YankeeCatsFan

Draftee
NY Jets
This past year, on a New York Jets message board, I gave reports (and some NFL lessons and tidbits) to the Aussies that showed up there. The NFL does a poor job of reporting how well NFL punters do, and my Graham reports, including game situations etc, were well recieved by the Cats fans (and some others who aren't Cats fans) :thumbsd:

So, I'm here to learn as much as I can about your AFL, (thank the powers that be for Torrent) but figured since I'm so clueless, I don't bring much to the table. If it's allowed, and some of you blokes are interested, I can supply you with the same sort of info on Graham's exploits here, if you and the mods would like for the 2006 season.

If not, I'll just go back to lurking, and learning about your game. I really need an Aussie that knows his stuff to comment on games with me here in NY, or it will take a long time to learn the real ins and outs of this game, which I really like as an uneducated Yank so far.

YankeeCatsFan said:
This past year, on a New York Jets message board, I gave reports (and some NFL lessons and tidbits) to the Aussies that showed up there. The NFL does a poor job of reporting how well NFL punters do, and my Graham reports, including game situations etc, were well recieved by the Cats fans (and some others who aren't Cats fans) :thumbsd:

So, I'm here to learn as much as I can about your AFL, (thank the powers that be for Torrent) but figured since I'm so clueless, I don't bring much to the table. If it's allowed, and some of you blokes are interested, I can supply you with the same sort of info on Graham's exploits here, if you and the mods would like for the 2006 season.

If not, I'll just go back to lurking, and learning about your game. I really need an Aussie that knows his stuff to comment on games with me here in NY, or it will take a long time to learn the real ins and outs of this game, which I really like as an uneducated Yank so far.

You'll find we're a friendly bunch here. :)

I'm happy to help out in any way I can by answering your questions, etc. I'm sure everyone else here would be too. So fire away!

Any chance of a link to this message board? I'd be interested to have a look at how Benny is going. You don't hear a great deal over here. Cheers :)

I'd love to hear about Ben more, and I'd answer any questions I can for you, too. I'm sure all of us here will... So I hope you keep active on these boards! :D

This is the NY Jets message board that I spoke of..... I think we get about 20 to 25 Aussies there during the season to follow up on Graham.

http://forums.theganggreen.com/

One of them supplied me with a link to this message board. We even had a vote on best Aussie poster of the year! LOL. Unfortunately, that board crashed and burned several weeks ago, so all 16 of my Graham reports were lost from 2005. Its back up now, but over 600,000 posts were lost forever. Dummy says he'll back his data up now.... idiot. (Don't tell him I said that!)

I got another link from those kind folks...

http://www.womensfooty.com/media/manual.pdf

Ha! It's for women, but it's a good starter for a newbie.

Our season doesn't start until September, so I'll be following the AFL pretty closely. I understand the basics, but it would be nice to watch a game with a long time fan... that could comment on the finer points in progress. Why a player would choose a hand pass instead of a kick in a given situation, for instance. How in the heck your refs make calls... a real wonderment to me at this point.

Thanks for the welcome.... you will find an Aussie football thread at that site too.... in the Bull******** forum. What we call the off topic forum. My screen name over there is Thunderbird Jet.

YankeeCatsFan said:
How in the heck your refs make calls... a real wonderment to me at this point.

Strangely enough, a few of us are in that very same boat...

YankeeCatsFan said:

ThunderbirdJet is that you?
If so my warmest welcome. You're reports on Benny were a treat and really informative. Ask anything you like at any time. There are folk here who really know footy and not a few who like a bit of a stoush about it - particularly if the only thing being hit is a keyboard.
Get ready for the rollercoaster ride of a lifetime that is the Cats.
Could I suggest to mods that we at least create a "sticky" for his use. This man has spent a lot of time helping interested aussies keep up to date on benny's performances. I think he's worth it.
Call it an exchange program.

Ah theganggreen.com... I did come across these forums in my search for info on Benny last year and found a few useful items there, I think they were the only forums around that talked about Benny anyway.

Good to have you here mate, happy to help in any way.

YankeeCatsFan said:
Why a player would choose a hand pass instead of a kick in a given situation, for instance.

Get yourself a ticket to oz and watch a few weeks live. it can be sometimes hard to explain from a tv perspective. If you love the game from tv/torrent, youll get week in the knees at a game.
Youll pick it up much easier that way, i promise. if rugby league loving queenslanders can eventually pick it up, any normal free thinking human will have no problem.

gregWAllan said:
ThunderbirdJet is that you?
If so my warmest welcome. You're reports on Benny were a treat and really informative. Ask anything you like at any time. There are folk here who really know footy and not a few who like a bit of a stoush about it - particularly if the only thing being hit is a keyboard.
Get ready for the rollercoaster ride of a lifetime that is the Cats.
Could I suggest to mods that we at least create a "sticky" for his use. This man has spent a lot of time helping interested aussies keep up to date on benny's performances. I think he's worth it.
Call it an exchange program.

Thanks, Greg! I'm really glad that Graham came to the Jets, for several reasons, including the fact that it opened up the AFL for me. Other than the NFL, I don't much care for other American sports, so this gives me something I can follow since the seasons don't overlap. I sometimes get a bit fed up with the millionaire crybabies that play in the NFL. In fact, right now there is a huge dispute with the owners vs. players union that could be a real disaster if not resolved.

Does anyone have a Torrent link to the win over the Kangaroos?

Who would you say are the three best players on the club?

It seems like the Cats have a shot this year, from what I'm reading. At least we got the finals on the TV live in the states. It was in the middle of the night, but I stayed up for it.... couldn't miss a chance to watch a finals game live.

YankeeCatsFan said:
Thanks, Greg! I'm really glad that Graham came to the Jets, for several reasons, including the fact that it opened up the AFL for me. Other than the NFL, I don't much care for other American sports, so this gives me something I can follow since the seasons don't overlap. I sometimes get a bit fed up with the millionaire crybabies that play in the NFL. In fact, right now there is a huge dispute with the owners vs. players union that could be a real disaster if not resolved.

Does anyone have a Torrent link to the win over the Kangaroos?

Who would you say are the three best players on the club?

It seems like the Cats have a shot this year, from what I'm reading. At least we got the finals on the TV live in the states. It was in the middle of the night, but I stayed up for it.... couldn't miss a chance to watch a finals game live.

I reckon our three most valuable players would have to be Matthew Scarlett (total champion), Darren Milburn and, um, well, I get stuck on the third one 'cause there's a lot of very even players. Our best and fairest winner last year was Joel Corey - he's great - and no thread on best players could be complete without at least throwing Gary Ablett Jnr (son of possibly the club's most noted player, generally nicknamed God) into the mix. We are a champion team rather than a team of champions, I think that's the way I mean it to read.

VikingCat.

Just a quick question for YankeeCatsFan or anyone else who might know... where do you find your afl torrents??
Anyways thanks to the annual Madden series of ps2 games I'm a bit of a convert to NFL... it isn't a bad game to watch once you understand all the rules and such
Cheers,
Brad

NakedDeadGuy said:
If you google "aussie torrents" you should be able to work out how to find the games from there.
Welcome aboard YCF, I was a season long lurker at the Gang Green MB this year looking out for Graham news.

Cool, I guess you stumbled across my weekly reports then?

Here is the torrent link I've got....

http://aussietorrents.com/vb/index.php

Welcome aboard YankeeCatsFan.
Good to see a New Yorker behind the cats. I'm into all the New York teams, Knicks and Yankees primarily and now the Jets for Benny's sake. I'm sure you'll learn alot about our game over the next 6 months.
Our best 3 players...i'd say Matthew Scarlett, Cameron Ling and Joel Corey.

Renegade said:
Welcome aboard YankeeCatsFan.
Good to see a New Yorker behind the cats. I'm into all the New York teams, Knicks and Yankees primarily and now the Jets for Benny's sake. I'm sure you'll learn alot about our game over the next 6 months.
Our best 3 players...i'd say Matthew Scarlett, Cameron Ling and Joel Corey.

I too wish Ben Graham all the best in New York, from all reports he's doing well. But boy, the Knicks ....
Thank God the Celts don't have Isiah Thomas running their show is all I can say :)