South Dragons
Bendigo Bombers 1.2 4.7 7.11 11.14 (80)
Tasmania 6.3 9.6 14.11 16.14 (110)

BEST:
Bendigo Bombers: Gumbleton Chartres Flaherty Dyson Jolley Lee

GOALS:
Bendigo Bombers: Bolton 3 Johns 3 Gumbleton 2 Rosa Lonergan Camporeale

From all reports Gumbleton had a very very good match. Johns was inaccurate missing several easy shots. Pretty disapointing effort really.

Good news about Gumbleton, Johns NEEDS to work on his kicking!
If he does this he will become an important player for Bendigo and Essendon.

I'm in mixed minds, I support Bendigo, but i'm a Tasmanian.

Doesn't look good. With the likes of Gumby, Dyson, Johns, Campo, Lonergan, Bolton, Lee etc playing at home you would think we'd get up.

Johns needs to start kicking bags and Ricky needs to be getting 30+ possies or they will get overtaken by years end.

Just got back from the game. They got killed on the forward line. Had plenty of attacks but fell down between HF and FF. Under lots of pressure and *****ed around too much!
Johns badly inaccurate though not alone but at least presented well as did Gumbleton. Dyson had a lot but caught often. Bolton usual servicable (I know he's not a star, but I'm a fan).
Not much from Kepler. Neagle tried hard but didn't do much though should have been paid a screamer but wasn't - umps were crap. Didn't deserve to win.

Bendigo Bombers 1.2 4.7 7.11 11.14 (80)
Tasmania 6.3 9.6 14.11 16.14 (110)

BEST:
Bendigo Bombers: Gumbleton Chartres Flaherty Dyson Jolley Lee

GOALS:
Bendigo Bombers: Bolton 3 Johns 3 Gumbleton 2 Rosa Lonergan Camporeale

From all reports Gumbleton had a very very good match. Johns was inaccurate missing several easy shots. Pretty disapointing effort really.
I was at the game. Saw from the 2nd half of the 2nd quarter onwards.
Johns had a cracker game. The most promising thing was even if he had the mark spoiled, he stayed on his feet and put in second and third efforts. IMO, Bradley was probably best on ground, but I as mainly concentrationg on the senior guys. Dyson didn't really have a standout game and would be relying on injury to get a promotion. Same with Campo.

Just on Gumby, he had a quiet game up until the last quarter. Played mostly in the ruck up until then. When he was moved forward, he took 2 great contested marks and really showed why he was the #2 draft pick.

Bradley really moved around the ground well. Played mostly on the wing. I din't realise just how big the guy is, but he is massive, not the lanky bloke I always picture him as.

Houli has a real problem with decision making. Countless occasions he just handballed to the guy next to him even when he was streaking towards 50 and could have kicked long. It was much like the Essendon of 2005-2006. It was as if he passed it to whoever called his name first. He just seemed overawed and just wanted to get rid of it. On the upside, his pressure was very good, he just chased and ran all day. A few times he pressured the opposition into making mistakes.

Heffernan didn't play from what I saw. I heard a bloke talking about someone going off with a hammy, so it might have been him if it happened before i got there. The only other thing I can think of is that Laycock isn't 100% and Heff might be a late inclusion. Also no Dempsey, but I think he is injured.

Yeah it was a pretty disappointing display. However we were missing guys like Dempsey, Heffernan, Nash, Skipworth, Carter, Cloke, etc...

They killed us in the midfield.

Was impressed with Gumbleton. Would have taken at least a dozen marks around centre half forward. Presented well all day.

Dyson got a fair bit of it. Disposal early was a little rugged but improved as the game went on.

Houli looks a class above most of the others out there when he gets it. Having said that he didn't get a great deal of it but was still quite good.

Boltons found his level on the VFL stage. He was quite good.

Keppler just ran around. Did some good things...did some woeful things...whoever said he was best on ground wasn't watching the game.

Johns presented well. Would have kicked 3.5 i would say. Was pretty windy down there...

Lee was pretty solid down back.

Looks like the game is passing Camporeale by. Got a bit of it but continually had his kicks smothered and looked slow...

Umpiring was woeful. Didn't cost us the match as we were pretty poor as well . You could tell there were a fair few senior field umpires about.

Yeah it was a pretty disappointing display. However we were missing guys like Dempsey, Heffernan, Nash, Skipworth, Carter, Cloke, etc...

Was impressed with Gumbleton. Would have taken at least a dozen marks around centre half forward. Presented well all day.

Dyson got a fair bit of it. Disposal early was a little rugged but improved as the game went on.

Houli looks a class above most of the others out there when he gets it. Having said that he didn't get a great deal of it but was still quite good.

Keppler just ran around. Did some good things...did some woeful things...whoever said he was best on ground wasn't watching the game.

Johns presented well. Would have kicked 3.5 i would say. Was pretty windy down there...

Looks like the game is passing Camporeale by. Got a bit of it but continually had his kicks smothered and looked slow...

Umpiring was woeful. Didn't cost us the match as we were pretty poor as well . You could tell there were a fair few senior field umpires about.
Well from what I saw of him I thought he was good. At least he was as good as he was last week. He was far from worst on ground, and I would have him in my top 5 or 6.

Thanks mate, who was the more impressive in your opinion Gumbleton or Johns? Were there games good enough to push for selection next week?

Very average gane. No midfield pressure. Killed in the runck. Overall dissapointing game. I am going to bring up the anti Bradley element as well. We where sitting near a few that dead set rode him all day which i dont mind but it was like Bradley was the reason we lost and no one else made any mistakes. It was a bit annoying in the end. Naegle drops a contested mark and nothing is said. Bradley drops a contested mark and well you would think the world has ended. Anyway enough of that rant.

Dyson had 25ish possessions in the end and was pretty good but he has to get involved closer to the action at times. His disposal was better today. Went for a few sprints today but not enough. Gets too many soft outside stats. get in and get it at times Rick as i have seen you do it in the past.
Campo horrible. Is the king of cheap stats. Did a couple of nice things in the last quarter but was indicisive most of the day and had a shocler.
GumbyVery good first half. Didnt do much in the third but got it a few times in the last. Played a good deal of the game in the ruck. Very good effort .Best game he has played so far.
Bolton had a few Bolton moments but was very good. Lead, presented and ran hard all day. One of our best.
Bradley had a nothing to write home about game. Got some of the footy but never looked really dangerous. Not sure how we are going to settle him into a role if he starts on the wing, comes off for a rest. Goes on at CHF, comes off, goes back on to the wing, back to the bench, onto chb. He stuffed a few handballs. Dropped two contested marks and had one kick turned over. Needs to do more to get back to the seniors.
Lee did nothing in the first half. was better after half time. Provided a bit of run.
Neaglestarted well but after taking a big speccy (which should have been played) he hit the ground hard and winded himself. Just didnt seem the same after that.
Johns kicking was avearge again but finished with 3.3. Worked pretty hard today even when he wasnt in the play. Kicked a good rovers goal from his own contest and showed some monbility around the ground. Did a fair bit of running up and down but he still has to work on the odd lazy moment he has.
Lonergan nothing in the first half. Better in the second half but has to do more. First game back so he gets off this week.
Riemers did some good things but his oponent got a bit of the ball. Was reasonable.
Charters Wasnt really dominat early and his disposal can still be patchy. Did well in the ruck later on, gave a good contest and we seemed better when he played there.
McKinnon average day. got beaten in the ruck and only did a few things around the ground.

Overall a crappy game where it seemd like no lessons where taken from the game style and comitment that the seniors showed last week.

Thanks mate, who was the more impressive in your opinion Gumbleton or Johns? Were there games good enough to push for selection next week?

I'd say Gumby wouldn't be pushing seniors until at least mid to late season. No need to rush him in. If there was a spot for Johns you would pick him but i'm not sure he fits in at the moment with Lloyd and Lucas.

I missed Houli , you got the rushed report as i had to duck out for tea.:D

Anyway Houli was pretty active before half time but a bit quiet in the second half. As usual his seond and third efforts where first class.
Also have to add that the tackling today was well below average.

Thats whyt Johns isn't in the senior team. Skit kicking is **** football. Has to work on that part of his game if he has hopes of breaking into our best 22. Can't afford to carry him.

Campo horrible. Is the king of cheap stats. Did a couple of nice things in the last quarter but was indicisive most of the day and had a shocler.

I reckon that's unfair.

IMO he was given the ball several times when he wasn't in position just because he was Campo. And I think a lot of the younger Bendigo players were big culprits of that all day. A few of our senior boys, Campo, Dyson and the like got hammered when they weren't in position to receive the ball.

Campo also looked like a bloke who simply can't play at a level that is slower than what he is used to. He looked frustrated, the game just wasn't moving quick enough for him.

Gumby did some "special" things.

I reckon that's unfair.

IMO he was given the ball several times when he wasn't in position just because he was Campo. And I think a lot of the younger Bendigo players were big culprits of that all day. A few of our senior boys, Campo, Dyson and the like got hammered when they weren't in position to receive the ball.

Campo also looked like a bloke who simply can't play at a level that is slower than what he is used to. He looked frustrated, the game just wasn't moving quick enough for him.

You lost to Tasmania, bad loss first up.

I reckon that's unfair.

Cant agree at all Longy, he looked slow and indicisive. At one stage i wondered if he was running around thinking he was too good for the VFL and thought he could do what he wanted, hence he looked frustrated when it was continually geting caught. He didnt get sold into trouble half the time he got himself into trouble by stuffing around with it. He also puts himself under pressure by calling for the ball of the young blokes when he is alreay under pressure. Did it last week and did it again yesterday. I am prpepared to cut him some slack as he has only had a half a game before yesterday but he would want to play better next week.

You lost to Tasmania, bad loss first up.

We lost?

Could of sworn it was Bendigo that lost.

He didnt get sold into trouble half the time he got himself into trouble by stuffing around with it.

And that's because the game wasn't moving fast enough for him, options weren't presenting himself. It was compounded even further by playing on such a small ground. You put him in the seniors today and he'd play considerably better.

He also puts himself under pressure by calling for the ball of the young blokes when he is alreay under pressure.

By calling for the ball from young blokes that had already ran themselves into trouble. He tried to make the play, the play wasn't moving fast enough for him.

And that's because the game wasn't moving fast enough for him, options weren't presenting himself. It was compounded even further by playing on such a small ground. You put him in the seniors today and he'd play considerably better.

Good players adjust to the pace of the game. You know that the VFL is not going to be at the pace of the AFL so you dont try to rush things. Early on he would have got a feel for what was going on but he didnt really adjust to it.
Longy413 said:
By calling for the ball from young blokes that had already ran themselves into trouble. He tried to make the play, the play wasn't moving fast enough for him

Nice try Longy but when the young blokes take a mark or get a free and they hanball to him they have not run themselves into trouble. He did it a few times yesterday and a number of times last week.
I am a fan of him and i hope he can get it right as he can still be a valuable part of the side but sometimes you have to call how it is. He didnt have a great day.

I'm not a fan of him.

I think you're over critical.

Well lets hope he can get it together and maybe provide us with something. Im hoping it is becasue he is still a bit rusty and short of match practice. I never used to be a fan but seeing his work with the younger blokes behind the scenes sort of won me over.

They didn't really play as a cohesive unit I thought. It reminded me too much of previous years, occasional individual efforts not withstanding. I guess with more games they'll gel more, and they were missing a few good players (Cloke, Skipworth, Carter, Hislop, Hocking, Nash come to mind).

Bendigo lose...