

If we lose because of how he actually remonstrated (and not how he potentially could've which is what the original post almost alludes to) then we, and the whole football public, have every right to demand the immediate sacking of the umpire involved.

The umpires weren’t even interested in the push & shove with Moore, not one went near it. You have to fly the flag, you can’t let that happen & just stand by. As a club we are setting new standards & controlled aggression is a must in all aspects of the game.
You also have to back the leaders of the team to be able to keep a lid on things. That's exactly what Wagner did (and Treacy by getting up quickly and jogging the fifty to remove the umpire from the area and keep a lid on things).

There's a push and pull with these things. You need enforcers and to stand up for yourselves but also cooler heads and what really pleased me is we had both in spades on Sunday.

Horrible is a bit of a strong way to describe it. If he wasn’t sailing close to the wind then why did Wagner and Ryan jump straight in to pull him away. Shouldnt they be “flying the flag” too and doing the same think Clark was, if what you say is true?

It’s all very well to stick up for teammates and I think we do that as well as any other club, but we all know the umps are only looking for an excuse to give in to the noise of affirmation from the crowd.

The most important thing with 30 seconds left is to secure the win. Clark is definitely a great bloke but he’s also a hothead and it’s not like it hasn’t cost him before in the closing moments of big games.
Anyway agree to disagree it’s a minor thing overall

Moore is he is a serial offender for kneeing people from behind. Last year he busted up Witts (fractured vertebrae), and almost killed Petracca. Now this one. It wasn't any genius ploy to extract a retaliation free. It was a deliberate and dirty act from a proven sniper who masquerades as some kind of intelligent new age good bloke.

Moore has jumped to the very top of my list of the biggest w***ers in the game. Listen to this drivel coming out of his mouth defending his actions:

“Just fell into old mate’s back and, look, it was a physical game, clearly a high-pressure moment,” he told 7NEWS Melbourne’s Mitch Cleary.

“We expect that, we love that, that’s part of footy that we love so I’d expect nothing less from the Dockers.”

I hope Richmond players take this as a licence to launch knees into the Pies at every opportunity. Moore himself says he would love it and expect nothing less. Throw a Daicos into the interchange or fence while they are at it.

Sorry if mentioned before, but take a look at Wagner in the video.
It’s pretty funny.
“Don’t you tossers get this reversed!!!”

That's some ****en leadership though.

He's been a very astute pickup

Who thinks this circle jerk over the Magpies "tackling" at the end is being completely overblown? I'm not sure what Sidebottom did to Serong even constitutes a tackle (if he was hoping for holding the ball). And if they wanted the ball out in space, it didn't work and all it did was allow us to waste extra time.

I also saw a few Pies players put hands on the ball and cause a stalemate, wasted time, and ball up. Including what might otherwise have been a holding the ball against NOD when he kinda dived on it, but then Lipinksi came in and jumped on the ball as well. Then Cameron did the same thing with a stalemate versus Young. And looking closely again, there could have been a free against Pendlebury for holding Young's arm while the ball was thrown up. Pendles then throws the ball twice. Impressive effort for him to commit three infringements in about 10 seconds and get away with all of them.

But the Magpies are geniuses and the best ever at finishing games.
It was an interesting tactic, worth a shot but in the end did not work.

But I will say their pressure and tackling in the first half was the best I have seen this year and Freo getting through that made it the best win of the year. It was the polar opposite of how we went against Collingwood in the 2022 final (The frightened bunny game and one that Walker especially will not want to watch ever).

Very happy with players standing their ground and standing up for their mates. It shows the players are maturing, and the performance overall shows all their mental work around preparation is bearing fruit.

JLo as well looks much more confident in his press conferences. I like his honesty, and in general has found another gear with his leadership.

One week at a time for the club though. Every club brings their best when they play us.

This doesn't justify the 50 in the slightest, it was ridiculous given current standards, but what seems to be missed in the debate on the Worner 50 is not what he did (pointed) but what he said, which looked like "that's bullshit".

Worner was more right than he realised.

Moore is he is a serial offender for kneeing people from behind. Last year he busted up Witts (fractured vertebrae), and almost killed Petracca. Now this one. It wasn't any genius ploy to extract a retaliation free. It was a deliberate and dirty act from a proven sniper who masquerades as some kind of intelligent new age good bloke.

Moore has jumped to the very top of my list of the biggest w***ers in the game. Listen to this drivel coming out of his mouth defending his actions:

“Just fell into old mate’s back and, look, it was a physical game, clearly a high-pressure moment,” he told 7NEWS Melbourne’s Mitch Cleary.

“We expect that, we love that, that’s part of footy that we love so I’d expect nothing less from the Dockers.”

I hope Richmond players take this as a licence to launch knees into the Pies at every opportunity. Moore himself says he would love it and expect nothing less. Throw a Daicos into the interchange or fence while they are at it.

Where's Tom Lynch when you need him, he's a player with "unco-ordinated" limbs.

An elbow there, a knee there, a fist there ....

Maynard and Moore, their reputations as good players are starting to shred.

Just watched a full replay in the cold hard light of day. (not screaming at the TV and jumping around like game day)
Observations:
  • Johnno is going good, getting better every game, just effed up once with that very poor attempted pass on the left side
  • Worner played a good game and should not have been subbed, no wonder he was peeved
  • Freddy played another one of his pathetic games, dropped marks, fumbled multiple times would not get jnvolved in the heat, blasted a long ball way wide at goals in the crucial minutes when Vossy was wide open. Should have been subbed and paid the price
  • Shai was well below his best, should have nailed right pocket close in banana, took a long set shot that was beyond him when he should of looked to pass it off, getting a bit full of himself
  • Sean was dissapointing in not at least halving maybe four critical marking contests against Cameron, needs to do better
  • Banners is going well down back (can't believe I said that), just one error when he took a fraction too long to pick a target resulting in out on the full due to McCleary chase
In the perfect world:
  • We replace Freddy with Kosi
  • We get a quality defender to replace Pearce (because he is always injured)
and we make the GF for sure.

Yep would’ve been shit tonne worse if no one flew the flag .
Actually think as a team besides the likes of Ryan ,Clark , Treacy,Voss and perhaps serong at times we don’t do it enough as a team.

And It’s most certainly been a hall mark of every great team from the past and present

Shai was well below his best, should have nailed right pocket close in banana, took a long set shot that was beyond him when he should of looked to pass it off, getting a bit full of himself
Think we just have to take the good with the bad when it comes to Shai, he will definitely do things that will come across as selfish play, but he will also pull off the random arse-y goal from nowhere that can turn a game…I have learn to expect the unexpected with him, and to just enjoy the ride that is the Bolton train..😅

Autopsy Clutch Win at the MCG, Freo Down the Pies