Ben Reid

Ok yes i will put a disclaimer on this, its shameless Dream team research but anyway here goes

How much of an impact will Ben Reid have in 07? Will he be playing a lot of games?

If you could let me know it would be appreciated, if however you wish to treat me as a troll because of my shameless dream team research then also feel free :p

My Pharmacists son played with Ben Reid as a teenager and he has been huge raps on him for years,when we got him he was spewing and he hates collingwood

I think he will play approx 15 games both in defence and attack,all it takes is another big man to go down,Rocca,fraser,richards etc(which is quite possible) and he will get a lot more than that

How much of an impact will Ben Reid have in 07?

To be honest, I don't expect him to have an impact too soon. He should get experience as one of the three talls, and his development should come along further as opposed to being stranded in the Reserves for the whole year.

Will he be playing a lot of games?

5 - 10 games, maybe a few more, depends.

About 6 games would be good, abit like pends last year. Anymore than 10 I would be surprised and that would because he's stepped up incredibly or we've lost talls. Can only imagine him playing a leading forward role as he's too good a set shot at goal to be playing in defence at the moment and has the pace for it.

He's very young and a growing body so I don't think it's worth the risk. Nathan Brown's physique seems more readily suited for the seniors and in training I’ve seen him in both forward and defensive roles.

Ok yes i will put a disclaimer on this, its shameless Dream team research but anyway here goes

How much of an impact will Ben Reid have in 07? Will he be playing a lot of games?

If you could let me know it would be appreciated, if however you wish to treat me as a troll because of my shameless dream team research then also feel free :p

He will play all 22 games & dominate. He will be in the top 3 in the Brownlow & win our Copeland. He will be named captain next year when bucks retires:rolleyes:

Are you on the same drugs that some afl players are taking , just slow down man and give the kid some space and time to find his way in the fast pace of afl footy, i really hope you are just joking?:mad:

Hey mate, come on I was just having fun with someone wanting dream team advise.

I would be happy if he played 5 games!

haven't been able to follow the pies as closely as i would have liked to for the pre-seaon. out of the latest recruits who looks the best and who is most likely to have an impact in 2007. cheers.

I think he'll play 25 games, win the rising star, Coleman and Brownlow medals and add a premiership medalion to boot. Of course, he'd win the Norm Smith too except Martin Clarke is set to debut in the GF...:D

haven't been able to follow the pies as closely as i would have liked to for the pre-seaon. out of the latest recruits who looks the best and who is most likely to have an impact in 2007. cheers.
Having gone tall early, it is some of our later picks who have impressed the most.

Di(k, before his injury, looked like he'd do a Thomas and get plenty of time this season. He still might despite his setback and whippet frame. Quality finishing skills are much needed in our team and this kid is all class.

Same goes for first rookie selection Wellingham. Was named a clear best on ground for Willi in a praccy match on Sunday. Quality finishing skills. Slight of frame seems to be less of a factor nowadays, with the bumps highly scruitinised by umps and the tribunal, so an early call up would not be unreasonable given two long term injuries.

Reid is still very thin, but has put in some impressive performances, mainly up forward. Kicked two on the weekend and observers at the game said he had several assists with some good delivery by foot. His sure marking has also caught the eye of watchers. Was named in best for Willi officially and by some independant observers.

Clarke has been impressive, amassing possessions and delivering the pill very well by foot. The latter is probably the most impressive given his time kicking oval pills. His ball gathering and ability to run hard into space is expected given the similarities between games, and he was a mooted superstar in gaelic footy. Will likely play for Willi for a while, but may get a call up this year. Is being played akin to Heath Shaw in defence and the similarities are striking. Will be a player...and cost us all of our last rookie pick! :D

Brown was mooted to be the tall who may impact first, but I reckon Chopper Reid is in with a greater chance at this stage. Was shakey in his senior performances, but that'll be good experience. Played very well in defence on the weekend from reports. Like Jack Anthony last year, will probably spend plenty of time in the defensive 50 at Willi.

Goldsack has been injured for much of the pre-season. Struggled in his first game for Willi, but improved greatly in the second, which you would expect from an injury recovery. Has rangey tough athletic attributes and is top age. Some good performances at Willi may see him get a call up during the year.

McAffer has done little other than attract of some free-lance photographer who was either a chick, or has sub-conscious homo-erotic issues. I'd have to find the getty link for further clarrification, but I can't be arsed.

Dawes hasn't done a Tommy Davidson even after resuming light training, so that's about the best we can hope for at this stage.

I hope that helps. All in all they seeem like a pretty good group and whilst there are no certs for immediate impact, all have some pretty serious scope for improvement in the years to come.

McAffer has done little other than attract of some free-lance photographer who was either a chick, or has sub-conscious homo-erotic issues.
In fairness, he could have extremely conscious homo-erotic issues - There are people in this world who legitimately ARE gay, and open about it...

will nathan brown get much of a go?

I don't know. It really depends on whether we want him to develop as a forward or down back. It looks like he's going to be a defender so he has to compete with Shannon Cox and John Anthony for key defensive positions as well as Wakelin.

Reid will play round 1. Not much choice with Buckley out and Rocca having a limited preseason.

Ben Reid