Votes: 5 5.0%
  • New South Wales.

Votes: 16 16.0%

Originally posted by The Fireman
Port01 Fosters in america is brewed in canada, and awful,

As an American, we have an expression in the bars and pubs for the Fosters those back home have to put up with, based loosely on the advert...

"Fosters-- Australian for Coors"

:D

Labatt's are the brewery responsible for brewing and distributing Fosters in North America, by the way.

The Beverages And More outlet chain ocassionally stocks VB-- and yes, the beer afficionados (not to be confused with "beer snobs") back home can and will hoard the stuff by the case on the odd opportunities it's made available.

Same goes for Cascade and Hahn's Premium.

By the way, just about all Australian beers rock over American beers, with the possible exception of the Samuel Adams brand of lagers.

Easily the best out of a weak field back home...

First had Tooheys in Tamworth a few years back.. it was undrinkable. Most foul beer I've ever had, until we got to Queensland and got stuck into the XXXX. Dishwater.

check the first post rooster.
Checked it for the 5th time, still dont see the relevence to the AFL! :p

I think all beer drinkers who aren't feral can agree thought VB is goddamn awful.

Pitiful argument that it sells well so its a good beer.
Collingwood, Port Adelaide, Essendon and Crows members tickets sell well too.
I rest my case.

Originally posted by Captain Kouta
The Yanks can't get enough of Bud either but that doesn't make it a good beer.

SA - Coopers beers are magnificent. West End and all its cousins are awful.

VIC - CUB stuff is all solid stuff without being great...Melb Bitter the pick of them. Victoria's microbreweries do some fantastic stuff, Grand Ridge and Mountain Goat.

NSW - Tooheys Old...yum; Tooheys New...ordinary.

Qld - XXXX..okay but nothing special. Sanctuary Cove stuff is excellent.

WA - Swan beers all average...Matilda Bay beers outstanding, esp, Redback. Little Creatures very nice as well.

Tas - Boags is a standout. Cascade products above average.

NT - Haven't tried one.

Pretty good summary, but for Victorian micro-brewed beers, I reckon you can't go past Mount Macedon ale, brewed by Holgate in Woodend. Best beer in Australia, just ahead of James Squire Pilsener.

I swill beer like its going out of fashion but can only not stand 2 beers.
VB and Resch's, Im not sure if they still sell Reschs but I remember trying it in Canberra 13 years ago and having to leave 90% of the glass full.
ergh!

Soz peoples this is not footy but I noticed thread with a SA VIC slanging match and the old argument about the beer raised its ugly head, lets nip it in the bud once and for all and vote on which state has the worst beer.
ok Rooster you cant understand this post???
I said it was not a footy post, and check how many have responded, if you dont like the thread why the hell have you responded so many times.
and the fact that VB sells so well has to be an indication of its quality, people dont buy things they dont like, by the way , what planet are you from Rooster??? you are not of this world.;)

Re: Re: Beer Poll

ok Rooster you cant understand this post???
I said it was not a footy post, and check how many have responded, if you dont like the thread why the hell have you responded so many times.
and the fact that VB sells so well has to be an indication of its quality, people dont buy things they dont like, by the way , what planet are you from Rooster??? you are not of this world.;)

I can understand it very well, I still dont see the relevance it has to the AFL competition.
I replied to it so many times as I care about the subject and dont give a rats if its in wrong forum, it was merely an observation.

You need more sex champ, you seem frustrated and angry.
Either that or you're a Saints fan.

PS See my post about memberships, quantity is not even close to a measure of quality. Did you finish school champ?
Come to think of it, looking at your post, I dont think you started!
lmao:p

Re: Re: Re: Beer Poll

Originally posted by RoosterWedgie
I can understand it very well, I still dont see the relevance it has to the AFL competition.
I replied to it so many times as I care about the subject and dont give a rats if its in wrong forum, it was merely an observation.

You need more sex champ, you seem frustrated and angry.
Either that or you're a Saints fan.

PS See my post about memberships, quantity is not even close to a measure of quality. Did you finish school champ?
Come to think of it, looking at your post, I dont think you started!
lmao:p
Im sick of sex, id rather go fishing these days but I hope you are getting a bit, Im tipping your pick up lines would be very basic though, hope im not upsetting you "Champ" lol get a grip mate, memberships and buying beer,,hhmm you can see a similarity here? The school thing was a bit childish but then again I maybe chatting to one. Either way Rooster you sound a little immature and I suggest you stop drinking the stuff you are on. ,,,why am I responding to you???maybe I should get a grip.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Beer Poll

Im sick of sex, id rather go fishing these days but I hope you are getting a bit, Im tipping your pick up lines would be very basic though, hope im not upsetting you "Champ" lol get a grip mate, memberships and buying beer,,hhmm you can see a similarity here? The school thing was a bit childish but then again I maybe chatting to one. Either way Rooster you sound a little immature and I suggest you stop drinking the stuff you are on. ,,,why am I responding to you???maybe I should get a grip.

Hmmm, you'd prefer fishing to sex.

I think we can safely end the conversatiion there knowing who the weirdo is.

:rolleyes:

PS Pick up lines? wha? get back into the 70s! lmao
Only singles need pick up lines, never needed them myself.

PPS Love the grammar

PPPS I cant believe you'd get so upset because others dont appreciate the feral drop of VB like you, it probably would be my preferred drop if I was unemplyed and didn't have a life (ie preferred fishing to sex) so dont feel too bad!
:p

PPPPS You sure you're not a Saints fan? You seem like one.

Summary of thread:

Fireman: Look at me everyone, look at me.

Everyone: Get a life

Fireman: VB is best because I drink it as do every other loser in the world.

Fireman: I prefer fishing to sex

Fireman: wah wah wah

Everyone: good night

Re: Re: Beer Poll

and the fact that VB sells so well has to be an indication of its quality, people dont buy things they dont like,

Haven't you picked up the point that many crap beers sell very well?

I hazard a guess that the highest selling beer brand in each state is probably a terrible beer. Appealing to the lowest common denominator with a standard and cheaply produced drop does not a good beer make (and also explains why most yank beers are terrible).

West End sells more than Coopers, but I know which I'd back in as the better beer.

well Rooster I knew sooner or later I knew would come across an intellect like yourself on big footy it was just a matter of time and you have'nt dissapointed me,
Some real buffoons get on here and mate your right up there, lol
but I'm afraid your not worthy of anymore of my time, lol Im laughing while I type this, but mate you sound like a real ********, sorry,,lol

I'm a Boags man.

As far as light beers go Cascade Premium Light is ok. Although a Premium Light beer must be bordering on a regular beer, it seems rather pointless to me.

The worst has to go to be Victorian beer, with Melbourne Bitter being the worst of the lot. How do they make it? Stick the bottle in the Yarra and put the top back on? Foul! The 'Green Death' VB is also disgusting, but a rung above MB. Carlton Draught is not much better than these two as well.

The best - Coopers, by a long way. Cooper Sparkling Ale the best of their batch. Mmmmmmm, the 'lunatic soup'!:D

well Rooster I knew sooner or later I knew would come across an intellect like yourself on big footy it was just a matter of time and you have'nt dissapointed me,
Some real buffoons get on here and mate your right up there, lol
but I'm afraid your not worthy of anymore of my time, lol Im laughing while I type this, but mate you sound like a real ********, sorry,,lol
geezus:rolleyes:
I can honestly say Ive had better comebacks from Port supporters (never thought I'd say that).
I feel some feral VB drinker with the initials FM didn't quite get the reassuring answer he was looking for and isn't happy!
****a.

Originally posted by RoosterWedgie

I can honestly say Ive had better comebacks from Port supporters (never thought I'd say that).

I am rubber and you are an adhesive material!

Or something.

All beer is drinkable to me and i've had big nights on all of them, i miss Thooeys Classic like a lost puppy and West End chill filtered export lager too(actually that was the best, the bitter is drinkable, just) Cant forget the 'Eagle' series from West End either, Eagle Bitter was the best, until the lezzos complained about that cool ad with the dog......

Originally posted by Adrian Shelton
All beer is drinkable to me and i've had big nights on all of them, i miss Thooeys Classic like a lost puppy and West End chill filtered export lager too(actually that was the best, the bitter is drinkable, just) Cant forget the 'Eagle' series from West End either, Eagle Bitter was the best, until the lezzos complained about that cool ad with the dog......

Eagle Blue!

Don't mind if I do!

And Eagle Bitter (green label), a BEER MANS beer! lmao

(There's a blast from the past)

James Squires Porter and james Squires Amber are fantastic.

Old Peculiar is good too, if you like your darker styles.

However queenslands beer is definately the worst in Aus.

NEVER ever try CaneToad Beer...is makes XXXX taste like ambrosia.

At the risk of sounding parochial, Tasmania has the best beer in Australia. Cascade or Boags, it doesn't matter. It is by far the best Australian beer. After all, the state with the oldest brewery must know something about beer making. You know it makes sense!
Cascade First Harvest is sensational. You'll pay around $10 a stubbie over the bar for it, and $100 a slab, but you get what you pay for.
Also there is another brand on the market too, called Hazards Ale. It's brewed in Coles Bay on the East Coast. It has no preservatives and is in the tradition of German beer.

As for the worst beer in Australia; XXXX without a doubt! Even my cat turns his nose up at it! And Tooheys would run a close second to it!

South Australia has the best beer in Australia. I'd kill all these johnny foreigners here for a slab of Coopers. Honourable mentions to Tasmania and Victoria. Although VB is very average. Don't mind Carlton Draught actually.