Beer Appreciation Thread

Brisbane Lions
UQ AFC (My only true team)
Beer chat only. Wine w***ers can have their own damn thread. Damn wine w***ers :D

Whats your poison and what are your favorites?

At the moment, Sunday are my drinking sessions at my joint, with Chalk and Cheese bottle shop in Milton about 10 seconds away. At the moment, its Grolsch! One helleva easy beer to drink. Not too shabby. Not the tastiest beer though.

Mate if you are planning on being a teacher you must prepare for the toll the profession will take on your liver!

Therefore i suggest some big Ales because it is harder to do a prolonged session on them, the flavour is bigger and obviously less is consumed but more enjoyable.

A few absolute rippers include (be prepared to have your palate ripped apart initially due to the hoppiness etc)

Stone and Wood Draught Ale
Little Creatures Pale Ale
Coopers Sparkling Ale
James Squire Golden Ale

Other Beers i like to drink include

Matilda Bay Bohemian Pilsener
Budvar
Matilda Bay Big Helga Lager
Cascade Pale Ale
Rogers Beer

There are so many, when i first started i drank XXXX or XXXX draught, you either drank XXXX or VB, then Hahn Ice started up and was chilled filtered to lock in the flavour. How times have changed!

Ahhh yes, the little creatures pale ale.... my drink of choice, as I drink it by the Longneck and in two's :D

2 for 10 bucks, apparently it is better on tap but i have never been to a pub that has it. I still believe Rogers is the best beer Little Creatures produces. I don't mind the Bright Ale, the Pilsener is worth 1 third of the price!

This may be a captain obvious post, but for those who can only get James Squire Pale or Amber Ale in stubbies - get down to Wheel & Barrow and invest in a set of beer glasses.

The taste difference when the drop gets some air, compared to swigging out of a stubby, is remarkable.

And on a hot day, throw the glasses in the freezer, pre-pour. Heaven IMO. :thumbsu:

My old man always reckoned that beers are like barmaids in bed - there is only good & better. Mind you, he is still married to the woman he lost his virginity to, over 50 years ago.

Full of s... , but so, so right.

As for preference, you cannot beat Erdinger Hefe Weiss Bier. German burnt wheat beer. Exquisite.

I'm all for the Little Creatures - with Roger's in front of the Pale Ale. Drinking a bit of Mountain Goat at the moment and enjoying a Fat Yak. However still reckon for a really good easy beer can't go past James Squires Golden Ale. So many great Aussie Beers out there now and tomorrow being Aust Day it will be Aussie beer, BBQ and the top 100 for me!

Yep a Squires fan...yesterday had a couple 'White Rabbits pale ale..(brewed in Healsville, Victoria)...roughly the same price as the Squires.. very drinkable...trying the dark ales tonight...magnificent..

I don't drink anymore (boring reason) but when I did my favorite Aussie brew we get here in the states was Toohey's New.

Anyone got any good wine recommendations?

The woman says surf this site if you got expensive taste though it a awards site but shows nice wines etc.http://www.luxist.com/awards-main

Glad none of you said XXXX or Vb that stuff is just chundering material.

Will taste test each of your beers if you give me a list of the top 10 and I'll rate them live on here next weekend cause I'm home alone no women around freedom.lol

Get the wine talk outta here.... w***ers :D

Only drink XXXX under the most desperate occassions.

Queensland beers, I pick Burleigh Brewery. Some not bad stuff coming there

Entering pre-season though, Hahn Super Dry is the beer of choice at the moment

That's an impressive selection. The reason I say that is because you've pretty much named the last handful of beers that worked their way through my fridge over the last few months and make repeated appearances. All quality. :thumbsu:

The coopers vintage ale gets stronger with age as well! Some guys can store them for over a year before drinking.. Too strong for me IMO i cant go past Sparkling Ale. The best Aussie beer and can get it for good prices quite often.

Coopers Sparkling Ale is beer at its best! Nice and cold straight from tally to icy handle glass! Bring on footy season!

That's an impressive selection. The reason I say that is because you've pretty much named the last handful of beers that worked their way through my fridge over the last few months and make repeated appearances. All quality. :thumbsu:

With so many beers out there i want to sample them all, unfortunately the thing is when you get a good few it is hard to go past them. I think the ones we have mentioned are a good range and never let you down.

I was just trying to find a file that had where i used to rate and make comments on beers - more notes to self - great list with very important information (good and shocking beers).Pretty much i would chose 6 individual beers off the shelf each weekend and drink and make comments. However just realised it was on my last lapptop - which is now gone to hevean....or hell :D such a shame.

With the mercury rising, sat and had a session on the 'Beez Neez' from the Matilda Bay Brewing Company..(stables Fat Yak, Redback, Big Helga & Dogbolter).. I'm a fan of the honey malt beers and was looking forward to sinking a few.. certainly a malty beer but has a bit of a sour aftertaste... left me a bit disappointed

On the Pope Scale: it's slightly ahead on 'Little Creatures' version the 'White Rabbit Pale Ale'...