Richmond Media Articles - 2025

AstuteTiger

Mar 22, 2009
This article was from a few weeks back, but thought I'd still post it as not everyone has a Herald Sun subscription.

Neil Balme has his say on Richmond’s bold trade and draft strategy​

There was a mass exodus of stars at Richmond within just two months of Neil Balme leaving the club. The former Tigers administrator has his say on the trade and draft strategy.

Former Richmond administrator and club great Neil Balme believes the Tigers can bounce back from their rebuild reasonably quickly, saying the club did the right thing in allowing quality players to depart in return for prized draft picks.
The Tigers lost premiership quartet Shai Bolton, Dan Rioli, Liam Baker and Jack Graham during the trade period which allowed them to stockpile top-end selections.

In a draft praised for its depth in the early rounds, Richmond took Sam Lalor with the No.1 pick, 195 centimetre midfielder Josh Smillie, electric small Taj Hotton, key forwards Jonty Faull and Harry Armstrong, and intercept defender Luke Trainor.
The Tigers traded their final pick in the first round for North Melbourne’s 2025 first-round pick which could prove to be valuable.

Richmond draftees Sam Lalor (back middle), Josh Smillie (back L), Harry Armstrong (back R), Jonty Faull (front L), Taj Hotton (front middle) and Luke Trainor (front R). Picture: Getty Images

The late Richmond recruiting manager Chris Toce was behind this illustrious draft haul and Balme described his tragic death as “horrifying”.

Balme, who stepped away from the Tigers in August, saw first-hand the impact of Geelong’s draft hauls in the early 2000s – including the 2001 ‘super draft’ – which led them to three premierships in five years.
After his stint as football boss at Geelong from 2007-14, he joined Richmond ahead of the 2017 season and saw the likes of Dustin Martin and Trent Cotchin hold the cup aloft.

He said Richmond’s trade and draft strategy should prove to be effective given the strength of 2024 draft crop and the looming threat of Tasmania.
“All the recruiters are saying it’s as good a draft as there’s been for a while. And also with Tassie coming in, it will cost us a fair bit in terms of draft picks going forward, which we can understand,” Balme said.

Neil Balme is confident in Richmond’s direction. Picture: AAP Image/Michael Dodge

“So I think it’s the right place at the right time and now there’s got to be some really good coaching, which I’ve got no doubt our guys will (provide), and it’s a lot of good learning for the players to really buy into it.
“I think the older blokes and even the middle-aged blokes at Richmond get it, they are really pleased that these kids have come on and I think they will really help them understand how the game works and get them in as quickly as they can.
“They’re in a pretty good place and I think everyone is still looking back, it wasn’t that long ago that we were outstanding for three out of four years. So there’s a little bit of patience required in that, but I think they’ll get it and I think they’ll come out of it reasonably quickly.
“With the draft, I think hopefully it’ll be an exceptional draft and those kids will take the opportunity that’s in front of them.”
Loaded: 73.01%

Balme said it is imperative for clubs to be honest about where they sit and this was ultimately why the Tigers allowed three quality players to walk for the right price.
“There may be a time when you’ve got to rebuild, as they call it, and that’s exactly what they’re doing. I think the real challenge for those footy clubs is to understand where they are, what position they are in,” Balme said.

“As long as the CEO and the board, etc and the coach all think the same way as to where we are, I mean, it’s more achievable to pull out of it as quickly as you can. And I think that’s what they’ve recognised.

“Several of the first-picked players leave, well if we thought there was a genuine chance that we might be in the picture again for this year coming, we wouldn’t have let those blokes go and worked a lot harder to keep them.

A number of premiership Tigers have moved on this off-season. Picture: Michael Klein

“But because of where we are, we say, ‘OK, if they want to go, that’s okay.’ We’ll sort of help them go, as long as we get decent picks for them. And then we can do what we’ve done, which is pick six or seven kids who obviously might not have a huge influence next year, but very soon they will – they are the rebuild on top of what we’ve already got.
“So I think they know where they are, I think there is probably going to be a bit of pain next year because it’s hard to get through. But they know what they’re doing and they will just keep getting better.”
Loaded: 100.00%

Toce, who passed away from cancer on the final day of the trade period, was honoured on draft night by having his young son, Harry, log the first selection that saw Lalor join the club.

Balme has had health scares himself, telling this masthead in August that he “dodged a bullet” undergoing heart bypass surgery, having also battled epilepsy in recent years.

“It is almost surreal what happened to him because he’d only been with us for nine months in the end and it almost come from nowhere. All of a sudden he is crook and you think, ‘ah yeah he is crook, he will be alright’, but then the poor fella passes,” Balme said.
“Then you see his wife and kids at the function that we’re at for him and it’s just horrifying when you look at it.

The late Chris Toce. Picture: Richmond FC

“It was awful and when you saw all the people that had worked with him in footy and how wonderfully they spoke about him, I know everyone does when you pass, but they were real.

“It was very challenging for Blair Hartley and our recruiting blokes to lose him when we did. He really had quite a bit of impact even though he’d only been there for nine months, very, very sad.”

Balme said he will consider lending a hand at the Tigers, where he also won two premierships as a player.
“I’m sort of thinking a little about what I’m going to do – I can’t do nothing - but I’m looking forward to just having a bit of a breather and think it through and see what I can do,” Balme said.

Richmond season 2025 preview: Matt Turner breaks down where the Tigers sit​

Richmond’s mass exodus might not be over, with Tom Lynch entering the last year of a lucrative deal in 2025. MATT TURNER delves into his future and what this year will hold for the Tigers.

@mattturner1986 - Herald Sun
January 14, 2025

Where do the Tigers sit?

The glory days of the Tigers are well and truly gone, now they are the young cubs.
After a tough first season at the helm, followed by a mass exodus of some senior players, what can Adem Yze do with all the talent at Tigerland?

Seth Campbell had a strong 2024. Picture: Michael Willson/AFL Photos via Getty Images

SURPRISE PACKET OF 2024

Seth Campbell played 21 of the Tigers’ 23 matches, won the club’s best first-year player award and finished 11th in Jack Dyer Medal polling. It was a strong return for the rookie-listed small forward/midfielder who was drafted from Burnie and North Launceston in Tasmania, and spent most of his first season in 2023 recovering from an adductor injury and leg issues. Campbell, who debuted in Opening Round, averaged 11.3 disposals, 2.9 marks, 2.7 inside-50s, 3.7 score involvements and kicked 10 goals. The 19-year-old earnt high praise from Richmond development coach Sam Lonergan at the club’s best-and-fairest night. “He’s going to be a highlights package of energy and excitement,” Lonergan said. “And he’s got great work ethic, dedication, along with great spirit. I’d like to commend our recruiting team for the work they’ve done with finding an absolute gem in the rough. He’s going to be a long-term player and a key part of our future.”

Screenshot 2025-01-16 001704.png

INS AND OUTS

IN: Jasper Alger (No. 58 draft pick), Harry Armstrong (No. 23 draft pick), Jonty Faull (No. 14 draft pick), Taj Hotton (No. 12 draft pick), Sam Lalor (No. 1 draft pick), Thomas Sims (No. 28 draft pick), Josh Smillie (No. 7 draft pick), Luke Trainor (No. 21 draft pick)
OUT: Liam Baker (trade, West Coast), Shai Bolton (trade, Fremantle), Matthew Coulthard (delisted), Noah Cumberland (delisted), Jack Graham (free agent, West Coast), Dylan Grimes (retired), Dustin Martin (retired), Marlion Pickett (retired), Sam Naismith (retired), Daniel Rioli (trade, Gold Coast)

TIGERS' 2025 BEST 23​

B: Nathan Broad, Noah Balta, Nick Vlastuin
HB: Tom Brown, Josh Gibcus, Jayden Short
C: Hugo Ralphsmith, Jacob Hopper, Kamdyn McIntosh
HF: Maurice Rioli Jr, Jonty Faull, Sam Lalor
F: Rhyan Mansell, Tom Lynch, Seth Campbell
FOLL: Toby Nankervis, Tim Taranto, Dion Prestia
I/C: Ben Miller, Sam Banks, Josh Smillie, Jacob Bauer, Thomson Dow

WHO’S PLAYING FOR A CONTRACT?

Tom Lynch’s seven-season deal expires at the end of 2025 and it will be interesting to see what happens next. At 32 and after two premierships with the Tigers, does the key forward sign a 12-month extension or head to a contender? Lynch’s immediate goal will be to get back on the park. The former Gold Coast Suns spearhead has played just four games in each of the past two campaigns due to injuries.

COACH STATUS​

TIGERS-COACH-STATUS_Cm2b93MWM.jpg

Adem Yze is entering the second season of his coaching career as his team undergoes a massive overhaul.

The Tigers lost seven premiership players to other clubs or retirement at the end of the season while adding eight draftees, ensuring a very young squad in 2025 and very little pressure on the former Melbourne star. Richmond claimed the wooden spoon with a 2-21 record this year. Departed Tigers chief executive Brendon Gale expected Yze would take on more responsibility next season, telling the club’s Talking Tigers podcast in August the Richmond coach would “really start to put his fingerprints on the team”. “We think Adem’s extremely capable and I think he has carried himself really well,” Gale said. “He comes into a program that’s been successful, he’s followed a coach of historical standing (Damien Hardwick) and has got premiership players everywhere. I reckon he’s maybe sat back a little bit, coupled with an incredible, unprecedented run with injury. I reckon what you’ll see from Adem next year is a coach that takes a lot more responsibility.”

LAST YEAR IN CONTRACT

Sam Banks, Jacob Bauer, Jacob Blight, Tom Brown, Judson Clarke, Thomson Dow, Liam Fawcett, Campbell Gray, Steely Green, Oliver Hayes-Brown, Tom Lynch, Kamdyn McIntosh, Dion Prestia, Kaleb Smith, Tyler Sonsie, James Trezise, Tylar Young

POSITION THAT NEEDS TO BE FILLED AND WHO CAN FILL IT?

Rioli’s move to Gold Coast opens a spot at half-back, where Sam Banks and Hugo Ralphsmith loom as players who can help fill the void. Banks did not miss a game after the Tigers’ bye this year, for a total of 15 last season, his third at AFL level. Tasmanian Banks featured in defence and on a wing in 2024, but was drafted as a half-back. Ralphsmith lined up in 18 matches this year and finished equal-16th in the best-and-fairest. While he featured regularly on a wing, he might be an option to move to defence with Rioli gone.

Hugo Ralphsmith could be one to fill the void left by Dan Rioli. Picture: Dylan Burns/AFL Photos via Getty Images

BURNING QUESTION

How many wins is realistic next season? Richmond’s two victories in Yze’s debut campaign as senior coach were against eventual grand finalist Sydney at the MCG by five points in round 5 and the Crows in Adelaide by eight points in round 15. Since then three of the top six in the Tigers’ best-and-fairest have departed and the squad has got a whole lot younger.

Crows premiership captain Mark Bickley predicted Richmond would be winless in 2025. That seems unrealistic. It has not happened since Fitzroy in 1964 and similarly inexperienced teams in the AFL era have always notched at least one victory. In the club’s second season in 2013, GWS went 1-21. Three years later, an Essendon team missing 12 experienced players through doping violation suspensions had three wins.

Strugglers North Melbourne and West Coast recorded two triumphs each in 2023. With premiership players like Toby Nankervis, Nathan Broad, Nick Vlastuin and Jayden Short still at Tigerland, and such an even competition, two to four wins seems a more likely outcome.

Attachments

• Brown.jpg
    Brown.jpg
    421.6 KB · Views: 4

Tigers to get early look at young stars as prized top draft pick sets sights on prime time debut​

Richmond No. 1 pick Sam Lalor is eyeing a prime time AFL debut against Carlton in Round 1 as the Tigers prepare to blood most of their bumper 2024 draft class next month.

Lalor said Taj Hotton, who is recovering from an ACL injury suffered last year, was the only Richmond draftee who had not spent most of the new year in full training.

The Tigers are poised to take on a dramatic new look when they travel to Perth to face West Coast in their first practice match on February 17.

Lalor, fellow strong-bodied midfielder Josh Smillie, key forwards Jonty Faull and Harry Armstrong and defender Luke Trainor are all in the frame for selection against either the Eagles or Collingwood in the Charity Shield game at Ikon Park on February 26.

The fitness level of the draft crop is a welcome boost for last year’s wooden spooners, who have gaps to fill all over the ground after the departures of premiership players Shai Bolton, Daniel Rioli, Liam Baker and Jack Graham to other clubs and the retirements of Dustin Martin, Dylan Grimes and Marlion Pickett.

Sam Lalor of the Tigers.
Sam Lalor of the Tigers.Source: News Corp Australia

Another void to fill was created by Noah Balta’s club-imposed ban for the December 30 incident that led to him being charged with assault.

Balta’s absence for at least the first four weeks of the season could bring Trainor or another tall draftee straight into the senior side, as Josh Gibcus and Tylar Young continue to recover from ACL injuries suffered last year.

“Pretty much everyone (from the draft class) has been full training, except Taj (Hotton), who’s obviously done his ACL,” Lalor said.

“A couple of us have been in and out, but we’re all feeling pretty good. We’re working well together, and we’re just enjoying each other’s company.”

Lalor is living with defender Nathan Broad and his family after moving from Bacchus Marsh to Melbourne. He will find his own place in the coming weeks.

He said he was still grappling with the tactical side of the game but was finding the physical adjustment to senior football fairly smooth as he cautiously targeted a round 1 senior debut.
“I’m travelling pretty well at the moment. I’m just trying to get my head around the education side of things,” he said.

A junior football star, Sam Lalor (left) says he has been challenged so far by the ‘education side’ of senior football but is hopeful of an early-season debut. Picture: Chris Hyde / Getty Images
A junior football star, Sam Lalor (left) says he has been challenged so far by the ‘education side’ of senior football but is hopeful of an early-season debut. Picture: Chris Hyde / Getty ImagesSource: Getty Images

“Hopefully, I do get picked and put my hand up to play (the pre-season games).
“I think that would be a goal (to play round 1). It’s still obviously a while away and a lot of learning to come, but I think if I get my body right, and get my head around that education side, I’ll have a good chance.”

Lalor and AFLW No. 1 pick Ash Centra were among close to 200 first-year players (including 2024 mid-season recruits) at Marvel Stadium on Wednesday and Thursday for the league’s annual induction conference run by the AFL Players’ Association.

Players were taught about the sponsorship opportunities available to them, how to use social media safely and warned about the dangers of gambling.

“I think for young players coming into the competition, (the biggest challenge) is establishing themselves with their peers – the intensity that comes with being a professional athlete, the scrutiny, and also preparing them for the speculation that comes from the public,” the AFLPA’s Ben Smith said.

“I think we focus a lot on the opportunities around social media … also understanding how they can switch off from that.
“They’ve heard from peers, past players and current players about how they’ve navigated this space as well.”

Tigers pair butt heads in training tussle; Track Watch​

January 27th, 2025

Richmond forward Rhyan Mansell was at the centre of a heated scuffle at training on Monday, while a St Kilda defender has reportedly dislocated his shoulder and is set for a stint on the sidelines.

Mansell was pictured by Channel Seven rumbling with a teammate on the Punt Road turf, ultimately having to be separated by teammate Sam Banks.

The 24-year-old half-forward had a career-best season in 2024, returning 21 goals from 21 senior games, and has been among the standouts this pre-season.

Less than a fortnight ago, dual premiership star Tom Lynch told Richmond Media that Mansell had “taken his training standards to another level” in preparation for the 2025 campaign.
“He works his backside off all the time, but he’s training really well, and he’s probably been the one to watch so far,” Lynch added.

Rhyan Mansell was at the centre of a heated scuffle on Monday at Punt Road. Photo credit: Channel 7.
Rhyan Mansell was at the centre of a heated scuffle on Monday at Punt Road. Photo credit: Channel 7.Source: Channel 7

Rhyan Mansell tussles with a teammate on Monday. Photo credit: Channel 7.

Crouching Tiger, hidden talent: Why Richmond used the No.1 pick on a kid known for smashing sixes​

ByJake Niall

February 3, 2025

Richmond’s decision to take Sam Lalor at pick No.1 in the 2024 national draft was predicated, in no small measure, by their recruiting department’s view that Lalor had shown only a fraction of his full arsenal of talents.
Lalor was untested, in the sense that he had missed the AFL draft combine’s series of tests for speed, endurance and so forth. Yet the Tigers knew enough to take him before all others, in the knowledge that the powerful midfielder/forward had the requisite qualities to be a player who changes a club’s trajectory.

The Tigers believe Sam Lalor’s rich talents have largely been untapped.

The Tigers believe Sam Lalor’s rich talents have largely been untapped.Credit:Getty Images

“I thought we only saw 60 per cent of his capabilities this year,” said Francis Jackson, the renowned Tigers’ recruiter, who drafted Jack Riewoldt, Shane Edwards, Trent Cotchin, Alex Rance and Dustin Martin in the space of three post-seasons.
“I kept saying ‘he’s capable of so much more’.”

To an extent, it was Lalor’s prowess at cricket, as a power-hitter for the Victorian Country under-17s and Geelong Grammar School, that prevented him from developing the kind of fitness base that other high-end draft picks often command when they enter the AFL.
“That was definitely a challenge,” Lalor said of the way cricket stymied his football fitness at junior levels. “While I had cricket, I was focusing on it a fair bit, so I didn’t get to do a pre-season, then I injured myself in cricket, missed one footy pre-season. So that was definitely something I had to overcome.”

Lalor played in the same national under-17 cricket championship’s as NSW’s wunderkind Sam Konstas in 2022-23, but the pair’s paths did not cross. In one innings, as the Vics chased a tally near 200, Lalor and his schoolmate Ollie Peake both made half-centuries.
Witnessing Lalor’s efforts, Julien Wiener, the former Australian and Victorian opening bat, later told Cricket Victoria’s pathways manager Tom Evans that Lalor was “a real player to watch.”

When Lalor took guard for Geelong Grammar, school chums would flock to the oval to watch him bludgeon the bowling. The windows at nearby Manifold House, the boarding house closest to the oval, were not safe when slamming Sam was on song.

“The boys used to all come out when Sammy came to the crease, and watch him bat,” recalled Troy Selwood, the former Brisbane Lions player who heads up sport at Geelong Grammar and who was among those who lured Lalor to the school for his final two years in the boarding house (he left St Patrick’s in Ballarat to take up a sports scholarship).
“Absolutely, those boarding house windows, he came close to them a number of times.”
Lalor added: “I hit the middle school library – that was my biggest one (six).”

Lalor, a sturdy Bacchus Marsh lad from a talented sporting family, had the potential to be a BBL player, in Cricket Victoria’s view. Unlike Peake, whose skills and temperament have him slated as a Test prospect (he’s presently touring Sri Lanka with the Australian team for his education), Lalor’s blunt power was made only for Twenty20 or 50-over games, had he prioritised cricket.

But football was his calling, a reality Evans and the Victorian cricket folk had accepted by the time he was in year 11 at the Corio-based school.

Sam Lalor getting close attention at Richmond training last week.

Sam Lalor getting close attention at Richmond training last week.Credit:Justin McManus

“He was invited into the under-19s the following year, and he declined, which I thought might happen because of footy,” said Evans. “But yeah, he was certainly in the top few batters in that age group [in Victoria].
“He was more a ball striker, that’s his strength. But, yeah, probably didn’t quite have the finesse that Peakey’s got, or the match smarts, potentially – that’s why potentially the BBL could have been his route.”

In an interview with this masthead, Lalor said his decision to choose footy over cricket was made “probably halfway through year 11”.

Why footy? “I just enjoy it more. I played too much cricket. I got sick of it. I just enjoyed the physical stuff from footy.”
Geelong Grammar had produced more political leaders and media barons than elite sportsmen until it ramped up its recruiting of country kids from local high and Catholic schools. The school won the Associated Public School cricket premiership in both 2022-23 and 2023-24, primarily on the back of Peake and Lalor’s talents.
“I probably made 50 most weeks but never got to the 100 [as Peake did],” recalled Lalor. “I was too impatient.” He predicted his former batting partner Peake would make Test cricket. “He’ll be at Boxing Day soon, and I can’t wait to be on the sidelines watching.”

Lalor’s combative batting style was consistent with his football traits. While there have been repeated comparisons to Martin, Selwood – one of the fabled four brothers to play AFL – reckoned Jordan De Goey and Christian Petracca were more accurate comparisons.
“He is super explosive, hence the comparisons to ‘Dusty’ or to Petracca or to these type players,” explained Selwood, who worked in recruiting for Geelong.

“I feel that that’s more the type of player. Look, they’re all pretty similar, but I feel like Petracca and De Goey, when I watch him play, I think of those boys first ... he’s a brilliant mark overhead. And he did it all over the ground, especially as a year 11, he was just sensational.
“He showed some of that this year in the national championships, taking a couple of fantastic marks ... he will be super damaging if he does push forward.”

Lalor, who made Cotchin look slight when receiving his jumper at the draft, concurred with the size and shape comparisons to De Goey and Petracca. “Yeah, [I’m a] pretty solid kid, strong through the hips and stuff.”
Jackson’s colleague, the late Chris Toce, had batted hard for Lalor early in 2024 before cancer took hold of the recruiter. “Chris was all over it,” said Jackson.

Sam Lalor was presented his Richmond jumper on draft night by the club’s three-time premiership skipper Trent Cotchin.

Sam Lalor was presented his Richmond jumper on draft night by the club’s three-time premiership skipper Trent Cotchin.Credit:penny Stephens

What Jackson saw was a player who “kicked efficiently inside 50 metres”, who had “physicality and size” in combination with speed and power.
The only query, as with so many draftees, was whether his body could withstand the demands of AFL.

The Tigers also perceived Lalor as one whom teammates would rally around. And the teenager brushed off the purported burden of being pick No.1, noting that he was part of a large crew of early picks at Richmond. “It’s fine. I don’t really feel any pressure, just because I’ve got so many boys at Richmond, we’ve got eight boys, so there’s no pressure on me.”

Lalor (pronounced Law-lore, as in the Eureka Stockade leader) has overcome his hamstring tendon issues of 2024 and is building his fitness. Selwood felt he would begin as a forward and need time to build a midfielder’s aerobic base.
“I would imagine that if he’s playing any football, any AFL football, next year for Richmond, it’d be as a forward,” he said.
Unflustered by media, dismissing the burden of expectation, Lalor expressed appreciation, rather than trepidation.

“I’m in a good place now, it’s been a tough couple of months,” said Lalor. “I’m loving being an athlete and working hard actually ... hopefully it’s going to help me.”

This is a damn good read.

They’re the richest, most powerful Tigers supporters. But you wouldn’t know it.

Step 1 - Click on this link https://12ft.io
Step 2 - Paste link in the box and then click on "clean webpage" to read the article

This is a damn good read.

They’re the richest, most powerful Tigers supporters. But you wouldn’t know it.

Step 1 - Click on this link https://12ft.io
Step 2 - Paste link in the box and then click on "clean webpage" to read the article

It's a terrific read for all Tiger supporters...lifts the veil a tad on all the movers and shakers, other than players, at the Club..

Why I owe Richmond a grovelling apology – with a catch

Bob Murphy
Former Western Bulldogs captain
July 31, 2025 — 3.45pm

Like many people in footy, I am reluctant to apologise. It’s not our native tongue, so to speak, but I feel compelled this week to fall on my sword.

After reflecting on my pre-season predictions for The Age, I, Bob Murphy, would like to formally apologise to the Richmond Football Club. I was wrong. I was soooo wrong. I boldly predicted that the Tigers wouldn’t win a game. Not one. Zero.

bob.jpg
Bob Murphy predicted Richmond would not win a game in season 2025.Credit photos: Wayne Taylor, Getty Images. Image: Marija Ercegovac

I have a long and somewhat complicated relationship with the Richmond Football Club. I was born into a family that had a strong allegiance to the Tigers. I had a Matthew Richardson poster on my bedroom wall; my first footy jumper was a woollen Tigers short sleeve with a collar and Wayne Campbell’s No.9 proudly stitched into the back.

I was at the MCG on September 16, 1995, on that magical day for the Tiger Army when Matthew Knights kicked three stunning first-half goals against the flow of play against the Bombers. Despite being five goals down at half-time, my Tigers came charging home via some brutality from Scotty Turner and co. to win a classic.

It remains one of my all-time favourite days at the footy. Three years later, I was lucky enough to be a year 10 work experience kid at Tigerland, hanging out with Jeff Gieschen, Benny Gale, Paul Broderick, Ash Prescott and Richo – who caught me watching his highlights on a VHS tape and asked, “Do you mind if I have a look at that, champ?” For a footy-mad kid, it was the greatest week of my life!

Weirdly, just four games into my own AFL career, I was in a Bulldogs jumper playing against my Tigers at the MCG when all hell broke loose. Long story short: Knights had his nose smashed in (as a Bulldog, I can’t recall how he was hurt). An all-in brawl ensued and a new rivalry in footy took flight. What a gloriously confusing time it was.

knights.jpg
Matthew Knights bleeds during a clash against the Bulldogs in 2001.Credit:Vince Caligiuri

So it is, with all of that history, that we arrive at this point today and the current iteration of the Richmond Tigers, whom I apologise to, cap in hand. Yes, the Tigers have won five games, but it’s in two recent losses (against Geelong and Collingwood), where they have won me over, despite sitting 16th on the ladder.

Young, developing teams will often meet top-tier teams and shrink in confidence, dare and bravery.

2024 draft.jpg
Inside Richmond’s flag blueprint: The hunt for the next Riewoldt and Rance

In both of those losses to the Cats and the Pies, the Tigers have played to win, used the corridor, responded after being dominated for periods of the game and, most importantly, fought it out until the final siren. Genuinely fought it out, and there is a difference.

Maurice Rioli’s chase-down tackle is my personal highlight of season 2025 so far, but a fortnight earlier, on the night of their brave, but heavy loss down at Geelong, Rioli was called up early as the sub as Sam Lalor injured his hamstring.

Perhaps stung by his vulnerable position in the AFL team, Rioli played a four-quarter game of intense footy that leant on defence just as much as his obvious attacking flair. After a few peaceful years in AFL waters since Cyril Rioli retired from brutally chasing down opponents like a shark, there is now another predator in the water and the dorsal fin of Maurice Rioli jnr is putting the fear in footy’s beachgoers once again.

My apology to the Tigers does come with a couple of caveats, though, as footy apologies often do.

The off-field indiscretion of Noah Balta has been forensically covered, but I also found myself thinking that Adem Yze’s insistence on Balta’s return to play being a “football decision” was naive and out of step with what we came to admire about Richmond’s leadership under Brendon Gale, Peggy O’Neal and Damien Hardwick.

I felt this twinge again in the aftermath of Tom Lynch’s round arm against Adelaide that earned him a five-match suspension. Again, the coach chose to defend his player with some flimsy context of the frustration of close checking and lack of umpire support. That context didn’t land with me. Lynch has had what many would see as a dream career in many ways and his sole function now is to create a regular contest and help his young teammates develop good habits in the locker room. It was a petulant, violent act and five weeks might’ve been kind.

Still, the core business of any AFL coach is to create a program for players and staff to improve, take on challenges and build on what’s gone before them. The Tigers have done that all year and have done it to such a level that you can’t help but look at say, North Melbourne, and wonder why they aren’t trying as hard.

If I take myself back to that regrettable moment in the pre-season when I predicted that the Tigers wouldn’t win a game, it wasn’t solely due to the rebuilding list. It was also based on the fact that the core leadership of the all-conquering Tigers were all gone. Gale, O’Neal, Hardwick, Trent Cotchin and Dustin Martin have all moved on.

In watching the Tigers battle away (despite succumbing to the Magpies) last Sunday, I was humbled to see the echoes of those big five in the form of Toby Nankervis, Nick Vlastuin, and Nathan Broad and how that devotion to the cause is igniting the young ’uns coming through like Rioli, Rhyan Mansell, Luke Trainor, Seth Campbell and my new favourite, Taj Hotton.

taj.jpg
Richmond’s Taj Hotton is tackled by Pies Brayden Maynard and Dan Houston.Credit:Getty Images

Well done, Richmond, and again, I’m sorry.

(It’s also worth noting that as I left Punt Road from my week of work experience, I pinched one of the training footballs and took it all the way back to Warragul on the train. I’m sorry for that, too.)

17. RICHMOND (5-18, 66%)

Three word analysis

Better than expected

What went right

Some suggested Richmond wouldn’t win a game, or at least very few as one of the wooden spoon favourites. Yet the Tigers claimed five victories — four more than West Coast. Adem Yze sure blooded young talent in a youthful exuberance at Tigerland and reason for excitement. Richmond was the league’s least-experienced side based on average games played this year (52.7), while its average age was 23.9 years; the fourth-youngest in the competition behind only North Melbourne, West Coast and Essendon. Of Richmond’s eight draftees from last November, all but No.7 pick Josh Smillie got an AFL taste this year. Luke Trainor played 21 games, Jonty Faull played 16, Sam Lalor and Tom Sims 11, Harry Armstrong 8, Taj Hotton 7, and Jasper Alger 4. Yze’s Punt Road tenure will be judged largely on how he’s able to develop and utilise last year’s draft class, and it’s clear that the likes of Lalor, Faull and Hotton in particular have bright AFL futures. And as it pertains to on-field progress, as much as the Tigers had to cope most weeks with barrages of forward entries, towards the end of their campaign, they actually stood up well behind the ball. Across the last six rounds, Richmond sat ninth for points against, seventh for score-per-inside-50 against, and eighth for points against from turnover. Unheralded premiership stalwart Nick Vlastuin once again produced an All-Australian calibre season — will he finally receive his due recognition?

What went wrong

Richmond’s midfield combinations were problematic all season, as it sought to occasionally inject more pace into a core mix that was generally one-paced. Tim Taranto, Jacob Hopper and Dion Prestia were the most frequent centre-bounce attendees, and while Hopper is capable of exploding from stoppage, they all lack overall speed and have the tendency to slouch when it comes to charging back in defensive transition. This year, Richmond ranked 17th for clearance differential, 17th for points from clearance differential, and 16th for contested possession differential. Forward stability is another thing the Tigers will look to improve on next year, with leading spearhead Tom Lynch missing seven games. Meanwhile Noah Balta, who had a tumultuous season, continued to be swung between attack and defence — neither of which helped young talls Faull, Sims and Armstrong in getting comfortable at the top level.

What they need

The Tigers would benefit greatly from a two-way midfielder — one who runs both ways — after conceding the third-most goals to opposition midfielders this season. And while they haven’t been one of the teams recently reported as in pursuit of him, out-of-contract Saints midfielder Marcus Windhager is a player in that aforementioned mould. They need Sam Lalor to be free of hamstring worries in year two after showing tantalising glimpses in his rookie season, and they need fellow top-10 pick Josh Smillie to get on the park after he failed to make his senior debut this year. As the playing group buys more into Yze’s style of play, it’d be fair to expect another jump in 2026 — 6-8 wins isn’t out of the realm of possibility if their veterans stay healthy and their up-and-comers continue to take strides.

What time is it on the premiership clock?

(2pm):
The Tigers took another step in year two under Yze, and it means they’re one step closer to returning to contention. Winning five games was something very few pundits expected of Richmond this year, and its crop of exciting 2024 draftees should continue to inspire hope in the club’s fans that another era of premiership contention isn’t as far away as some might think.

Season grade

B

Richmond Media Articles - 2025