Oct 14, 2005
gisborne
pies
Does anyone know how he is travelling??

I was most impressed with him in 2005 and reckon he is going to play alot of footy in the midfield. I can't understand why he missed out on the main draft.

He is not flashy but not to messy either. He seems to have great endurance and also has pretty good pace(great chase down against the bullies rd 22) and also know how to get the footy , His work ethic seems to be sensational. Some have said his kicking is not great but I disagree . I actually think it is more his decision making that needs work -the game against north when he choose to go short and wide to a contest when them game needed to be won was bad blue.

He seems to have gotten under a few peoples guards when talking about last years recruits but after Cloke I reckon is was just about the most impressive when you consider he was a rookie.

Am I rating him to highly or do others think this Kid has a real future??

ant22 said:
Does anyone know how he is travelling??

I was most impressed with him in 2005 and reckon he is going to play alot of footy in the midfield. I can't understand why he missed out on the main draft.

He is not flashy but not to messy either. He seems to have great endurance and also has pretty good pace(great chase down against the bullies rd 22) and also know how to get the footy , His work ethic seems to be sensational. Some have said his kicking is not great but I disagree . I actually think it is more his decision making that needs work -the game against north when he choose to go short and wide to a contest when them game needed to be won was bad blue.

He seems to have gotten under a few peoples guards when talking about last years recruits but after Cloke I reckon is was just about the most impressive when you consider he was a rookie.

Am I rating him to highly or do others think this Kid has a real future??
I agree with you however believe that Egan and Rusling have more potential. He will become a star in our midfield and may well become a regular if he keeps his form. Go Ben!!! :) :thumbsu:

Apparently his kicking and speed are his big queries.
For his kicking I'd rate 5/10 - not bad but not great either.
Speed I'd rate 6/10 - He has got AFL standard pace but has a bit of dash about him. While his skills aren't Buckley-esque they aren't shocking and he may not be a Judd-esque speed demon but he has handy speed.

His best qualities are his courage and his ball getting ability.
Here's an example of his courage. Anyone remember this marking contest?
53464007.jpg

1st season, I saw a slightly better McGough, except not as much ball magnetism, but went in for the hard ball more.

I am a fan...hope he does as good as he did late in 2005

Saw Davies out the other night with Harry O'Brien, Rusling, Yakka and another player who looked like Rowe but doubt it was him, all three have stacked on a fair bit of weight, particularly Davies. He excited me a lot especially in the last few games of the season where he picked up 20+ touches a couple times. Runs hard, gets in and under and looks the kind of player who could play a big role next year.

Harry O'Brien is just a funny dancer...

We've got something to work with I feel in Davies and O'Brien

Didn't do a lot wrong and don't look like the typical hack type you pick up with late picks

Iaccobucci I am worried about

Pie 4 Life said:
I agree with you however believe that Egan and Rusling have more potential. He will become a star in our midfield and may well become a regular if he keeps his form. Go Ben!!! :) :thumbsu:

certainly agree that rusling and egan have more potential but egan really concerns me with his work ethic. Played a few great quaters but looks like he can go missing for long periods. All though we do not a bit of x factor.

I think rusling will be a gun and I would like to see him developed in the midfield because we need his type in there- Quick and strong

I just felt that ben for a rookie was a massive bargin just like nick maxwell was the year before.

Ben Davies