Ballarat Football League

All these BFL non North City members are weak as P!ss. Still scarred from when we used to kill them in the juniors all those years. We are not a powerhouse club, we are all young with an average of 19. We will get flogged a couple of times but cause a few upsets just like this season.

Sam Turley, Thayne Turley, Adam Turley, Ryan Harris and a couple more from our Juniors play with Ballarat, plus the Redan guys mentioned eariler. I dare say Ballarat and Redan are the major beneficiaries of our junior club. Redan for example are already poaching under 16 players of ours promising them senior football next year, and your worried we'll drain some of the players??
Our last under 18 team in the BFL, Ballarat poached 50% of the players offering big $$ and senior footy to leave us, bad mouthed us at the interviews and everything. And you wonder why Northies hate Ballarat and Redan!!!

Please, instead of the bloke earlier getting of his knees, the rest of you open your eyes. Our junior club i believe almost single handedly won Redan 4 premierships.

Stop being threatened by us and let the real rivalries resume.

Sebastopol Football club (Ballarat Football League)

We are looking to appoint a Playing Assistant Coach for the 2008 season. The successful applicant will be generously rewarded and will have the opportunity to be part of a professional club in one of the best country football leagues. Sebastopol football club is the closest football club to Ballarat Uni and has opportunity for work if needed. We are also looking for 2-3 marquee players for the upcoming season and beyond. If you think this is the next step in your football career and you want to be part of our professional and dynamic team be quick and call

MARK RUSSELL (sen coach) on 0432438459

All these BFL non North City members are weak as P!ss. Still scarred from when we used to kill them in the juniors all those years. We are not a powerhouse club, we are all young with an average of 19. We will get flogged a couple of times but cause a few upsets just like this season.

Sam Turley, Thayne Turley, Adam Turley, Ryan Harris and a couple more from our Juniors play with Ballarat, plus the Redan guys mentioned eariler. I dare say Ballarat and Redan are the major beneficiaries of our junior club. Redan for example are already poaching under 16 players of ours promising them senior football next year, and your worried we'll drain some of the players??
Our last under 18 team in the BFL, Ballarat poached 50% of the players offering big $$ and senior footy to leave us, bad mouthed us at the interviews and everything. And you wonder why Northies hate Ballarat and Redan!!!

Please, instead of the bloke earlier getting of his knees, the rest of you open your eyes. Our junior club i believe almost single handedly won Redan 4 premierships.

Stop being threatened by us and let the real rivalries resume.

yehhh well said kirbs, when your club is run by scumbags and majority of the players are tossers its hard to see why everyone hates north. and i think you will find that this is about senior football not juniors im sure nobody is scarred from losing to north in juniors you halfwit.

Then why are clubs against us coming back in if they have no concerns regarding on field performance????? Our club is the strongest, best run footy club in ballarat by people who would do anything for the club, all of whom possess characteristics and traits not held by "scumbags", as you say. They have worked their arse off in the juniors, and especially the last 3 years. Get a clue you moron

And just because we were a successful club, of which the players were all good mates, still are and always will be, doesnt make the club full of "tossers", and for that matter we arent arrogant, we just enjoy our club and hate people who bring it down anyway they can...Jealousy is a curse

Kirbs back to the U18 thread!!!

Kirbs, I was a north junior back in the day when the big VFL thing happened and we were suddenly 18 year olds with no where to go, no roosters seniors to play for. It left us with no choice but to dispand as mates and find new clubs... in the end a majority of us decided to go somewhere together and we ended up at east ballarat (before they merged with point)... I can't recall north being too worried about what we did back then :( but I spose since they've reformed a local side again things have changed. I know of Floody a bit as he coached my little brother and he is north thru and thru (does he still have something to do with the club ???)... It seems you might be taking a bit of the back lash from other clubs to heart, good on you guys for doing it tuff and trying to rebuild your/our club but I spose no one likes a winger??? Just cop whatever on the chin (tall poppy syndrome - maybe still plays a part of how north in viewed locally) and get on with it. The North Ballarat FC made it's bed a long time ago so it's gotta sleep in it - what will be will be bud. No more poor us please :thumbsu:

From an outsiders point of view, clubs should be looking for stability in the league.
Last month the talk was that sunbury were looking at leaving and the other east clubs also looking at possibly following.
You now have a 10 team comp, just say; take sunbury out in another year or 2 leaves you with 9 teams, not much of a comp, all you need then is for a club to fold or another to follow, leaves you with 8. Try recruiting players to a comp with only 8 sides, some clubs may find it hard.

Yeah im not whingeing about that, The VFL Club screwed everyone in ballarat over, especially us Juniors back then. They still dont care about us, and there is a misconception around that the VFL provides us with Cash and players etc. We are a new senior club, with the guys who ran the juniors mostly doing all the work. Floody stepped away from footy this year to get away, but was a large part of the senior club beginning. He is back in the fold again this year, and is a club legend. Blokes like him, Horn etc do everything for the club and it would be amazing for those guys if we get back in...thats why i want clubs to consider us as a different club to the VFL and not reject us based on the North ties.

And Chewy, who is your brother? and whats your name????

I played under Floody and my Dad coached a premiership for North Juniors so i dare say i might know your brother and possibly you?

And Chewy, who is your brother? and whats your name????

I played under Floody and my Dad coached a premiership for North Juniors so i dare say i might know your brother and possibly you?

I know exactly who it is. Not too many blokes who played with north juniors then played at east ballarat who live in wagga wagga????

Mate im just a washed up, old, balding, used to be pinch hitter off the pine who still likes to keep tabs on how things are back home in the rat....
Nah I know my bro and old boy rate Floody, and everything he does for that club is far and beyond.... It seems like his services will be called upon again next year as this North City proposal gains momentum....
I just hope it's the best for the league in general... The comps up in wagga are a 9 team comp (like the BFL) and a 6 team comp (like the CHFL)... Clubs have had to fold and another swapped leagues and another is about to fold.... It's safe to say the 6 team comp is struggling a bit with I think everyone playing each other at least 3-4 times during the year which is a bit of a joke.
Im not saying it's going to ever get that bad down here (I hope not) but everything should be considered not just the $$$$.

With a view to the future of country footy and where it might be headed I know there has been a lot of talk about merging both leagues into one up in wagga with sides maybe being forced to merge with others in their general vicinity.... What do you reckon of the North/Creswick Saints, the East/Point/Bungaree Demons? the Ballarat/Learmonth Swans? or the Darley/Sth Melton Panters??? :)

Personally I don't have a problem with North having a side back in the comp as long as they are on generally a level playing field with the rest of the teams ie: - no affiliation and not much help from the VFL (it sounds as if this is already the case ???) Maybe a bit of skeptism and an eye brow raise has to be warranted with this kirbs? Dunno?

Anyway good luck with it all and who knows I might see you on the Dancefloor in 2008 ;)

Judging by the clearances to and from BFL clubs for 2008 - that is, NONE to this point - all clubs will be exactly the same, therefore Redan will win the flag. Last time I checked the calendar November had just started!
I think you might find that Sunbury ditched the idea of joining the EDFL next season. I might be wrong though, I only read it in the newspaper.

Cant put clearances in yet buddy, so yeah you probably wont see any for a little while

MARC GREIG AKA THE MERCENARY

Marc Greig, left North Ballarat Rooster after many year of service in the number 2 guernsey on sour note with other club stalwarts because of the decision The Roosters made to Align with AFL Club, Kangaroo's, this was well publicised in the Ballarat Courier. Marc then went from the Rooster to Coach The Warracknabeal Eagles Football Club in the Wimmera League for an alleged sum of 30K a year! First year Marc coached the side he was unable to get them to the finals, Some said the reason for this was because Marc only attended training once a week. Midway through Marc's first year as coach he signed on for a second season which as the first ended in the same fashion! The eagles not competing in September! After 2 years with the Eagles and a lazy 60k in the back pocket Marc has decided to turn his back on the boys at Anzac Park! Which begs the question was it all too hard or was it all just for the cash!!
As strange as this may sound it has become apparent that Marc is the new assistant coach of the club he once walked out on! The Roosters!
North Ballarat has confirmed alignment with the Kangaroos for a 3rd consecutive season, so after cleaning out a club for 60k this alignment appears to be no longer an issue. What hope do The Roosters hold now signing Marc as an assistant coach when he couldn't even take a Wimmera League side to September action.

Mate im just a washed up, old, balding, used to be pinch hitter off the pine who still likes to keep tabs on how things are back home in the rat....
Nah I know my bro and old boy rate Floody, and everything he does for that club is far and beyond.... It seems like his services will be called upon again next year as this North City proposal gains momentum....
I just hope it's the best for the league in general... The comps up in wagga are a 9 team comp (like the BFL) and a 6 team comp (like the CHFL)... Clubs have had to fold and another swapped leagues and another is about to fold.... It's safe to say the 6 team comp is struggling a bit with I think everyone playing each other at least 3-4 times during the year which is a bit of a joke.
Im not saying it's going to ever get that bad down here (I hope not) but everything should be considered not just the $$$$.

With a view to the future of country footy and where it might be headed I know there has been a lot of talk about merging both leagues into one up in wagga with sides maybe being forced to merge with others in their general vicinity.... What do you reckon of the North/Creswick Saints, the East/Point/Bungaree Demons? the Ballarat/Learmonth Swans? or the Darley/Sth Melton Panters??? :)

Personally I don't have a problem with North having a side back in the comp as long as they are on generally a level playing field with the rest of the teams ie: - no affiliation and not much help from the VFL (it sounds as if this is already the case ???) Maybe a bit of skeptism and an eye brow raise has to be warranted with this kirbs? Dunno?

Anyway good luck with it all and who knows I might see you on the Dancefloor in 2008 ;)
Pull your head in DOG . The only team that may look to merge would the Merging dogs them selves they cant win a flag with 2 sides might as well have a crack with 3.

Marc Greig, left North Ballarat Rooster after many year of service in the number 2 guernsey on sour note with other club stalwarts because of the decision The Roosters made to Align with AFL Club, Kangaroo's, this was well publicised in the Ballarat Courier. Marc then went from the Rooster to Coach The Warracknabeal Eagles Football Club in the Wimmera League for an alleged sum of 30K a year! First year Marc coached the side he was unable to get them to the finals, Some said the reason for this was because Marc only attended training once a week. Midway through Marc's first year as coach he signed on for a second season which as the first ended in the same fashion! The eagles not competing in September! After 2 years with the Eagles and a lazy 60k in the back pocket Marc has decided to turn his back on the boys at Anzac Park! Which begs the question was it all too hard or was it all just for the cash!!
As strange as this may sound it has become apparent that Marc is the new assistant coach of the club he once walked out on! The Roosters!
North Ballarat has confirmed alignment with the Kangaroos for a 3rd consecutive season, so after cleaning out a club for 60k this alignment appears to be no longer an issue. What hope do The Roosters hold now signing Marc as an assistant coach when he couldn't even take a Wimmera League side to September action.
He is a close friend of mine and I was with him on numerous occasions when your club was hassling him upto 3-4 times a day demanding his signature, he wasn't the one that come up with that figure and your abit of there mark with it aswell. And your way off the mark with your comment "Leaving on sour grapes"... I'm sure if your from the eagles that you would have he's number, ring him to discuss your disapproval and any concerns instead of branding his name over the internet. Good day.

Shane Manley, is that you? Your pathological hatred of anything connected to the North Ballarat conglomerate is showing again....

Just on a side note, I think that North going to the VFL has caused the BFL to be a stronger comp in the long run. It wasn't healthy to have a team that dominant, and there have been plenty of players exposed to the higher league coming back.

Only Redan have benefited along with the U18s alliance with North juniors a few years ago. The rest of the clubs have lost players and good kids. Go Shane Manley!!!!!

You are showing your bias a bit too plainly there. Redan certainly have benefited a lot, but there are plenty of other clubs that have had players (and coaches) from the Roosters. It is pretty poor to want to limit your good kids to a lower league than they can aspire to, I applaud Redan's encouraging of their plaers to try out for North (such as Stephenson, Head, Peace, Waight, Micallef)