Astraya Day 2014

Maybe we could change it to federation day? But then we will hear all about how on that date in history, the Aborigines were treated like shyte, so only racists could possibly celebrate it. :rolleyes:

Ban ANZAC day anyway, I bet there's a small % of the population that are Turks and not too comfortable with it all......

Back to reality (quite literally with a return to work for most of us :) ), hope you cobbers had a good weekend, whether you're aboriginal, skip, new strayan, fifth columnists, patriots, commies, warming deniers, or just plain old trying to live your life in the best country on the planet.

On a lighter note I got pissed up. Was at a BBQ at a park where all these houses backed onto and was having this convo with an 86 year when my 7 year old son road past on a motorised scooter so I broke off from the old dude, ran up, and snap kicked my son off the scooter. Seemed funny at the time. He went of crying to mummy. I soon got a text telling me what an arseh*le I was.

Saw my wife and 2 year son walking out so thought I'd act cool and teach the kids playing cricket the "back hand panther" as per Mark Waugh and Ricky Ponting's conversations during BBL. Some kid hits the ball to me at cover and I back hand panthered it to the bowlers end but missed by about 3 meters and got my 2 year old flush in the face and knocked him on his arse. Right in front of my wife.

It was a comedic moment for some of my mates.

Saw some bogan chick wearing a singlet with an Aussie flag and the words, "if you don't like it, LEAVE". Overheard her talking to her mate about how she did not like seeing halal food in the supermarket on any day, but Australia day of all days. It's for the Muslims, not us Aussies she says.

I leaned over and pointed out that's halal food is here to stay, and if she does not like it she can leave our country. She told me to f*** off. Great day.

That's all it seems to be these days, few bogans drapped in the Aussie Flag who dont know the real meaning of the day is. They just seem to use this day to get obsecenly drunk and start fights.

A fascinating debate that is poorer for black and white opinions and the throwing around of labels.

I had quite a robust debate on Facebook with many different views. Plenty of people suggesting that we cannot possibly celebrate Australia Day while the indigenous in this country still suffer hardship unknown to most of us. For suggesting that I will in fact spend the day with family and friends, I was told to wrap myself in the flag and chant Aussie...oi,oi,oi. (I still support England at cricket, so not likely to wrap myself in any flag, but my family are Australian)

Other posts on my page not involved in the debate said this.

"A day to acknowledge the past and look forward to the future. A day to appreciate, and be proud of the beautiful country we call home. We live in safety, freedom and sunshine. And we should celebrate that all the time. Happy Australia day people!" This was posted by my niece who happens to be indigenous and works at a remote community school where many of the students have English a second language.

This was acknowledged by several of her indigenous friends with the following being my favourite.

"I totally agree! Awesome words of wisdom on a day that means so many different things to so many different people"

Adam Goodes was named Australian of the year. Fred Chaney was named senior AOTY for his work as an activist for indigenous rights. I remember being at a folk music festival many years ago where Mr Chaney was a special guest and he was lauded by large numbers of indigenous people and he danced with many of them. A wonderful day with my 2 oldest children joining in the dance.

We have a long way to go to make good the damage done to indigenous cultures when the British arrived and the continuing patronising attitude and outright official racism of governments of all political persuasions over the years. We have gone a long way already though and Australia despite the appalling "Stop the boats" bollocks of recent times is generally one of the fairer countries in the world in which to live.

Australia is not perfect, but it is a great place to live and raise a family and I reckon that is worth acknowledging every now and then.

I would like to criticise people for getting drunk on Australia Day, but I drank more on Monday than I have for a few years. In Yarrawonga, in country Victoria for a family gathering and some very serious wine was opened.....

"A day to acknowledge the past and look forward to the future. A day to appreciate, and be proud of the beautiful country we call home. We live in safety, freedom and sunshine. And we should celebrate that all the time. Happy Australia day people!" This was posted by my niece who happens to be indigenous and works at a remote community school where many of the students have English a second language.

A quite comfortable middle ground is always nice. I would like to see more of this sentiment on Australia Day.

Also, am I in the right thread? This seems like a thread about why posters don't like Australia Day rather than what people actually get up to... discuss the history or whatever behind it on the SRP Board, that shit doesn't need to be over here.
Spot on

I believe Invasion Day is a very good description of anzac Day.

To a tee. Uncomfortable as it makes me to think about it, ANZAC day is us glorifying not those who defended our shores, but those who tried to claim the land of other innocents.

So because it didnt take place in Australia they wearnt defending our shores? The young men who died over in Gallipoli were defending their country alright, against a nation that would attempt world domination. (Hell they almost did it 30 years later) the Ottoman s joined in the conflict joining the Germans hungarians and austrians. The men on the island were all military, no civilians so where are the innocents you speak of?

Not at all claiming that they weren't heroes. They hardly decided to do it, they were Churchill's orders at the end of the day.

ANZAC Day/Gallipoli refers to WW1. Churchill is WW2.

At least learn some (very) basic history you twat.

I liked this because it's funny -

Learn some (very) basic history you twat (your words, not mine)

http://hubpages.com/hub/Winston-Churchill-in-the-Trenches

As First Lord of the Admiralty, Churchill pushed the idea of attacking Gallipoli in 1915, which was held by Germany's ally Turkey, in order to open up a supply route to Russia

Haha -

Any other nuggets of gold, Menzel?

EDIT: Aha - And you've deleted your post!

Gold!

Very poor understanding of WWI.

Gallipoli was not about conquering Ottoman land but putting enough force on the Turks to force them out of the war (where they were a German and Austro-Hungarian ally) and to open up a supply route to Russia (Murmansk wouldn't really exist until WWII).
The same geo-politics that led to the Crimean War still applied so both Britain and France would have prefered to maintain the existence of the Ottoman Empire if they could have.