Apologies, Cloke

sweetman87

I must apologise to Cameron Cloke because when we picked him up i was very skeptical and, very harsh. I believe i made a terrible mistake he has been showing a heap of promise in his first 3 games and i know its jsut the NAB cup but i have been impressed!! GO BLUESSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

P.S i am sure there are many blues supporters like me who were critical of picking him up and i believe this is the thread where you should voice your apologies!

Im starting to get very excited about Cam Cloke. It's difficult to contain it. The single stat says it all: Kangaroos won H/O by 4, but we won clearance by 14. Cam's follow up work after the tap is the best part of his game. Even if he doesnt win the tap, his aggression on ground level is supurb.

On another note, Cloke, along with Murphy are helping to pursuade my Collingwood following friend to change over to Carlton. :D

Very exciting times ahead!!!

Yep. Unfortunately I am in that category as well.

Congratulations to Cam Cloke who looks like he will ressurect his career!! All I can say is, I am glad he is doing it with us because he has shown he could be a very handy pick-up!!!!

Sorry for judging you so early Cam. STICK IT UP THE PIES MATE!!!

GO BLUES!!!

Was always much happier that we took Cloke over Zantuck.

Zantuck's comments about board interference after he was overlooked only confirmed my thoughts that he was one player we should stay away from.

In saying that, I wasn't completely happy that it was Cam we chose. Thought we should have picked up Sam Jacobs, Leigh Adams or some other youngster. Happy now though. :)

cam cloke, the pick of the clokes?????

what a game, and he will only get better!!!

woooooooooooooooo!

I always like to wait and see what transpires when players arrive at a new club, rather than try to pre-judge. Generally an AFL player has the necessary skill level, but it is the other things involved when moving clubs which can make the difference.

A mix of things such as a new atmosphere, different coaching staff, knowing it could be your last chance at AFL footy, being part of a different playing group, enjoying yourself again (if you were unhappy where you were), experiencing a change in dynamics, having confidence expressed in you and simply feeling revitalized can often be what helps a player succeed at a new club.

Even before he took the field for the club, you could see Cloke looked trimmer and fitter, which to me implied the change of scenery had already been of benefit to him prior to his Blues debut.

Good on him, I'd love to see him succeed. :thumbsu:

I always like to wait and see what transpires when players arrive at a new club, rather than try to pre-judge. Generally an AFL player has the necessary skill level, but it is the other things involved when moving clubs which can make the difference.

A mix of things such as a new atmosphere, different coaching staff, knowing it could be your last chance at AFL footy, being part of a different playing group, enjoying yourself again (if you were unhappy where you were), experiencing a change in dynamics, having confidence expressed in you and simply feeling revitalized can often be what helps a player succeed at a new club.

Even before he took the field for the club, you could see Cloke looked trimmer and fitter, which to me implied the change of scenery had already been of benefit to him prior to his Blues debut.

Good on him, I'd love to see him succeed. :thumbsu:
I second all of that.I love it so far that when one ruck rests the other just picks up where the other left off.

i think the fact that he is probably on his last chance has fuled his desire to work hard and curb his rogue ways.

sorry cam, hope you read this and realise we are all sorry

go blues!

Another thing at Collingwood that could have affected him was his younger brother getting a regular game and all the plaudits (even though I don't really think Travis has been as good as they say he is).

Mick stopped giving Cameron decent ground time and the Collingwood faithful turned on him. Anyways I reckon I'd play sh1t for Collingwood too if I was unlucky enough to drafted by them!

Cam was absolutely sensational tonight. His ruck technique is excellent, and often wins the tap, despite his height disadvantage, because of better timing. He was being used as a tall linking midfielder to great effect. He is extremely strong overhead, and exerts real physical presence. His skills have improved out of sight, and he has serious kicking distance, which clears opposition defensive lines. I still can't believe the amazing transformation this guy has made. He looks a totally different player this year. :)

yep he seems to time his leap very well.

i actually didn't mind when i found out that we got Cloke.

anyway i hope his good form continues into the real stuff:thumbsu:

He's impressive isnt he!

One thing for sure, he really looked like a convict in that Collingwood jumper. The Blue jumper really suits him, perhaps we can also give Pagan and coaches a bit of a clap too for having faith in him.

i too was disgraced, well maybe thats a bit strong - lets say disappointed when we took him, but he has looked nothing but good since he pulled on the navy. im nothing but glad that i was wrong in my views about drafting him, hopefully he keeps it up for the rest of the season and career at carlton

What impressed me the most was he is now effectively another midfield player after the tap and isn't a one dimensional ruckman. Was excellent tonight and think he has been judged purely because he was a cloke but has always had ability!

You know what would be the ultimate victory.

Seeing daddy Cloke coming to Carlton games wearing a navy blue jumper! :)

I'd love to see him at the game sitting next to Pratt, sipping champagne and full on barracking for us.

I must apologise to Cameron Cloke because when we picked him up i was very skeptical and, very harsh. I believe i made a terrible mistake he has been showing a heap of promise in his first 3 games and i know its jsut the NAB cup but i have been impressed!! GO BLUESSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

P.S i am sure there are many blues supporters like me who were critical of picking him up and i believe this is the thread where you should voice your apologies!

I admit i was very sceptical, but the guy is having a red hot go and i can see that we got the pick of the cloke/bryan deal, i hope to be on here in 10 years still laughing at collingwood over this deal.

Cam was absolutely sensational tonight. His ruck technique is excellent, and often wins the tap, despite his height disadvantage, because of better timing. He was being used as a tall linking midfielder to great effect. He is extremely strong overhead, and exerts real physical presence. His skills have improved out of sight, and he has serious kicking distance, which clears opposition defensive lines. I still can't believe the amazing transformation this guy has made. He looks a totally different player this year. :)

It's so funny how our the Collingwood Filth laughed at how we picked him up. They said he was the worst ruckman ever. Well if the Filth would of given him a ruck coach like we did, maybe he wouldn't of been so bad !!!!

Oh, and good luck with Bryan:)

Very good pickup for us, and although it wasn't a trade, I'm much happier with Cloke than I was with Bryan. Cloke is a good kick like Bryan, but unlike Bryan, you know Cloke will give it his all. Well done to him and hopefully he can cement a place in our 22:thumbsu: .

Bryan had the attitude of rotten tomato. He was stinking up the place.

Another thing at Collingwood that could have affected him was his younger brother getting a regular game and all the plaudits (even though I don't really think Travis has been as good as they say he is).

Mick stopped giving Cameron decent ground time and the Collingwood faithful turned on him. Anyways I reckon I'd play sh1t for Collingwood too if I was unlucky enough to drafted by them!
why so you can end up at a cap in hand, broke establishment like melbourne