Ah Cheung

Why do we do about recruiting is keep picking up midfielders. To this dumb tiger fan is you have to keep bringing in tall players and when someone retires such as Greg Stafford you try to find someone to replace with in the draft. Why do we keep going to other teams and look at the 3rd or 4th player in that position?? This astounds me with such bad recruiters. There must be a good 'Head' recruiter who is willing to come to Richmond and help us out. Of course this sort of person does not come cheap. People such as Scott Clayton, Kinnear Beaston and Chris Pelchen could do the job here. Also the question of building up a good list by not trading. If we have to trade, we trade for picks because trading for players do not work for us.

even though we already knew about everything the article said, just seeing it in black & white really hits home.

We should have picked up a key forward. Deledio at 1, the next choice should have been Roughead or Franklin.

Unbelievable, i'm gutted.

tigers have a soft spot for the small skinny bloke, and are down the same path as the bulldogs. wallace moulded one of the most powerful sides in the competition in the bulldogs now he is doing it to the tigers. kpp, talls and big stong bodies arent needed.:rolleyes:

the most important position on the field is the fp

I'm not a huge fan of Robert Walls, he talks like he knows everything....but he has pretty much summed up what everyone has been saying on these forums.
http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/tigers-caught-short-in-the-draft/2007/07/16/1184559704235.html

In hindsight, perhaps taking tambling over franklin was a mistake, but in the end, the tigers always manage to corrupt even the most gifted players.

Yep, our drafting is abysmal and our player development is even worse.

Is it the fact that we didnt pick Franklin or Roughead?

I would suggest its more because Deledio and Tambling do not look like developing into elite midfielders.

If the Hawks had the promising talls and we had the elite mids in the making I dont think there would be an issue.

So either way; 1)we cant draft (ie they were never going to be elite) or 2) we cant develop players (they should be well on the way but arent).

I was wondering after seeing Rodan is there something in the culture or is there a lack of development.

These kids to get drafted where they were can obviously play but they have gone backwards. It could be injury or confidence but it seems their skills have dropped as well.

Should more be put into the skills area?

Give me a break. Walls has trotted out this exact same article at least twice this season. As for suggesting we should have taken Roughead over Deledio, what a crock. And that is the only way we would have got Roughead! If Walls had actually seen the game, he would have seen that we got absolutely smashed in the second half by Hawthorns midfield. The reason Hawthorn had so many more marks inside their 50 was because the ball went in there so many more times.

Walls keeps trotting out the line that Deledio hasn't finished in our top ten in the B&F in his first two years!!! That is a nonsensical standard to judge a player who was drafted very young and won the Rising Star in his first season. If he doesn't finish top 5 this year (even missing 4 games) it will say more about our B&F voting system than Deledio's performance. Deledio is already a very good player and will get even better. But its hard to soar like an Eagle when you're surrounded by Turkeys.

Yep, our drafting is abysmal and our player development is even worse.

Is it the fact that we didnt pick Franklin or Roughead?

I would suggest its more because Deledio and Tambling do not look like developing into elite midfielders.

If the Hawks had the promising talls and we had the elite mids in the making I dont think there would be an issue.

So either way; 1)we cant draft (ie they were never going to be elite) or 2) we cant develop players (they should be well on the way but arent).

Top post newbie.

That's how a lot of us feel.

Give me a break. Walls has trotted out this exact same article at least twice this season. As for suggesting we should have taken Roughead over Deledio, what a crock. And that is the only way we would have got Roughead! If Walls had actually seen the game, he would have seen that we got absolutely smashed in the second half by Hawthorns midfield. The reason Hawthorn had so many more marks inside their 50 was because the ball went in there so many more times.

Walls keeps trotting out the line that Deledio hasn't finished in our top ten in the B&F in his first two years!!! That is a nonsensical standard to judge a player who was drafted very young and won the Rising Star in his first season. If he doesn't finish top 5 this year (even missing 4 games) it will say more about our B&F voting system than Deledio's performance. Deledio is already a very good player and will get even better. But its hard to soar like an Eagle when you're surrounded by Turkeys.

I agree, but nevertheless, I also reckon Lids should be ahead of where he is at, and Tambling is well behind.

The RFC B&F is a joke, and should never be used to support player credentials. Look at how many times Wayne Campbell won it

I was wondering after seeing Rodan is there something in the culture or is there a lack of development.

These kids to get drafted where they were can obviously play but they have gone backwards. It could be injury or confidence but it seems their skills have dropped as well.

Should more be put into the skills area?

On Rodan: He has said in several articles published here in Adelaide that he now loves going to training because he is learning all the time. Make of that what you will!

I'm not a huge fan of Robert Walls, he talks like he knows everything....but he has pretty much summed up what everyone has been saying on these forums.
http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/tigers-caught-short-in-the-draft/2007/07/16/1184559704235.html

In hindsight, perhaps taking tambling over franklin was a mistake, but in the end, the tigers always manage to corrupt even the most gifted players.

Can someone please tell me again why robert walls got the arse from punt road???? My memory is failing. I agree with what he says but he's being very hypocritical.

good article, hope wallace take note. port got westoff 199cm, pick 71, rising star nomination, 17 goals from 6 games and, gray, pick 55, rising star nomination, ball getter (not a downhill skier).

Can someone please tell me again why robert walls got the arse from punt road???? My memory is failing. I agree with what he says but he's being very hypocritical.

Are you kidding?

You forgot so easily being smashehd by the bombers and adelaide?

Probably because its happened so many times under so many coaches, we cant remember which one got sacked after which beating we received?

Bloody Richmond.

Thanks Crum and a couple of others. Good to see at least some levelheadedness. Until the last five weeks Tambling, as ordinary as he's been, would have been ahead of Roughead in output and development. Roughead has been dropped two or three times this year for poor form, and has only just clicked. It was just classic timing that Tambling was going to have his worst game when we played the Hawks, and that Roughead would have a good one.

As for Franklin, he's going to be an unreliable flake throughout his career. His best will be as good as you'll see, then he'll go missing for two or three weeks, play an ordinary one, a poor one, and then another blinder. The Mark Waugh of footy.

As for Walls rating our kids out of ten, he should have done the same with the Hawks players. Lids would have to be above Franklin, if only slightly and due to consistency, Pattison would be ahead of Roughead if judged over this full season, Polo would be at least the equivalent of Lewis.

Tambling is so-so, but better than Matt Little or Thomas Murphy who both look like it might not ever happen for them - like Danny Meyer.

Overall I reckon our '04 draft returns are as good as Hawthorn's. Especially if you consider they traded picks 10 and 37 for Bo Nixon from Collingwood.

good article, hope wallace take note. port got westoff 199cm, pick 71, rising star nomination, 17 goals from 6 games and, gray, pick 55, rising star nomination, ball getter (not a downhill skier).

Easy to pick and choose your stats. In 2003 we picked up Raines at 76, Tuck at 73 and, dare I risk jinxing his new found form, Jackson at 53. Hawthorn used their first pick on Harry Miller. Hey, we're geniuses!

Thanks Crum and a couple of others. Good to see at least some levelheadedness. Until the last five weeks Tambling, as ordinary as he's been, would have been ahead of Roughead in output and development. Roughead has been dropped two or three times this year for poor form, and has only just clicked. It was just classic timing that Tambling was going to have his worst game when we played the Hawks, and that Roughead would have a good one.

As for Franklin, he's going to be an unreliable flake throughout his career. His best will be as good as you'll see, then he'll go missing for two or three weeks, play an ordinary one, a poor one, and then another blinder. The Mark Waugh of footy.

As for Walls rating our kids out of ten, he should have done the same with the Hawks players. Lids would have to be above Franklin, if only slightly and due to consistency, Pattison would be ahead of Roughead if judged over this full season, Polo would be at least the equivalent of Lewis.

Tambling is so-so, but better than Matt Little or Thomas Murphy who both look like it might not ever happen for them - like Danny Meyer.

Overall I reckon our '04 draft returns are as good as Hawthorn's. Especially if you consider they traded picks 10 and 37 for Bo Nixon from Collingwood.

I won't go into the return from the 04 drafted players from both sides to much but 66 goals and a mid who is in the top 20 in the comp (9th overall for disposals) is a bit further ahead than Delidio (94th most possies in comp, not great for a mid), Pattison (has been great for you guys but doesn't impose himself on a game), Tambling (shows patch of quality but at this stage it's just patches) and Polo (I assume he's injured but his output this year hasn't been noticable). I won't mention Meyer.

As for the trades in 04 Hawthorn traded Pick 10 and 37 for Pick 7 and Nixon to ensure we got Lewis before others had the chance. Pick 37 was not needed because Simon Taylor was promised the last spot on the list and they knew he would fall to 53.

Easy to pick and choose your stats. In 2003 we picked up Raines at 76, Tuck at 73 and, dare I risk jinxing his new found form, Jackson at 53. Hawthorn used their first pick on Harry Miller. Hey, we're geniuses!

Your right you can pick any stats that suit like the Tiges took Alex Gilmour at 21 ahead of the Hawks taking Miller at 25. I guess both clubs over estimated those guys ability.

have to disagree..i think he's going to be ball tearingly good.

On the Franklin one you just described Richo to a tee......... do you not rate him ?

Hawthorn traded pick 10 and 37 for Bo Nixon and pick 7 which they used on Jordan Lewis.

So the Hawks got Buddy, Roughie and Lewis and you think your 04 returns are as good as Hawthorn's.

Mate I know it's a Richmond forum but seriously............. get real.

a review in hindsight is little more than an exercise in shooting fish in a barrell. Imagine we'd overlooked Lids for Roughnut who will prob level out to a Ben Holland type...theyd be shouting from the rooftops on how we let go Judd II:rolleyes:

yeah , you're a genius Wallsy:eek:

I agree with you about Walls.

However I have seen Roughead live now about 15 times and I have said from day one that the kid will be a gun.
I can guarentee you he will not be a Ben Holland type, he will be an imposing big bodied power forward who will only get better and he has good pace for his size.

Fair enough messenger. I was hoping no Hawks fan would reply on account of I was very unsure about the Bo Nixon stuff. As for the rest, I'll claim subjectivity on both our behalves. You've got to admit you've had very little out of Roughead until the past month or so, whereas Pattison, in a totally different role, has been stepping up nicely all year.

I'd still put Deledio ahead of Franklin and Pattison ahead of Roughead. I totally retract the Polo/Lewis comparison and thank you for your restraint.

And of course I chose to ignore Alex Gilmore, but then that was the point - anyone, Robert Walls included, can pick and choose facts and figures to back up whatever controversial argument they need to write in the first place to justify their weekly column and the pay packet that goes with it.

Good luck to you and your mob.

And 'want to spoodge Pettifer' (hmmmm?), Franklin will be better than ball tearingly good on occassions, and other times he'll have Hawthorn fans tearing their balls in frustration.

Spoodge?