Anthony Rocca

• Thread starter Thread starter TheClokes

thehoff said:
Oh god, you really know your stuff...

The reason i prefer to be underdogs is simple. The media and the football world are expecting Collingwood to walk all over Geelong. If we win, it's an upset, if we lose, it's unexpected. It's a win-win situation for the club.

I really could not be bother replying to the rest of your thread. It's pointless that you are attempting to justify how good your team is, yet they, like Geelong have not achieved the ultimate success. Who really remembers or cares who loses?. The point is they lost 2 grand finals, like Geelong losing 4 in a 6 year period. 1 point or 200 points, both teams still lost!

That being said, niether team has achieved anything since 1990 but if you want to clutch at straws, Geelong has certainly achieved far more than Collingwood in the past 2 seasons.
MATE!!! Open your other eye for Gods sake!!! "The media and the football world are expecting Collingwood to walk all over Geelong" ???? What are you talking about? Who said that? The only thing I've heard about this game is it's going to be a cracker of a game with both sides paying $1.85 for a win?

thehoff said:
The reason i prefer to be underdogs is simple. The media and the football world are expecting Collingwood to walk all over Geelong.
Oh is that so? Ha ha ha ha. Which planet is this media located? I certainly haven't seen any of this media opinion on earth this week yet.

In fact, a few weeks ago, Geelong were premiership favourites, and Collingwood were about 8th favourite, and according to Centrebet, Collingwood is currently $1.85 favourites to win on the weekend, and Geelong are $1.95, so that is almost even money. If you think that is the media expecting Collingwood to "walk all over" Geelong, then you are dreaming.
thehoff said:
If we win, it's an upset, if we lose, it's unexpected. It's a win-win situation for the club.
If a team wins when it's almost even money, then it is not an upset. It is also not possible to win a match twice, so what is this "win-win" rubbish? Teams either win or lose, and that's it. Under this theory of yours, does that mean that Collingwood had a "loss-win" situation for the club last week? No, because Collingwood simply lost. Geelong would have penciled this match in for a win when the fixture was released because Geelong made the finals last season, and Collingwood finished second bottom.
thehoff said:
That being said, niether team has achieved anything since 1990 but if you want to clutch at straws, Geelong has certainly achieved far more than Collingwood in the past 2 seasons.
Why pick the last two seasons? Geelong haven't even won a Preliminary Final in that time. In the history of Geelong Footy Club, they have won more matches than they have lost, but only have 6 premierships to show for it. Melbourne have lost more matches than they have won, but have 12 premierships, and Hawthorn have also lost more matches than they have won for 9 premierships. Fitzroy are no longer in existance, they had also lost more matches than they had won for 8 premierships.

Seeing as this thread doesn't appear to be about pebbles anymore I thought I would digress as well. The Collingwood player who worries me most is Josh Fraser as our rucks won't be able to keep up with him. We might have to get Mooney to shadow him for a while.

Didak is another player for Geelong to respect a lot more because he carved us up last time. Really looking forward to the game and just like everybody else I think 'we' (whoever that may be) will win.

1.85 apiece? I would have thought the Pies would have been faves but a bookie I am not (more mug punter alas).

:thumbsu:

Catnip said:
Seeing as this thread doesn't appear to be about pebbles anymore I thought I would digress as well. The Collingwood player who worries me most is Josh Fraser as our rucks won't be able to keep up with him. We might have to get Mooney to shadow him for a while.

Didak is another player for Geelong to respect a lot more because he carved us up last time. Really looking forward to the game and just like everybody else I think 'we' (whoever that may be) will win.

1.85 apiece? I would have thought the Pies would have been faves but a bookie I am not (more mug punter alas).

:thumbsu:
Both teams are $1.90 mate.................................

http://www.sportsbet.com.au/Events.asp?SportID=8146

Bucks will be jumping out of he's skin too.........You can be sure of that!

The Marvel said:
Big Ants will play & throw in Travis Cloke also. Geelong wont know what hit them this Sat night.

The best play Big Ants managed on Saturday night was when he poked a finger in his eye and suckered the ump into believing it was the opposition. Big Ants? Big sook.

he season
bannersgal said:
The best play Big Ants managed on Saturday night was when he poked a finger in his eye and suckered the ump into believing it was the opposition. Big Ants? Big sook.
West Coast had their chance to win a premiership after dominating the season last year. They were a much better side than Sydney on paper, but they couldn't get the job done. Roll on Round 16 and the Collingwood v. West Coast re-match.

thehoff said:
Oh god, you really know your stuff...

What did you expect, you nutless wonder, E=MC2?

Scarlett. Usually. Plays. On. Tarrant.

Tarrant. Usually. Beats. Him.

Simple enough for you, Forrest?

Palmer Stoat said:
What did you expect, you nutless wonder, E=MC2?

Scarlett. Usually. Plays. On. Tarrant.

Tarrant. Usually. Beats. Him.

Simple enough for you, Forrest?

Oh sorry, you're one of the toothless Collingwood supporters.. My mistake.

No point talking anymore. Evidently, most things goes strait over your head.

thehoff said:

Don't bite Hoff ............ you might get rabies !!!

No point having an objective conversation with these people. Apparently the flag is on it's way to the Lexus Centre despite them not having beaten a quality side ........ it's a cracker and if we beat them Saturday night it will be worth the price of admission as they jump on public transport and head back to their commission housing and smack the wife and kids in total despair upon realising that they're just an average side who got a kind draw in the first few rounds.

Otherwise if they win (and good luck to them if they do) then they'll be one week closer to ultimate dissapointment.

thehoff said:
I think you'll find Harley takes Tarrant. Scarlo goes to Rocca.

I can't recall if Scarlo played on Tarrant last year or not but i have a feeling he did'nt.

Even if he did, he has by no means beat him. Sure he has taken a few Marks on his back but we all know Taz cannot kick and does not punish teams on the scoreboard the way he should, much like Kent 'Kant Kicksley' Kingley.

I think he did...
wbsportinglife_wideweb__430x290.jpg

and the year before...
tarrant_mark.jpg

thehoff said:

Witness the sh1tness!

If you're going to come here and start criticising the intellect of Collingwood supporters, the least you can do is spell your flaccid attempts at humour correctly.

FYI: 'things' needs a plural verb (go), and 'strait' should be 'straight'.

Was at my training tonight, it looked like he had a little limp going on and he was waving his arms around etc but that wouldn't have much of an effect on the shoulder:confused: I asked him how many he was going to kick this week and he said something along the lines of "not sure mate, enough to get us across the line" in a quiet but deep voice:D

Stakerz said:
Was at my training tonight, it looked like he had a little limp going on and he was waving his arms around etc but that wouldn't have much of an effect on the shoulder:confused: I asked him how many he was going to kick this week and he said something along the lines of "not sure mate, enough to get us across the line" in a quiet but deep voice:D

Fair dinkum Pebbles is GAWN. Give him a rest Mick!! ;)

KissStephanie said:
he seasonWest Coast had their chance to win a premiership after dominating the season last year. They were a much better side than Sydney on paper, but they couldn't get the job done. Roll on Round 16 and the Collingwood v. West Coast re-match.

Bring it on. We know what you did last summer, we did it for 10 years too, with a far better record. Knock over a quality side and I'll pay attention. Truly.

bannersgal said:
Knock over a quality side and I'll pay attention. Truly.
I don't care if you pay attention to Collingwood or not. It doesn't make any difference to anything whether you do or don't. West Coast however did let a premiership slip, one that they should have won and can never get back, and I am looking forward to Round 16.

Prodigal Sons said:
Don't bite Hoff ............ you might get rabies !!!

No point having an objective conversation with these people. Apparently the flag is on it's way to the Lexus Centre despite them not having beaten a quality side ........ it's a cracker and if we beat them Saturday night it will be worth the price of admission as they jump on public transport and head back to their commission housing and smack the wife and kids in total despair upon realising that they're just an average side who got a kind draw in the first few rounds.

Otherwise if they win (and good luck to them if they do) then they'll be one week closer to ultimate dissapointment.
We will win this weekend and still won’t have beaten a quality side.
Next year you will still have Thompson at the helm preaching patience. How long until he is Geelong’s longest serving coach?

thehoff said:
The reason i prefer to be underdogs is simple. The media and the football world are expecting Collingwood to walk all over Geelong. If we win, it's an upset, if we lose, it's unexpected. It's a win-win situation for the club.
Well, Geelong started slight favourites with the bookies at the first bounce, and in The Age, 13 tipped Geelong, and only 4 tipped Collingwood. Geelong were at full strength as well, so is the record 102 point loss a loss-loss situation for the club, or a loss-loss-loss-loss-loss-loss-loss etc., situation for the club?

It was certainly a good win-win-win-win-win-win-win etc. for Collingwood! ;)