dees178

Melbourne Demons
I think Daniel Bell will be one of the best players for our club this decade. His attack on the ball is almost suicidal. I think he will be a leading backman but can also run through the midfield. If I get another gurnsey it will definately have the no. 21 on it.

dees178 said:
I think Daniel Bell will be one of the best players for our club this decade. His attack on the ball is almost suicidal. I think he will be a leading backman but can also run through the midfield. If I get another gurnsey it will definately have the no. 21 on it.

Talk about over rating a player. He's been decent in the ones, but no more.

Bell will be a good player. Might even play 200+ games. But superstar? Unlikely.

Sylvia will be our superstar in future years. I hope so anyway.

Bell has courage, marking and kicking skill and a bit of strength and speed but his decision making is poor and slow, hopefully that can develope with experience but it is very poor even for a young, inexperienced player

From what i have seen of him he looks like a player and attack on the ball is what melbourne has lacked this year I can see him playing 22 games next year, and should go alright.

Yze_Class said:
Dont know about a future superstar, he'll be good.

If you want a superstars number on your back, get 22.

Damn right. And I don't want to trade Bell either. Doesn't look like a freak, but has a very strong body and should be a good defender/midfielder.

dees178 said:

tone it down young fella.."superstar"....thats like calling a hyundai a luxury car isn't it

CowboyFromHell said:
Talk about over rating a player. He's been decent in the ones, but no more.
Very good call. He's gotta start to quicken his decision making and adapt to senior footy.

Next year or never for Belly.

footyman said:
Very good call. He's gotta start to quicken his decision making and adapt to senior footy.

Next year or never for Belly.

He's still only 20 and he loves the place. give him time, heaps of commentators have given him praise for his hardness (who can forget when he floored luke mcpharlin with the don't argue?) and guts, just needs a little more polish to his decision making, his actual skills are already quite good.

Think him and CJ will complement each other quite nicely coming out of defence in years to come.

Has anyone else noticed the improvement in Chris's upper body this year? Starting to build up quite nicely.

rick James said:
He's still only 20 and he loves the place. give him time, heaps of commentators have given him praise for his hardness (who can forget when he floored luke mcpharlin with the don't argue?) and guts, just needs a little more polish to his decision making, his actual skills are already quite good.
Yep, he was recruited at a young age to begin with.
He had a shocking year, struggling with injuries (caused by his suicide style of play) and having to carry the burden of losing Troy. Hopefully he can get his body right and really cement himself in the side.

He has what it takes to become a gun midfielder, so here's hoping.

dees178 said:

I reckon he will be a good ordinary player at best

Don't think he'll ever be a superstar but he'll be a very good player in my opinion. The sort of player who really is invaluable but is underrated by everyone else?! That's how I see it.

GrInPoWdErDiAh said:
Don't think he'll ever be a superstar but he'll be a very good player in my opinion. The sort of player who really is invaluable but is underrated by everyone else?! That's how I see it.

Like a matthew whelan?

JeNnO_powerfreak_21 said:
Needs to be a regular next year. If not you can always trade him to us :D

For?

I see little value in pumping the kid up too much. Will be a superstar? What good does that do us? All it does is put pressure on him. Get back to me when he IS a superstar or at least a very good AFL player.

I still think he has a fair way to go. I'd like to see him throw his weight around a bit more & use the pill better.

You guys say this every year. He has had pleanty of time to strut his stuff, surely time is running out let alone making superstar status.

theorangeapple said:
You guys say this every year. He has had pleanty of time to strut his stuff, surely time is running out let alone making superstar status.

If you actually watched him play this year you'd realise that he improved alot and took the step from playing great footy at VFL level to competing at AFL. Only injury held him back from playing more games.

Next year he'll get even better, as for the superstar claim only a couple of over excited fans have labeled him that. I'd be more than pleased if his career is full of the bravery and desperation to win the ball that he showed this year.

davey_magik said:
Damn right. And I don't want to trade Bell either. Doesn't look like a freak, but has a very strong body and should be a good defender/midfielder.
How much has brock stepped up since 22 was came to the party, leadership.

p.s. Port fans, Belly hates Adelaide, the town, reckons it's a boring hellhole. Don't be counting on this one getting homesick.

rick James said:
p.s. Port fans, Belly hates Adelaide, the town, reckons it's a boring hellhole. Don't be counting on this one getting homesick.

I don't think he's ever actually lived there?