Atmosphere..

• Thread starter Thread starter Shrapnel

NikkiNoo said:
gotta disagree Marty, the noise in our area was pretty much all the time during the game, especially when the ball was near us! If you listen to replay there is almost a constant noise level the whole time, but it seems to be 'muted'. It was not a boring game being there, trust me.

Im not knocking the noise the crowd made more to the fact that the game wasnt that exciting and it was hard for the crowd to be excited and get vocal I thought the crowd was good for what they were watching on the feild.

I know you would have kept your area very vocal nikki
:p

maccas_no1 said:
Im not knocking the noise the crowd made more to the fact that the game wasnt that exciting and it was hard for the crowd to be excited and get vocal I thought the crowd was good for what they were watching on the feild.

I know you would have kept your area very vocal nikki
:p

Thats pretty much how it was...the crowd was great considering what was being dished up on field! The fact the scores were close also made it more tense, and had the crowd on the edge for the majority of the game...

The sigh that the crowd made in the last quarter whenever Goodes took the ball away from the stoppages was quite amusing. It seemed we (the crowd) knew he was going to get the ball, but our players didnt! :)

i'd still like to know where the 5,000 no shows were...

Also, apart from the cheersquad, i didnt see or hear any other Swans supporters. I couldnt even hear the Swans cheersquad either, but then i was down the other end of the ground!

Ive been to plenty of Power games, and i thought the atmosphere Saturday night was at least equal to any of their home games...so im not sure what the fuss is about really! I did notice on the replay that Campbell and McDermott both made a note of saying that the crowd were deafening...

maccas_no1 said:
Exactly right, was a very BORING game and that wasnt the AFC's fault, if it was a shoot out, which clearly Sydney didnt want it to be, would have been a very vocal crowd ;)

AAMI Adelaide 7.11 (53) West Coast 9.10 (64)
AAMI Adelaide 10.14 (74) Kangaroos 10.4 (64)
AAMI Adelaide 8.15 (63) Bris Lions 11.6 (72)
AAMI Adelaide 14.10 (94) Fremantle 14.4 (88)
AAMI Adelaide 8.6 (54) Sydney 6.11 (47)

Why blame Sydney? Look at the facts..against top teams at home all the games have been low scoring. Did you ever think that maybe it is ADELAIDE's fault?

"Adelaide flood at the back more than any other team which gives you little room and stifles the forward line, but we had our chances and will learn from it."-Paul Williams.

Maybe this has something to do with your poor last quarters cause your so buggered from running back all the time.

Ponder that.

Stinger... said:
I did notice on the replay that Campbell and McDermott both made a note of saying that the crowd were deafening...
Shhh you cant mention that. They'd have to find something else to complain about then :rolleyes:

Shrapnel said:

Why blame Sydney? Look at the facts..against top teams at home all the games have been low scoring. Did you ever think that maybe it is ADELAIDE's fault?

"Adelaide flood at the back more than any other team which gives you little room and stifles the forward line, but we had our chances and will learn from it."-Paul Williams.

Maybe this has something to do with your poor last quarters cause your so buggered from running back all the time.

Ponder that.
Firstly, 94 is a low score is it? The 8.15 and 14.10 represent a fair few shots at goal, IF the Crows had kicked straighter then they would have been decent 100 point scores.

Eighteen rounds of footy, and Sydney have only scored over 100 points FIVE times.... Ponder that (2 of those where Carlton and Fremantle).

If you believe the williams comment about flooding you want to have a bloody hard look at your team. Start of the third quarter you had two blokes loose in defence, and as the ball was bounced both wingmen headed straight to the back lines. Sitting behind the Southern goals I got a great view of this, and it is something that I have never seen before, and hope like hell that I dont see it again.

You could have just linked it to here to save double posting you know.

Shrapnel said:

Ponder that.

Er...just remind me again during the last quarter just when Sydney needed to win the game (which they should have if they played a better brand of football), just count the Adelaide defenders on their own defending their own goals, three count them again three, and you have the audacity to say it was Adelaide's fault.

Quite ridiculous clown.

Markthirtytwo said:
Er...just remind me again during the last quarter just when Sydney needed to win the game (which they should have if they played a better brand of football), just count the Adelaide defenders on their own defending their own goals, three count them again three, and you have the audacity to say it was Adelaide's fault.

Quite ridiculous clown.
Just another excuse, not as good as these two from the main board, talk about having a sook :D

grayham said:
I'm actually very happy with the way the swans played. Backing up from WC, on the 2nd hardest road trip in footy, yet won every stat in that game bar goals-for.

Adelaide are jammy. Wont go far in September.

And my , personnal favorite

grayham said:
I think WC are still hot favourite, with Sydney and St Kilda equal chances to tip them. The rest are gone.

Markthirtytwo said:

Quite ridiculous clown.

Why are you telling me? Paul Williams said your the biggest flooding team in the comp so don't go crying to me.

Shrapnel said:
Why are you telling me? Paul Williams said your the biggest flooding team in the comp so don't go crying to me.
ROFL.

How the hell would he know?????? We hardly ever flood. In fact it was YOU that was flooding on saturday night.

The only time we flood is when we are trying to stem the floor and stop the momentum of our opponent but that generally happens during a quarter of footy.

dA Crow said:
Eighteen rounds of footy, and Sydney have only scored over 100 points FIVE times.... Ponder that (2 of those where Carlton and Fremantle).

QUOTE]

4 of these have been in the last 8 weeks. Over this period we average around 160 points scored in a game yet last week it was 101? Logic says that Adelaide had something to do with that.

Look Adelaide and Sydney have the lowest combined totals of Points for and Against for any teams this seasons. That means their games are the lowest scoring out of any teams. I'm not saying that Sydney don't flood but you have to aknowledge that Adelaide also like to, especially against top teams.

Shrapnel said:
dA Crow said:
I'm not saying that Sydney don't flood but you have to aknowledge that Adelaide also like to, especially against top teams.

No, Shrapnell, I wouldn't concede that Adelaide is a flooding team.

It has the tightest defence in the comp and its average winning margin over the 18 rounds so far is only 3.46 goals but it would be a mistake to describe Adelaide as flooders.

That back six repel a staggering number of inside 50 attacks all by themselves... Rutten, Hart, McLeod, Bassett, Bode, Doughty. In fact, it's been the ruthless efficiency of the defenders which has enabled Adelaide to keep players forward most of the time and thus construct their attack with short passes to the improved leading forwards, and thus win games.

If anything, this season will be remembered for Adelaide flooding its forward lines, rather than its defensive zones. Great runs from Mcleod and Bassett from defence. Even Benny Hart has kicked a goal or two this year.

Adelaide flooded a little bit against Sydney last week. But the ball was slippery and Sydney played it tight and tough. Adelaide matched that. 82 tackles, I think, to Sydney's 72. That was a hard rugby sort of game, with numbers to the ball, and the ball on the ground a lot of the time, many stoppages, and at times impossible to buy a kick.

I don't think it's accurate to call Adelaide a flooding team. Craig says that that is not how he wants to play it and, objectively speaking, I don't think Adelaide has approached many games with the idea of closing down their opponents, rather than creating their own chances. Craig has urged his players to take risks, to invent winning plays all year and by and large, I think they have.

JohnK said:
Shrapnel said:
That back six repel a staggering number of inside 50 attacks all by themselves... Rutten, Hart, McLeod, Bassett, Bode, Doughty.
:confused:
I reckon you meant to say McLeod rather than Bode. ;)

IMO, I thought it was one of the best atmosphere's at a Crows game in years. When the noise is so loud you can't hear yourself think, that's great. Well done to all those supporters who made the effort to make that atmosphere great, especially for a low-scoring game. The Mexican Wave was great once it took off.

Even the morons behind me have kept quiet since someone had a go at them during the Essendon game.

As for the fireworks, Nova arranged that because they were the match-day sponsor.

Shrapnel said:

Ponder that.

and yet, the head of the AFL in an unprecedented move, came out and blasted your team for the style of footy they play.

go figure? :confused:

Crow-mosone said:
and yet, the head of the AFL in an unprecedented move, came out and blasted your team for the style of footy they play.

go figure? :confused:
I can only guess that Paul Williams & Sydney supporters are trying to deflect attention of their style of play to other sides. Unfortantely when 1 team puts nearly the whole team around the ball, it leads to an ugly game like on Saturday night. Unlike Sydney supporters, fortunately for us, we only witness these boring spectacles infrequently.

Shrapnel said:
Oh well all i can say is you guys are easily pleased. Quite a few people have commented on the quietness of the crowd but you guys say it is the loudest you've had all year???? :confused: :confused:
Just to settle this discussion, which seems all but dead, but anyway, just to quote from your Swans fan site ,

The crowd helped Adelaide. It was loud, supportive and constant ... dare I say, crowing with delight in that third quarter, urging their team on. And giving their all to sustain the Crows in that final dogged quarter. It made a difference. Source : Red and White Online

Kane McGoodwin said:
I can only guess that Paul Williams & Sydney supporters are trying to deflect attention of their style of play to other sides. Unfortantely when 1 team puts nearly the whole team around the ball, it leads to an ugly game like on Saturday night. Unlike Sydney supporters, fortunately for us, we only witness these boring spectacles infrequently.

Then the other times we kick the lazy 15-19 goals a game. Spot the difference.

Whenever I head down to the Telstra Dome to watch the Crows play, I'm always louder because there is rivalry within the crowd.

When I lived in Adelaide, at AAMI, i wasn't as loud because there was no rival supporters except in Showdowns, so I was happy with watching the game more so. I think it's just natural.

Watching on TV last week, the atmosphere looked fierce. Packed house, intense game, was brilliant

Well all I can say is can I have some of you guys sit near me! I sit in bay 133 and the bay to the right of me (132 I think) in particualr one woman is really beginning to **** me off! Last couple of games I have stood up as I usually do when I get fired up to be told to sit down, bloody ridiculous if you want to have an unobstructed view give your ticket to a real fan stay home and watch it on the TV!

Punchy Bassett said:
Well all I can say is can I have some of you guys sit near me! I sit in bay 133 and the bay to the right of me (132 I think) in particualr one woman is really beginning to **** me off! Last couple of games I have stood up as I usually do when I get fired up to be told to sit down, bloody ridiculous if you want to have an unobstructed view give your ticket to a real fan stay home and watch it on the TV!

Where in Bay 133?

Punchy Bassett said:

i get that in bay 140 too...comments like "you've got a seat, sit in it!" can be heard a lot...my reply, "uve got legs, use 'em!" if anyone tells me to sit down, i generally take twice as long to sit back down after ive stood up...im also quick to remind people how stupid they are when they make stupid comments about anything to do with the game!

we have some annoying, uneducated people that go to our games and unfortunately there is no easy way to eradicate them, so i try to make them feel unwanted! :)

Stinger... said:
i get that in bay 140 too...comments like "you've got a seat, sit in it!" can be heard a lot...my reply, "uve got legs, use 'em!" if anyone tells me to sit down, i generally take twice as long to sit back down after ive stood up...im also quick to remind people how stupid they are when they make stupid comments about anything to do with the game!

we have some annoying, uneducated people that go to our games and unfortunately there is no easy way to eradicate them, so i try to make them feel unwanted! :)

No one around me would dare to have a go. Besides Im entertainment value. :p