Roast Ben Griffiths is a forward

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

Give the bloke a break. Hampson played really well tonight.

I reckon he will end up forward eventually though. Maybe next season.

Maybe but I think his kicking out of defense is a real weapon.

Potentially, sante, perhaps not so much this particular game.

Difficult to fit him in once Grimes is ready, IMO, assuming Chaplin is right to go.

As things stand, he'd want to be out-rucking Vickery to get a role in the forwardline.

I see no harm in playing him at CHF in the VFL until he forces his way into the side or we get an injury.

That's pretty much how Jack got his run in the seniors - he knocked the door down at the lower level in his first handful of matches.

Agree Mr.Hall and should've been doing just that all last year too. Wasted down back - rather see him kicking 60+ metre goals than 60 + metre kick ins - which he rarely bothers with anyway. If it's because it's not part of the game plan then it makes his presence down there all the more baffling IMO.

The thing is - he really didn't.

I'm not sure he's shown much anywhere, but if he's going to earn his spot, it's going to have to be in the forwardline, imo.

Agree Mr.Hall and should've been doing just that all last year too. Wasted down back - rather see him kicking 60+ metre goals than 60 + metre kick ins - which he rarely bothers with anyway. If it's because it's not part of the game plan then it makes his presence down there all the more baffling IMO.

You're all knowing mate. Fair enough.

It's impossible to stop a 200+ centimetre athlete on the lead outstretched with the ball delivered lace-out, as it was several times to Hampson. Dustin Fletcher wouldn't have got a fist in. Having said that, a bit more shit in Griff would be nice.

He is a forward not a defender, he couldnt spoil Hampson all night, he would be an awesome CHF, god I hope Grimes comes back so the club has an opportunity to use this guys strength ..... long goals from outside 50 .... imagine that.

It's impossible to stop a 200+ centimetre athlete on the lead outstretched with the ball delivered lace-out, as it was several times to Hampson. Dustin Fletcher wouldn't have got a fist in. Having said that, a bit more shit in Griff would be nice.
lace out my arse, they were kicked over his bloody head. We got lucky a couple of times when Hampson had him clearly beaten and dropped the mark when being in the prime position.

Hampson didn't play a great game because he didn't finish off his work, but those marks he took were pretty much unstoppable. Hampson is quick on the lead and all those marks were taken with hands out in front of him with the ball delivered to him well/perfectly. We'll be playing well as a team if we can afford to drop Griffiths.

That being said, I would still prefer him as our future CHF.

lace out my arse, they were kicked over his bloody head. We got lucky a couple of times when Hampson had him clearly beaten and dropped the mark when being in the prime position.
He got quite a few lace-out and a few not. Griff has plenty to work on from the game, I'm not arguing that.

Hampson didn't play a great game because he didn't finish off his work, but those marks he took were pretty much unstoppable. Hampson is quick on the lead and all those marks were taken with hands out in front of him with the ball delivered to him well/perfectly. We'll be playing well as a team if we can afford to drop Griffiths.

That being said, I would still prefer him as our future CHF.

I have to agree with Harmichael , Griff allowed Hampson to get separation from him far to easily and frequently. IMO Hampson was OK and Griffiths made his performance look better than it was.

I watched the replay carefully because of the mentions of griff, hampsons 3 forward marks were all unstoppable passes. No defender could have stopped him marking them.

Everyone knows he has stuff to work on, especially his intensity but hampsons didn't beat him clearly.

I don't understand why people complain about him playing down back. The best CHB of the 2000's were all former forwards. Leppitsch, Lake, Chad corns and Ben Ried. He is still being learning!

I watched the replay carefully because of the mentions of griff, hampsons 3 forward marks were all unstoppable passes. No defender could have stopped him marking them.

Everyone knows he has stuff to work on, especially his intensity but hampsons didn't beat him clearly.

I don't understand why people complain about him playing down back. The best CHB of the 2000's were all former forwards. Leppitsch, Lake, Chad corns and Ben Ried. He is still being learning!
Those passes aren't unstoppable if you put yourself in front of your opponent, Griff seems happy to stand beside his opponent and get lead to the ball, Lake would stand 5 Metres in front and in the corridor, and read the play and intercept or spoil to the boundary, it's footy smarts.

Good point.

What Ben lacks is timing ATM, something that can take time for a Back to get. He is almost to clean if you no what I mean. He needs to get more awkward in contests and make it harder.
Personally I want him back but given the lose man role for a few weeks to learn to read the play more. Mould him into that Paul Roos/nick maxwell role floating around half back to receive the ball to bomb it long.

Those passes aren't unstoppable if you put yourself in front of your opponent, Griff seems happy to stand beside his opponent and get lead to the ball, Lake would stand 5 Metres in front and in the corridor, and read the play and intercept or spoil to the boundary, it's footy smarts.

Then his opponent sneaks out the back. We all whinge about jack not leading up the ground because we know he will beat his opponent 9 times out of 10 but Griff is a bad defender because he was beaten on the lead??

Never said he was great and he has a lot to work on but let's not blame him for 3 good leads and kicks.

His kicking out is an asset, but as a CHB he should be standing at the D50 as a long marking option.

What Spluff said ..... he's a forward and needs to be played there if anywhere.
Seriously, Hampson is not a good player but was made to look good by Griff.
Laughable that there is a thread critical of Troy Chaplin when Griff was so poor but continues to fly under the radar!

I agree and who else is going to play on those monsters. Lets not forget how Rances first 30-40 games were playing in defence. That was Griffs 10th game down back , 30 to go before I make my mind up on him down there.

That is where he is needed now although I have no doubt he can contribute up forward once he builds up.