No 1 Draft Pick

Crows
I know this post may annoy Mad Dog (sorry mate) but I reckon in the last 24 hours our priorities have just been changed post 2005 trading. Cooney had been our number 1 priority and he is now gone from our sights for 2 more years

Our new number one priority must be Beau Waters from West Coast. The boy has apparently expressed some degree of homesickness and the AFC needs to be doing whatever it can RIGHT NOW to ensure we have feelers out for his availibility.

A hard at it inside midfielder to take over from that champion Roo over the next 2-3 years. We need his sort and IMO we must do whatever we can to get his home - at a reasonable price

can i just say that after cooney re-signing i am supremely confident beau will aswell. they are very close friends and i think beau will say to himself if adam can stay in vic, i can say in WA.

also, i think that if we can sign one of butler or waters the other will follow.

No 1 Draft Pick said:
I know this post may annoy Mad Dog (sorry mate) but I reckon in the last 24 hours our priorities have just been changed post 2005 trading. Cooney had been our number 1 priority and he is now gone from our sights for 2 more years

Our new number one priority must be Beau Waters from West Coast. The boy has apparently expressed some degree of homesickness and the AFC needs to be doing whatever it can RIGHT NOW to ensure we have feelers out for his availibility.

A hard at it inside midfielder to take over from that champion Roo over the next 2-3 years. We need his sort and IMO we must do whatever we can to get his home - at a reasonable price

Got no complaints from me on this one, I know both Cooney and Waters, not overly well but enough to gain a decent picture, but I think Waters is the better long term prospect.

I think he will only get better so in saying this the price on his head will be very large and obviously WC would want something substantial...do we have that?
I think its too early to assess now, I'll let ya know at the end of the season ;)

theorangeapple said:
can i just say that after cooney re-signing i am supremely confident beau will aswell. they are very close friends and i think beau will say to himself if adam can stay in vic, i can say in WA.

also, i think that if we can sign one of butler or waters the other will follow.

Thought you might be hovering about our board this morning TOA ;)

Lets hope you are wrong re Waters/Butler - I know in all honesty in nots as easy as it sounds but if a player really wants to go home (Carr/Stenglein etc) theres not much his original club can do (unless they want to do a Stevens and let them go for nothing).

Hopefully all our recent young WA recruits (Nye, Griffen, Van Berlo) will come on ASAP and then we can start seeing some fairish trades being done :)

TOA - as a man in the know - can you provide any insight into our young WA picks up? Cheers

No 1 Draft Pick said:
Thought you might be hovering about our board this morning TOA ;)

Lets hope you are wrong re Waters/Butler - I know in all honesty in nots as easy as it sounds but if a player really wants to go home (Carr/Stenglein etc) theres not much his original club can do (unless they want to do a Stevens and let them go for nothing).

Hopefully all our recent young WA recruits (Nye, Griffen, Van Berlo) will come on ASAP and then we can start seeing some fairish trades being done :)

TOA - as a man in the know - can you provide any insight into our young WA picks up? Cheers

to be honest, i wouldnt get your hopes up re waters/butler coming home in 2005. its extremely rare that kids leave their clubs after their first contract, even rarer when they are in finals contenders best 22. along with cooney, i think your best hope would be after the next contract completion (ala thompson) or the one following that (stenglien/carr). perhaps its wishful thinking on my behalf but history does point that way.

i wouldnt wany to speculate on your WA draftees, i dont see too much underage footy. however, i have a good friend who played with van berlo at the west perth colts and he thought he was a pretty fine player, but would need to put on alot of weight next year for AFL. apparantly he was getting pushed around alot in the colts. also, i have said this afew times but nathan is far from prolific at finding the footy. he needs to use his athleticism more ala cousins/crawford.

No 1 Draft Pick said:
I know this post may annoy Mad Dog (sorry mate)

staying calm..... :)

No 1 Draft Pick said:
but I reckon in the last 24 hours our priorities have just been changed post 2005 trading. Cooney had been our number 1 priority and he is now gone from our sights for 2 more years
was he ????????????

No 1 Draft Pick said:
contradiction in terms.....??

...look - I reckon we definately need to keep the feelers out for these guys and bring them home if they want to come.....my only point is....lets not sell the ranch to achieve it. If a good deal can be done - eg Stinger - Thommo - then great...if not - it's not the end of the world.

theorangeapple said:

Jeez you was quick of the mark 7 min to be exact. :)

noddy said:
Jeez you was quick of the mark 7 min to be exact. :)

it was quite innocent really. simply logged on and saw a thread entitled beau waters was the last to have been posted on the audacious adelaide board. couldnt resist :p taken hook, line and sinker.

There could well be a South Australian boy on the Eagles list coming home at the end of his contract but it isnt Beau Waters from what i hear.

Like theorangeapple said, most players don't leave their club after their first contract, unless it's clear they aren't in the club's plans, which is certainly not the case here.

And if they do leave, i'd be spewing....

B-P-B said:
Like theorangeapple said, most players don't leave their club after their first contract, unless it's clear they aren't in the club's plans, which is certainly not the case here.

And if they do leave, i'd be spewing....
:) correct, but it doesn't stop the speculation.

Surely, if WC used pick 13 for him and developed him in to a fine quality footballer, it is going to cost at least 2 draft picks (one being a first rounder) or equivalent to get him home - Yes ? Is that a price worth paying ? IMO No.

theorangeapple said:
well IF he wanted to go, the bidding would start at a good first round pick and move up from their.

Dont disagree TOA if fair market value is obtained by WC (probably pick 6-10).

If fair market isnt obtained then its the highest bid by the relevant parties (unless WC do a Nick Stevens)

In all honesty he probably will sign up again with WC and we will have a real crack at him in 2-3 years time. As you said its more likely players come home after their 2nd deals than first deals. Nothing wrong with us keeping 'communication channels' open with him though ;)

I must admit TOA is right that not many younsters go back home after their 1st contract usually its at their peak of their careers or near the 23- 24 yr old mark..

theorangeapple said:
well IF he wanted to go, the bidding would start at a good first round pick and move up from their.

Seeing how you parted with pick 13, I reckon you'd want more than a high first rounder, considering the obvious upside in the lad and the time you have spent in developing him.

Unless we parted with ONE high first round pick or the equivalent, I would rather keep our draft picks and continue to build our list over time.

Damien_R1 said:
Seeing how you parted with pick 13, I reckon you'd want more than a high first rounder, considering the obvious upside in the lad and the time you have spent in developing him.

Unless we parted with ONE high first round pick or the equivalent, I would rather keep our draft picks and continue to build our list over time.
Unless he filled a specific need for the club, ala Carey, I agree with your comments in building the team up as we are currently doing.