Ash McGrath

With Brisbane's attempt to win another GF while Black and Brown are there in tatters from that day they selected Fevola and Staker, one could assume they will have to start rebuilding.

With our window opening 2012-2014, I reckon getting Ash McGrath home might be a good move. He's versatile, plays hard, can take a mark and is a reasonable kick. He's a south Freo bloke and we could offer him a taste of success that he will never get in his time left at Brissie.

If Roger can't come up from his 3rd leg break he would be a handy replacement.

Thoughts? (apart from those who think we should be in perpetual development mode.)

No.

What the **** is with all the Roger replacement threads.

Happy to back our recruiters over ventures at the trade table.

I like him, but i always depends what or who to give up for him. Getting other clubs players at all or at least very high costs, is what has hurt us in the past...

No.

Gordon, can't you read? I said apart from those who think we should remain in perpetual development mode. Do I need to put it in capital letters?

I thought of this thread weeks ago but have been a tad busy.

I see Ash Mcgrath as a trade to push/replace Ibbotson or Duffield. Has much of the same traits but is a significantly better competitor.

With Brisbane's attempt to win another GF while Black and Brown are there in tatters from that day they selected Fevola and Staker, one could assume they will have to start rebuilding.

With our window opening 2012-2014, I reckon getting Ash McGrath home might be a good move. He's versatile, plays hard, can take a mark and is a reasonable kick. He's a south Freo bloke and we could offer him a taste of success that he will never get in his time left at Brissie.

If Roger can't come up from his 3rd leg break he would be a handy replacement.

Thoughts? (apart from those who think we should be in perpetual development mode.)

:thumbsu:

nah we tried the quick fix, trade in players way last time we thought our window was open. We need to start concentrating on Key position tall backmen. Not a roger relacement. We still have quite a few who can fill rogers role and if i remember right most were saying Mzungu was the perfect replacement earlier in the year

Good player but small defenders is not what we need.
We got plenty who can play that role.
Ofcourse if it costs us nothing sure why not.
But you dont trade for something u dont really need.

Good player but small defenders is not what we need.
We got plenty who can play that role.
Ofcourse if it costs us nothing sure why not.
But you dont trade for something u dont really need.

This. Despite off field concerns (though these may have subsided these days), we don't really need his type of player anyway. Certainly not worth trading for.

Gordon, can't you read? I said apart from those who think we should remain in perpetual development mode. Do I need to put it in capital letters?

I thought of this thread weeks ago but have been a tad busy.

I see Ash Mcgrath as a trade to push/replace Ibbotson or Duffield. Has much of the same traits but is a significantly better competitor.

Are you serious? You want to bring in a 28yo McGrath for Ibbo (23yo) or Duffman (26yo).

Ibbo (IMO) is starting to play the football we all expected him too and Duffman has been playing a different role this year (he is not the only guy rebounding from defensive 50)

As they say on a certain Monday night footy show. BAD CALL

firstly Dr ralph, your on crack with your ibbo/duffield comment

secondly, mcgrath has tried unsuccessfully 3 times to get to fremantle in the off season. there is something the club doesnt like about him, or doesnt rate so i cant see it happening.

surjan i would definitely look at

No.

Well someone has to fill his shoes, and I'm sure he won't mind us discussing it. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Didn't he want a trade 3 yrs ago ?

Broughton and Mzungu can play the role. In terms of getting the back 6 settled we have some options.

And Suban. And Duffield. And Ibbo.

Please. Dear God. No more half back flankers and pockets. We have enough depth there now.