worbod

Oct 26, 2008
Bendigo
Liverpool
According to the book "Ocker" written by Robertson's father, Austin Robertson senior, this is his entire playing career.

Season Team . . . .Games Goals Behinds Avge Finals Goals
1958 Scotch College . 5 . 20 . . . . . 4.00
1959 Scotch College . 8 . 74 . . . . . 9.25
1960 Scotch College .10 .105 . . . . .10.50
1961 Subiaco thirds .14 . 70 . . . . . 5.00
. . .Subiaco reserves 3 . 11 . . . . . 3.66 . 1 . . 1
1962 Subiaco . . . . 21 . 89 . 40 . . .4.23 . - . . -
1963 Subiaco . . . . 21 . 79 . 44 . . .3.76 . - . . -
1964 Subiaco . . . . 22 . 94 . 55 . . .4.27 . 1 . . 2
1965 Subiaco . . . . 21 .108 . 54 . . .5.14 . - . . -
1966 South Melbourne 18 . 60 . 33 . . .3.33 . - . . -
1967 Subiaco . . . . 20 .104 . 63 . . .5.20 . - . . -
1968 Subiaco . . . . 21 .162 . 70 . . .7.71 . 1 . . 5
1969 Subiaco . . . . 21 .114 . 63 . . .5.42 . 1 . . 2
1970 Subiaco . . . . 21 .116 . 70 . . .5.52 . 1 . . 3
1971 Subiaco . . . . 20 .111 . 70 . . .5.55 . - . . -
1972 Subiaco . . . . 21 . 98 . 71 . . .4.66 . - . . -
1973 Subiaco . . . . 24 . 77 . 53 . . .3.20 . 3 . . 7
1974 Subiaco . . . . 17 . 59 . 35 . . .3.47 . 1 . . 1
. . .Subiaco reserves 1 . .5 . . . . . 5.00 . - . . -
TOTALS
. . .Scotch College .23 .199 . 36 . . .8.65
. . .Subiaco thirds .14 . 70 . . . . . 5.00
. . .Subiaco reserves 4 . 16 . . . . . 4.00 . 1 . . 1
. . .Subiaco . . . .251 1211 .688 . . .4.82 . 8 . .20
. . .South Melbourne 18 . 60 . 33 . . .3.33 . - . . -
South Melb night game 1 . .4 . . . . . 4.00
. .Western Australia 10 . 44 . . . . . 4.40
GRAND TOTAL . . . . 321 1604 . . . . . 4.99 . 9 . .21

Premiership: 1973
Subiaco Best and Fairest: 1965, 1968
WAFL leading goalkicker: 1962, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972

According to the book "Ocker" written by Robertson's father, Austin Robertson senior, this is his entire playing career.

Season Team . . . .Games Goals Behinds Avge Finals Goals
1958 Scotch College . 5 . 20 . . . . . 4.00
1959 Scotch College . 8 . 74 . . . . . 9.25
1960 Scotch College .10 .105 . . . . .10.50
1961 Subiaco thirds .14 . 70 . . . . . 5.00
. . .Subiaco reserves 3 . 11 . . . . . 3.66 . 1 . . 1
1962 Subiaco . . . . 21 . 89 . 40 . . .4.23 . - . . -
1963 Subiaco . . . . 21 . 79 . 44 . . .3.76 . - . . -
1964 Subiaco . . . . 22 . 94 . 55 . . .4.27 . 1 . . 2
1965 Subiaco . . . . 21 .108 . 54 . . .5.14 . - . . -
1966 South Melbourne 18 . 60 . 33 . . .3.33 . - . . -
1967 Subiaco . . . . 20 .104 . 63 . . .5.20 . - . . -
1968 Subiaco . . . . 21 .162 . 70 . . .7.71 . 1 . . 5
1969 Subiaco . . . . 21 .114 . 63 . . .5.42 . 1 . . 2
1970 Subiaco . . . . 21 .116 . 70 . . .5.52 . 1 . . 3
1971 Subiaco . . . . 20 .111 . 70 . . .5.55 . - . . -
1972 Subiaco . . . . 21 . 98 . 71 . . .4.66 . - . . -
1973 Subiaco . . . . 24 . 77 . 53 . . .3.20 . 3 . . 7
1974 Subiaco . . . . 17 . 59 . 35 . . .3.47 . 1 . . 1
. . .Subiaco reserves 1 . .5 . . . . . 5.00 . - . . -
TOTALS
. . .Scotch College .23 .199 . 36 . . .8.65
. . .Subiaco thirds .14 . 70 . . . . . 5.00
. . .Subiaco reserves 4 . 16 . . . . . 4.00 . 1 . . 1
. . .Subiaco . . . .251 1211 .688 . . .4.82 . 8 . .20
. . .South Melbourne 18 . 60 . 33 . . .3.33 . - . . -
South Melb night game 1 . .4 . . . . . 4.00
. .Western Australia 10 . 44 . . . . . 4.40
GRAND TOTAL . . . . 321 1604 . . . . . 4.99 . 9 . .21

Premiership: 1973
Subiaco Best and Fairest: 1965, 1968
WAFL leading goalkicker: 1962, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972

Thanks for this !!

I remember 1968 quite well (I thought). I didn't remember him ever missing a shot for goal but apparently he did miss a few. His last four games in 1968 produced some huge totals. I'm "sure" that he kicked 16 in Round 21 against East Fremantle to break the season record. The Subiaco players just kicked it to him regardless of where they, or he was. Subi were the easy beats around the late 60's from memory.

Austin actually kicked 15 goals 11 behinds in that final round against East Fremantle in 1968. It did indeed break the WAFL record, as he finished the game with 157 goals and 68 behinds, ahead of the previous best of 156 goals 56 behinds by Bernie Naylor in 1953. These 15 goals were Austin's highest tally in a game.

Austin Robertson?This isn't the same person who along with John Cornell and Kerry Packer started up World Series Cricket in 1977?

Austin actually kicked 15 goals 11 behinds in that final round against East Fremantle in 1968. It did indeed break the WAFL record, as he finished the game with 157 goals and 68 behinds, ahead of the previous best of 156 goals 56 behinds by Bernie Naylor in 1953. These 15 goals were Austin's highest tally in a game.

31 kicks that day for Ocker, I was there. Last game of the season & he needed 15 to beat Bernie Naylors record. Had an inaccurate day, subi were kicking backwards to get it to him.

His one year in the VFL was enough, runner up in the goalkicking to Bomber Ted Fordham.

Ocker was a journo, working for Packer & knew Cornell from their days at WA Newspapers, hence the involvement in World Series Cricket. Generally acknowledged as having the idea of playing under lights. Was the bagman, signed up the players on the quiet.

Manager of Shane Warne for a long time.

Last I heard was a function for Ocker at Subi involving 1973 premiership team mates including Mike Fitzpatrick, Peter Featherby& coach Haydn Bunton & Cornell & Warne. Ian Chappell mentioned it on Melbourne radio, he was there too along with Denis Lillee.

Didnt know he 'hit the wall' financially, any details Belnakor?

Sporting stars to honour Austin Robertson Jr
January 30, 2009

The who's who of cricket and football will help honour the achievements of former champion Subiaco goal kicker Austin Robertson Jr.

Dennis Lillee, Shane Warne, Justin Langer, Ian Healy and more will attend a gala dinner hosted by the Subiaco Football Club on Saturday night.

Former sporting stars who will be special guests include past Test captains Richie Benaud, Ian Chappell, Kim Hughes, Mark Taylor and Tony Greig. Past greats Dennis Lillee, Shane Warne, Justin Langer, Ian Healy and Mick Malone will attend.

Some of Robertson’s opponents during his 251 games with the Lions - John K Watts, Ken McAullay, Brian France and Malcolm Brown will also be at the red carpet event.

Footy show host and former top Sheffield Shield batsmen James Brayshaw will MC the evening in conjunction with Richie Benaud.

Robertson kicked a WAFL record 1278 goals during his career with the Lions, including a record 168 goals during the 1968 season, records that still stand. As well he was a prolific goal kicker in state matches for WA and was regarded as the finest full forward in Australia during the 1960s.

He played one season with his father's old club, South Melbourne, and finished second on the VFL goal kicking list.

Following his football career, Robertson played a key role in the development of Kerry Packer’s break away World Series Cricket and subsequently managed many of Australia’s leading cricketers over a period of 30 years.

The rundown of his 1968 season is something to behold.

Here's how he went:

Round 1 - 13.2
Round 2 - 9.4
Round 3 - 3.3
Round 4 - 10.5
Round 5 - 8.3
Round 6 - 6.0
Round 7 - 6.4
Round 8 - 7.3
Round 9 - 8.3
Round 10 - 7.3
Round 11 - DNP (State Duty)
Round 12 - 5.3
Round 13 - 6.0
Round 14 - 13.2
Round 15 - 3.2
Round 16 - 10.5
Round 17 - 10.2
Round 18 - 10.2
Round 19 - 2.4
Round 20 - 6.4
Round 21 - 15.11
1st Semi Final - 5.3

Total - 167.65

Back page report in this weekend's edition of the West Australian that there's probably going to be a push by the WAFL to have Robertson inducted into the Hall of Fame. Disgraceful that he's not already there.

Who was East Freo's full back in Round 21? They've kept a low profile, whoever it was.
I don’t even know myself – there are no references in the East Fremantle history book, though that’s hardly surprising as 1968 was Old Easts’ worst year of the twentieth century.

The 1968 WANFL competition was the most unbalanced (largest standard deviation of winning percentages) in any WA(N)FL, SANFL or VFL/AFL season. It’s notable that against the three “Perth” clubs who dominated the WANFL between 1966 and 1969, Robertson kicked a total of 62 goals, 23 behinds in ten games, none of which Subiaco won. Given that the climate in Perth was totally different from what we know today, with as much as 50 percent more rain during the football season, that figure is exceptionally good.

The 2.4 was on a wet day against a wonderful Perth team led by Barry Cable (who did not play in a losing team all season) and the 3.3 against East Perth during Perth’s coolest April on record (believe it or not, Melbourne’s maximum for April 1968 at 22.8˚C was 1.8˚C hotter than Perth at 21.0˚C!). I don’t know why Robertson only kicked 3.2 in Round 15 against Swan Districts – who got closer to a completely winless season than any other club in open-age WAFL/WANFL football between 1918 and 1998 – did he leave the field or something??

I have just begun reading Austin Robertson's book "Cricket Outlaws", about the formation of World Series Cricket. In the chapter relating to John Cornell, Austin states he and Cornell are no longer on speaking terms. I understand if Robertson does not wish to make the reasons public, but naturally, when I read this I was curious to know why they had a rift. Does anybody know anything about the split in their friendship?

I don’t even know myself – there are no references in the East Fremantle history book, though that’s hardly surprising as 1968 was Old Easts’ worst year of the twentieth century.

The 1968 WANFL competition was the most unbalanced (largest standard deviation of winning percentages) in any WA(N)FL, SANFL or VFL/AFL season. It’s notable that against the three “Perth” clubs who dominated the WANFL between 1966 and 1969, Robertson kicked a total of 62 goals, 23 behinds in ten games, none of which Subiaco won. Given that the climate in Perth was totally different from what we know today, with as much as 50 percent more rain during the football season, that figure is exceptionally good.

The 2.4 was on a wet day against a wonderful Perth team led by Barry Cable (who did not play in a losing team all season) and the 3.3 against East Perth during Perth’s coolest April on record (believe it or not, Melbourne’s maximum for April 1968 at 22.8˚C was 1.8˚C hotter than Perth at 21.0˚C!). I don’t know why Robertson only kicked 3.2 in Round 15 against Swan Districts – who got closer to a completely winless season than any other club in open-age WAFL/WANFL football between 1918 and 1998 – did he leave the field or something??
Thanks mianfei

I only just found this reply after four years. Thanks for all of that info. 1968 was the first year I ever went to a WANFL game. A losing Preliminary final for West Perth against East Perth. I went to practically every West Perth game for the next 10 years. Austin Robertson if he had played for West Perth in 1968 would have probably kicked 180 goals that season.

Their on-ball team of Polly Farmer, Mel Whinnen, Bill Valli and Bill Dempsey was the best in the country VFL included. That was along with All-Australian Alan Watling on the wing.

I have just begun reading Austin Robertson's book "Cricket Outlaws", about the formation of World Series Cricket. In the chapter relating to John Cornell, Austin states he and Cornell are no longer on speaking terms. I understand if Robertson does not wish to make the reasons public, but naturally, when I read this I was curious to know why they had a rift. Does anybody know anything about the split in their friendship?

money no doubt. Cornell is filthy rich and Robertson isn't.

Not much to add except in 1969, Haydn Bunton arranged a pre-trial for Subiaco to play his previous club Norwood at Norwood Oval, and Austin Robertson raised some interest as he'd kicked 160-odd goals the year before. Robertson kicked 9 goals and was very impressive.

Later that season we hosted the AFC Carnival in Adelaide. Each team played 3 games, and the leading goal kickers were:
17 Peter Hudson (Vic)
15 Austin Robertson (WA)
12 Fred Phillis (SA)
10 Bill Walker (WA)

Thanks mianfei

I only just found this reply after four years. Thanks for all of that info. 1968 was the first year I ever went to a WANFL game. A losing Preliminary final for West Perth against East Perth. I went to practically every West Perth game for the next 10 years. Austin Robertson if he had played for West Perth in 1968 would have probably kicked 180 goals that season.

Their on-ball team of Polly Farmer, Mel Whinnen, Bill Valli and Bill Dempsey was the best in the country VFL included. That was along with All-Australian Alan Watling on the wing.
I hadn’t thought of that, but West Perth in Farmer’s four years really did have a grand on ball division with those players. The way the played in 1968 and 1969 – losing just ten games out of 46 – is easily overlooked amidst Perth’s premiership hat-trick, and the fact that the Cardinals were so lacking in depth that when injuries did hit them in 1970 they lost eleven matches out of twenty-one. I do recall, if not perfectly, some really brilliant patches from the 1969 Grand Final which I have on DVD but have not watched more than once, and that being a long time ago.

Hi. I went to the 1969 GF. I remember the brilliant high marks that Laurie Richards took. Screamer after screamer. The best individual high marking game I ever saw.

I would love a DVD of the GF. Where did you get it? Thanks,

Thanks mianfei

+ Stephen Smeath.

It's touched on briefly in this article from just a couple of months back:- http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport...s/news-story/7d63690869260b00b646d8191b173947

John and I are no longer friends I must say. I haven’t spoken to him for years. But he is in the book. I approached him and he agreed.

Why did you fall out with John?

I don’t know, you have to ask him. I really don’t know. I heard the word ‘disloyalty’ thrown around mate. I don’t have a disloyal bone in my body.

Hi. I went to the 1969 GF. I remember the brilliant high marks that Laurie Richards took. Screamer after screamer. The best individual high marking game I ever saw.

I got it by mailing payment from the WAFL itself. If I recally correctly they would be out of stock now – when I did buy it they were no longer printing and had very few copies.

He did the same at Fitzroy...phenomenal mark,and not all that tall.