Barlow

• Thread starter Thread starter legend166

Does he "look a player"?

I don't really understand him. I don't think anyone really knows what position he should be playing, and unless he gets put somewhere and gets to stay therefor a while I don't think we will ever know that.

I think the Goodes comparisons have been incredibly unfair and unhelpful to him. It has resulted in him playing a Goodes-like role (which is basically a free marauding role through the centre and half forward lines), and it just hasn't worked.

I understand why some think he is too soft. I think the bigger problem is that is too slow - sometimes I watch him and there are balls that he should be getting to but he just doesn't have the engine to get there. Maybe that is a combination of softness and slowness, though. Whatever it is, he isn't Adam Goodes and so I think he needs to be used elsewhere if we are going to get any use out of him.

Goodes works in the role because he combines the strengths of a smaller player with the strengths of a bigger player - he is fast, great ball control and skills, he can get stuck in, but at the same time is one of the best marks in the comp, in a pack or on the lead. Right now I feel like Barlow is the anti-Goodes in a sense - he doesn't have the small-man qualities, the speed, the mongrel or the skills, and you would expect that from a guy that is almost 2m tall, but, and I think this is the big problem, in being forced into this role that doesn't suit him he doesn't really seem to play to his height, which is his real strength. He is basically as tall as Jesse White, but if you watched the two of them play you wouldn't know it. One is being used in a role that takes advantage of it, the other in a role where it seems like it is a major hindrance.

Right now we have a tall player with no specific instructions wandering around the field looking, in my opinion, understandably lost. What he needs is a specific job in the forward line or defence. He needs to be given time to develop in it. I think the best thing, considering the current make up of the squad, is to have him on the full-forward line as a foil for White. With Lewis Johnston's interupted season this year, the retirement of O'Loughlin and Hall quitting I think that makes the most sense.

I don't think he should be written off as a player, but I do think that unless he gets a clear, stable role in the team he isn't really going to develop.

i think you may have hit the nail on the head with that one...i do think at this point in his development barlow would be better off given a specific role...i don't think he's coping well with being given that freedom...he doesn't seem to know what to do with it...

i hope ed doesn't read this thread either...no player should be subjected to this kinda criticism...

and yes, luke ablett is sh!t...lol he does a bit here and there...but geez...he is very mediocre

I didn't see the game today (because I had to work), but he hasn't really impressed me in any of the games I have seen. For me it was his decision-making that let him down more than his softness, but it seems that he is shirking the contests now. It might be a case of him not wanting to take possession because he isn't confident in the decision he'll have to make.

Unlike Luke Ablett, who doesn't let his poor decision making stop him from getting the ball and screwing it all up.

Well noted.

i think you may have hit the nail on the head with that one...i do think at this point in his development barlow would be better off given a specific role...i don't think he's coping well with being given that freedom...he doesn't seem to know what to do with it...

i hope ed doesn't read this thread either...no player should be subjected to this kinda criticism...

and yes, luke ablett is sh!t...lol he does a bit here and there...but geez...he is very mediocre
So are you in the footy smarts

yep one last season chance, fly or fail. He must earn his spot and keep it, if he can't then everyone involved has given the chances and we all move on.

For me he's had his last chance. He's had more opportunities than many others playing in the reserves, and he doesnt deserve them. If you compare his input to other younger players who have been tried out this season, in fact you can't, he just doesnt compare at all. They have jumped at their opportunities. I would rather take my chances in the draft to pick up another Hannebery, Jack, Meredith, O'Dwyer, Pyke or White as have all jumped at their opportunities and shown something, they want to be out there, I honestly cant see that with Barlow. At least in the draft you have a chance of picking up another player like those mentioned but he needs to be delisted to make room.

What about McVeigh? He was soft for 2-3 years but we persisted and now almost everyone on here loves him.

No-one should have to pay a membership fee AND watch Barlow run around in your team jumper.

Runs in straight lines quite well - when not under pressure - but horribly exposed in so many critical areas it's not funny. Simply does not have what it takes to be a good AFL footballer.

That's ok, neither does over 99% of society.

Deal with it. Cut him and move towards a premiership.

Wow. Silly me, I thought Richmond was the cannibals club of choice. Anyway when the lynch mob hang him at the gates of the fortress SCG for a lack of Steven Seagal type attack on a contest, what shall the sign draped around his neck say?

This is what happens to mascarpone around here !

That would be a good start and should send a clear message to any potential player (or fan) turning it up when the tarmac runs out for HMAS SYDNEY MK II in any future outing. By the way for any of those feeling so inclined to attend. The club has released a brief statement outlining a dress code consisting of RED and WHITE bed sheets only. Happy fondueing :thumbsu:

I understand why some think he is too soft. I think the bigger problem is that is too slow - sometimes I watch him and there are balls that he should be getting to but he just doesn't have the engine to get there. Maybe that is a combination of softness and slowness, though. Whatever it is, he isn't Adam Goodes and so I think he needs to be used elsewhere if we are going to get any use out of him.

Barlow isn't slow at all. When he puts on the afterburners, he is very, very quick for a big man. Quicker than White. Would give Goodes a run for his money. The problem is that he rarely shows it. He's tentative, he's uncertain, he'd rather corral an opponent than commit himself to the ball or contest. He refuses to back himself. On the very rare occasion that he DOES back himself, something good inevitably happens. That's one of the things that's so frustrating to me about Ed, but also why I still have hope for him.

I do agree that he needs a set position though. Either play him on the wing, play him as a key defender, or play him as a key forward. Pick a position, and keep him there for 10 games in a row. This year he has been shunted around from the wing to the half-back flank to a key defensive post to FF to CHF to forward flanker. Goodes can do that. Cheese can't.

he'll get better. I reckon it'd be worthwhile for us to reserve judgement til early next season. If he hasn't used the time off to work on his game, then we'll have reason to worry, but, for the time being, if we're gonna argue that a bloke like Pyke has potential (and I think he does), then Barlow has it in spades.

Have a look at the 2nd quarter against the Saints or the first against the Cats (until he got his knee crunched by Ling). Both quarters he had a huge influence. Against the Saints in Q2 he got a bag of clearances, won a few ruck hitouts, beat several opponents (twice), kicked a goal, shut down his opponent, caused a few turnovers and banged a few inside 50s. His forward pressure is as good as any, he has a booming kick and he wins a lot of his own ball in the clinches.

Watch the game again before you jump on the bag-Ablett bandwagon. I get pretty pissed off when so-called Swans fans start bagging one of our premiership players. He earns his spot in the 22 every time he plays and every time he's fit he gets selected, for good reason.

Yeh i feel the same, he was getting plenty of credit just a few weeks ago, give him a bit of credit, he was going along very nicely. He will never ever be a hard bodied player, he just wont be, and he had a shocker on sunday but let's just hold off on the pastings some are giving him. He is one of our guys and has improved this year. Give him time. He wont be traded i can tell those who want it to happen that much with 100% certainty.

I was once one to bag NOG but i dont feel it necessary to bag our guys anymore and he has improved since he has moved up forward. He wont be going anywhere next year. I would rather Bevo play his role but NOG is doing the job well.

But at least he gets it. That's the difference, Ablett wants that ball so bloody badly he doesn't care how badly he gets hurt. You'd think he was a leather junkie in withdrawal.

Yeah, that was kind of my point about Barlow. But I just couldn't help to throw in a little jibe at Ablett while I was at it ...

does each younger still have a senior player for personal mentor? If so put Barlow under Kirk's/J. Bolton's or Bevan's supervision over the summer and he'll go ok, he's got the tools to make a good player just needs a bit more commitment at the ball.

Have heard from a reliable source that Ed doesnt want to be at Sydney let alone play AFL, he wanted to quit last year but was told to play on because of his lack of other choices. This could possibly explain his lack of intencity and hardness at a contest. Hope for his sake that he is kept on the list and improves because his athletic ability could make him a real good player.

A "reliable source"???

My mate knows your reliable source. Anyway, his mate's brother was at a wedding and said the best man's best mate knows a guy who can categorically deny that Barlow wants to quit.

No joke!

Barlow wants to quit?

Of course, playing AFL for the Sydney Swans is a well-known fill-in job while searching for real employment. :rolleyes:

Who is the source?

My mate knows your reliable source. Anyway, his mate's brother was at a wedding and said the best man's best mate knows a guy who can categorically deny that Barlow wants to quit.

No joke!

Anyone got a few balls of tangled wool that needs undoing? I think I'd rather give that a go than try and work this out:)

my mate knows a mate who knows a mate's mate who says that his mate is actually friends with her mate even though their not really mates cause this mate got pissed off with her grandmas mate who mated with a mate.

true story.

Very thankful he has been dropped for the last game. We cant afford to have a weak link in the team, each and every player needs to be committed, especially this week for the send off.

I woudn't be surprised if the rumour about whether he wants to play the game is correct, because thats certainly the way he appears to me. If he is kept by the club next year, he should be left in the ressies in one position until he can show continued ability to hold and win in that position. However, IMHO I think we have persisted enough, I dont think he will be with us next year.