NICK THE PIE MAN

Boston Red Sox (MLB)
It was a great game.
You never gave up and scared the crap out of us in the 4th Quarter.

I know about finals heartbreak, im a Collingwood supporter! It hurts but footy is a strange game.

Cheers guys...

Well I'll just continue with this thread seeing no one has replied.

The problem of Port now is probably more psychological than anything. The players are not going to believe that they are capable of winning a final if they keep losing them - even games like this where they're always expected to win.

No matter what happens, Port can't afford to lose next week. It'll be an absolute tragedy if the Minor Premiers bow out in straight sets. What your players need is some sort of mental injection.

Clearly a psychological problem. Seemed the boys had the willies big time in the first half, and then they came back in the last quarter... too much fumbling, kicking over heads, not chasing hard enough, not doing team things i.e. shepharding... I could go on. Montgomery would never drop those kind marks, like we saw in the final quarter, in the minor round... I think it's definitely a mindset problem.

Mark Williams has to get on the front foot during the week, and back ourselves in, instead of letting the opposition play all the mind games and simply responding.

The loss we had to have?, how F****** embarressing was that.
Well it better of been, I will be there next week so they better put in a better performance that this week.

I reckon about 8 players had their worst games for the season all at once.

The only change I would make for next week would be Mead out for someone else in.

Unlike last year, this time we have the opportunity for the players to feel the bite, but still have an opportunity to fix it next week.

For what its worth, I reckon if we'd won that in unconvincing fashion, it would've set us up nicely to fool ourselves into complacency for a home prelim anyway. As it is, we've got another home final next week and can get some quality winning form up.

Originally posted by Porthos
I reckon about 8 players had their worst games for the season all at once.

The only change I would make for next week would be Mead out for someone else in.

Unlike last year, this time we have the opportunity for the players to feel the bite, but still have an opportunity to fix it next week.

For what its worth, I reckon if we'd won that in unconvincing fashion, it would've set us up nicely to fool ourselves into complacency for a home prelim anyway. As it is, we've got another home final next week and can get some quality winning form up.

What about Poulton, I reckon feed him to the Port River sharks, his disposal was attrocious, and what was Burgoyne thinking in that last quarter? We just took so many bad options all night and all those ********s who bagged Tredrea at the game tonight, GET A LIFE!

Off the top of my head:

Tredrea 15 mtr out set shot BEHIND
P.Burgoyne 35mtrs out set shot OOF
Tredrea 40 mtrs out set shot BEHIND
Primus 5 mtrs out OOF
C.Cornes 35 mtrs out set shot BEHIND
P.Burgoyne 10 mtrs out... play on NO SCORE
Wangas set shot... Behind
Francou...OOF
Francou BEHIND

Even Dew missed an easy set shot didn't he?

That's 10 easy shots on goal for 5 points, we really *** sed off the football gods somewhere along the track.

And that's only off the top of my head!!!

The problem you have is mental but it will get worse, first, you are in all likelihood going to play the Dons at Footy Park, hardly a walk in the park (whilst they have not shown there best this year they still have that wily coach Sheeds plus a team with stars -LLoyd, Hird, Ramanaskuas, Caracella, Wellman, Fletcher). Then given Brisbane should be Adelaide tonight, you would come off the Essendon bus and run straight into the Brisbane bus in Brisbane. I'm sorry to say this but your campaign for the 2002 Premiership has in all likelihood ended with that soft performance last night.

How many errors can one team make in a game? P Burgoyne's farcical move in the last quarter summed it up - turnovers, dropped marks, missed shots, handballs missing the target.

Collingwood played well to capitalise but we were very ordinary. 7 days to regroup or that burning feeling in our guts about last year's straight sets exit will disappear for all the wrong reasons.

And furthur more,
its not good to see 100000 posts on the main board bagging Port.
We would have got the same if we lost. Quite ironical that the most bagging comes from teams that didn't make the finals or by Adelaide supporters that for some reason can't comprehend how much they are going to lose by tonight.

Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
And furthur more,
its not good to see 100000 posts on the main board bagging Port.
We would have got the same if we lost. Quite ironical that the most bagging comes from teams that didn't make the finals or by Adelaide supporters that for some reason can't comprehend how much they are going to lose by tonight.

I'll let them have their fun. Personally I think we'll smash either of the teams we play next week. Collingwood have been a struggle for us for about 2 years now, but West Coast and Essendon looked out of their league against us this season.
I'm absolutely devastated right now, and am itching to go to the main board and let some of those ****wits really have it, but I'll wait until I calm down a bit so I don't get booted.

ps. good form with the posting Nick.

We had the perfect opportunity to win and we blew it.
I am feeling somewhat depressed this morning:(
What will it take for us to win a finals game?
I would have gladly swapped the win last week for a win last night.
I am going to Sydney on GF weekend.

We're far from out of it yet.

Come on guys loosen up a bit there's always next week, next year or the next 10 years to win a final so chin up & battle on to the next contest & remember the word CHOKER is only a word & just like Collingwood have removed their mantle as collywobblers[ mind it did take a few years ] you to will eventually lose your title of finals CHOKERS, ;)

Originally posted by Porthos
We're far from out of it yet.

No, you still have a good chance to come back from here. I would gladly put this game out of the way and put it behind you. This is the bad one, only Port can learn from this.

I thought Dew played well and was inspirational in his little burst. I don't know what Burgoyne was doing when he played on and blew it. I think if he kicked that goal, the momentum would have shifted and the outcome may have been different.

Burgoyne should never do anything so silly again, he should have learnt from that mistake.

Originally posted by kirky
I'm sorry to say this but your campaign for the 2002 Premiership has in all likelihood ended with that soft performance last night.

I doubt that you're "sorry to say" at all, you smug Crows supporting piece o ****e

:(

Thanks to those Collingwood supporters that are gracious in Victory..

The significance in the symbolism of our first game in the AFL versus Collingwood in 1997 was enormous, there were many reasons for that..

It has set up a rivalry that will endure and grow..Port V Collingwood will always have a meaning unable to be touched by other clubs.

Sure Collingwood has traditional rivals from Victoria, but they have grown from over a century of Battles..

Port Adelaide and Collingwood had rivalry, yet had never played a game for points against each other until 1997

PA1870:)

Originally posted by highflying

The problem of Port now is probably more psychological than anything. The players are not going to believe that they are capable of winning a final if they keep losing them - even games like this where they're always expected to win.
The problem in the two games, Hawthorn and Collingwood has been psychological, but the opposite of what you stated.
In both games the chooks were counted by some of the players before they hatched, and as a result none did hatch. Time for Chocco to lay down the law. No need to name anyone.

Collingwood fully deserved the win, whether they played better then us or we played **** is irrelevant, the end result is they earned the victory through their efforts.
As Porthos has stated, the season is not over, at the end of the day we still have to beat Brisbane, Collingwood or Adelaide (most likely, if no more upsets) and Essendon when it counts.